Swift Sport ...Turbo or supercharger??

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Densil

Swift Sport ...Turbo or supercharger??

Postby Densil » November 18th, 2012, 4:04 pm

Hi guys , im thinking about doing a project of increasing the HP on a SSS 2007-2008 model. I have been doing some reading... watching videos etc and i would like to get the input from the experienced boy here at home......
Was looking at turbo charging first,..but i haven't seen any ready made kits...you would have to build your own.......and i was reading that due to how the turbo system runs...most of the power would be at the top of the rev range rather than throughout the power band...hence less usable power at lower revs....but i guess that is some thing that can be fixed maybe with tuning...im not sure....i also was reading that for smaller engines like the M16A...that turbo charging might not be as efficient as supercharging.
For supercharging....i saw there are 2 kits...Rotrex and Greedy....The greedy looks bigger than the rotrex and i was reading that the rotrex is more user/maintenance friendly than the greedy...Im not sure which one is better/worst, cheaper/expensive.....or has better output...
So with that information i know most ppl here do turbo charging...but will i be better off with a supercharger?

Densil

Re: Swift Sport ...Turbo or supercharger??

Postby Densil » November 18th, 2012, 4:22 pm

rado

Postby rado » November 18th, 2012, 4:37 pm

it is much simpler to think of it in terms of money.

You cannot get any new turbo or supercharger kit new for under 25K. With used parts you can put together a used turbo system for about 15K all things considered. You will be EXTREEMLY and unbelievably lucky to get a used supercharger kit for our cars, and I would not be keen to trust a used charger. That leaves you at 35+K for a supercharger.

So how much money do you want to spend?
Last edited by rado on November 19th, 2012, 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Densil

Postby Densil » November 19th, 2012, 8:02 am

oh ok...so super charging will be more xpensiv ..... i guess 15-20k is about right where i want to spend .....so maybe a turbo is the better way to go in terms of cost......but what about power gains?......are they the same for both systems?......looking around im seeing varying results from 160hp to as high as 230hp (at the flywheel)for both systems. the supercharger systems look easier to install than the turbo.....but that really doesnt matter....i just dont want to be disappointed if i chose the wrong setup...Are turbos good to buy used?...i see most ppl are using the HKS T-25.....

rado

Postby rado » November 19th, 2012, 10:33 am

Yes it will be since there are no used parts options. On a sport 160-170 at the wheels is close to what you should get from 8 psi turbocharged with inter cooler. T25 is the turbo of choice. Past this power levels bad things will start to happen... sooner or later unless you plan to seriously upgrade the short block and fuel delivery system; then you can toss that budget out the window.

If you go down this road, just keep the boost as low as possible to let your engine last. Devi has been successful in running and racing his 1.5 Swift Turbo for a full season at solodex and drag & wind.

Densil

Postby Densil » November 19th, 2012, 2:14 pm

some great info man..thanks.....have been hearing about dex....never been to one before...sounds like hella fun......maybe when i will give it a go one of these good days...... =-)

so if your hitting 160-170 at the wheels.....what will be the avg HP of the engine?..not sure what the power loss through the drive train will be....

also whats the cost of a used T-25?

and reason why Devi used a 1.5 for turbo-ing instead of the 1.6? is it because he doesn't have a swift sport?

thank again for the info

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 19th, 2012, 2:30 pm

Densil wrote:some great info man..thanks.....have been hearing about dex....never been to one before...sounds like hella fun......maybe when i will give it a go one of these good days...... =-)

so if your hitting 160-170 at the wheels.....what will be the avg HP of the engine?..not sure what the power loss through the drive train will be....

also whats the cost of a used T-25?

and reason why Devi used a 1.5 for turbo-ing instead of the 1.6? is it because he doesn't have a swift sport?

thank again for the info

devi has a 1.5 swift ..

which is a low compression engine compared to the sport ...makes it easer to turbo charge

ive looked at tons of forced induction project all over the world ...and i would say turbo is the way to go ...... if u plan on passing 12 psi i fully advise forged pistons and rods bigger all cooler, fuel pump, injectors, fuel rail, and nothing less than an emanage ultimate.

