A172 Lancer RB20DET Project paused... new project c33 laurel

cookiemonstar

can a entire s13 rear subfram work on a box lancer?/project

Postby cookiemonstar » November 30th, 2012, 9:55 am

moti wrote:nice car dude

thanks man
Last edited by cookiemonstar on December 31st, 2012, 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: can a entire s13 rear subfram work on a box lancer??

Postby MG Man » November 30th, 2012, 9:58 am

lookin good :)

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » November 30th, 2012, 10:40 am

MG Man wrote:lookin good :)

thanks bro

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » November 30th, 2012, 11:30 am

im currently using FU in the back & new in front so they r in my budget ( some what ) jus make sure if u decide to weld it , it being welded good & strong . Just last week mines broke cuz the they didnt weld it good so my pops weld it over properly no hair line cracks lol . U jus have to make up your mind to go through with it as i said b4 i drive 2 work every day with no probs @ all once youre not a " wild man " u can njoy it :-)

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » November 30th, 2012, 11:34 am

The Lancer looking nice star B-) btw what made u choose to go the 6 boys ?

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » November 30th, 2012, 11:59 am

well i was always a RB fan, but i was going JZ u no but plans fall tru and i end up buying a RB instead.

plus i wanted to do sumtin different..... all men talk bout is SR this and SR that. not saying anythig wrong with SR eh!! but i more like an RB.

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » November 30th, 2012, 12:02 pm

cool cool no sene it wasnt a fight down thing tho jus curious on the choice

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » November 30th, 2012, 12:09 pm

kool bro..........btw wat u got in ur bird?

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » November 30th, 2012, 12:44 pm

CA18de

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » November 30th, 2012, 12:54 pm

kool... my padna had one in his RX runs nice

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » November 30th, 2012, 12:57 pm

yes they do theyre nice little engines :-)

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 1st, 2012, 12:06 am

MG Man wrote:... you might consider a Mitsubishi Starion rear end
Welcome to MY world!... :evilbat: :lol: :lol:
moti wrote:why? to keep the suspension all mitsu?
MG Man wrote:... starion supposed to e a reasonably easy swap
Yup... but only if you also use the rear floor-pan from the Starion as well.
Razkal wrote:... shorten... cut and re-spline axles...
IMHO that's a lot of work with limited results compared to a well set-up Starion I.R.S.

Welded Diff... Okay for "drags"... but I don't drive in a straight line all the time.
Terrible option for a "daily driver." IMHO I.R.S. would be "the icing on the cake" for much better handling.

Why bother to do it?...
Sanctifier wrote:IMHO the standard Lancer 1800 GSR is NOT ideal for quick, consistent driving.
When you add these issues...
Image Imprecise, lurid throttle oversteer...
Image Terminal understeer "at and beyond the limit" of tyre adhesion.
Image Constant brake fade...
Image Sloppy steering and "Turn-in" (with 3.xx turns lock-to-lock) :roll:

BTW I have owned/driven FOUR Lancer EXs to date...
Sanctifier wrote: Image 1 x N/A Lancer 1.4 EX (Normally Aspirated.)
Image 1 x N/A Lancer 2.0L EX (G63B + 5-speed.)
Image 2 x Lancer 1800 GSR Turbo saloons... 1 with LSD and 1 without LSD.
... so while I'm no Makinen, my opinion on "Lancer handling" is formed from long-term use, driving different configurations of the same basic platform.

Sanctifier wrote:The MOST important reason to use a Starion IRS is that IT FITS WITHOUT FLARES!...
(So does a Silvia IRS... but the Starion floor-pan may be an easier fit.)
... 1,455 mm (Starion) - 1,355 mm (Lancer 1800 GSR) = 100 mm/2
50 mm per side = 1.97"... Less than 2" difference per side.
And that is with the Starion's SHP 9" wide rear rims.

This is what I'm going to do (starting Jan. 2013)...
Sanctifier wrote: Image Lancer 1800 GTX Specifications:

Engine ........... Image 4G93 - 1.8L, DOHC, In-line 4-cylinder Turbo Motor.
.................... Image 205 ps [151 kW (203 bhp)] @ 6,000 rpm / 275 Nm (203 lb.-ft.) @ 3000 rpm / Redline = 8,500 rpm.

