Planetary Alignment

Postby X2 » December 3rd, 2012, 4:02 pm

Was this supposed to occur this morning or tonight/tomorrow ? Google searches only talk about the end of world scenarios, very little on the alignment.

Anyone ?

Re: Planetary Alignment

Postby maj. tom » December 3rd, 2012, 4:17 pm

Check SkyandTelescope

Sunday, December 2

Jupiter is at opposition tonight: opposite the Sun as seen from Earth. So it rises around sunset, shines highest in the south around midnight, and sets around sunrise. Whenever Jupiter comes to opposition at this time of year, it's shining near Aldebaran and the Pleiades.

http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/ataglance

Jupiter will be at official opposition - when the planet rises in the east as the sun sets in the west.
The Sun, Earth and Jupiter are also aligned so that Jupiter is at its closest to point to Earth in 2012 - at a distance of 610 million km. It will not be this close again until 2022.

Great if you have binoculars, you can see the moons. A small telescope will show you the bands, but the weather is bad over Trinidad at this time and lots of turbulence and cloud cover at the moment. December also offers a great show in the night sky of the Geminids.

On a personal note, if you have a good pair of poro binos there are some amazing, awesome stuff to see out there from 10pm, even earlier. Jupiter, Orion, M42 nebula, clusters around Aldebaran, and my favourite, M45 Pleiades which will just blow your mind. All these things are so amazing to see on a clear, crisp night from right here with just binoculars. If you live around Tunapuna/UWI and ever seen a green laser focusing on stars, that's me with a star pointer on a telescope.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 5:46 pm

all four planets Tatooine, Hoth and Dagobah were supposed to line up tonight, but alas, Alderaan is missing :(

Check a NASA rep talking in 2009 here about there being no alignments in 2012 (start at 2:29)

Postby X2 » December 3rd, 2012, 11:31 pm

I have seen this before.... some time ago.... on bluray.

Postby redmanjp » December 4th, 2012, 12:14 am

^ none involving Earth he means?

Postby X2 » December 4th, 2012, 7:39 am

There was supposed to be some alignment of planets with the giza pyramids.... I guess it was a hoax ?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » December 4th, 2012, 8:57 am

But the tooth fairy said the planets will align and the dark one will rise. Tooth fairy's never lie.

Postby X2 » December 4th, 2012, 1:10 pm

I saw the batmobile at drag n wind... so maybe the dark knight has risen ?

Postby maj. tom » December 4th, 2012, 1:16 pm

:? I could have sworn this was a serious question and thought you were referring to Jupiter's opposition.

:| :| :|

Postby stev » December 4th, 2012, 1:51 pm

it is more or less impossible for all the planets to align in a straight line....only a few can be 'kinda of aligned. I saw Jupiter last night...very bright in the sky.

Postby X2 » December 4th, 2012, 7:42 pm

It is a serious question... I had heard claims of alignment, then the star alignment with the pyramids... la de dah... but apparently there is not anything significant ? The ability to see jupiter so close up is cool... wish I had a lil telescope.

Postby maj. tom » December 4th, 2012, 8:09 pm

Just checked it out with a 4.5" reflector and 10mm eyepiece. Very sharp clear image. Can see 2 bands clearly and the 4 moons. Usually it isn't that sharp. Refractors are better for planets.

Binoculars gave a wide field view of a stellar zoo all around the Jupiter region. Aldebaran and the Hyades open cluster and M45 will always be as spectacular as ever.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 4th, 2012, 9:02 pm

imagine I change front cradles in early September with supposedly NEW OEM NISSAN bought from a parts place in P'Town that announces that they have the lowest price on original parts...only to be told today by the mechanic that they both have gone bad ALREADY.....He too was like WTF???!!!!!!

So me trying to save $1k by NOT purchasing from massey now has to suck up this loss /failed parts and go buy the same fkn thing by massey/motorist...which I should have done from the very onset....steups!!!

there HAS to be some planetary influence that is responsible for such sourness!!!!!

Postby X2 » December 4th, 2012, 9:50 pm

Ever notice how the Nissan logo looks like Saturn ?

Postby maj. tom » December 4th, 2012, 9:59 pm

Ever notice how the Subaru logo looks like the M45 Pleiades?

Postby gt4tified » December 7th, 2012, 1:58 am

X2 wrote:There was supposed to be some alignment of planets with the giza pyramids.... I guess it was a hoax ?

Last night I dreamt my dead father and then started hearing a ticking sound and followed it to find this old clock under the stairs....I went and woke up my mechanic neighbour to check it out but he pelt it in de fig patch behind his house.

It have ah auction saturday morning....thinking about going but I gotta find some boots and shades first.

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » December 7th, 2012, 11:06 am

maj. tom wrote:Ever notice how the Subaru logo looks like the M45 Pleiades?

*WIKIPEDIA*
Subaru is the Japanese name for the Pleiades star cluster (M45, or "The Seven Sisters"), which in turn inspires the Subaru logo and alludes to the companies that merged to create FHI.

SweeP

Postby SweeP » December 7th, 2012, 12:35 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:imagine I change front cradles in early September with supposedly NEW OEM NISSAN bought from a parts place in P'Town that announces that they have the lowest price on original parts...only to be told today by the mechanic that they both have gone bad ALREADY.....He too was like WTF???!!!!!!

So me trying to save $1k by NOT purchasing from massey now has to suck up this loss /failed parts and go buy the same fkn thing by massey/motorist...which I should have done from the very onset....steups!!!

there HAS to be some planetary influence that is responsible for such sourness!!!!!

de planetary alignment was ah hoax so de OEM parts probably was ah hoax too!