Employment applications going missing.

Postby nervewrecker » November 27th, 2012, 2:21 pm

Always heard of it and dismissed it as ole talk or maybe rumor (people like to talk and you dont know who to believe) until it happen to me...twice.

Always drop off at a certain place but never get any reply. So this time I dropped off one, called 2 days later to confirm they get it. Followed up on it a week later and it was nowhere to be found. No record of it.

Dropped off another one at another place, everything going good, they get it...it processing...3 weeks and no reply....follow up on it....no record of it.

Not calling any names but heard from someone that in the first place mentioned the people in HR practically dispose of job applications and only process those of friend and family.

Anyone else had this?

Is there a way to follow up on it?

Re: Employment applications going missing.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 27th, 2012, 2:48 pm

Not even ah hint self nerve?

Postby turbosingh » November 27th, 2012, 2:53 pm

When they see its nerve they will automatically dispose it!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 27th, 2012, 2:54 pm

nepotism is the name of the game, and it has become more blatant over the past couple years

Puppetman

Postby Puppetman » November 27th, 2012, 3:43 pm

Call name....

Postby tr1ad » November 27th, 2012, 3:51 pm

no.......

Postby RBphoto » November 27th, 2012, 3:56 pm

Ah went to HR and ask them if we have nepotism... but mammy say no.

Daran

Postby Daran » November 27th, 2012, 3:56 pm

Nothing illegal in that, just immoral....but no company (State or Private) is obligated to look at and file your application.

Postby stev » November 27th, 2012, 3:58 pm

Daran wrote:Nothing illegal in that, just immoral....but no company (State or Private) is obligated to look at and file your application.

sad but true...

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 27th, 2012, 3:59 pm

A lot of companies simply dispose of unsolicited applications.
Some may choose to keep it on file, but ...

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » November 27th, 2012, 4:03 pm

maybe you are "over-qualified" or they just dont need your skill base, or maybe they just dont like you

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 27th, 2012, 4:05 pm

If they don't want you the first time you think they'll hold it and want you then? :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » November 27th, 2012, 4:07 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Ah went to HR and ask them if we have nepotism... but mammy say no.

LoL.. same ting when i ask mammy in I.T.

Postby pete » November 27th, 2012, 5:30 pm

The amount of times I've sent stuff to Caribbean jobs and not even an email from the company to say "hard luck you're not what we're looking for". Next time I gonna put triad as a reference yes.

Postby crazybalhead » November 27th, 2012, 5:44 pm

Please use his real name pete: Gidharrie Lalbiharrisigh.

Postby pete » November 27th, 2012, 5:49 pm

I thought that was your name.. Wtf

Postby DFC » November 27th, 2012, 5:51 pm

If you are qualified, join an employment agency.

Postby pioneer » November 27th, 2012, 5:57 pm

pics or it didn't happen

good ting in de public sector applications go tru heads of departments and in turn the perm sec

Always make a photocopy of your application and/or apply twice

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 27th, 2012, 5:58 pm

Sometimes they say unsuitable applications would not be acknowledged. Maybe that was the case?

But if you do suspect something, I'd ask to speak with the HR manager, and explain your situation and previous experiences, then try to find out what happened to your application. Forward copies of sent emails, dates of phone conversations naming the parties and dates the application was dropped off. If they can't explain it, ask them for their email address and resend it directly to the HR manager and tell them that you will be following up your application with them.

Postby pioneer » November 27th, 2012, 6:08 pm

new ministries created but all staffin is via contract

yet nobody seeing advertisements but the positions miraculously being filled

isn't that amazing?

Postby nervewrecker » November 27th, 2012, 6:22 pm

At place #1, I am qualified to work there, in a few months I will be walking away with 2 bachelor degrees related to operations that take place there.
No you cannot go up to the HR department.
No you cannot speak to anyone in HR.
You leave the application at the front desk.
Apparently its a regular thing. They understaffed and had 5 positions a few years back, someone came in class and asked for application to be sent in. To our surprise the positions were filled by 5 people with bare CXC and our applications were never found.
Lo and behold we got to find out 1 girl was the CEO niece, another was the HR manager niece and the other 3 also had family very high up. hmmmmm...
In all my years with all different classes I have only come across a handful of people willing to work. All the rest have wajank behavior and barely get pass marks. I have one classmate right now with a story tattoed all the way up his hands to his neck, mohawk and saw him passing $$$ to collect something wrapped up in a foil easy easy in a corner from the class 'high man'. These people are in charge of a very important commodity that we all need.

