Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Invisible

Re: Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Postby Invisible » November 30th, 2012, 4:27 pm

sharkextreme wrote:Anybody else experiencing slow speeds on digicel 4g?
Happening to me over a week now.
Contacted Digicel and they say they reset the 4g on the account but still running slow

Speed Test giving 121kbps (download) 109kbps(upload)

Funny thing is the network signal saying H+

I've been experiencing this $hit to for a while. Been getting the run around from almost everyone. I got 'we doh sell iPhone so is yuh phone giving the problem.' IDIOT!!!

Daran

Postby Daran » November 30th, 2012, 5:36 pm

It's called network congestion. CSR's won't know about that.

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 5:58 pm

Daran wrote:It's called network congestion. CSR's won't know about that.

Really? How u come by that?

Daran

Postby Daran » November 30th, 2012, 6:19 pm

rfari wrote:

Common sense brah.

Digicel say ur sim profile good so u not capped (unless u turn on something on ur phone).

You getting H+ which means ur signal good......so what else could it be?

Try your phone in a different area and see if your speeds improve, also try it different times of the day.

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 6:28 pm

Daran wrote:
rfari wrote:

Common sense brah.

Digicel say ur sim profile good so u not capped (unless u turn on something on ur phone).

Try your phone in a different area and see if your speeds improve, also try it different times of the day.

See ur last sentence there? I would expect tht u would make tht suggestion before making a reckless claim of network congestion. Ah make sense?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 30th, 2012, 6:37 pm

It's not a leap to suggest network congestion actually once you rule out sim profile discrepancies and you have H+ signal. It happens on data networks at times. Happened with TSTT years ago on edge network. Happened again with their CDMA network too. Not a stretch for it to happen to digicel now months after launching.

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 6:56 pm

Lol. Ok den.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 30th, 2012, 7:04 pm

Daran wrote:
rfari wrote:

Common sense brah.

I've tried it multiple locations to numerous to mention at all ungodly hours....still the same speeds.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 30th, 2012, 7:08 pm

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 7:19 pm

U tried a different handset?

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 30th, 2012, 8:47 pm

Don't have another. This is my 4s my wife's iPhone 5 is doing the same.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 30th, 2012, 8:58 pm

Network being assy again tonite

Postby M_2NR » November 30th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Stating 4G not working in an area and _not_ stating the area isn't going to solve anything fyi. redsupra101 already requested it before that locations must also be stated for anything to be done. AFAIK though, those speeds are edge speeds so certainly something might be fishy on your account. I know there are tons of person using 4G all over the place and it's working perfect (well most of the time). Have you tried talking to someone above a CSR or Technical Assistant? Try calling during work hours.

and yeh boy hustla, getting bmobile speeds here :lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 30th, 2012, 9:13 pm

yup, had to turn on wifi, problem only started last night so I giving them some time to sort whatever it is out

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 30th, 2012, 9:43 pm

This was in Princes Town. However, it really doesn't matter where I go. This is a list of the places I ran speedtests since it started:
1. San Fernando
2. La Brea
3. Chaguanas
4. POS
5. Piarco
6. Marbella
7. Pt. Lisas

I spoke to various CSRs who were very unhelpful. Spoke to my Affinity Rep who referred it to the technical department. No call or anything from them since. I'm on the verge of just going back to Bmobile.[DISAPPOINTED FACE][DISAPPOINTED FACE][DISAPPOINTED FACE]

Postby M_2NR » November 30th, 2012, 10:56 pm

and yuh ent call back since? :? you realize you're paying for a service that you aren't getting and while you are obligated to a certain level of service from them, as far as the back-end system... which does your billing... you are getting 4G. So you should probably be behind them to fix your issue. They do offer compensation also so ask for. Anyway daiz enough fight down for somebody else morney yes :lol:

greall

Postby greall » December 1st, 2012, 7:07 am

I'm used to EDGE speeds at home at Moruga [which I hope that they would address soon].I know that it's all about the ROI and cap ex but I had to suffer with TSTT/Blink for close to three months [another story for another time] so it's no big deal to get EDGE here and now in areas where there was NO data service before.

I get WCDMA and weak HSPA when I'm in Princes Town.It used to be 1-3Mbps down on HSPA in the morning before working hours now but it's consistently in low 800kbps range.

I guess that it could be because of the network congestion since everyone and their grannies are cleaning their fingers on touchscreens now... :/

Greg

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 1st, 2012, 12:20 pm

Digicel treating me good
uploadfromtaptalk1354378721670.jpg

Postby M_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 11:53 am

Was in south all day Saturday. 3G/4G worked like rubbish honestly. I was in gulf city and it kept dropping 3G and going to edge. And yes I had to hard reset a good few times for it to pop back up. I don't know if they were doing maintenance. I walked into their store and asked and they said it was up. and no it wasn't just in the mall. It was outside too.

I always switch my 3G on/off as needed and when I'm on this side of d border I have no issues.

I figure it was just me though. No one else was complaining and it worked fine yesterday and today.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » December 3rd, 2012, 12:02 pm

M_2NR wrote:Was in south all day Saturday. 3G/4G worked like rubbish honestly. I was in gulf city and it kept dropping 3G and going to edge. And yes I had to hard reset a good few times for it to pop back up. I don't know if they were doing maintenance. I walked into their store and asked and they said it was up. and no it wasn't just in the mall. It was outside too.

I always switch my 3G on/off as needed and when I'm on this side of d border I have no issues.

I figure it was just me though. No one else was complaining and it worked fine yesterday and today.

4G in south is non existent for me... im trying to figure out if its everyone on our corporate plan or just me...
incredibly frustrating

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2012, 12:11 pm

4g worked fine all weekend in south.

Worked good in gulf city yesterday too. signal drop once though.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » December 3rd, 2012, 12:12 pm

original_lollybob wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Was in south all day Saturday. 3G/4G worked like rubbish honestly. I was in gulf city and it kept dropping 3G and going to edge. And yes I had to hard reset a good few times for it to pop back up. I don't know if they were doing maintenance. I walked into their store and asked and they said it was up. and no it wasn't just in the mall. It was outside too.

4G in south is non existent for me... im trying to figure out if its everyone on our corporate plan or just me...
incredibly frustrating

which company's corporate plan, if you don't mind saying. I'm corporate and it's the same here

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 3rd, 2012, 12:28 pm

Marabella now during rain

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » December 3rd, 2012, 2:39 pm

anyone else getting only Edge? for nothing it would change to 3G, areas i tried are sando, debe, penal

socaslvr

Postby socaslvr » December 3rd, 2012, 2:55 pm

shaq090 wrote:anyone else getting only Edge? for nothing it would change to 3G, areas i tried are sando, debe, penal

Check that your phone supports UMTS1900 band.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 3rd, 2012, 2:58 pm

bai, problems almost whole weekend up by me in Arima :x , and they expect to get paid early :lol: , wifi was on for the entire weekend

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 3rd, 2012, 3:09 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

bai, problems almost whole weekend up by me in Arima :x , and they expect to get paid early :lol: , wifi was on for the entire weekend

I am at Arima and i had good service all weekend. Lower Tumpuna.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 3rd, 2012, 3:13 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

srs? Mine kept dropping to SOS mode even, even last nite mine went into SOS for a few

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 3rd, 2012, 3:15 pm

srs? Mine kept dropping to SOS mode even, even last nite mine went into SOS for a few

Hmmm, not sure maybe it is the tower signal closest to you. Where are you located? I'm always getting h+

Postby rfari » December 3rd, 2012, 3:26 pm

Hmmm, not sure maybe it is the tower signal closest to you. Where are you located? I'm always getting h+

Same here