The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 14th, 2012, 12:16 pm

Anyone ever developed their own app here?

I'm thinking about trying it but not sure how to get my feet wet

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 14th, 2012, 12:17 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone know what's up with the 4S iOS 6 jail break ?

It's on it's way to the public for 6.0.1 , didn't see any for 6.1 yet

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 14th, 2012, 12:18 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Anyone ever developed their own app here?

I started by YouTube tutorials , jus needs the time and effort to complete , looking to start back around January hopefully .

Postby pioneer » November 14th, 2012, 12:29 pm

coworker just told me bmobile on the brian lara promenade has the iphone5 in stock (as at 14.11.12 12:20pm)

ole whore

Postby ole whore » November 14th, 2012, 6:22 pm

I got an iPhone 5 from the apple store in Miami, it's a 32gb white, paid $749 plus taxes and its unlocked, when I reached back home I cut and put in my bmobile sim and it works. Had a spare digicel sim and it works also.

I reached at 5:30 am at the store and was 5th in line, the line reached fifty something, when the sales rep came out at 8:30 he informed us there is only 8 pcs available, one per person and only 32gb white.

So they do sell unlocked.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 15th, 2012, 8:57 am

You'll need a Mac.
XCode is free for anyone running OSX version 10.7+ (Lion).

You will need to learn Objective C.
No C++ experience required, although it will help.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 15th, 2012, 9:09 am

Strauss wrote:

You'll need a Mac.

i created simple RSS readers and allot of the demo apps, got stumped trying to create my own app when I got lost in the map api, nothing published to the appstore. I have worked on teams (as a GUI designer) that have published numerous apps. doing it alone is ALLOT of work depending on what you trying to make

Postby TRAE » November 15th, 2012, 9:28 am

pioneer wrote:coworker just told me bmobile on the brian lara promenade has the iphone5 in stock (as at 14.11.12 12:20pm)

i have meh bill as yuh say go i going... in south today so is st james st i heading

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 15th, 2012, 2:07 pm

Anyone else got an email form Skype for freness for a month?

Postby tr1ad » November 15th, 2012, 2:11 pm

after freeness is

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 15th, 2012, 2:17 pm

Well i doh really get nuttin free, so i eh know.
But please don't enlighten me.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » November 15th, 2012, 3:55 pm

Strauss wrote:

You'll need a Mac.

A Mac virtual machine would work as well.

Postby S_2NR » November 15th, 2012, 4:02 pm

PapaC wrote:Anyone else got an email form Skype for freness for a month?

ive gotten free skype credit numerous times. no problems

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 15th, 2012, 4:05 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
Strauss wrote:

You'll need a Mac.

A Mac virtual machine would work as well.

I have an iPad and slight understanding in objective c :oops:

Postby TRAE » November 16th, 2012, 8:51 am

http://smarthouse.com.au/Phones/Industry/L8W6L2F9

Major iPhone Microphone Problem Identified By Expert Apple Refuse To Acknowledge Issue
By David Richards | Monday | 12/11/2012
A leading expert on Apple products claims Apple is ignoring microphone problems with their iPhone 4 and 4S.
Patrick Lee, the CEO of iExpert, a Company that repairs thousands of faulty or broken Apple products, claims that Apple is "ignoring" a serious problem with the iPhone 4 microphone which cuts out due to a component failure on the iPhone 4 motherboard.

Lee, whose Company repairs both iPhones and iPads, claims that hundreds of customers come to him with faulty home switches or power switches.

He said "One of my biggest complaints is the failure of the top microphone. Apple refuses to recognise this problem which is caused by a component failure on the board. The problem is only with the top microphone, not the microphone that is used for Skype or video calls. Owners who go to Apple with their faulty 4 or [4S] smartphones are charged a $179 warranty replacement fee if they are outside of their warranty."

Lee who has just opened a retail store at Westfield in Bondi Junction said thousands of customers from across Australia come to him with broken iPhone or iPad screens.

"We replace these with either genuine Apple screens for $149 or $109 for a third party screen. There is nothing wrong with these third party screens which we source directly from manufacturers in China".

"Several retailers including carriers and some Apple stores are sending customers to us with their problem iPads and iPhones so we have a good understanding of the problems that Apple customers are encountering" Lee said.