u wanna do it on a budget for 160 - 200whp ?

walbro pump, used wrx injectors, used turbo, used emanage ultimate, custom made manifold
full pipping and intercooler, should run you less than 15k

at 200whp you gonna need an upgraded clutch

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 20th, 2012, 2:05 pm

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=469282

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=472313

just to give u an idea what a suitable turbo should cost u

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » November 26th, 2012, 12:27 pm

I would always advise anyone doing this to your sport not to cut corners trying to save money. Compression on the sport is 11:1 which is not turbo friendly. An m16a head and block cannot be found in the bamboo and lifestyle prices you might as well buy a used turbo car! A proper build would start with full forged pistons a thicker head gasket like monster and well rado's expertise on the head work. Whizpig could shed some light here because there is a white one that was turboed. A new exedy clutch system would complete your set up. Remember if your car is a daily driver that's another factor in terms of reliability.
Lets see how this post goes because I'm sure real Suzuki men want to explore this option. Devi, Marcus your input would be most welcomed.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » November 26th, 2012, 6:31 pm

cant really say what would happen if you turbo the M16 sport...research on the net has shown its been done reliably...but the guys are right...its a lot easier to turbo the M15 non sport...so far using one of the R32 skyline turbos my car at 8psi made 173whp...we've increased the boost to 10 but i havn't re-dynoed...car is pretty reliable and loads of fun! :)

Densil

Postby Densil » November 27th, 2012, 6:35 pm

Hey devi.....did you do any internal work for the m15?or was it all external stuff?...sounds like I'm better off doing a m15 turbo...lol...by the way...devi...i know with the 1.5 you can run super.....but with boost do you have to run on super or premium?

whizpig

Postby whizpig » November 27th, 2012, 9:34 pm

Local boosted Swift Sport
319683_10151285427982022_1935540397_n.jpg
Sleeper
944_10151285426942022_464964752_n.jpg
556694_10151285427072022_1285186576_n.jpg
Engine bay
35935_10151285426772022_263664687_n.jpg
3911_10151285427917022_897246718_n.jpg
28074_10151285425547022_472036577_n.jpg
Gauges
530994_10151285425687022_1195514283_n.jpg
485132_10151285425432022_1095812848_n.jpg

Postby gt4tified » November 28th, 2012, 8:42 am

wtf those first two pics supposed to show dey whizpig, eh? :lol: lewwe see some pics of the turbo and intercooler system nah? and what ecm is being used? Details man!!!

whizpig

Postby whizpig » November 28th, 2012, 12:00 pm

ok i can admit that the second pic not showing anything important, but what you not seeing inthe first one is the point, no intercooler. proper sleeper business, if it wasn't for the guages noone would have a clue till he press. As for more pics and details is not my car and i doh have permission to talk the man business, lol i only post the pics cause i found them on facebook, but i'll let the owner of the car know that ppl want details on his ride.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » November 28th, 2012, 1:07 pm

Nope no internal work so far on the M15A....I also installed a water meth Kit...and have been advised by Dry my tuner that i can run Super gas it just needs to be tuned!

rado

Postby rado » November 28th, 2012, 5:08 pm

whizpig wrote:ok i can admit that the second pic not showing anything important, ....

Nah meng... the second pic shows that the driver's door is still fully operational after installation of the turbo :lol:

whizpig

Postby whizpig » December 3rd, 2012, 12:20 pm

found a company in the US that makes a turbo kit for the SX4 http://roadracemotorsports.com/ among other performance pars, i don't know if the SX4 and Swift can exchange parts lke that but hey for those interested in a kit, here is an option

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 3rd, 2012, 2:26 pm

whizpig wrote:found a company in the US that makes a turbo kit for the SX4 http://roadracemotorsports.com/ among other performance pars, i don't know if the SX4 and Swift can exchange parts lke that but hey for those interested in a kit, here is an option

nope ...thats a j20a not a m series engine

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 5th, 2012, 1:14 am

i am still considering turbo charging now that i have pretty much rebuilt my engine for way way way less than i had been quoted by lsm and most mechanics that guessed at it,
i have all the turbo components from my written off forester, just don't know if i have the balls to drive anything fast again after nearly killing myself this time last year,
i figure i just need to buy a custom manifold, intercooler piping, external wastegate and emanage, ummm oil lines what else?
i already have a td04l turbo i'll use the foresters tm ic as a small front mount, greddy profec boost controller, greddy turbo timer, hks ssqv bov, ill need to run some vaccuum lines. planning on running like 6psi it'll only make a few hp i know but the spooling and sneezing would be nice.

