Need Advice on buying a Laptop....

OracleTnT

Need Advice on buying a Laptop....

Postby OracleTnT » October 16th, 2012, 1:17 pm

Seeing a lot on tuner, Need some advice on which one to choose and who is a good priced seller on tuner. mayde dell or sony. It is for some one in school (UWI).
Thanks for the help.

devrat

Re: Need Advice on buying a Laptop....

Postby devrat » October 16th, 2012, 1:27 pm

Kamla's Laptop emporium....2 convenient locations St Anns (North) and Palmiste (South).....special subsidized packages for students.

Postby foss » October 16th, 2012, 1:30 pm

I have never heard anything good of Sony Laptops.

Centric

Postby Centric » October 16th, 2012, 1:31 pm

Choose one based on how much you willing to spend. For school work, I would recommend at least:

Dell/HP/Toshiba
2GB RAM
320GB Hard Drive
Windows 7

Postby RBphoto » October 16th, 2012, 1:52 pm

Dell, best you can afford. No glossy screen sheit.. go antireflective. Buy the one with the biggest and best screen you can afford because this is the one component that you have to interface with all of the time. Aslo, buy one with a SSD. SSD's are coming down in price and really vibration proof your machine. I lost two hard drives due to knocks to my machines. I strongly suggest buying all of your software original. Other features:

Wifi
bluetooth
Extended keypad (with numeric keypad, especially if the person is in engineering)
a reversible video camera so they can tape lectures for future study.

Just a list of what I would want as a student... but I'm no expert.

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » October 16th, 2012, 2:09 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Dell, best you can afford. No glossy screen sheit.. go antireflective. Buy the one with the biggest and best screen you can afford because this is the one component that you have to interface with all of the time. Aslo, buy one with a SSD. SSD's are coming down in price and really vibration proof your machine. I lost two hard drives due to knocks to my machines. I strongly suggest buying all of your software original. Other features:

Wifi
bluetooth
Extended keypad (with numeric keypad, especially if the person is in engineering)

Thanks Dude, what is SSD? Willing to spend $5-6k Max.

Postby RBphoto » October 16th, 2012, 2:23 pm

OracleTnT wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Dell, best you can afford. No glossy screen sheit.. go antireflective. Buy the one with the biggest and best screen you can afford because this is the one component that you have to interface with all of the time. Aslo, buy one with a SSD. SSD's are coming down in price and really vibration proof your machine. I lost two hard drives due to knocks to my machines. I strongly suggest buying all of your software original. Other features:

Wifi
bluetooth

Solid state drive. Like a huge flash drive instaed of a hard disk. The advantage is that it can be faster and the it has no moving parts to wear out or get damaged during moving it like a hard disk.

Postby DVSTT » October 16th, 2012, 4:11 pm

I use an Asus ROG laptop. Not a problem at all with it. 3 years old and still going strong. It's easy to open so I clean it with compressed air every month and brush out the vents and ports.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2012, 4:36 pm

Microsoft Surface started selling (preorder) today for US$600.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 16th, 2012, 5:34 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
OracleTnT wrote:

Wifi
bluetooth

Solid state drive. Like a huge flash drive instaed of a hard disk. The advantage is that it can be faster and the it has no moving parts to wear out or get damaged during moving it like a hard disk.

Cheaper to install the ssd yourself instead of buying one with it from factory. And Foss I disagree, only the lower end of the Vaio series aren't that good...if you can afford top end, you're good to go.

Recently got a Lenovo and it works like a charm :)

Postby Rainman » October 16th, 2012, 5:45 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Microsoft Surface started selling (preorder) today for US$600.

It looks good *puts on sunglasses* on the surface

YEEEAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

:| sorry

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 16th, 2012, 6:55 pm

anything but a macbook. acer, asus, dell, hp, toshiba blah blah is d same stuff. order it online yuhself. can be for US$400 to US$1000 for undergrad UWI use.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » October 16th, 2012, 8:13 pm

go with dell business class

http://www.dell.com/tt/business/p/laptops?cat=laptops&view=standard&isredir=true

the business class laptops are better quality than the home user.

i've had both home and business dell laptops -- had the business laptop for 2 1/2 years with zero problems and it's my primary computer. the home user laptop had some issues but it was under warranty and the local trinidad contractors (hired by dell) fixed everything on site.

as mentioned above, buy the laptop online and ship it down yourself. always call dell latin america directly; don't rely on local middlemen for purchases or repair.

make sure you get a three year warranty; you have to pay extra for this but it is worth it.

you won't get a laptop with a factory installed solid state drive (SSD) at $6000. However you can get a 7200 rpm hard drive (better than 5400 rpm drive) which means a more responsive machine. 5400 rpm is too slow for a $6000 laptop

Postby sliderz1 » October 16th, 2012, 8:54 pm

Toshiba Satellite series has worked for me

as a base std no less than
an i3 or 2.2GHz processor
3GB RAM
320GB HD
>4hrs rated battery life
WiFi
Integrated graphics if you into that...

