The guitar string (thread)

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby Sky » September 12th, 2012, 9:30 pm

He was done growing by the 60's.

Anyway, anyone have any MFX pedals to sprang?
I just want the signal from stomp boxes to go to headphones and a home made amp.
An amp mod will be a plus, but other than digitech, they all suck to me.
Classic pod? A small RP sumtin? Hate to be picky, but NOT ZOOM!!!!!

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2012, 11:38 pm

time for a change :mrgreen:
DSCF1273.JPG

Postby Sky » September 13th, 2012, 11:19 pm

It takes a lot of effort to make your rig sound old :D

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » September 14th, 2012, 12:12 am

I want to start to play guitar also because well I like how it sounds was thinking about buying this acoustic guitar from amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Jasmine-S35-Dreadnought-Takamine-Acoustic/dp/B004LTKIDU/ref=sr_1_3?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1347595428&sr=1-3&keywords=jasmine+s35

It is a Jasmine S35 with nylon case...I want to order it via aeropost

I can play keyboards by ear and read music so I just have to get my fingers acquainted to the guitar

what I really want is

Postby Sky » October 1st, 2012, 1:07 pm

^^^If you already play music, you may want a better quality guitar soon. But that looks like a good starter.

So...
http://pedalboardplanner.com/

That's what I'd want. Already have the OD3. The blank bos is a boss LS-2 and the wah is an Ibanez, not that Boss.
Who else will use this and post?

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 10th, 2012, 10:49 am

Anyone here had any experience with PRS guitars?

Postby Sky » October 10th, 2012, 3:04 pm

A couple of us played/own one or two.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 10th, 2012, 3:09 pm

how do they compare to gibson?

Postby Sky » October 10th, 2012, 3:42 pm

The SE series are on par with the lower Gibson models like the Studio, special etc when it comes to quality. I have a Tremonti SE and I think it's built better than the Gibson's I've played (Studios and 1 Standard)

With the sound, you'll learn to like it. It's not the usual Les Paul or Strat tone.

The American versions blow Gibson out of the water, with the exception of the high high end Gibsons, some Customs and higher.
But unless you're rich, I won't recommend buying a US PRS unless you're a full time musician and it's an investment.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 11th, 2012, 2:06 pm

I would compare PRS SE's to Epiphones
PRS quality control is better than Gibsons, but you cant deny gibson for their charm and distinctive sounds they are known for.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 11th, 2012, 2:32 pm

Well i played s SE singlecut and a les paul studio, somehow i took to the the PRS' rich, full sound. I liked the gibson (who doesn't?) but something about the PRS had me. I always had in mind saving up for a good les paul, then i played a PRS. Considering the quality of PRS guitars and the price VS Gibsons, i think i'll go for a PRS for now, until i'm rich. :lol:

Postby Sky » October 11th, 2012, 2:48 pm

InDeForest wrote:I would compare PRS SE's to Epiphones
PRS quality control is better than Gibsons, but you cant deny gibson for their charm and distinctive sounds they are known for.

That's why I leaned on the quality side of things. For some people, PRS sound is a taste you get used to, like Guinnes :lol:

somehow i took to the the PRS' rich, full sound

Well there you go.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 22nd, 2012, 10:04 pm

guys which would you choose?

peavey vypr 15
fender mustang 1
marshall 15cfx
fender frontman 25r

Postby Sky » October 27th, 2012, 11:57 am

^^Choose the Mustang

Coming Soon, neck shipped and cleared!!!!
2003 American strat neck, maple freboard with locking tuners.

It's going with this body I had put down since last year (yea thas how much I had to save).
It's a 2004 60's RI body, Mexican and new.

Gonna hold them together with this..

When I'm done I'm gonna stuff it in this..

And then I'll open the case on Curepe junction and play for money because I have no more :lol:

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2012, 12:07 pm

Mexi body, American neck...hmmmmm
Should sound sweet. :)

Postby Sky » October 27th, 2012, 6:09 pm

There's a couple differences between the Mexi and USA strat bodies.
The USA uses two pieces of wood to cut costs. Using a 1 piece will mean less pieces from a tree.
The Mexi uses 3 pieces to cut even more costs. No scene for me. Only PRS men knock wood and fight down that.
The American bridge has some block looking saddles sometimes, sometimes they have the same as the mexi. This lets the strings sit on more metal and could help with tuning and resonance. I may change the bridge later if I get tuning issues, but I'm fine with this one.
The usa electronics are better and will last longer. No problem for me since I wanted the 60's pickups and they don't go bad really. I'll change the switch and pots down the road if I need to.
They're all painted in Mexico because of Caifornia emission laws so the finishes are only specific to models and not where they're made.
The USA necks are superior by a good bit, and that's why I got one.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 27th, 2012, 9:57 pm

oh boi i had already went ahead and bought the peavey vypr and marshall, im awaiting its shipment. sky you assemble those things for yourself?