Gearbox .......... Image Starion 5-speed OR Lancer 1800 GSR 5-speed. (both available.)
Drive-train ...... Image Starion LSD, (3.545:1) with torque-tube and drive-shaft.

Steering ........ Image Lancer 1800 GSR Power Steering-box swapped for Power "Rack & Pinion." (Model undecided.)
........................... Image

Front Suspension . Image Starion: MacPherson struts, coil-springs, dampers, anti-roll bar, Lower Control Arms.
...................... .Image. "Hi-Caster" Top Spring Perches to reduce understeer.
Rear Suspension .. Image Starion: Independent Rear Suspension - (The key to taming the "wild" throttle oversteer.)
.............................. MacPherson struts, coil-springs, dampers, "Trailing" A-Arms, anti-roll bar. 8)
ImageImageImage
... Before ---------------> After!

Brakes ................ Image Starion Rotors (ft. & rr.) - cross-drilled (unfortunately) & slotted.
......................... Image Evolution 8 Calipers - Front: 4-pot Brembo.
......................... Image Evolution 8 Calipers - Rear: 2-pot Brembo.
Handbrake.......... .Image. Wilwood or Brembo Handbrake Calipers.
Rims & Tyres ....... Image Starion 16" x 8" ET+18 / PCD xxx / 5-stud... Tyres: - 225/50 x 16"

"Bling!": ............. Image Power "Slide &/or Tilt" Sun-roof - ex-4WD Lancer 1800 GSR (CM5A)
......................... Image Power Windows - ex-4WD Lancer 1800 GSR (CM5A)

Link--> "GroceryGetter!" - Lancer 1800 GTX (A175X.)

My $0.02¢

Talibanmafia

Postby Talibanmafia » December 1st, 2012, 1:27 am

IF Interested to see it done i'm doing one for a friend,he has a red top s13 sr20det.

525isport

Postby 525isport » December 1st, 2012, 8:58 pm

cookiemonstar wrote: i wanted to do sumtin different..... all men talk bout is SR this and SR that. not saying anythig wrong with SR eh!! but i more like an RB.

i had the same idea when i started my project. RB all the way . car looks good man its not easy to fit the 6 in that small space but ,i think its worth it .

Postby Razkal » December 2nd, 2012, 11:09 am

really nice lancer you got there OP!

sanctifier, where locally can the starion rear end be sourced? how affordable is it and how accessible are parts?
those are my main questions dealing with that irs.
i was advising, based on seeing an s13 rear irs swap and a shortened 720 setup, for drag racing, it worked awesome. turns out OP was more daily use in store...

i'm always in favour of an IRS swap though...went full FC with my first gen rx7...feels like a kart now :D

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 2nd, 2012, 1:10 pm

^ ^ ^ I wasn't arguing, my friend. Your choice is MUCH cheaper than mine. :)
where locally can the starion rear end be sourced?...
Sanctifier wrote:Except for one "demo" unit, Image Starions were not sold here; so parts are unavailable.
All my Image Starion parts were sourced from a seller in California (eBay.)
Also available in salvage yards throughout USA (& eBay)... Check Florida (lower shipping.) It will be even cheaper if you get someone to go to the salvage yard with a "Sawsall." (DIY on holiday or "US local contact.")

How affordable is it?... It isn't cheap! A complete Starion ("beater"/parts car) sells for +/- $1,500 US... but the better (1988-1989) models are more expensive. Also, sea freight + 2% Duty + VAT + eCourier charges add to the cost.
I waited (and waited) for 1989 "wide-body" parts... but there are other options.

Now on eBay... 1987 Conquests... Links ---> $1,200 US ... $2,400 US...

How accessible are parts?... Some US Image Dealers still stock Starion parts. It's also stocked by a couple after-market shops.

