Oleander

Re: School girl knock down by truck !

Postby Oleander » November 30th, 2012, 8:22 pm

nemisis wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:RIP but headphones is not for the road, don't they teach road safety in primary skl anymore?

in primary school??? My parents thought it to me didn't know they taught it at school... What else parents should teach getting palmed off onto teachers...

This

Yodins

Postby Yodins » November 30th, 2012, 10:44 pm

she shoulda juss take off de friggin headphones. idk what is these chirren problem nowadays. yes i is still 16 but when i cross the roads i wait till a driver blinks hid lights or signals for me to cross THEN i step onto the road. i dunno what is dem chirren scene with always bein on the road. also, i NEVER EVER EVER walk along the road with headphones on, let alone crossing the road.

anyways, at the end of the day, a girl lost her life stupidly. RIP

Postby De Dragon » November 30th, 2012, 10:47 pm

nemisis wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:RIP but headphones is not for the road, don't they teach road safety in primary skl anymore?

in primary school??? My parents thought it to me didn't know they taught it at school... What else parents should teach getting palmed off onto teachers...

Dey shoulda lef it to de teachers............

Postby nervewrecker » November 30th, 2012, 10:58 pm

cs time

Gunta drop out maxi tonite, audi swing around, pass, press out and gone. I looking to press too, almera in front me decide last minute he going to pass too, he open out, make me slam brakes, both of us look to press....gunta walk out in front mera yes.
like his gizzard was scratching, almost get clear down...and I not in a merciful mood either, he attempt that sh!t in front me I make it clear I not stopping!

[/cs]

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2012, 11:03 pm

eh heh. vehicular manslaughter. yuh fedup bite the pillow home, so yuh wanna taste GG mattress, not really shocking

Postby nervewrecker » November 30th, 2012, 11:13 pm

More like suicide, man watch a driving car and jump in front it.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 30th, 2012, 11:40 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cop ... 33191.html

Cops: Schoolgirl died wearing headset, holding cellphone
By Susan Mohammed
Story Created: Nov 30, 2012 at 11:05 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 30, 2012 at 11:07 PM ECT
SCHOOLGIRL Vasutee Bahadur was wearing a headset and holding a cellphone when she was run over by a three-tonne truck on Thursday afternoon, police said yesterday.
Police said the headset may have prevented the 13-year-old from hearing the rumble of the oncoming truck.
Bahadur, a pupil of ASJA Girls' College, Charlieville, died almost instantly.
An autopsy was performed on her body at San Fernando General Hospital's mortuary yesterday evening.
Police said Bahadur stepped out of a maxi-taxi at the intersection of Greg Street and Balmain Road, in Couva, around 2.37 p.m.
The teen was attempting to cross the roadway, when she was hit by the truck proceeding east along Balmain Road.
Bahadur fell over and rolled under the truck, police said. Her body was crushed. The driver stopped a short distance away and attempted to assist the teenager, but she was already dead.
Bahadur lived at Oatis Lane, Balmain. Her brother, Adesh Bahadur, died in a car crash along the Solomon Hochoy Highway four years ago.
Relatives said her mother, Ameeran Mohammed, was inconsolable.
Media coordinator at the Ministry of Education Yolanda Morales-Carvalho said the Ministry would provide counselling to Bahadur's school-mates, through Student Support Services.

Postby sMASH » December 1st, 2012, 10:40 am

when she fell over, did she roll under the truck or did the truck roll over her?
the truck stopped a short distance away, did he have time to see her, was he able to sound horn and start applying brakes.
if he was able to do those things, then he was going too fast as he had enough reaction time but just could not arrest the speed of the vehicle.

Postby zoom rader » December 1st, 2012, 10:55 am

TEMPO wrote:A taxi driver was giving me the story today of how traumatised he was when he witnessed that today, he said in balmain today a little school girl dropped out the maxi, an was crossing the road behind the maxi, an a truck was coming down fast on the other side of the road but he couldnt stop in time. As he was blowing his horn the girl cudnt hear becuz she had headphones in her ears. An well it was too late, the truck knocked her down an rolled over her killing her............very very sad story...........

Well this is sad.
Everyone is to take blame in this
1. The maxi driver should have ensured that she crossed the road safely
2. Parents and school to blame for not teaching how to cross a road(in the UK they teach the green cross code for kids)
3. Why was the truck speeding?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 1st, 2012, 6:00 pm

As we on speeding trucks, is it law that the speed limit is cut in half for loaded trucks?

