TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby pete » November 11th, 2012, 6:55 am

Hmm.. so that $0.80c/MB is what you have to pay if you go over your daily data etc?

I had a problem with my e-mail where it kept refreshing and downloading my email to the phone over and over at 4G speeds.. so it used up all my data in an afternoon, with Digicel when I hit my data limit for the month it went back to Edge speeds. Was annoying but at least I didn't get shafted with a bunch of charges at the end of the month. bmobile doing the same or is this how they intend to make money?

Postby S_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 10:12 am

Also if ur data runs out on 4g with bmobile u have absolutely no data, not even edge. So I was told by an employee at a mall branch.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 11th, 2012, 10:15 am

Digicel looking better and better yes.

and if C&W ends up selling their share of TSTT to the govt. i really jumping ship! :|

Postby S_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 10:22 am

All my close friends on bmobile. So I'm attached to my lime. The moment they switch I gone. :lol:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 11th, 2012, 10:26 am

trini_champ wrote:Anyone else's battery getting killed from the 4G? Is that even possible or something just wrong with my phone? By 3pm my batter dead after being at 100% before I leave home in the morning (Samsung Galaxy S2)

This is a normal occurrence. I would advise you to invest in an extra battery. That's another reason why I use the s3 over the iPhone 5. Removable battery. Spend entire day on 4G with games, photos, Google docs, surfing and pop in a new battery and back to 100%

Postby r3iXmann » November 11th, 2012, 10:39 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
trini_champ wrote:Anyone else's battery getting killed from the 4G? Is that even possible or something just wrong with my phone? By 3pm my batter dead after being at 100% before I leave home in the morning (Samsung Galaxy S2)

This is a normal occurrence. I would advise you to invest in an extra battery. That's another reason why I use the s3 over the iPhone 5. Removable battery. Spend entire day on 4G with games, photos, Google docs, surfing and pop in a new battery and back to 100%

or buy a car charger :|

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 11th, 2012, 10:59 am

r3iXmann wrote:

Sometimes you're not in the car long enough to get a full charge.

Postby r3iXmann » November 11th, 2012, 11:03 am

some still better than none..if you're near a pc most of the time, you can easily use your data case

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 11th, 2012, 11:04 am

r3iXmann wrote:some still better than none..if you're near a pc most of the time, you can easily use your data case

True.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 11th, 2012, 11:32 am

pete wrote:Hmm.. so that $0.80c/MB is what you have to pay if you go over your daily data etc?

I had a problem with my e-mail where it kept refreshing and downloading my email to the phone over and over at 4G speeds.. so it used up all my data in an afternoon, with Digicel when I hit my data limit for the month it went back to Edge speeds. Was annoying but at least I didn't get shafted with a bunch of charges at the end of the month. bmobile doing the same or is this how they intend to make money?

From what I saw that 80c/MB is when you don't take a package. Don't know what happens when you cross your package amount.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 11th, 2012, 12:59 pm

r3iXmann wrote:

Sometimes you're not in the car long enough to get a full charge.

This is why I prefer an iPhone anyway ! Simply buy a sleek case n it charges your iPhone while the case is on

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 11th, 2012, 1:05 pm

r3iXmann wrote:some still better than none..if you're near a pc most of the time, you can easily use your data case

I don't know if is just me or what, but does charging from a data cable take way longer to charge? If I am playing game while it's charging on the cable it only goes up like 5-8% in about a hr, not so bad if I leave the phone alone.
Mine is the dual core though, slightly overclocked to 1.8ghz.
On the wall charger it charges normal, with fast charge it charges from dead to full in like 1 1/2 hrs

Postby M_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 1:11 pm

I just called in to activate the 0.80$/MB for pops (iDynamic first time I calling since data died ;) )

Hear this lady nah. "we can't activate that plan for prepaid iPhone customers, it won't work, iPhone customers can only get 4G on postpaid"
D jail I hearing :lol: this is too much kicks yes. I so glad I with Digicel.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 11th, 2012, 1:25 pm

M_2NR wrote:I just called in to activate the 0.80$/MB for pops (iDynamic first time I calling since data died ;) )

Hear this lady nah. "we can't activate that plan for prepaid iPhone customers, it won't work, iPhone customers can only get 4G on postpaid"

Lol them on sheit to activate jus set APN to : bconnected

Or dial *Data# select option 1 and set APN to : bConnected

Postby S_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 1:42 pm

iDynamic wrote:
M_2NR wrote:I just called in to activate the 0.80$/MB for pops (iDynamic first time I calling since data died ;) )

Lol them on sheit to activate jus set APN to : bconnected

Or dial *Data# select option 1 and set APN to : bConnected

Be careful money don't start mysteriously disappearing when u do that. :-|

I rather have no 4g than get rob

Postby M_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 2:10 pm

I leaving it jusso. Data working and it eh draining. It's not like he wants much data. Hell he home 24/7.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 11th, 2012, 10:31 pm

How the heck bmobile measuring the data we using. I hardly use the 4G since I have wifi in work and at home and my data usage according to my s3 is only 150MB so far. However when I check bmobile *data# them say I use up 3GB already wtmc.

