45%
Both
29%
My pigeon died
17%

Total votes: 290

Re: Do you have BBM or whatsapp?

Postby BrotherHood » September 25th, 2012, 11:58 pm

lost soul wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:What's a Nokia?

see if this jogs your memory

Bess theme!!!

Postby Trini Hookah » September 26th, 2012, 12:29 am

Oh that! :D

ECIGTT

Postby ECIGTT » September 27th, 2012, 1:18 am

saw this on facebook for Trinidad and people posting their pins and lots of woman adding them

https://www.facebook.com/TRINIBBMPINS

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 3rd, 2012, 12:34 am

What’s Up With Whatsapp? Facebook Might Want To Buy It, That’s What

Whatsapp, the multiplatform mobile messaging app that has been one of the runaway success stories for ad-free, paid services, has been in talks to be acquired by Facebook, according to sources close to the matter.

We’re still digging around on potential price and other details about how advanced the deal is. But as mobile becomes the latest battleground in the Internet’s game of thrones, you can see how such a deal could make sense.

For starters, it would be another way for Facebook to continue extending its touchpoints with mobile consumers, an area Mark Zuckerberg asserted, on the occasion of reaching 1 billion monthly active users on Facebook, would be crucial to Facebook reaching the “next billion.”

“The big thing is obviously going to be mobile,” Zuckerberg told BusinessWeek. “There are 5 billion people in the world who have phones.”

Whatsapp also has a footprint that fits with Facebook’s focus on international/emerging markets: The messaging app has users in 250 countries covering 750 mobile networks, on the iOS, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia S40, Symbian and Windows Phone platforms.

TechCrunch

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 1:05 am

Wtf Facebook. Leave whatsapp alone na. Enough ppl could maco already just on fb alone. Don't spread it to whatsapp.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 3rd, 2012, 1:13 am

What could Facebook bring to whatsapp?

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 1:36 am

src1983 wrote:What could Facebook bring to whatsapp?

they would most likely integrate whats app with facebook

less privacy, more macos, etc.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 3rd, 2012, 1:40 am

**goes to look for new messaging app*

Postby gastly369 » December 3rd, 2012, 1:46 am

viber..

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 3rd, 2012, 1:49 am

Keep hearing about this

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 2:43 am

viber always has connectivity issues for me.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 3rd, 2012, 5:42 am

S_2NR wrote:

How?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 3rd, 2012, 5:52 am

BBM & whatsapp

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 6:15 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

How?

How what?

All facebook cares about is money. Integrating whatsapp into facebook isnt that hard. Its possible. Whatsapp is ad free at the moment. Compare that to facebook which is loaded with ads.

Imagine whatsapp with ads and status updates that go straight to facebook.

I would prefer whatsapp do their own thing and i pay my $0.99/year. Ill pay >$5 US a year if they stay independent.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 3rd, 2012, 6:17 am

How would fb make whatsapp less private?

Postby Rooki3 » December 3rd, 2012, 6:23 am

Ahmmm, whatsapp privacy stinks big time, all i need is yur mobile # & i wud be able to see yur pics & stat also the last time u were seen, they nedd to address this, puttin the option to accept or decline

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 6:24 am

By linking user's telephone numbers with their facebook accounts. Could be a "new feature".
It might seem crazy now but a decade ago, people would have never considered putting all their personal info online.
As it stands now, anyone with your phone number can message u, see ur pic and status on whatsapp just by having your number.

But they may add for eg. a link to a users facebook profile.

Just an idea. But the possibilities are there.

http://memeburn.com/2012/12/whatbook-faceapp-rumours-fly-that-facebook-wants-to-buy-whatsapp/

WhatsApp has always been highly anti advertising, focused on giving users a service that would save them money, not get money from them. As co-founder Jan Koum says on its blog: “We wanted to spend our time building a service people wanted to use because it worked and saved them money and made their lives better in a small way. Advertising isn’t just the disruption of aesthetics, the insults to your intelligence and the interruption of your train of thought.”

Facebook on the other hand, is advertising intensive and runs at a 1 000 miles per hour on that. Without advertising Zuckerberg would not be where he is now. But that is not all…

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 3rd, 2012, 6:37 am

But didn't facebook start off as anti advertising ?

Welcome to business 101

Postby pioneer » December 3rd, 2012, 6:45 am

ollour so insecure bout ollour selves ollour too shame fuh odda ppl to see yuh pic?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 3rd, 2012, 9:12 am

pioneer wrote:ollour so insecure bout ollour selves ollour too shame fuh odda ppl to see yuh pic?

nice pic brah

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » December 3rd, 2012, 9:27 am

If Facebook buys whatsapp, I think they gonna leave it as but just have ownership & rights to its programming.

Look at what they did when they bought instagram. Left instagram alone (it has no more fb integration than before fb bought it) & then Facebook releases Facebook camera app which does pretty much the same thing as instagram.
They probably gonna just upgrade Facebook messenger to be more like whatsapp or something. (whatsapp for computers anyone)

Postby Rooki3 » December 3rd, 2012, 11:09 am

Yes, instagram goin thru some changes, it user to be for mobile devices only, they having that changed

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » December 3rd, 2012, 11:30 am

Instagram had a web page to view pics, before Facebook bought it.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 4th, 2012, 8:25 pm

Facebook taking cues from Whatsapp...

Facebook Messenger for Android drops account requirement, taking on SMS and WhatsApp

Facebook has entered the race to replace SMS in earnest today, announcing that its messenger app for Android will no longer require a Facebook account to sign up. Instead, it's taking a page from WhatsApp by allowing users to sign up with nothing more than a phone number and a name.

At its 20-year anniversary, the lowly SMS message is under assault from a lot of players besides Facebook. Offering the app without requiring a Facebook account is a surprising first for the company, but perhaps necessary to ensure that there are no hurdles between it and the thing that will most likely crown the messaging king: ubiquity.

The Verge

Postby redmanjp » March 31st, 2015, 8:40 pm

Anyone getting calls now on whatsapp?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 31st, 2015, 8:51 pm

not on blackberry, unless you have blackberrry 10 i heard

Postby DVSTT » March 31st, 2015, 8:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:Anyone getting calls now on whatsapp?

Meeeeeeeee

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 31st, 2015, 9:24 pm

Calls pon d whatsapp...well look ting

Postby Gem_in_i » March 31st, 2015, 9:39 pm

redmanjp wrote:Anyone getting calls now on whatsapp?

Me.

Postby K74T » March 31st, 2015, 9:51 pm

Ah gettin whatsapp on meh calls, i enno what to do. :(