P11 Problem

Furlz

P11 Problem

Postby Furlz » November 7th, 2012, 11:25 am

Car originally came with the QG18 setup however a conversion to a sr20ve mated to a m6cvt was done (about 4 years ago).

Any assistance on the following issues will be appreciated:

1. Loss of power when going up hills. It is so severe that i cannot climb an incline greater than 20 degrees from standstill i.e. car needs to develop significant momentum to before reaching incline.

2. Loss of power when the AC is on. Long (approximately 5 sec) delay when attempting to pull off from a stationary position when AC is on.

3. Complete loss of power on occasions. When driving the car will suddenly lose power this only happens when the engine is cold. When the loss of power occurs, if I "mash down" on the accelerator pedal the engine will only "rev" and car will start to "buck". However, if I switch the car from drive to neutral and back to drive the problem goes away. As i mentioned earlier this ONLY happens when the engine is cold, so it may happen once or twice during the day.

The following solutions have been attempted:

1. The transmission was changed which resulted in Issue 1 temporarily abating, however its back now.

2. Changed TPS, IAAC valve.

Note:
Issue 3 only began after the transmission was changed but not immediately after (approx. 6 months) after.

Anil_Sooknanan

Re: P11 Problem

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » November 7th, 2012, 11:56 am

7372330 fixing that!

Postby skylinechild » November 7th, 2012, 6:50 pm

anil no doubt you spent ALOT of time learning these things over the years,
but he's asking what could be the problem not asking for someone to fix it.

at least give the man part of the solution eg do a sensor scan and see what comes up, do maintenance..check XX sensor....dont just say call XXX and we fixin it.....i dont think when youre sick your family doctor treats you like that call XXX and we giving yuh medicine.

and if he decides to visit your garage for you to fix it - you make an honest dollar.

OP get your car scanned and see what comes up...first....could be a sensor issue.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 7th, 2012, 9:37 pm

Anil is a powerseller. He's offering his service at a cost. Using your analogy ,When you're sick do you call the doctor and say can you tell me what it is, get the medication yourself and visit another doctor? No he'll say I recommend you coming in and making an appointment because he suspects it can be a,b or c but he'll need to rule it out.

Anyway a scan won't help since it's a swap and the obd port is not something electricians hook up normally.

Furlz

Postby Furlz » November 8th, 2012, 9:31 am

The obd port is working as I did numerous scans using both the handheld scanners and the "Nissan DataScan" and nothing abnormal came up.
As for the swap, I bought a front cut and transferred everything (harnesses etc).

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 8th, 2012, 10:27 am

msglength
Last edited by .:PROZAC:.. on November 10th, 2012, 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » November 10th, 2012, 12:13 am

the TPS on SR20VE controls the cvt , there are two jacks the brown one is the TPS and the black sends a signal to the cvt, you will need a multimeter, output voltage at warm up idle at the brown jack should be between 0.35-0.65V any voltage out of this sends a wrong signal causing bad shifting. Recheck you engine timing and idle and idle air screw, after you think you have idle where you want it unplug the brown TPS jack and plug back in under 5 sec, this is for the CPU to re learn the idle, give it a drive round the block and re adjust if needed.(took me about 4 re-adjustments) each time you adjust the idle don't forget to unplug the brown TPS jack and plug back in, hope this helps.

Furlz

Postby Furlz » November 15th, 2012, 1:34 pm

SR-B14 wrote:the TPS on SR20VE controls the cvt , there are two jacks the brown one is the TPS and the black sends a signal to the cvt, you will need a multimeter, output voltage at warm up idle at the brown jack should be between 0.35-0.65V any voltage out of this sends a wrong signal causing bad shifting. Recheck you engine timing and idle and idle air screw, after you think you have idle where you want it unplug the brown TPS jack and plug back in under 5 sec, this is for the CPU to re learn the idle, give it a drive round the block and re adjust if needed.(took me about 4 re-adjustments) each time you adjust the idle don't forget to unplug the brown TPS jack and plug back in, hope this helps.

Tried that already, no luck.

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » November 15th, 2012, 4:02 pm

did you check the resistance on the dropping resistor?, could also be you transmission valve body needs servicing, my moms B15 was taking very long to shift into drive when started in the morning but reverse works, took down the valve body, had some valves sticking, disassembled, cleaned, reassembled added new tranny oil, so far working very well.