Postby S_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 10:33 pm

^ happened to me also. forgot about that with all the money that they was thiefin from meh. :lol:

i activate my 4g plan in the mall. had 5gb. by the time i walk out and check it in d car i loss 400 mb.

serious.

more reason not to give them my money yes :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » November 11th, 2012, 10:50 pm

Kronik wrote:

I don't know if is just me or what, but does charging from a data cable take way longer to charge? If I am playing game while it's charging on the cable it only goes up like 5-8% in about a hr, not so bad if I leave the phone alone.
On the wall charger it charges normal, with fast charge it charges from dead to full in like 1 1/2 hrs

different cables/chargers offer different charging rates/voltages

recently i got a 'fast charge' motorola car charger..it does charge faster than the one i had before but sometimes my phone says "charging voltage too high"

another point to note is that some phones charge faster once the correct driver is installed for it

Postby S_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 10:54 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
Kronik wrote:

different cables/chargers offer different charging rates/voltages

recently i got a 'fast charge' motorola car charger..it does charge faster than the one i had before but sometimes my phone says "charging voltage too high"

another point to note is that some phones charge faster once the correct driver is installed for it

i have that same charger i think.
does it light up blue? a blue M?

i get the voltage too high message when i switch off the car.

Postby r3iXmann » November 11th, 2012, 11:01 pm

yup.. same thing ^

the voltage too high message pops up now and then..doesnt happen regularly enough for me to find a root cause

Postby nervewrecker » November 11th, 2012, 11:17 pm

Fast / Quick Charging
As the charging rate increases, so do the dangers of overcharging or overheating the battery. Preventing the battery from overheating and terminating the charge when the battery reaches full charge become much more critical. Each cell chemistry has its own characteristic charging curve and battery chargers must be designed to detect the end of charge conditions for the specific chemistry involved. In addition, some form of Temperature Cut Off (TCO) or Thermal Fuse must be incorporated to prevent the battery from overheating during the charging process.

Fast charging and quick charging require more complex chargers. Since these chargers must be designed for specific cell chemistries, it is not normally possible to charge one cell type in a charger that was designed for another cell chemistry and damage is likely to occur. Universal chargers, able to charge all cell types, must have sensing devices to identify the cell type and apply the appropriate charging profile.

http://www.mpoweruk.com/chargers.htm

I donno if what is said in that link applies to phone batteries but I tend to stay away from those fast chargers.
I dont know the physics behind it if its high voltage same current or high current same voltage that is rammed into the recharge.
WRT the cars, dont voltage fluctuate? I really cant picture any regulators being in there. Got a universal one and never used it....maybe it could be because my lighter disconnected :lol: :lol:

here says something slightly different though: http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/arti ... t_chargers

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » November 12th, 2012, 6:40 am

Higher the amp on the charger faster the Charger time . Sample as that higher amps chargers can permanently damage your battery .

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 12th, 2012, 6:43 am

S_2NR wrote:^ happened to me also. forgot about that with all the money that they was thiefin from meh. :lol:

i activate my 4g plan in the mall. had 5gb. by the time i walk out and check it in d car i loss 400 mb.

serious.

A lot of my co workers who use Samsung galaxy's have this exact problem , apparently background apps sucking away data like mad !!

On iOS so far I am actually fighting up to use 150 mb a day , it's almost impossible unless I try streaming a movie or tv show

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » November 12th, 2012, 7:27 am

iDynamic wrote:
S_2NR wrote:^ happened to me also. forgot about that with all the money that they was thiefin from meh. :lol:

serious.

A lot of my co workers who use Samsung galaxy's have this exact problem , apparently background apps sucking away data like mad !!

On iOS so far I am actually fighting up to use 150 mb a day , it's almost impossible unless I try streaming a movie or tv show

It could be that because most people are being set up in the middle of the month is that the data is pro rated up till the next billing cycle then you will get the full allocation from the start of the next billing cycle.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 12th, 2012, 7:36 am

iDynamic wrote:

serious.

Well remember the phone have a log of what it used even if it was using data in the background so it should at least add up. But it doesn't. I going in today and check them.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 12th, 2012, 8:06 am

Those of you with Samsung phones like the s2 and s3 I can advise you about the data swallow that happens when you first get a data plan.
There is a sync setting you have to change. Go to settings and disable it. It uploads all your photos and videos to Picasa Web album. Disable that. Also check your Google plus or Dropbox settings to make sure it is using wifi only, not data.
You can also go to the data usage manager and select the app and choose 'restrictions background data' .

Postby S_2NR » November 12th, 2012, 8:18 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Those of you with Samsung phones like the s2 and s3 I can advise you about the data swallow that happens when you first get a data plan.
There is a sync setting you have to change. Go to settings and disable it. It uploads all your photos and videos to Picasa Web album. Disable that. Also check your Google plus or Dropbox settings to make sure it is using wifi only, not data.
You can also go to the data usage manager and select the app and choose 'restrictions background data' .

Did that when I first got the package. Same result

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 12th, 2012, 8:39 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Those of you with Samsung phones like the s2 and s3 I can advise you about the data swallow that happens when you first get a data plan.

That is some good info for those who do not know. I did that sometime back when I felt like I was getting shaft. Turns out I dont even need more than 1GB a month now!

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » November 12th, 2012, 9:40 am

So set it up on the 4S yesterday. Was heading Toco and by Arouca 3G icon was on until Valencia where it switch to Edge icon E. Stayed on edge till Toco where apparently there is a BZone :lol:
Now, back in Arouca and the phone still using Edge and doesnt want to give me a lil 3G self....whyyyyyy

Am I supposed to get 4G or H+ on the 4S? Was getting H+ on the Nexxus :D