2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Which vehicle would you buy

Poll ended at October 27th, 2012, 5:49 pm

2012 Corolla
6%
2012 Elantra
94%

Total votes: 18

Re: 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Postby nemisis » October 16th, 2012, 9:32 am

It's proven reliability with Toyota vs hyundai ignore their track record and only see the 2013 model when making a decision. If I getting a gift I will take the Hyundai if my money jumping out then Toyota all the way

Postby dougla_boy » October 16th, 2012, 9:57 am

toyota2nr wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:Do you think the Elantra will last even ten years?

yes......how long u tink d horn go last for?

What are you talking about dude ?

exactly :lol: :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 16th, 2012, 10:06 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:"I wish I had bought the fully loaded Corolla instead of a Jetta. The corolla is so fast, has more features and better looks than any car in that price bracket up to $240K. I get passed all the time on the highway by Corollas. Who is willing to trade me their 1.8 Corolla for my Jetta? Please? I need a Corolla in my life"...said absolutely noone

*waves from over on the super side of the pump*

Hey buddy :mrgreen: how's that jetta?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2012, 11:08 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:"I wish I had bought the fully loaded Corolla instead of a Jetta. The corolla is so fast, has more features and better looks than any car in that price bracket up to $240K. I get passed all the time on the highway by Corollas. Who is willing to trade me their 1.8 Corolla for my Jetta? Please? I need a Corolla in my life"...said absolutely noone

Jetta is Way more fun to drive :lol:
Didn't buy it to fall asleep while driving like corolla men :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 16th, 2012, 1:20 pm

lol I love men and they ten year old argument lol

al I car about is de car last me 5-6 years trouble free. if it does then it has fulfilled my wish list in terms of mechanical build

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 16th, 2012, 1:46 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Kind sir please explain this fun to drive concept.

Postby cinco » October 16th, 2012, 1:47 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

toyota drivers will never understand this concept

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 16th, 2012, 1:55 pm

cinco wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Because you all have bought in to marketing and advertisers for something that doesn't exist.

Postby cinco » October 16th, 2012, 2:00 pm

of course i have since i never owned a toyota or nissan or mazda or kia or driven any other cars

Postby gastly369 » October 16th, 2012, 2:07 pm

brb adjusting bluetooth audio level from steering wheel
Last edited by gastly369 on October 16th, 2012, 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 16th, 2012, 2:08 pm

You still haven't answered the question.

Postby dougla_boy » October 16th, 2012, 2:25 pm

u still eh answer mine

Postby MG Man » October 16th, 2012, 2:27 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
Because you all have bought in to marketing and advertisers for something that doesn't exist.

good grief
let's see........I've had extensive seat time with four generation of corollas, new civic, PCA-model lancer (dunno what they call it), RAV4, MINI Cooper (R50), Austin Mini, MGB GT, MGF, Chevette HSR, Mazda B1600, Mazda BT50, Datsun 720, Audi A4, had fun with a Cerato Koup, new Golf GTi, MINI Countryman........you really gonna try and convince me what I feel is marketing hype?
Corollas are understated in looks, interior, and underwhelming in driving / handling....they get you from A to B...that's it.........the old PCA Lancer was much more fun, even with the CVT

BTW you still haven't told me where and when you bought a Corolla with an MSRP if $73k.............

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2012, 2:30 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

All I will say is after experiencing boost I will never go back NA unless it's with a big displacement engine. Power ontap at will which you just never gonna get in a 1.8 Corolla. There are other differences but that's due to the suspension setup and probably is for another thread. If fuel economy is what you want you can also get that too. best of both worlds performance wise and fuel economy wise. I just can't fathom buying a Corolla at the same price with less features.

Postby dougla_boy » October 16th, 2012, 2:30 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
he old PCA Lancer was much more fun, even with the CVT

totally...... :D

Postby RBphoto » October 16th, 2012, 2:46 pm

Crix, one specification you should never buy a car on is number of airbags. They are part of the suplimentary restraint system. Could be that a car had shiddy crash test rating, and they put in the airbags to raise their rating. Look at how many airbags a yaris has compared to a corrola. When looking at safety, look at the consumer reports safety rating, not "safety features"

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 16th, 2012, 3:21 pm

true good point. but I

1 to lazy to go search and see what the ratings are
2 really really too lazy

Postby crazybalhead » October 16th, 2012, 3:25 pm

cinco wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

This toyota guy on the wrong forum.

Postby Morpheus » October 16th, 2012, 6:46 pm

OP plz make this a poll: 2012 Toyota Corolla vs 2012 Hyundai Elantra

Let's see the numbers

Postby sliderz1 » October 16th, 2012, 8:27 pm

gastly369 wrote:Image

very nice

Postby sharkman121 » October 16th, 2012, 9:06 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Image

very nice

cums in pants :mrgreen:

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 17th, 2012, 1:09 am

reliablilty,resale value-toyota
pure sex appeal-elantra

Postby MG Man » October 17th, 2012, 6:52 am

still trying to fathom this resale argument.....the new elantra is well............new...........nobody knows what the resale will be in 5 years.............what was the price of a new NZE 5 years ago, and what's the value now?
As someone already said, resale values on the Tucson ain't too shabby.......

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2012, 6:58 am

MG Man wrote:still trying to fathom this resale argument.....the new elantra is well............new...........nobody knows what the resale will be in 5 years.............what was the price of a new NZE 5 years ago, and what's the value now?

aye you hush your whore mouth
im waiting on a 4 yr old Koup for 25000 since it is a Kia and they hold no resale value either

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 17th, 2012, 8:36 am

cinco wrote:
MG Man wrote:still trying to fathom this resale argument.....the new elantra is well............new...........nobody knows what the resale will be in 5 years.............what was the price of a new NZE 5 years ago, and what's the value now?

im waiting on a 4 yr old Koup for 25000 since it is a Kia and they hold no resale value either

Me too.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 17th, 2012, 8:41 am

Paid $69,000 for a Hyundai Accent in 1996 and sold it 10 years and 343,000km later in 2006 for $22,000 (was advertised for sale right here on 2NR). That wasn't too bad.

Resale value does not mean much to me when I am buying a car as I keep my cars for a very long time. What counts is what I am getting for the price and the reliability. I am on my second Hyundai now and have no real complaints other than Neal and Massy not stocking normal preventative maintenance parts for my car. But I import most of my parts out of the USA at significant savings over what N&M charges.

The new Elantra blows the Corolla out of the water in terms of what you get for the price.

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2012, 8:48 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
cinco wrote:

Me too.

mine fuss!
i really hav meh eye on d stinky bright green one tho :lol: :lol:

Postby nemisis » October 17th, 2012, 9:07 am

Morpheus wrote:OP plz make this a poll for owners: 2012 Toyota Corolla vs 2012 Hyundai Elantra

Let's see the numbers of who put their money where their mouth was

Postby sliderz1 » October 17th, 2012, 9:24 am

it wont matter because majority of ole talk forum users and lurkers know nothing about vehicles besides the 'hear say dem say'

'gonna choose the Corolla because mih padna 11yr old AE101 still ha d orginal injin' kinda BS

Postby MG Man » October 17th, 2012, 11:39 am

lol I have a local AE111 doing 213k
:P
..........but no wayI buyin that NZE kaka for 200k