Postby nemisis » December 1st, 2012, 8:06 pm

nemisis wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:

Like we had the same teachers :shock: :shock:

Postby DVSTT » December 1st, 2012, 8:15 pm

Question, what would happen to the driver who hit the girl?

Postby maj. tom » December 1st, 2012, 8:39 pm

Manslaughter. 4 years. Or at the judge's discretion.

dsstt

Postby dsstt » December 1st, 2012, 9:03 pm

this scenario, the maxi driver has part to blame, as a driver responsible for "kids" he should have ensured that she crossed infront the maxi, the day b4 she crossed behind the maxi and ppl who saw, did tell her abt it, sadly the 2nd day she did the similar act the truck picked up with her. the 3ton truck has been impounded @ Couva police station, 2day was the gurl funeral, i did have the opportunity to view the body when the accident happened all i can say is "headphones" can be a huge distraction.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 1st, 2012, 9:45 pm

dsstt wrote:this scenario, the maxi driver has part to blame, as a driver responsible for "kids" he should have ensured that she crossed infront the maxi,. . . .

dsstt wrote:the day b4 she crossed behind the maxi and ppl who saw, did tell her abt it, sadly the 2nd day she did the similar act the truck picked up with her. . . .

:? The girl was old enough to know the proper way to cross a road. No one is to blame but her.

I was driving up from Guayaguayare a day behind a PTSC bus. When the PTSC bus began to slow down, he parked the bus so that it blocked the entire roadway. That had me totally confused until I saw a child about 5 to 6 years old walk out from in front the bus and on to the sidewalk. In that case, one can say that the bus driver had a responsibility for the kids, and the driver fulfilled that responsibility.

In this case, it was just a stupid girl who just did not think. The fact that she was corrected the day before just proves that she is plain and simply stupid. This was a case of natural selection, survival of the fittest.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 1st, 2012, 10:04 pm

Skanky wrote:
TEMPO wrote:an a truck was coming down fast on the other side of the road but he couldnt stop in time. As he was blowing his horn the girl cudnt hear becuz she had headphones in her ears.

I'm still not seeing how you all could apportion any significant blame to the girl.Yes she was careless in crossing the road with headphones on but if you've lived in Trinidad you would know stupid pedestrians are a fact.Where pedestrians are involved you have to drive with due caution.....no matter how vex they get you.

The truck driver is the one to blame for this death.As a matter of fact as I alluded to before, he was trying his best to kill somebody, else why was he driving in such a reckless manner?
The single factor of the driver speeding had a snowball effect as I discussed above which lead to him killing the girl.Had he not been speeding in the first place I dare say the outcome of this would be different and we could have been talking bout another dotish pedestrian who nearly get knocked down....and almost all of us have one or more of those stories where we didn't knock down the person ..ent?

I dunno about you but I convert a couple jay-walkers into respectable pavement hoppers every week. :lol:

Postby redmanjp » December 1st, 2012, 10:17 pm

ZeroOne wrote:As we on speeding trucks, is it law that the speed limit is cut in half for loaded trucks?

I doh think loaded makes a difference but if the truck is over a certain weight the speed limit is 50kph even on highways if my memory from the regs exam serves me right :|

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 1st, 2012, 10:17 pm

link wrote:skanky is correct
inappropriate speed (truck), preference to 'blow yuh horn' rather that FIRST apply brakes.......
most of all...(my take here) :
truck driver never did any defensive training (or any other awareness programme for that matter), otherwise he would have been slowing down expecting someone to 'appear' from behind that maxi.
I was placed in this EXACT scenario 4 years ago, with a schoolgirl crossing from behind a 'big' maxi...& I was able to stop before hitting/probs killing the child....SIMPLY BECAUSE I HAD BEEN EXPOSED TO A DEFENSIVE DRIVING PROGRAMME.
BTW...in my case I was driving alongside the maxi after it stopped & had slowed down to almost walking pace because of the possibility of exactly what transpired...my car stopped about 1/2 inch from the child !!! (max abs / dry road)
WE ALL HAVE AN OBLIGATION TO MAKE OUR ROADS SAFE

I too did a defensive driving course however I was involved in an accident where a person in the opposing lane made a sudden turn in front of me without warning, I couldn't/didn't stop in time.

Hopefully as a witness to the accident that took the child's life you'll let the police know he could've stopped in time but preferred to run her over.

sMASH wrote:when she fell over, did she roll under the truck or did the truck roll over her?
the truck stopped a short distance away, did he have time to see her, was he able to sound horn and start applying brakes.
if he was able to do those things, then he was going too fast as he had enough reaction time but just could not arrest the speed of the vehicle.

