Re: Powell will drive for Ford M-Sport at Rally Spain 2012

Postby zaxxon1 » November 4th, 2012, 1:19 pm

Car looks great, he will do us all proud, just being there at the start

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 5th, 2012, 9:30 am

sliderz1 wrote:oh how i wish he could surpass LOEB!

LOL, not likely. He could score points for Ford though. That would be very exciting.

I dont know if im wrong, correct me if I am but isnt he the first black man to race in the WRC ? I know Shekhar Mehta used to rally on world events back in the 1970s but the WRC didnt exist back then so technically he is the first black man to race in the WRC.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 5th, 2012, 9:53 am

djaggs wrote:

LOL, not likely. He could score points for Ford though. That would be very exciting.

I dont know if im wrong, correct me if I am but isnt he the first black man to race in the WRC ? I know Shekhar Mehta used to rally on world events back in the 1970s but the WRC didnt exist back then so technically he is the first black man to race in the WRC.

Not sure but there was a driver from Martinique or Guadeloupe some years ago who was participating at the top level???? Joseph??

Postby wagonrunner » November 5th, 2012, 10:02 am

yup. Simon Jean-Joseph

Postby sliderz1 » November 5th, 2012, 10:26 am

djaggs wrote:

ay ay optimism! :lol:

a guy can wish can't he? :wink:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 5th, 2012, 10:29 am

sliderz1 wrote:
djaggs wrote:

I am praying he knocks Ken Block's block off...... :lol:

Postby tr1ad » November 5th, 2012, 10:31 am

just the car pulling off the starting line is enough for me

is there a way to stream live coverage of the rally?

Postby sliderz1 » November 5th, 2012, 10:41 am

djaggs wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:
djaggs wrote:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 5th, 2012, 10:51 am

wagonrunner wrote:^^
yup. Simon Jean-Joseph

I googled him, youre right, and he has a very impressive record, double European champion. Impressive list of cars in his career too, Ford Escort Cosworth, Renault R5 GT Turbo, WRC Focus, he actually drove for M Sport as well.

Well, I guess John isnt the first Caribbean driver to make it to the big league, perhaps Jean-Joseph cut the path for other Caribbean drivers cuz it seems he was a very talented driver.

http://blog.simonjeanjoseph.com/category/english/

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 5th, 2012, 2:20 pm

need stream!!!!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 5th, 2012, 11:14 pm

djaggs wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:
djaggs wrote:

Doh worry.. Block will knock his own block as he always does. This is not an event where yuh go and practice and they take a shot, nah that didn work, so.... second take... third take...

Let's all hope and pray that John has a clean run in the first instance and then pick up on the speed -- here again the likes of Loeb and company go flat out from the start.

At the end we all can hope that some one of those big names will be seen at Rally Trinidad 2013!

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » November 6th, 2012, 10:31 am

So you guys think in will finish the day in the points?

link

Postby link » November 6th, 2012, 10:32 am

JDM_GUY wrote:So you guys think in will finish the day in the points?

gotta aim for d podium....
:!: :!: :wink:

Postby foss » November 6th, 2012, 12:24 pm

AutoSport wrote:
At the end we all can hope that some one of those big names will be seen at Rally Trinidad 2013!

Lets not get carried away now :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

IRSHAAD

Postby IRSHAAD » November 6th, 2012, 6:54 pm

[quote="MadCrix"]need stream!!!![/quote]
http://watchwrclive.blogspot.com/

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » November 7th, 2012, 5:34 am

So we are all settled at the Hotel in Spain. It's COLD, but otherwise nice. With the exception of Loeb we've seen just about every other driver and team in the WRC. John and Mike are on their second day of pace notes, and today is the official scrutineering. The pace note cars are all Volvo S60 with full cages, seats, harnesses, headsets, GPS, and as strange as it is - 2 hand brakes, one normal and one hydraulic. The Ford and M-Sport Team all move together, and this morning it was a crazy sight this morning with John, Mike, Latvala, Solberg, and Tanak all heading out of the carpark.