Second place, I have a few certificates that qualify me, have a lot of experience with excel and access (which somehow the new operators seem to have discovered that they can use excel to fill out the sheets automatically and go drink rum instead of work), I know every single road like the back of my hand, know all the operations that take place there since I was like 14 and I live very close to the work place.
A lot of older heads retiring soon, they understaffed, seeing pressure with the younger heads and I known to not make joke with work. I not known for staying home, being late or not going the extra mile. A certain person told me apply, once I get my foot in the door he could request I be transferred to the place closer to home. Application gone missing.

Pioneer, dont come with that. Them PS and head of departments know how to get work for their children in the ministry as interns during the vacation. They get experience like that and get contract as they done school (if it fall in your garden, plant it).

Postby skylinechild » November 27th, 2012, 6:39 pm

nervewrecker wrote:At place #1, I am qualified to work there, in a few months I will be walking away with 2 bachelor degrees related to operations that take place there.
No you cannot go up to the HR department.
No you cannot speak to anyone in HR.
You leave the application at the front desk.
Apparently its a regular thing. They understaffed and had 5 positions a few years back, someone came in class and asked for application to be sent in. To our surprise the positions were filled by 5 people with bare CXC and our applications were never found.
Lo and behold we got to find out 1 girl was the CEO niece, another was the HR manager niece and the other 3 also had family very high up. hmmmmm...
In all my years with all different classes I have only come across a handful of people willing to work. All the rest have wajank behavior and barely get pass marks. I have one classmate right now with a story tattoed all the way up his hands to his neck, mohawk and saw him passing $$$ to collect something wrapped up in a foil easy easy in a corner from the class 'high man'. These people are in charge of a very important commodity that we all need.

Second place, I have a few certificates that qualify me, have a lot of experience with excel and access (which somehow the new operators seem to have discovered that they can use excel to fill out the sheets automatically and go drink rum instead of work), I know every single road like the back of my hand, know all the operations that take place there since I was like 14 and I live very close to the work place.
A lot of older heads retiring soon, they understaffed, seeing pressure with the younger heads and I known to not make joke with work. I not known for staying home, being late or not going the extra mile. A certain person told me apply, once I get my foot in the door he could request I be transferred to the place closer to home. Application gone missing.

Pioneer, dont come with that. Them PS and head of departments know how to get work for their children in the ministry as interns during the vacation. They get experience like that and get contract as they done school (if it fall in your garden, plant it).

where i work they understaffed but they wont hire anyone cause they cutting cost but somehow the secretary who came in a couple months after me under contract suddenly became HOD secretary and permanent with perks..in LESS than one year....this person had no qualifications and such ...meanwhile the ppl like me who have an IT background and knows how the technology works there 3 years and month to month contract....smh...

in another department they responsible for populating the database with stuff and they cant even spell properly but yet they have a job...smh....

Postby pioneer » November 27th, 2012, 6:42 pm

Yeah well costatt "degrees" don't really count for anything

Postby nervewrecker » November 27th, 2012, 6:48 pm

Tell that to all the people that got promoted with it and now in charge of your...... :wink:

Postby Bizzare » November 27th, 2012, 6:50 pm

Y'all need to state what kinda degrees y'all have and from where. Sounding like that's the issue TBH :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » November 27th, 2012, 6:54 pm

Truth be told i'm more pissed at the application going missing that the fact that I loose out on a chance to work at place #1. I dont think I want to work with these people :shock:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 27th, 2012, 7:02 pm

yuh lookin for ah wuk op?

Postby rfari » November 27th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Eh nerve. U does hadda have some high to ensure that proper procedure is followed. A friend of mine sent in an application to an government agency. She did the first.round of interviews and she aced it. For the final round of interviews the manager was slipped a cv and asked to take a look at it and but continue with the interview. Just make sure that the new person got the position. The thing is this new person wasnt even remotely qualified. It too the intervention of a senior person in the organisation to make a big stink about it.

Postby rspann » November 27th, 2012, 7:14 pm

That real dread eh?I find is time all these kind of nepotism come to an end and people be treated according to their qualifications,but sadly this is Trinidad and somebody always pulling strings for their people.It happen under the PNM and it happening under the PP,say what,we like it so.

Postby skylinechild » November 27th, 2012, 7:14 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Truth be told i'm more pissed at the application going missing that the fact that I loose out on a chance to work at place #1. I dont think I want to work with these people :shock:

[cool story starts here]
that is joke my sister gave a relative an application to drop in for her now the relative DOES NOT have the necessary qualifications & skills set to work there, low and behold the days go by which turn into months and then i hear the relative got the job...how that happen i dont know but i guess opportunities open when legs do....

2 yrs later my sis was asked by my relative to help clear out her old office and what does she find.....her application in the last drawer below a whole set of other garbage covered in cobwebs and stains.....go figure.... :lol:. [/end of cool story]

[note]yes the relative held two jobs her initial job was a consultancy and the job my sis applied for at a different company[/note]

so nerve at least be grateful is perfect strangers do that to you and not your OWN family...