It depends on how badly you want it...
Sanctifier wrote:Yuh gotta pay for your chips to get in the game!
With "Premium" @ $5.75/litre, I REALLY want a user-friendly, brilliant handling & stopping "hybrid" with excellent milage as a "Daily Driver." (I'll use the Evo 6 on weekends only... It will stay "younger" that way too.)
Sanctifier wrote:OEM (stock) 4G93T with SUPER HD Starion 5-speed, drivetrain & LSD...
PLUS Brembos off an Evo 8... PLUS the same "tyre contact patch" as an Evo 7-9.

203 bhp & 203 lb-ft in less than 2,700 lbs. Hopefully that will give me what I want...
+/- 130mph (209 kph)... 0-60 = +/- 6.5 sec... 35-38 m.p.g ON SUPER! (with water/meth injection 8-) )
We'll see.
Link--> "GroceryGetter!" - Lancer 1800 GTX (A175X.)

My $0.02¢

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » December 3rd, 2012, 11:53 am

Talibanmafia wrote:IF Interested to see it done i'm doing one for a friend,he has a red top s13 sr20det.

whats that a I.R.S on a box lancer?? i would love to see how its done, but my schedule is really tight bro.
besides i think i would go with the 720 for now.

thaks doh.

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » December 3rd, 2012, 12:15 pm

525isport wrote:
cookiemonstar wrote: i wanted to do sumtin different..... all men talk bout is SR this and SR that. not saying anythig wrong with SR eh!! but i more like an RB.

i had the same idea when i started my project. RB all the way . car looks good man its not easy to fit the 6 in that small space but ,i think its worth it .

thaks man...

sure not easy a lot of mods and even though my padna and dem try to pressure me in going SR, its my car! so i went wit a 6

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » December 3rd, 2012, 12:21 pm

Razkal wrote:really nice lancer you got there OP!

sanctifier, where locally can the starion rear end be sourced? how affordable is it and how accessible are parts?
those are my main questions dealing with that irs.
i was advising, based on seeing an s13 rear irs swap and a shortened 720 setup, for drag racing, it worked awesome. turns out OP was more daily use in store...

i'm always in favour of an IRS swap though...went full FC with my first gen rx7...feels like a kart now :D

thanks dude....

if i had the time and money i would have gone irs but cant really afford that right now maybe sometime later on if god spares life i will..

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » December 3rd, 2012, 12:26 pm

intercooler and pipping a bit small for my liking but this would have to do for now.

speed

Postby speed » December 3rd, 2012, 2:07 pm

i hav a rb25det in my lancer check my thread viewtopic.php?f=25&t=409358

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » December 3rd, 2012, 3:13 pm

speed wrote:i hav a rb25det in my lancer check my thread viewtopic.php?f=25&t=409358

looks nice dude! is that the original suspension i see up front?

speed

Postby speed » December 4th, 2012, 3:34 pm

well i did it over recently c33 front suspension

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » December 4th, 2012, 3:46 pm

but how did the original stand up to the weight?

i plan on putting s13 up front, but would the original ones take the weight for now? just for a test drive, ect?

speed

Postby speed » December 5th, 2012, 11:17 am

yer it wud tak the weight i drove my car plenty b4 i did over the suspension

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » December 17th, 2012, 10:34 am

yo dudes i ran into a bit of a problem....is there any alternative bonnet latches other that safety pins?
as u can see in the pic above ^^^^ the radiator is right up under where the original hood latch was so i cant put it back.

i have no problem putting in the safety pins, but anyone could just pull the pins and have access to my engine. is there anyway i can fabricate a latch so i can use the pull cable from inside to open?

moti

Postby moti » December 17th, 2012, 10:45 am

there are hood locks that use a key, suggest you get those.

not sure if any power seller on the forum has these but you welcomed to try them.
people like :

W2J
Dualstar
TunerImports
Gavins
and others

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2012, 10:48 am

I have a brand new Aerocatch (moti's second pic) to sell for $700..........not the carbon fibre finish tho, just plain black..........also not locking, just the standard flush fit
For security, you can release the latches first (press the buttons) and then pull the bonnet cable

cookiemonstar

Postby cookiemonstar » December 17th, 2012, 10:59 am

nice! thanks man.

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2012, 11:00 am

PM me if u want it :p