TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 31st, 2012, 12:06 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
ismithx wrote:pricewise, mb for mb, digi is cheaper. however, bmo is better because of flexibility, you can pay per mb and not for a package

Ermm bmobile is charging me 819 dollars for 1gb and digicel its 219.... You all have to be joking

NO

Thats pre paid if you wanna check your email or use watts app.

Their packages with $99 and $200 is going to be cheaper than Digicel

Currently Digicel has no pre paid data for 80 cents unless you pay a full $200 upfront and when that runs out they will charge you 30 cents / MB

You guys looking at a totally different package. Digi best package to match this is their 1 day pass with 200 MB which is a rip off.

You can make a bmobile $20 card last longer than that depending on what you wanna use your smart phone for.

Please don't class their pre paid bconnected plan with a monthly package. It can be classed with Digi $27 1 day pass which it clearly beats it.

napster

Postby napster » October 31st, 2012, 12:06 pm

wondering what marketing promotion they will come out with.. .. just like digicel red 4g landing on a truck... lmao

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 31st, 2012, 12:23 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
ismithx wrote:pricewise, mb for mb, digi is cheaper. however, bmo is better because of flexibility, you can pay per mb and not for a package

Ermm bmobile is charging me 819 dollars for 1gb and digicel its 219.... You all have to be joking

NO

Thats pre paid if you wanna check your email or use watts app.

Their packages with $99 and $200 is going to be cheaper than Digicel

Currently Digicel has no pre paid data for 80 cents unless you pay a full $200 upfront and when that runs out they will charge you 30 cents / MB

You guys looking at a totally different package. Digi best package to match this is their 1 day pass with 200 MB which is a rip off.

You can make a bmobile $20 card last longer than that depending on what you wanna use your smart phone for.

Please don't class their pre paid bconnected plan with a monthly package. It can be classed with Digi $27 1 day pass which it clearly beats it.

Ok seriously, y would u need 4G to check an email or send a msg on whatsapp? :|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 31st, 2012, 12:34 pm

We eh need it but its much cheaper than before and thats what counts.

And yeah sometimes EDGE takes too long due to crappy latency etc. 4G don't just improves speeds but also vastly improves latency.

And sometimes you might wanna do light browsing. It does help a lot. EDGE and its crappy 1 second ping is pretty slow even for checking an email.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 31st, 2012, 1:16 pm

Pre paid 4g??
more interested in the post paid packages...digicell blow them away with that
something around 300-400 would interest me

Re: RE: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby RASC » October 31st, 2012, 1:21 pm

Bmobile for more flexibility prepaid
Digicel for overall better value prepaid

The End? :$

Sent from my HD7 using Board Express

Postby nemisis » October 31st, 2012, 1:39 pm

On an unrelated note how much is unlimited dial up

Postby maj. tom » October 31st, 2012, 1:48 pm

UK's first 4G service launched yesterday.

However that result was just outside the EE store.

A wider area across London and Manchester was surveyed by BBC with results ranging from above down to 1.8Mbps on the outer ranges of the service areas. Most tests gave an average between 10-20 Mbps smoothly.

So if this 4G (hoping it's real 4G like in the UK above) that TSTT is putting in place gives this kind of service, it should be worth the wait.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 31st, 2012, 1:52 pm

^ lol there is no way we would see speeds even remotely close to that. Those are LTE speeds. Bmobile themselves said at the press announcement to expect speeds up to 10 times as fast what you have now. Which works out to be around 2 - 3 Mbps if you're lucky.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 31st, 2012, 1:59 pm

^ true. But 2 - 3MB/S will be a drastic leap from EDGE dial up speeds we currently get.

Yuh eh gonna use your phone for torrents and stuff anyways so it won't matter much. EVEN 50MB/S is a bit pointless when you consider you pay for 4GB packages etc.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 31st, 2012, 2:07 pm

Definitely better than EDGE. I just comparing EDGE speeds & $2/MB to 3G/4G speeds & 80c/MB.

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » October 31st, 2012, 2:57 pm

Is it the same APN (internet) for the 4g. Because i'm not seeing 4g or H+.

nixonliketheprez

Postby nixonliketheprez » October 31st, 2012, 3:31 pm

Dont forget the 20cents its $819.20. lol. waiting to see what they have for us on postpaid. Price too high i'll stick with my hotspot.

Postby gastly369 » October 31st, 2012, 4:33 pm

got today in sando area

chart reference below since screen shoot on wp7 is impossable :\

intel5000 yes same apn

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 31st, 2012, 4:46 pm

Got this today in work, Pt lisas. S3 with about 3/4 reception

It's kilobytes not kilobits btw

Screenshot_2012-10-31-15-09-43[1].png

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 31st, 2012, 9:37 pm

Hope I get a sample on my iphone

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » October 31st, 2012, 9:56 pm

I can confirm h+ on my torch 9810, will update with speedtest later.

Postby pete » October 31st, 2012, 10:06 pm

My usage this month. That would be more expensive at 80c a mb

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » November 1st, 2012, 5:34 am

^^ Pete... you used that much with edge...?

Postby pete » November 1st, 2012, 5:57 am

Nah with digi 4G.

I'm mostly on Wifi too.. wifi usage was maybe 4GB but that had about 700MB of torrents in it.

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » November 1st, 2012, 6:02 am

Lol, that much usage on edge would've been an achievement...

Tbh, I'm just waiting to see bmobile prices proper. That 80c/mb people with postpaid getting this mystery text and 4g too? Or is it just a prepaid thing so far? Still rockin ah edge on the S3

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » November 1st, 2012, 6:21 am

As far as I know, its only a few prepaid customers including me :) got that 80¢/MB txt. No one I know on postpaid has the option. Soon to be released are packages for the postpaid ppl. There will be limited as well as UNLIMITED plans available according to bmobile CSR.

achillies

Postby achillies » November 1st, 2012, 6:38 am

Motofreek wrote:As far as I know, its only a few prepaid customers including me :) got that 80¢/MB txt. No one I know on postpaid has the option. Soon to be released are packages for the postpaid ppl. There will be limited as well as UNLIMITED plans available according to bmobile CSR.

:cry:

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 1st, 2012, 7:01 am

Motofreek wrote:As far as I know, its only a few prepaid customers including me :) got that 80¢/MB txt. No one I know on postpaid has the option. Soon to be released are packages for the postpaid ppl. There will be limited as well as UNLIMITED plans available according to bmobile CSR.

Hope the unlimited prices not too ridiculous. Once it good I going postpaid

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 1st, 2012, 7:09 am

achillies wrote:

:cry:

Unlimited! Digicel... Start your copiers!

Daran

Postby Daran » November 1st, 2012, 7:20 am

anyone else seeing 4G or H on their bmobile phones?

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » November 1st, 2012, 7:23 am

Nothing here, but I'm assuming now that it's the prepaid/postpaid thing. Apparently only prepaid users seem to be getting 4g right now. Anyone else knows otherwise?

xtech

Postby xtech » November 1st, 2012, 9:03 am

I got that text yesterday..... But have not seen any 4G only seeing 3G icon

Daran

Postby Daran » November 1st, 2012, 9:54 am

xtech wrote:I got that text yesterday..... But have not seen any 4G only seeing 3G icon

Could be yuh phone doh have 4G brah.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 1st, 2012, 10:11 am

ismithx....anymore screenshots of that speed happening again?