Densil

Postby Densil » December 5th, 2012, 7:35 am

Only a few hp extra on a swift is great..remember that car is like a rabbit..lol

whizpig

Postby whizpig » December 5th, 2012, 7:50 am

jm3 wrote: it'll only make a few hp i know but the spooling and sneezing would be nice.

LOL . . . since when is almost double the hp considered "a few" . . . :!: ah saying almost cause i do not know for sure, but DEVI almost doubled his hp on 8psi :!:

bmrtt

Postby bmrtt » December 6th, 2012, 2:12 am

a small car with a cold is the sweetest thing in the world!! I take the scenic route to work everyday - kid you not.

jm3, you are on to something good there. the external wg may be the best thing ever. I may have to redo my manifold eventually, but sticking with it for now - (i'm not going to be competing anywhere). there are one or two other issues you'd have to deal with before getting that extra hp though. The maps of the td04h looked ideal but I ended up sourcing a bb.

was attempting to attach an image but the board is lame ... and i'm running out of time.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 7th, 2012, 11:34 pm

who made your manifold? how much was it? contact details for the shop?

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » December 11th, 2012, 2:49 am

^^ heard about the setup of the white swift .. let’s just say if I were to drive it I don’t think it will last ... but I love it personally I will not do that setup ..
for interested parties on the turbo stuff here is the list
emanage ultimate
t25 turbo
Intercooler
Forester or wrx injectors ( as for specific model talk with devi )
water meth injection ( snow performance ) http://www.snowperformance.net/stage-3-gasoline-mpg-max-boost-cooler.html
Turbo manifold -- Ebay
Do a little head work by rado (help in the air flow by increasing efficiency to use less psi for more power)
Cold spark plugs for the ngk a 7 plug
blow off
and a boost controller

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » December 11th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Mitsu power wrote:^^ heard about the setup of the white swift .. let’s just say if I were to drive it I don’t think it will last ... but I love it personally I will not do that setup ..
for interested parties on the turbo stuff here is the list
emanage ultimate
t25 turbo
Intercooler
Forester or wrx injectors ( as for specific model talk with devi )
water meth injection ( snow performance ) http://www.snowperformance.net/stage-3-gasoline-mpg-max-boost-cooler.html
Turbo manifold -- Ebay
Do a little head work by rado (help in the air flow by increasing efficiency to use less psi for more power)
Cold spark plugs for the ngk a 7 plug
blow off
and a boost controller

What would be the set up if you were doing the build for your daily driving style?

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 12th, 2012, 11:16 am

could i use my foresters injectors on the car as it is?

bmrtt

Postby bmrtt » December 13th, 2012, 1:22 am

Sorry, I got distracted with the hustle.
The manifold was done by myself and a boss welder that happened to work with me. so there is no shop to refer you to. If you want I could give you the one off my engine :) but you'd also have to get a t25 turbo.

In all it cost me about 1100 - 1300. Sand blasted for about 60. Heat resistant paint for 60 ....

Mitsu is spot on. high-z 375 stock injectors from a subaru legacy (i believe). approx. 6cm length fits nicely.
running with the stock ecu for months as it has adapted to some of the changes but saving the real excitement for next year with the emanage tune.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 13th, 2012, 7:23 am

so you could make a new one? how much would you want for the work?

whizpig

Postby whizpig » December 13th, 2012, 8:21 am

oh gorsh this thread rekindling my turbo dreams

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 13th, 2012, 10:09 am

same lol and i have cash left over to do it and most of the parts already so im really serious about getting a manifold made for a td04 from a forester

Return to “SUZUKI”