Perhaps he realised he hit her and didn't want to PARK the truck on top of her? :lol:

mars

Postby mars » December 1st, 2012, 10:20 pm

link wrote:I was placed in this EXACT scenario 4 years ago, with a schoolgirl crossing from behind a 'big' maxi...& I was able to stop before hitting/probs killing the child....SIMPLY BECAUSE I HAD BEEN EXPOSED TO A DEFENSIVE DRIVING PROGRAMME.
BTW...in my case I was driving alongside the maxi after it stopped & had slowed down to almost walking pace because of the possibility of exactly what transpired...my car stopped about 1/2 inch from the child !!! (max abs / dry road)

??? If you were driving alongside the maxi that meant the girl crossed IN FRONT. Crossing BEHIND a vehicle you exited from is the correct way as far as I know. It is usually overtaking vehicles that knock down pedestrians.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 1st, 2012, 10:35 pm

mars wrote:
link wrote:I was placed in this EXACT scenario 4 years ago, with a schoolgirl crossing from behind a 'big' maxi...& I was able to stop before hitting/probs killing the child....SIMPLY BECAUSE I HAD BEEN EXPOSED TO A DEFENSIVE DRIVING PROGRAMME.

??? If you were driving alongside the maxi that meant the girl crossed IN FRONT. Crossing BEHIND a vehicle you exited from is the correct way as far as I know. It is usually overtaking vehicles that knock down pedestrians.

crossing behind is what causes accidents most of the time as the person on the opposite lane has no idea that someone is about to dart out onto the roadway, in front however the driver can signal to both who is behind him and oncoming traffic

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » December 2nd, 2012, 4:26 am

trucker to blame

Postby De Dragon » December 2nd, 2012, 6:16 am

nemisis wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:

Like we had the same teachers :shock: :shock:

My use of vernacular was deliberate. Yours..............

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 2nd, 2012, 7:05 am

maj. tom wrote:Manslaughter. 4 years. Or at the judge's discretion.

just 4 years? should be 8.

I know a lot of truck drivers who should be charged with this.

Driving like if they playing Gran theft auto.

TriP

Postby TriP » December 2nd, 2012, 8:20 am

even self she crossing from behind the vehicle..you suppose to look left-right-left or (vice versus) before u cross the road..an way she doing with that discothèque on she ears..she deaf or wah..

R.I.P lil girl..where you going in heaven u have yuh music

Postby sMASH » December 2nd, 2012, 8:25 am

what if the truck brake failed or the tyre got punctured, sending it forward with out control? not much the driver could have done there.

the truck may or may not have been going at an inappropriate speed, but still within the speed limit. it is up to the pedestrians to make sure that they are as safe as possible.

why couldn't the girl wait till the maxi moves off and she could see both sides of the road? why couldn't she see that a truck was oncoming? i doubt that trucks magically appear heading in your direction.

delivery vehicles can be forced to move at very slow speeds to cater for the safety of pedestrians, but why should businesses be made to suffer for inconsiderate pedestrians? when all this really needs is for people to be a little more conscious about their surroundings , which are not limited to trucks but include faster moving cars, and harder to see motorbikes.

Postby Hook » December 2nd, 2012, 9:12 am

plenty roadsaints in this here ched bhai! some stiff competition for 2012 Driver Of The Year :roll:

Food for thought. You'll notice that of late, when passing a line of stagnant cars in the opposing lane, when pedestrians are crossing or cars are coming out of side streets/driveways into your lane, NOBODY flashes you to get your attention or motions you to slow or stop.

At ANY speed, an ill-timed entry into your path can result in a collision. At that point, your speed determines how far you relocate the obstruction.

Okay, y'all can continue playing CSI now.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 2nd, 2012, 9:22 am

Oleander wrote:I always say that headphone habit will get people killed. People need to realise the importance of paying attention to their surroundings..

Terrible though..RIP School girl

as well as those BBM-ites...

and then there's these kind of ppl, who sadly won't be able to get out of harms way when their jeans stifling them..and their c0cks

Postby nemisis » December 2nd, 2012, 9:28 am

^^ i'm sure rs frowns on your shenanigans

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 2nd, 2012, 10:26 am

as already noted, there's enough blame to go around :lol:
for the drivers: i would recommend that we have something like this installed, but seeing that quite a bit of motorists can't seem to read simple signs, it might just be a waste:

for the pedestrians: a little bit of common sense goes a long way, but until then

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 2nd, 2012, 10:55 am

nemisis wrote:^^ i'm sure rs frowns on your shenanigans

i'm sure ur suffering from blue ballz syndrome..