DIVALI 2012

Re: DIVALI 2012

Postby S_2NR » November 6th, 2012, 2:21 am

eurogirl wrote:first divali without d bf :|

aww well he mother food wasn't all tht anyhow ..i just wanted a chance to wear my saree

Riveting tale sis..

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 6th, 2012, 10:30 am

SWEET RICE/KHEER

Satisfy your sweet tooth with kheer—a creamy rice pudding delicately flavored with saffron, cardamom, and nuts.

From an ayurvedic perspective, an Indian dish called kheer is a light yet nourishing dessert. It has a cooling effect on the body, which is helpful in the summer when the pitta dosha (the subtle energy that controls metabolism and can cause us to overheat) dominates. According to The Yoga of Herbs by Vasant Lad and David Frawley, cardamom increases agni (digestive fire) and counteracts the mucus-forming properties of milk; saffron is cooling and promotes assimilation of the dish’s nutrients. The milk and nuts provide about 10 grams of protein per serving, while the raisins and sugar enhance the dish’s natural sweetness.

Kheer
Yield: 6 to 8 servings
8 cups milk
3/4 cup uncooked long-grain rice (usually basmati)
1/8 cup almonds (sliced, slivered, or crushed)
1/4 cup raisins (golden or dark)
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground cardamom seed
2 threads saffron
1/4 cup sugar (or to taste)

1. Rinse the rice and combine it with milk in a medium pot. Slowly bring to a low boil, stirring so the milk does not scorch. After about 30 minutes the rice should be done—the grains should be plump and almost falling apart.

2. Add the nuts and raisins, cook for another 1 to 2 minutes, and then turn off the heat.

3. Take a spoonful of hot milk and pour it over 2 threads of saffron in a shallow dish. After a few moments you should be able to grind the saffron into a paste with the back of a metal spoon. Stir the saffron paste, cardamom, and sugar into the kheer and let it rest, covered, until it reaches room temperature. Then cool in the refrigerator until it is time to serve.

Read more: http://www.care2.com

Postby gastly369 » November 6th, 2012, 4:42 pm

cya wait .. level fiyaz

trent

Postby trent » November 6th, 2012, 5:13 pm

^^^ yummy (dribbles)

Postby DFC » November 6th, 2012, 11:28 pm

For those of you who went to the Nagar already you would notice that we got alot of police and security all over the place. We hired extra security, and the whole Nagar complex is now an alcohol free zone, and if security catches you with alcohol or you have been acting foolishly, you will be put out.

We got Nescafe to sponsor coffee, so you can get free coffee, plus the parking lot to the north and east of the Nagar complex have been expanded and is fully secured.

Hope all turns out well.

And when i say "WE" its because i'm affiliated with NCIC.

Well tonight is my 2nd night at the Nagar.

Last night we gave out free tshirts and pepper roti (hard luck Alltrac, i didnt see yuh)

Today we gave out pens, books and magazines.

Thats it for giveaways until the last night of Nagar, we have more stuff to give-away on the last night.

I still got one more booth to see about though and then i can relax.

Hope you all can come, i gave out alot of parking space passes, i hope to get more tomorrow.

Postby eliteauto » November 6th, 2012, 11:45 pm

what type of magazines? Do you have more DFC?

Postby DFC » November 6th, 2012, 11:58 pm

India Perspectives, Yatra, Incredible India, NCIC Divali Magazines, Ayurveda & Health, Travel Maps and Info.

And we got a limited amount of mags remaining, we will get more for friday night to monday night.

Postby eliteauto » November 7th, 2012, 12:01 am

I'd like to get a copy of each thanks, how is it during the week? Sunday was horrible traffic I want to come Thursday with the family to avoid the weekend rush

Postby Dizzy28 » November 7th, 2012, 8:04 am

DFC,

I got one of those parking passes yesterday. Planning to use it today or tomorrow. Where does it allow you to park though?