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » October 16th, 2012, 9:33 pm

buy a dell inspiron 1520 cannot go wrong my clocking 5years 1mth

I use it everyday, after 2.5years battery gone, after 4years the harddrive and geforce graphic card gone and i simply buy new ones on amazon :) , and it good as new, plenty people have these laptops so parts easy to get..

when u have presentation and critical projects/reports to submit you dont want your laptop to crash....i've see it happen to students

Buy something good..doh let anybody tie-up ur head...i talkin frm experience ..A good laptop cost 5k to 7k....i paid 8k back in '07

Postby Trini Hookah » October 16th, 2012, 9:36 pm

If I had to recommend a Dell, i'd recommend an XPS. It's what his/her lecturers will be using at UWI as well.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » October 16th, 2012, 9:56 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:If I had to recommend a Dell, i'd recommend an XPS. It's what his/her lecturers will be using at UWI as well.

not going to get an xps for $6000. those will cost $9000 and above.

http://www.dell.com/tt/business/p/xps-15-l521x/pd?refid=xps-15-l521x&baynote_bnrank=0&baynote_irrank=2&~ck=dellSearch&isredir=true

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 16th, 2012, 10:07 pm

Oracle ... buy dell... not the best in terms of build quality as compared to hp or apple but its much better in terms of customer service .
Bluetooth is not required in any laptop u decide on

as mentioned b4 just get the extended warrenty and u will get it fixed/exchanged in no time.

What eva u do stay away from toshiba... have 2 as doorstops that the company refuse to fix even tho they under warrenty ... even blaming a hardware problem on software...

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 16th, 2012, 10:47 pm

would you guys advise buying from amazon or directly from dell, hp, etc?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 16th, 2012, 11:08 pm

Amazon to de worle.

I bought off geeks.com though.

Postby javishm » October 16th, 2012, 11:20 pm

dell!

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 16th, 2012, 11:27 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:If I had to recommend a Dell, i'd recommend an XPS. It's what his/her lecturers will be using at UWI as well.

x2 and it could also run some recent games decently at high settings too once it don't have "Intel HD graphics" (when the person want to take a break from the learning) :oops:

Corn Bird wrote:not going to get an xps for $6000. those will cost $9000 and above.

The new models are expensive but the prices seem to drop soon after.
I had gotten a XPS15 (501x) for someone for about $6800 with warranty, a while ago when that model was still new. Meanwhile, Dell website was still saying "Starting at $1099" :|

Oh and if you could wait about 8 days, the laptop you buy could come with Windows 8 (if that interest you)

Postby RBphoto » October 16th, 2012, 11:45 pm

I using an asus that 4 years old and an HP dV7 that old as well. Both going strong.. just the hard drive in both dies and batteries not what they used to be. my dell crapped out on me :|

Postby Trini Hookah » October 17th, 2012, 12:00 am

foss have a sweet XPS for 6-something, check in the Misc.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 17th, 2012, 9:47 am

Never would have thought of Lenovo as a contender but been using a R500 for the last 3.75 years. Not a single issue with anything in that time. Still has the original battery whilst I saw my sis change battery twice in her 2 yr old HP.

And the Lenovo built like a tank. It could take real beat up (the keyboard waterproof too)
Would recommend Lenovo to anyone.

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » October 17th, 2012, 10:11 am

Got a quote for
Sony Vaio sve1511mfxs
intel core i7-3621qm Quad Core
8gb Ram
750gb HD
17.3" led dispaly
8x dvd burner
etc for $5800
What you all think?

Postby foss » October 17th, 2012, 11:04 am

Trini Hookah wrote:foss have a sweet XPS for 6-something, check in the Misc.

it sweet like dat !!

And for what it comes with, the price is cheappp..... it has everything

but it supposed to sell today. :|

Postby dougla_boy » October 18th, 2012, 1:56 pm

salvation4U wrote:buy a dell inspiron 1520 cannot go wrong my clocking 5years 1mth

I use it everyday, after 2.5years battery gone, after 4years the harddrive and geforce graphic card gone and i simply buy new ones on amazon :) , and it good as new, plenty people have these laptops so parts easy to get..

when u have presentation and critical projects/reports to submit you dont want your laptop to crash....i've see it happen to students

Buy something good..doh let anybody tie-up ur head...i talkin frm experience ..A good laptop cost 5k to 7k....i paid 8k back in '07

worse facking laptop ever!!! had one, so much sheit went wrong with that eh............

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 18th, 2012, 2:31 pm

OracleTnT wrote:Got a quote for
Sony Vaio sve1511mfxs
intel core i7-3621qm Quad Core
8gb Ram
750gb HD
17.3" led dispaly
8x dvd burner
etc for $5800
What you all think?

Who is supplying it at that price? New or used?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 18th, 2012, 2:46 pm

Has to be from online. 17" screens are a beauty, but girls complain to carry them around.