2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Which vehicle would you buy

Poll ended at October 27th, 2012, 5:49 pm

2012 Corolla
6%
2012 Elantra
94%

Total votes: 18

Re: 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Postby cinco » October 14th, 2012, 9:04 pm

karimjas wrote:so Cinco which vehicle would you choose corolla or elantra taking into consideration the facts, value and safety features?

elantra all day anyday
the corollas interior reminds me of the hyundi interior of 5 years ago

Postby Morpheus » October 15th, 2012, 12:00 am

Elantra. I think it's a lil "over-sytled" but I still take it over the Corolla. Totota was ahead 10-15 years ago. The gap ain't that wide anymore

And lol @ 20-30year old Corollas still on de road..... WoW!

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 15th, 2012, 8:09 am

I got a good look at a new corolla gli from the firm (pcx) ....it has literally the same features as a b14/almera...NOTHING MORE...

it's so basic i feel sorry for those paying 190K (i think it gone up by 10K since) for such a basic vehicle.

I also had a good look at a farily new elantra (PCT)
Elantra for it.

Postby noshownogo » October 15th, 2012, 8:12 am

Make us feel good about dishing out 200k on an economy car nah. This day and age you telling me about 4speed automatic, dual airbags and ABS! WTF

Postby dougla_boy » October 15th, 2012, 8:52 am

elantra all the way!!! it smexi!!!!!

if not a Yaris is a nice car..........rode in a PCX, and its sexy...... rides nice

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 15th, 2012, 9:26 am

base elantra is 186
and it comes with push button start

the fully loaded is 209 and u add sunroof, leather interior, reverse camera integrated into rear view mirror, seat airbags motorized driver seat.

I refused to buy an overpriced car from Toyota and parts gonna cost an arm and a leg and it comes with rear drums.. I mean seriously? in this day and age?? but price and features was the selling point for me. I am not concerned with perceived resale value

Postby sharkman121 » October 15th, 2012, 9:29 am

noshownogo wrote:Make us feel good about dishing out 200k on an economy car nah. This day and age you telling me about 4speed automatic, dual airbags and ABS! WTF

entt, them ting aint even worth mentioning again, supposed to be standard.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 15th, 2012, 9:33 am

karimjas wrote:I am considering getting the elantra but people are saying that it has no resale value, however i am more concern with comfort, durability, safety, and honestly i find that the elantra has it, does any disagree with me please tell me why.

While resale value is important I'd go with the that appeals to me based on looks, reliably and ride. Considering its something you going to have for a few years you should at least be happy to see it. I don't get that when I look at the corolla

Postby cinco » October 15th, 2012, 9:37 am

anyone here works out TCO on a vehicle prior to purchase?
remember u pay 20000 more for a new vehicle and add 8% interest on that u pay 21000+
so when time to resell do you really get 21000+ on the value?

smh
anything costing me close to 200k better provide me with some fun

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 15th, 2012, 9:42 am

sharkman121 wrote:
cinco wrote:do people really consider resale?
you trying to tell me you prefer buy a mediocre car for 20000 more just to get back 20000 more when the used time comes?
im sorry but i prefer buy the car that provides me the most satisfaction in the time i am driving it

i agree soo much with this statement, ive always been saying this. Buy a car that YOU like, not for the resale, not what someone else likes. Well said 5.

Totally agree

Postby Greypatch » October 15th, 2012, 9:58 am

the 2012 corolla has a 1960 interior..

karimjas

Postby karimjas » October 15th, 2012, 10:23 am

does any know if the elantra value pack comes with reverse senors?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 15th, 2012, 10:59 am

OP why you even bothering to ask this?

The Toyota Corolla wins this hands down:
-Extremely reliable
-Very fuel efficient
-Comfortable and roomy
-Whisper quiet cabin
-Smooth ride

I'm sorry but what exactly about this is boring? I would go with a proven winner, Hyundai to me has always seemed to too generic.

A 20 year old Corolla is still a sought after vehicle. Still holds price and still working.

:evilbat:

Postby sharkman121 » October 15th, 2012, 11:04 am

^watches username*

*figures*

Postby Greypatch » October 15th, 2012, 11:07 am

hold on to alluh straws

What Edmunds Says

Among fresher rivals, the 2013 Toyota Corolla is no longer a class leader. Competitors offer advantages in key areas, and we suggest cross-shopping popular alternatives before making your decision.

http://www.edmunds.com/toyota/corolla/2013/

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 15th, 2012, 11:10 am

don't get tie up about resale value, these new set of hyundais will have high resale values.

case in point - dem ole tuscon still selling for a pound and a crown..