Postby AllTrac » November 7th, 2012, 9:03 am

sorry to be posting bad news, but 2 people got lick up crossing the hway last night to go to the nagar, husband and wife, old couple, was pretty messy.
I dont see the big problem of just paying $15 to park inside, geez, dont know why people put a price on their life. There is also 2 walk overs if you need to cross the hway, one is before the nagar and the other is after, stop being lazy.

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2012, 9:06 am

Whats a good time to attend...Late Evening vs. Mid Afternoon. Thanks

Postby crazybalhead » November 7th, 2012, 9:07 am

eliteauto wrote:I'd like to get a copy of each thanks, how is it during the week? Sunday was horrible traffic I want to come Thursday with the family to avoid the weekend rush

I passed the last two evenings around 5pm, and it was juuuust starting to fill up.

People are ignoring the lovely parking and still parking on the side of the road, despite attempts and requests by the traffic wardens.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 7th, 2012, 9:08 am

gastly369 wrote:Image

cya wait .. level fiyaz

me nah see no palmiste,chatigne,bhaji...etc etc

also imo nagar getting to boring now.

Postby Greypatch » November 7th, 2012, 9:17 am

cya wait .. level fiyaz

sad looking leaf

Postby AllTrac » November 7th, 2012, 9:20 am

RASC wrote:Whats a good time to attend...Late Evening vs. Mid Afternoon. Thanks

around 6 and thing

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2012, 10:00 am

^^^Thanks!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 7th, 2012, 10:03 am

Greypatch wrote:

cya wait .. level fiyaz

sad looking leaf

looks like the ones selling in the puja store.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 7th, 2012, 10:17 am

This one is more to my liking

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 7th, 2012, 10:18 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:This one is more to my liking

:shock: holymoly yum

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2012, 10:24 am

:D :P

Postby Greypatch » November 7th, 2012, 10:39 am

missing the rice and kharee (with boulderz) and some bodi..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 7th, 2012, 12:25 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:This one is more to my liking

now we reach somewhere,now it missing ah big saheena with some pommecythere chutney :wink:

Postby 1UZFE » November 7th, 2012, 12:41 pm

^^^^
drools...

Postby Chimera » November 7th, 2012, 7:15 pm

just heard on news that two people crossing to go nagar lose their lives.

Postby eliteauto » November 7th, 2012, 7:18 pm

^^that was last night

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 7th, 2012, 7:18 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:just heard on news that two people crossing to go nagar lose their lives.

where yuh livin brah?......thats news now reach by you?.......

viewtopic.php?f=62&t=470051

Postby Chimera » November 7th, 2012, 7:20 pm

orr..nah last night i was only watching us election results.....my bad

Postby gastly369 » November 7th, 2012, 9:13 pm

Greypatch wrote:

cya wait .. level fiyaz

sad looking leaf

:lol: :lol: oh gorr isa google foreign leaf

allyuh ever eat on them paper sohari leaf yet :shock:

Postby DFC » November 8th, 2012, 12:22 am

An eight member Bhojpuri Dance and Music Group from India is here for Diwali celbrations.

They performed tonight at the Divali Nagar, it was amazing.

Amazing because the native language for most of our Indian Ancestors, is Bhojpuri, which is a dialect form of Hindustani . To hear true bhojpuri in its original form, gave me an epiphany.
From this performance, you can clearly see where Chutney and what we term Classical Indian Singing" has its origins.

I met with the performers today after their performance and i had a really nice talk about Life in Uttar Pradesh and one of the performers came from the same area as my ancestors did, so it was really nice to link with him.

We are generations apart but still share common ancestry.

So come on guys, this is something to take in and appreciate.

They will be performing Thursday, Saturday and Monday at Divali Nagar.

And Sunday @ LRC auditorium in UWI @ 5.pm.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 8th, 2012, 1:00 am

I think my ancestors from Uttar Pradesh yuhno. Mom them was across there earlier this year doing the whole retrace their roots thing.

LRC on Sunday open to pubic or tickets needed.