Online Apple customers are venting their anger with Apple over their refusal to recognise the microphone problem identified by the iExpert.

One Apple customer wrote on a discussion forum "On normal phone calls on my iPhone 4 the other party cannot hear me, like my microphone is dead. My microphone is working on voice memos or Skype calls."

Another wrote "visited the apple store yesterday. They said I should pay $179 for a replacement! No way!"

Barry House wrote "I have had a problem with the microphone; it works on all other apps except phone calls. I was told by Apple that it sounds like a software issue because the microphone is shared by some of the other apps. Factory reset advised but this does not fix it. Come on Apple this is a worldwide recurring problem with your product. Suggestions please!! I'm 51 years of age and my phone is only 4 months out of warranty and is treated like a baby so not some teenagers toy."

Apple Australia executives were not available to comment on Lee's claims

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2012, 3:49 pm

Anywhere has the lightning to usb cable in stock....iworld sold out

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 20th, 2012, 8:08 am

Any of u guys getting trouble to update apps on ur iPhone....

When I click update all the little bar comes up and disappears after a second

Any solution to this??

I all ready tried rebooting...

Thanks

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 20th, 2012, 9:45 am

Tried using WiFi ?

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 20th, 2012, 10:15 am

Yup same thing :(

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 20th, 2012, 11:02 am

Anyone knows where I can get a stylus for a iPad/iPhone?

Postby M_2NR » November 20th, 2012, 11:17 am

Stylus - amazon.

I had trouble updating yesterday but seems to work today.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 20th, 2012, 6:00 pm

src1983 wrote:Anyone knows where I can get a stylus for a iPad/iPhone?

i got a nice kodiak pen/stylus in gulf city for 80$ well worth it IMO

its basically a nice metal pen with a stylus on the end like a small bubble

blacklight

Postby blacklight » November 20th, 2012, 6:11 pm

Nokia here maps working sweet! Better than others I've used

xtech

Postby xtech » November 20th, 2012, 7:15 pm

Just went an read the reviews for that Nokia here app an everybody saying its crap

nortel

Postby nortel » November 20th, 2012, 8:22 pm

Guys, im new to this iphone thing, and i have a question. I have an iphone 4, which i used my sim card from my BB (postpaid) and the data worked great. Until recently, i am not able to get data again on my iphone but if i put my sim in the bb my data works. Can some light on this? and if there is any possible fix?

Be gentle if this is a stupid question eh

Postby pete » November 20th, 2012, 8:31 pm

Only option is to go into TSTT and switch to a 2G ($139/month) or 4G($179/month) plan.

nortel

Postby nortel » November 20th, 2012, 8:46 pm

pete wrote:Only option is to go into TSTT and switch to a 2G ($139/month) or 4G($179/month) plan.

figured so, can this be added to your family plan if you have one?

Postby S_2NR » November 20th, 2012, 9:05 pm

shotta wrote:Guys, im new to this iphone thing, and i have a question. I have an iphone 4, which i used my sim card from my BB (postpaid) and the data worked great. Until recently, i am not able to get data again on my iphone but if i put my sim in the bb my data works. Can some light on this? and if there is any possible fix?

Look at my post in the tstt 4g thread. A text I got from them.so they texting and calling me begging me to take 4g but u ain't get no text or call. :lol:

nortel

Postby nortel » November 20th, 2012, 9:18 pm

S_2NR wrote:
shotta wrote:Guys, im new to this iphone thing, and i have a question. I have an iphone 4, which i used my sim card from my BB (postpaid) and the data worked great. Until recently, i am not able to get data again on my iphone but if i put my sim in the bb my data works. Can some light on this? and if there is any possible fix?

Look at my post in the tstt 4g thread. A text I got from them.so they texting and calling me begging me to take 4g but u ain't get no text or call. :lol:

TSTT eh kno they brains from their arse nah...total failures :roll: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 20th, 2012, 11:06 pm

^ the issue is that people are using BIS and BB SIMs in their non BB devices and the system is not meant for that.

Since the switch they may have disabled the use of BB activated SIMs from using Data on other smartphones in a bid to correct this across the board.

why not just call them and find out? :idea: