Drag Racing @ Camden 8th and 9th Competition starts @ 10am!

EXODUS

Re: Drag Racing @ Camden 8th and 9th Competition starts @ 10

Postby EXODUS » December 9th, 2012, 7:12 am

How de weather looking...i bet it gonna rainoutttt

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » December 9th, 2012, 12:35 pm

Weather real nice down here.........i go make a pass try

SMTT

Postby SMTT » December 10th, 2012, 5:58 am

legoRB

Postby legoRB » December 10th, 2012, 10:01 am

Nice! No sticking! Only vids needed now.

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » December 10th, 2012, 4:19 pm

So TTASA had their finally event for the year, and we all observed the reinstatement of Aaron to race at the last minuet. I have noticed some of you are in agreement with the sudden turnover. Anyhow, whatever happened to justify the appeal in his favour 5 months ahead of time is a plus for him.

Now is this going to be the trend, next time a competitor retaliates or disrespects an official at the gate or in the event. I have also noticed that there is no concern over indiscipline, only, I want to see that car and driver run or no drags, and while we are at it, feeding indiscipline and make some competitors think they are above and bigger than the sport supporting the ego is also not the right thing.

There is no dignity in a pilot being grounded, or in this case a driver, so I an glad for him. The issue is what organisation bands a man over an unfavourable act and then amends it in the same breath, does this mean that the act did not happened? What about examples to set for the next guy doing the same.

Perfect example, I hear the Cow lived up to the name MAD, at the start line, over this, drags done. I guess this is going to be another one of indiscipline non performance on the part of the organisers where nothing comes out of it.

Some might think this is nothing but many are watching including sponsors who refuse to entertain the Camden notion. This is no example to set for new comers in a sport that can kill you. Where are the voices for safety and police. I guess lawlessness and unmannerly conduct seems to be the order of the day and without and consequence, some of you better hope that TTASA conducts drags forever.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 10th, 2012, 4:21 pm

cool story brahhh.... be sure to include it in the next issue of sixth speed!

Postby sMASH » December 10th, 2012, 4:39 pm

after the english teachers pass choo.

but, that seems to be the norm in this country, re. the state feeding indiscipline of the bethamites.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 10th, 2012, 5:13 pm

first drags i attended since 2008.......it was ok'ish....first time i saw a lot of the vehicles that competed....makes it nice to know the sport is not dead.....
things started late.....spoke to the couple drivers i knew and they were upset about that, some were lucky enough to get two runs in for the entire day.....
bikes were allowed 3 runs (no more), some got that, some did not......
rain was a factor, but if ppl showed up on time and set things up early, drivers would be more satisfied with what they paid for and the event would not have ended with a rush for ppl to get cars on the line......
i did see aaron there early in the day and he seemed to still have some issues with management, but he was still allowed to race, so it may not be as simple as saying the ban was lifted.....

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » December 10th, 2012, 5:50 pm

There is another issue at hand that presents itself.

With the completion of the final drag event series we should all expect points standings, with event winners in their respective classes and and overall champion, presenting some reward for all the race gas and nitrous used for a year of racing.

Correct me if I'm wrong, because I was invited to Autosport's award function for their 2012 D/W series and some competitors had to carry their rewards in a truck, along with competitor cash prizes, and door prizes in the sum of $500.00. Even the owner of the venue racked up a GPS car system worth $2800.00. In attendance was Mr. John Powell, T&T ambassador for Motorsport and numerous sponsors.

If you didn't know Autosport's overall 2012 championship winner was Mr. Ruddy Beeky, aka (priest), a TTASA member and official placing 1st in 7 out of 8 events, and will be sporting #1 on his car like the yellow jersey in tour d France in 2013.

Considering that there were over 100 competitors registered on Sunday expectations should be high.

I know that the Governing body for Motorsport will not disappoint those who have supported them in providing appropriate credit, giving most who race the motivation and incentive to continue into 2013. Remember it is easer to drive in a straight line than bending corners.

I will be in full anticipation to see who will 2012 championship winners.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2012, 7:59 am

Last edited by sMASH on December 11th, 2012, 8:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2012, 8:03 am

ha ha ha ha ha ha

oy, dem doh want no prizes, dem just want a place to race. screw event standings, tournament placements, and rankings. all that matters is the the jizz at the 1/4 mile. don't need no autosport complex for that, no race arena, not even a starting lights with timing. just need a piece of asphalt in a cane field. who cares about making it big in the international arena. just as long as u have a chance to beat up the crabs in this barrel, all is well. if they want to go international, they just have to sail out to b'does or grenada every once in a while.