Postby Greypatch » October 15th, 2012, 11:11 am

The Corolla's competition is tougher today than it was even just five years ago. Carmakers including Chevrolet, Ford and Hyundai have dramatically stepped up their game in that brief span, and the Corolla feels dated and outclassed compared to the fresher competition. The Corolla's exterior styling also lacks excitement, while the interior similarly disappoints with drab design and unimpressive materials.

A 2013 Toyota Corolla will provide steadfast transportation and low running costs for years to come. But all things considered, we think there are better choices including the Chevrolet Cruze, Ford Focus, Honda Civic, Hyundai Elantra and Mazda 3. All offer some combination of more engaging driving dynamics, better overall cabin quality and higher fuel economy.

Postby sharkman121 » October 15th, 2012, 11:14 am

SmokeyGTi wrote: dem ole tuscon still selling for a pound and a crown..

true true

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2012, 1:57 pm

toyota2nr wrote:OP why you even bothering to ask this?

The Toyota Corolla wins this hands down:
-Extremely reliable they not alone in this category....hyundai's quality is among the best
-Very fuel efficient nothing exceptional in comparison to the class competition
-Comfortable and roomy see above
-Whisper quiet cabin see above
-Smooth ride see above

I'm sorry but what exactly about this is boring? I would go with a proven winner, Hyundai to me has always seemed to too generic. lol everything about the corolla is boring, especially the interior..make that boring and cheap.....the new elantra's styling is anything but generic

A 20 year old Corolla is still a sought after vehicle. Still holds price and still working. ORLY? My local 'PBK' corolla is probably worth 40k-ish...........compare it to what it was worth new and explain to me what you mean by 'holding value' Early NZE corollas are selling for as low as 65-70k............is 50% of the MSRP considered holding value?

:evilbat:

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 15th, 2012, 2:12 pm

^^ I paid $73,000 for mine, exactly how is that 50% of MSRP?

Talk to people who own other brands and hear what is the gas mileage and then come back and compare with the NZE. Actually there was a thread about this.

Postby dougla_boy » October 15th, 2012, 2:15 pm

fanboy much?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 15th, 2012, 2:16 pm

In this age of technology where all manufacturers have put tremendous effort into engines the difference in mileage between similar displacement engines going to be marginal at best. I dunno why ppl beat up over gas consumption as a selling point.

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2012, 2:23 pm

toyota2nr wrote:^^ I paid $73,000 for mine, exactly how is that 50% of MSRP?

Talk to people who own other brands and hear what is the gas mileage and then come back and compare with the NZE. Actually there was a thread about this.

in 2002 when I was shopping around,a fully loaded new corolla was quoted at around 135k. My cousin bought one of the basic BASIC stripped down NZEs a few years ago from Toyota and paid 120k
What model year is your NZE?

I got better mileage from the new civic than the new corolla.yes I drove both cars extensively for several months

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » October 15th, 2012, 2:27 pm

we know you bias about Toyota and don't get me wrong but the competition has stepped up their game tremendously while Toyota has not in the last 5 years or so! Try and be objective before you post again because you making yourself look one sided. I agree Toyota is dependable but the price for the features offered is ridiculous! As someone said, 200k for a b14 compatible car, really? Also, have you ever drove a new model Elantra? The ride is awesome, and very much quiet to say the least!

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2012, 2:30 pm

I wondering if he knows what MSRP means

Postby noshownogo » October 15th, 2012, 2:33 pm

toyota2nr's blind loyalty to Toyota is akin to Stephon's on Mazda.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » October 15th, 2012, 2:37 pm

^cud not of said it better!

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 15th, 2012, 2:38 pm

I get 40mpg in my elantra, I will allow you to post your gas mileage

st james to town and back every day for a month requires on average 2 fill ups of 160 each full ac every time I drive it with weekend errands east west corridor

not sure with new gas prices

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2012, 2:41 pm

in 2002 when I was shopping around,a fully loaded new corolla was quoted at around 135k. My cousin bought one of the basic BASIC stripped down NZEs a few years ago from Toyota and paid 120k
What model year is your NZE?

I got better mileage from the new civic than the new corolla.yes I drove both cars extensively for several months

how DARE you turn against the euros!!! :agrue:

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2012, 2:43 pm

lol we passed on the NZE corolla in 2002 and bought a new R50 MINI Cooper instead
YUH HAPPY NOW?
:P

and to toyota2nr fella, the resale on the MINI is waaaaaaaaaay better than the 2002 NZE :p