We are going to scope out the service park in a bit, internet is slower than dial up so pictures are going to be a task. Will keep you posted.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » November 7th, 2012, 6:59 am

rcadiz wrote:So we are all settled at the Hotel in Spain. It's COLD, but otherwise nice. With the exception of Loeb we've seen just about every other driver and team in the WRC. John and Mike are on their second day of pace notes, and today is the official scrutineering. The pace note cars are all Volvo S60 with full cages, seats, harnesses, headsets, GPS, and as strange as it is - 2 hand brakes, one normal and one hydraulic. The Ford and M-Sport Team all move together, and this morning it was a crazy sight this morning with John, Mike, Latvala, Solberg, and Tanak all heading out of the carpark.

We are going to scope out the service park in a bit, internet is slower than dial up so pictures are going to be a task. Will keep you posted.

keep it coming buddy........

H.S.E GuY

Postby H.S.E GuY » November 7th, 2012, 7:27 am

Robbie do we need to remind you as some tuners quotes - " Pics or it did not happen" :D

W2J

Postby W2J » November 7th, 2012, 1:58 pm

Mudboy wrote:
rcadiz wrote:So we are all settled at the Hotel in Spain. It's COLD, but otherwise nice. With the exception of Loeb we've seen just about every other driver and team in the WRC. John and Mike are on their second day of pace notes, and today is the official scrutineering. The pace note cars are all Volvo S60 with full cages, seats, harnesses, headsets, GPS, and as strange as it is - 2 hand brakes, one normal and one hydraulic. The Ford and M-Sport Team all move together, and this morning it was a crazy sight this morning with John, Mike, Latvala, Solberg, and Tanak all heading out of the carpark.

keep it coming buddy........

^ was not aware you both were pals :P

Postby foss » November 7th, 2012, 3:12 pm

keep updates coming !!!

also..... PICS !!! teasersss !!! anything !!!

Good luck team Trinidad & Jamaica !!!

Postby tr1ad » November 7th, 2012, 3:34 pm

[facebookvideo]https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=4926762414878[/facebookvideo]

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » November 7th, 2012, 6:25 pm

Folks if the internet works in the hotel at all, it works at 28.8k.....All young enough to remember that will know that uploading anything, pics etc...is absolutely impossible...Downloading pics now and will do my best to try something low res....

Postby cinco » November 8th, 2012, 7:46 am

GRRRR he win yet???? :lol:

Postby tr1ad » November 8th, 2012, 9:12 am

http://www.wrc.com/news/cool-runnings-c ... ?fid=17843

Powell, who was born in Jamaica but now lives in Trinidad and Tobago, will become the first Caribbean driver to pilot a new-generation World Rally Car when he tackles the 2012 WRC season-closer in a Ford Fiesta RS WRC for M-Sport.

“I feel like the Jamaican bobsleigh team from the Olympics,” Powell told WRC.com. “You only see WRC on TV or on YouTube so to be with these guys as the first driver from the Caribbean in a factory car is unbelievable. I am definitely out of my water but if I can get to the end, hopefully Malcolm [Wilson] will give me another opportunity next year.”

Powell combines running a business with a successful career in local and regional rallies in the Caribbean and Central America. He admits he’s facing a “baptism of fire” on the Salou-based event.

“It’s a dream come true to be here,” said Powell. “But my feet haven’t touched the ground since I’ve got here but my ass, if you excuse me, certainly has because I’ve never spent so long doing my pace notes. I’ve never done stages this long before, I’m used to 6.5 kilometres not 44 kilometres.

“I’ve driven the car for about 20 minutes on the airfield in Cumbria and I also went with Matthew [Wilson] for a bit. He’s a very good driver and a very good guy but that’s been it. I know my pace is nowhere near this level so I start conservative and get into the stages. It’s going to be a baptism of fire.”

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 8th, 2012, 9:15 am

NEED LIVE FREE STREAM!!!!!!!