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » December 11th, 2012, 10:03 am

sMASH wrote:ha ha ha ha ha ha

oy, dem doh want no prizes, dem just want a place to race. screw event standings, tournament placements, and rankings. all that matters is the the jizz at the 1/4 mile. don't need no autosport complex for that, no race arena, not even a starting lights with timing. just need a piece of asphalt in a cane field. who cares about making it big in the international arena. just as long as u have a chance to beat up the crabs in this barrel, all is well. if they want to go international, they just have to sail out to b'does or grenada every once in a while.

sMASH, drag racers have qualified themselves as the laughing stock of the T&T Motorsport world, and I will explain why.

To begin with. I stated on a previous post that Autosport's 2012 Drag & Wind class and overall championship winner is a member of TTASA and on drags day at Camden is an presiding official. He has been rewarded with trophies and cash prizes at every award function and highly recognised in this rival association that is unfavoured by his home organisation. I am sure he will not race at all for nothing, and is very verbal for fair play at D/W events.

Charity begins at home, and this system of management is experienced by him every month is not implemented or considered in his own organisation. Please be advised that I have no quarrel with him, only to note a bench warming mentality for all round fairness.

How it is most of you guys are supporting nothingness with TTASA and alot of their registered members are racing and being rewarded on a regular basis. No wonder everybody else is laughing at you, please continue into next year without protest.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2012, 10:32 am

boy, i does meet people from all over with all levels of interests in motor sports. from hard racer to group manager to sunday limer, most have the same motto, i.e. me'em business with who wah power as long as i have a place to race/see racing.

can't expect people to stand up to achieve better when they don't want better; the like it as it is.

Postby Rooki3 » December 11th, 2012, 11:17 am

yup, adrenaline rush > trophy & stats

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2012, 5:24 pm

or international acclaim, as they have the potential to get.

hoss, i seeing the potential future, like the future seeing dude from MiB3. if there is a world class track as part of a motor sport arena, the fame trinidad and the trini racers and mechanics would get. this would be big, just as big as any of those european rally.

we all know this would be an expensive venture, where the break even would be years down the road, but it would be a gold mine. the person or group that would under take this would reap great rewards. the track would be the catalyst upon which greater development would occur, it would be a snow ball effect.

i wish i had a few tens of milleeeonns to sink into this, because i am seeing it, like a mirage

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » December 11th, 2012, 10:01 pm

This .....was posted in the wrong place...
Last edited by AutoSport on December 11th, 2012, 10:25 pm, edited 3 times in total.

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » December 11th, 2012, 10:03 pm

sMASH wrote:or international acclaim, as they have the potential to get.

hoss, i seeing the potential future, like the future seeing dude from MiB3. if there is a world class track as part of a motor sport arena, the fame trinidad and the trini racers and mechanics would get. this would be big, just as big as any of those european rally.

we all know this would be an expensive venture, where the break even would be years down the road, but it would be a gold mine. the person or group that would under take this would reap great rewards. the track would be the catalyst upon which greater development would occur, it would be a snow ball effect.

i wish i had a few tens of milleeeonns to sink into this, because i am seeing it, like a mirage

Well so far, at this point it would seem to be a really nice dream, but I don't see it coming from Government, not with this present non unity situation. There are a few who looked at the venture but calculations reviled little or no returns for many years not withstanding maintenance cost.

A good Idea would be to start off with something smaller and less costly, like 10 or 15 acres then work out the bugs and Issues in the sport before conceiving anything bigger. Location would be important, all the flat land right off the highway belongs to Government, which means a privateer may have to go in the bush.

Anyhow you can add this one to your Christmas list, somebody may be listening.

Postby sMASH » December 14th, 2012, 6:42 am

yeah, the idea is to have the grand concept in mind and in plans and roll out sections at a time. the idea behind having an arena is that not only one type of event could be held. so, no matter what goin on sum sort of activity would take place. every week and sometimes on week days events could be held generating income. a lot of group prelininaries could go on during the week, if the schedule is packed.
even the track, just as u said, was not being fully developed. the actual strip would be laid down properly the first time, then as time goes on the support facilities like bleachers, concessions, proper parking, proper pit area, all those would come along as it goes along. the idea is the output of money would be the minimum it could be that could still generate an income, and the expenditure would increase in line with the income.

for example, the circuit track would not be built, but it would have been designed and the area be used as a dirt rally track for the time being for cars, bikes, off road stuff.