mamoo_pagal

Blind UWI grad

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 26th, 2012, 9:29 am

awesome stuff!!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Bli ... 96531.html
Blind UWI grad raises the bar

There was thunderous applause and cheerful shouts from the floor of the UWI SPEC, St Augustine yesterday as blind student Anil Waithe graduated with a BSc in Information Technology (IT).
Waithe, 25, who deemed himself the first ever visually impaired person to start and complete a BSc in IT at UWI, St Augustine, and has already started his Masters in Computer Science, told the Express in an interview he did the programme just to pave the way for other visually impaired persons who will now follow in his footsteps.
"Being the first to do IT, I could have picked up a normal reading subject but I actually took up a course to help pave the way for others. So I knew it would be a challenge but with me having graduated, and the university now being aware of the challenges, I believe that if any visually impaired student picks up the subject in the future they should be able to graduate with First Class Honours."
Waithe, who lives in Tacarigua, said although he could have taken up a reading programme in literature or law, like other visually impaired students he wanted to do something unique because he also hoped to motivate other visually impaired students to break new ground academically.
The challenge, he said, was having to repeat a few courses in the beginning but having completed the programme with Upper Second Class Honours he believes the sky is the limit.
"I would like to tell parents that not because their child has a disability that they should hold them back, because I believe that success is within us all," he said.
Truly grateful for all the support he got while pursuing his first degree, Waithe said:
"I would like to thank my parents because my mummy takes me to class and brings me back. Ms Janet Reyes at the Disability Unit, she actually advocated to get some rules changed to assist me in pulling through."
Addressing the graduands at the graduation ceremony of the Faculty of Science and Agriculture yesterday UWI Chancellor George Alleyne said he desperately hoped that more funds would be pumped into the area of research and development because the current 0.1 per cent of GDP was not enough.
He added that universities must become entrepreneurial institutions and congratulated National Entrepreneurship Development Co Ltd (NEDCO) on partnering with UWI.
The Chancellor also pointed to the importance of diversification of the academic course of study at the university which he said.

Re: Blind UWI grad

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 26th, 2012, 9:31 am

This youth is a shining example. Congrats and very well deserved.

Postby black start » October 26th, 2012, 9:33 am

I remember seeing this guy around. Congrats to him.

Guy is the definition of a true fighter.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 26th, 2012, 9:34 am

Congrats mark

Postby cinco » October 26th, 2012, 9:39 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Congrats Mark!

Postby TRAE » October 26th, 2012, 9:43 am

a degree in IT? wow... i wanna see that in action

Postby rfari » October 26th, 2012, 9:46 am

Well done sir!

Postby ismithx » October 26th, 2012, 10:12 am

well done! it's so wonderful to see some of us raising the bar

ztune

Postby ztune » October 26th, 2012, 10:34 am

Cool and quiet fellah. Not the 1st blind person to graduate, back in 07 for my grad there was a girl. Anil is now in the Masters prog. in the same department and doing a really good job as well. His mom is always around helping him out.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 26th, 2012, 10:42 am

Most excellent.
All the best to this guy.

Centric

Postby Centric » October 26th, 2012, 10:52 am

Like a bawssss. Awesomely done.

Postby RBphoto » October 26th, 2012, 10:59 am

And we know he did not copy during exams...lol.. congrats dude.

Postby Bizzare » October 26th, 2012, 11:02 am

Can't even begin to think how difficult that can be. Congrats to him

Postby BrotherHood » October 26th, 2012, 11:08 am

Bizzare wrote::lol:

Can't even begin to think how difficult that can be. Congrats to him

this.

An excellent accomplishment.

cinco wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Congrats Mark!

x3

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 26th, 2012, 11:11 am

well done man.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2012, 11:24 am

Tis an inspiring story. Glad to see it highlighted.

Fuzzle

Postby Fuzzle » October 26th, 2012, 11:38 am

Most excellent!!!
An inspiration to all 8-)

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 26th, 2012, 1:03 pm

Good stuff. It pisses me off when other "differently abled" people sit and demand freeness from the state while others use their "disability" to better themselves. I remember this guy and the girl, Sharmilla with their mothers beside them helping them out. It is time that more differently abled people stop feeling sorry for themselves and go and make a name and stop relying on a welfare cheque, and parents also need to realize that their children are not a source of state funds.

Postby rspann » October 26th, 2012, 1:32 pm

You sir,deserve an award for succeeding despite you handicap.You should be used as a motivational speaker in east POS.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 26th, 2012, 1:40 pm

rspann wrote:You sir,deserve an award for succeeding despite you handicap.You should be used as a motivational speaker in east POS.

Not only EPOS has a bunch of useless leeches who are hell bent on living the handout life, he can be a motivational speaker for all, young and old

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 26th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Awesome. The degree doesn't matter, it's his attitude and persistence that prepares you for life's challenges, even though he would have already faced many with his disability.

Postby Rainman » October 26th, 2012, 1:50 pm

Meanwhile in port of spain they're rioting because the government wants to give them $69 dollars for 4 hours work.

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2012, 5:58 pm

Since when uwi offers a bsc in IT?

Postby supercharged turbo » October 26th, 2012, 6:16 pm

Well done!

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » October 26th, 2012, 7:20 pm

good stuff

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 26th, 2012, 7:39 pm

good, but id like to know how he took exams an ting. lewwe know d full story nuh.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 27th, 2012, 3:04 am

pioneer wrote:Since when uwi offers a bsc in IT?

since 2007 or thereabouts, u aware :lol:

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » October 27th, 2012, 5:18 am

wow just fcking wow

Postby rfari » October 27th, 2012, 6:57 am

Reminds me of veera the attorney

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 27th, 2012, 10:25 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
pioneer wrote:Since when uwi offers a bsc in IT?

since 2007 or thereabouts, u aware :lol:

I wondered myself, seems like they do

http://sta.uwi.edu/fst/dcit/academics_ug_it.asp