Energy drink related deaths.

Postby shogun » November 15th, 2012, 7:17 am

SAN FRANCISCO (KGO) -- Those popular energy drinks are being scrutinized following a recent federal filing site their possible link to 18 deaths. Now a San Francisco attorney is demanding labeling changes. A new UCSF study is slated for release on Thursday.

The Federal Drug Administration says one 5-hour Energy drink has as much caffeine as two cups of coffee. Like most energy drinks, 5-hour Energy drinks are not required to list the amount of caffeine they contain. Now there's pressure to do that.

Golden Bear Market owner Sam Jaber says the demand for his famous Turkish coffee is rivaled by the demand for 5-hour Energy.

"I do sell a lot of it and I make sure I don't run out of it. I keep it in stock," said Jaber.

The FDA has received reports of 13 deaths over the last four years involving 5-hour Energy. Sandra Klingel, who is a nurse, says she had to take a man, who was working on her roof, to the hospital after he drank three of the drinks.

"His heart rate was beating so quickly that he was not getting enough blood to either his heart or his brain and so he became faint," said Klingel.

The San Francisco city attorney is demanding the makers of Monster Energy drinks -- another highly caffeinated drink -- prove the beverage is completely safe. The FDA says it may be linked to as many as five deaths since 2009.

Byron Lee, M.D., is a cardiologist at UCSF who suspects people are abusing the dosage. Lee said, "I think that if somebody were to have a pre-existing heart condition the increased adrenaline that may come with high doses of caffeine may tip them over the edge and eventually cause a lethal arrhythmia."

UCSF says it plans to release a report on the risks of energy drinks on Thursday. The makers of 5-hour Energy said it is "...unaware of any deaths proven to be caused by the consumption of 5-hour Energy." 5-hour Energy also recommends no more than two shots a day, spread out over several hours.

"I try to stay away from them, but they're cheap and they're easy to buy, so I go to them for my energy source," said Elizabeth Yurkov, a UCSF student.

Between 2005 and 2008 the Department of Health and Human Services reported a ten-fold increase in the number of emergency room visits linked to energy drinks.

http://abclocal.go.com/kgo/story?sectio ... id=8886159

Related

HAGERSTOWN, Md. — The highly caffeinated Monster Energy Drink has been cited in five deaths and one non-fatal heart attack, according to reports that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration is investigating.

The reports claim that people had adverse reactions after they consumed Monster Energy Drink, which comes in 24-ounce cans and contains 240 milligrams of caffeine, or seven times the amount of the caffeine in a 12-ounce cola.

Although the FDA is investigating the allegations, which date back to 2004, the agency said the reports don’t necessarily prove that the drinks caused the deaths or injuries.

“As with any reports of a death or injury the agency receives, we take them very seriously and investigate diligently,” Shelly Burgess, a FDA spokeswoman, said in a statement.

News of the FDA’s investigation follows a filing earlier this month of a wrongful death suit in Riverside, Calif., by the parents of a 14-year-old girl who died after drinking two 24-ounce Monster Energy Drinks in 24 hours. An autopsy concluded that she died of cardiac arrhythmia due to caffeine toxicity, and the medical examiner also found that she had an inherited disorder that can weaken blood vessels. But the child’s parents claim Monster failed to warn about the risks of drinking its products.

Monster Beverage Corp., which touts on its web site that the Monster Energy Drink is a “killer energy brew” and “the meanest energy supplement on the planet,” puts labels on cans that state that the drinks are not recommended for children and people who are sensitive to caffeine. The company, based in Corona, Calif., did not immediately respond to calls seeking comment last week, but has said that it is “unaware of any fatality anywhere that has been caused by its drinks.”

http://thetandd.com/lifestyles/health-m ... 963f4.html

Centric

Re: Energy drink related deaths.

Postby Centric » November 15th, 2012, 7:20 am

Good thing I doh drink dem sheit.

Postby shogun » November 15th, 2012, 7:23 am

Ent...

Doesn't take a genius to figure out this stuff can't be that good for you.

Postby dougla_boy » November 15th, 2012, 7:50 am

used to be young and wild and drink "speed" and "jagerbombs" but fcuk that sheit, i cut that out a while now.....most i mite drink is a hemorexin(sp?) or lucozade...........

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 15th, 2012, 8:05 am

some people don't understand the idea of doing things in moderation
if one is good, ten must be better :|

Red_Man

Postby Red_Man » November 15th, 2012, 8:11 am

I find monster does go down good with a burger from the cross

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » November 15th, 2012, 8:20 am

So common sense just not as common as it used to be?

the label should read " do not take more than 1 per day" or " do not take and sit down like a fat fcutard"

deliah

Postby deliah » November 15th, 2012, 8:27 am

i drank 5 cans for "battery" straight abt. 4 yrs ago-tout it makes u strong-was in gym etc....
i did push ups whole nite and pull ups into de mornin-couldn't sit down properly,my nerves where dancing.

2 dys afta i read de info on de can and it said DO NOT EXCEED 3 CANS...

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 15th, 2012, 8:30 am

I use to drink Johnnie Walker and redbull some years again and wouldn't be able to sleep after liming.. Trembling like a leaf...

Now I drink my Johnnie Walker straight.. Thank god

Postby r3iXmann » November 15th, 2012, 8:31 am

I personally know two people that died (recently) of this. One was a young man in my neighbourhood who was boasting that he was "gonna put down a wuk" on some girl. Drank 3 tins of monster and some puncheon. He collapsed while drinking the third can and died a while after. Second was an older man... Mixed red bull and Guinness and well.... :|

Postby dougla_boy » November 15th, 2012, 8:37 am

r3iXmann wrote:I personally know two people that died (recently) of this. One was a young man in my neighbourhood who was boasting that he was "gonna put down a wuk" on some girl. Drank 3 tins of monster and some puncheon. He collapsed while drinking the third can and died a while after. Second was an older man... Mixed red bull and Guinness and well.... :|

wtf meng......dunno why them youths does wah go all hulk smash on d neighbour daughter genitals......

Postby Chimera » November 15th, 2012, 8:37 am

all the deaths were from overdose not so?

just now dey guh hadda put labels on water to tell you not to drink too much

Postby AllTrac » November 15th, 2012, 8:47 am

did that sheit long ago when my heart could of handled it, now im not about to test it

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » November 15th, 2012, 8:50 am

i love buying my packs of redbull and hearing ignorant overweight unfit ppl say "oh no u gonna die, dem ting badddd"

it bad cause u overdose on it and because you are not physically active maybe? no? ok carry on

Postby stev » November 15th, 2012, 11:39 am

i doh see the harm if u not drinking more than one a day....

and i still doh get why idiots use energy drinks as chaser :|

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 15th, 2012, 11:50 am

never drank any & i never will ... :|

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 15th, 2012, 11:52 am

MODERATION

Jeezz..

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2012, 1:30 pm

i stop readin after 'Byron Lee'

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » November 15th, 2012, 2:19 pm

hmm i better watch out yes.... i find these days i rel consuming monster

smallz

Postby smallz » November 15th, 2012, 2:27 pm

r3iXmann wrote:I personally know two people that died (recently) of this. One was a young man in my neighbourhood who was boasting that he was "gonna put down a wuk" on some girl. Drank 3 tins of monster and some puncheon. He collapsed while drinking the third can and died a while after. Second was an older man... Mixed red bull and Guinness and well.... :|

knws of this dude as well... sad to have heard of his death in such a manner.............

Postby Bizzare » November 15th, 2012, 2:39 pm

drank 5 red bull one Friday afternoon and began grinding my teeth uncontrollably until my jaw get numb and couldn't move. Wasn't for energy though. I just didn't wanna drink alco and energy drinks were all that was available so it was that whole evening

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 15th, 2012, 5:10 pm

dougla_boy wrote:used to be young and wild and drink "speed" and "jagerbombs" but fcuk that sheit, i cut that out a while now.....most i mite drink is a hemorexin(sp?) or lucozade...........

X2 I stopped after I found myself counting the cars in Prive car park after some jäger bombs and purple passion.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 15th, 2012, 6:13 pm

allyuh doh study that...drink tuh fack and enjoy yuhself!!!!!! we suffering too much this rongs.....

Postby Trini Hookah » November 15th, 2012, 6:28 pm

deliah wrote:i drank 5 cans for "battery" straight abt. 4 yrs ago-tout it makes u strong-was in gym etc....
i did push ups whole nite and pull ups into de mornin-couldn't sit down properly,my nerves where dancing.

2 dys afta i read de info on de can and it said DO NOT EXCEED 3 CANS...

lulz

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 15th, 2012, 7:39 pm

i had 7 red bulls one night during an alcohol fast for lent, when they now came out, needless to say i was a nervous wreck by the time i got home the next morning, and kept jumping up from sleep. on the plus side, i beat out a 2 rounds easy squeezy.

Postby pioneer » November 15th, 2012, 7:53 pm

willtestthis

Who have dibs on meh lego?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 15th, 2012, 8:27 pm

^^^me, since I puh yuh orn ah scenes dey!!!!

Postby Bizzare » November 15th, 2012, 8:27 pm

xtrail up fuh grabs?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 15th, 2012, 8:34 pm

fackers doh read b4 consuming so let dem dead out of stoopidity. if yuh know yuh sensitive to stuff, knw ur limits nah man or at least get a test done b4 consuming this and that....

Postby pioneer » November 15th, 2012, 8:36 pm

how do they test without consuming?