Postby Sky » October 27th, 2012, 10:20 pm

I will be. It's straight forward. Fender has kept the same specs for over 4 decades. It's like buying a part in Bamboo and replacing. Check the neck for straightness, place it in, measure from the nut to 12th fret then 12th fret to bridge for the scale. If it's off you in trouble. Then bolt up and setup.
If I run into any problems I'll go crying to InDeForest :lol:

I said to get the Mustang because it looked like the one with the least features. The more features in those solid state amps, the more things to go wrong. If I'm going that way I'd prefer a straight amp and a multieffects pedal over an amp with multieffects built in. Just take care of them. Don't crank too loud, don't play for too long, keep in a dry place etc.

Postby Les Bain » October 28th, 2012, 9:50 pm

Has anyone had experience with Gretsch guitars? For guitar #3 I wanted something great sounding and classy looking for exclusive clean tone playing. They seem pricey but very much worth it.

Postby shogun » October 28th, 2012, 9:58 pm

Sky wrote:Image

And then I'll open the case on Curepe junction and play for money because I have no more :lol:

lol. You'll have a really nice axe though.

Can't even think about a new guitar right now. 1sigh

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 29th, 2012, 9:18 pm

sky i seem to understand what ur saying now. its my first amp really. ill keep the marshall and sell the peavey. the peavey is packed wid settings. actually on that list the marshall has the least features. its kinda scary to no crank it too loud :( was planning on annoying the entire house on sunday mornings lol

Postby Sky » October 29th, 2012, 9:56 pm

^^ Just take good care of it and it should be good.

So I just fitted the bolts, neck plate, body and neck up to see if they all line up and what I'm in for on Saturday. and they do. So Saturday I'll do the real thing.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » October 29th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Ibanez RG2228

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 29th, 2012, 10:18 pm

it looks nice :)

hey can you recommend to me a decent distortion pedal.

Postby Sky » October 29th, 2012, 10:26 pm

Classic straight out distortion?
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifie ... tion-pedal
^^ That guy on 21 lbs of boost..
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifie ... emote-jack
Serious Metal..
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifie ... ects-pedal
Scorpions and 80's hair metal epic type..
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifie ... ects-pedal
To push your amp's distortion a bit..
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifie ... iver-pedal
To push your amp's distortion over a cliff...
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifie ... rive-pedal

Yes I used Boss pedals only there. You can do better and you can do worse. The mxr pedals are fine. People love the Ibanez tube screamer. Youtube and your ears will answer that question better than I can.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 29th, 2012, 10:46 pm

ok thanks

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 2nd, 2012, 12:21 pm

so i got me a 10ft fender cable :) is it supposed to be good quality?
also i used up like eight packs of the ernie ball strings this year thats my last pack, the high e always break and they get rusted out so easily. i have sweaty hands i guess. bought a 3pc d'dario in thicker gauge. its harder to bend obviously but it isnt getting rusty yet :) anyone used those?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 2nd, 2012, 12:29 pm

Postby Sky » November 4th, 2012, 11:18 am

This is the pieces..

Plate and screws on..

Simple as that..

Strung up with EB super slinkys

Done..

The neck appeared stratght, but after action work with the saddles real high and intonation done, there was still a buzz. After some roughing up the tuning held up.
This morning the buzz was gone. Guess it needed to settle? I enno, just glad it plays great now. Fingers hurting. Was going with hybrid slinkys but decided on the 9's. Good thing I did because bending's a bi!tch. Still smoother play than the PRS I have. Still better tone too.
Next project is a Shoreline gold or Inca silver body with the 2 point trem and a rosewood fb neck. All USA. That'll be next year though.

Postby Sky » November 4th, 2012, 11:23 am

speedmelter wrote:so i got me a 10ft fender cable :) is it supposed to be good quality?
also i used up like eight packs of the ernie ball strings this year thats my last pack, the high e always break and they get rusted out so easily. i have sweaty hands i guess. bought a 3pc d'dario in thicker gauge. its harder to bend obviously but it isnt getting rusty yet :) anyone used those?

The only way to see if the cable's good is to A/B it with a cable you currently have. If it sounds better then you upgraded. Apart from that just beat the cable with a whammy bar and see if you hear the noise in the amp.
Sometimes big brand cable don't deliver.
Went for a Fender in live n loud and when I got there they were sold out, so I settled with a Whirlwind.
This guy was playing so I ask him to swap the monster cable he was using with it. We instantly heard a difference. It was brighter and louder than the monster. And monster's supposed to be a bess cable.
How much you pay total to import the strings in the set?