T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

NorStar2K

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby NorStar2K » October 4th, 2012, 4:23 pm

Tucson Oct. 2012 pricing (Updated on main listing)
$237,000.00 4x2 GL 2.0L
$253,000.00 4x4 GL 2.0L
$277,400.00 4x2 GLS 2.0L (Sunroof/Leather)
$287,000.00 4x4 GL Diesel 2.0L
$310,500.00 4x4 GLS 2.0L Executive Pack incl. Sunroof/Leather

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2012, 4:31 pm

Hyundai on the whole is a whole lot of competition, their Elentras are easy on the eye, the Tucsons are now coming in 31435253 different trims, the Elantra has a trim less than a Mazda 2 (which only comes in one trim) and less than a Base model Corolla. Their Accents are Diesel fully loaded, and have two trims under the diesel powered ones, and the rest of their lineup is super. I won't go as far to say that their vehicles are luxury (even the fully loaded ones, except the Sonata) but they do have a lot of features pumping out of their vehicles for prices lower than the competition.

By the way my cousin decided on the Sonata 2.4, and the salesman said it working with super :/

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 4th, 2012, 7:26 pm

Neal & Massy Fuel recommendations
Neal & Massy Fuel.jpg

QM

Postby QM » October 6th, 2012, 4:17 pm

Fully loaded L200, $269,950

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 6th, 2012, 5:39 pm

What are SSSL's fuel recs?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 7th, 2012, 1:49 pm

my check engine light came on after the fourth day of my first fill of super. I discovered it last night and since then i have not started it. oh boyy :cry: :? :x :(

Postby Morpheus » October 7th, 2012, 4:38 pm

:-( not good. What you driving again?

EDIT: My bad. Now see your sig :|

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 7th, 2012, 5:48 pm

acesinghit wrote:my check engine light came on after the fourth day of my first fill of super. I discovered it last night and since then i have not started it. oh boyy :cry: :? :x :(

Surprised you even bothered to try that. Should be fixable with some high octane additives. Unless you already damaged something.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 7th, 2012, 5:53 pm

Guess Neal and Massey was right.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 7th, 2012, 7:31 pm

for those of you that don't check out the pickup forum:
trinibajan34 wrote:so nobody went southern sale and check out de bt50 ? well i went but was buy a part and decided to check out the new van, they brought the basic model first . wont be getting the fully loaded versions till de end of October. starting price is $231k basic

yes, he said $231K for the basic, and yes, those are manual windows :lol:

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 7th, 2012, 11:40 pm

acesinghit wrote:my check engine light came on after the fourth day of my first fill of super. I discovered it last night and since then i have not started it. oh boyy :cry: :? :x :(

Thats weird, the ECU is supposed to detune the engine, in cases where lower octane gas is used.

I just read the manual for the Tiguan and its says use 95 RON for all the TSI engines but, lower octane gases can be used when premium is unavailable only for the short term.

So I find it strange you are having these problems.

Hope nothing major is wrong

Postby Stephon. » October 8th, 2012, 12:33 am

tourniquet wrote:yes, he said $231K for the basic, and yes, those are manual windows :lol:

They're all 4x4 vehicles, the ranger base model is 260 and it's a 2x4. Not to mention its ugly.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 8th, 2012, 2:13 am

4Motion wrote:

Thats weird, the ECU is supposed to detune the engine, in cases where lower octane gas is used.

I just read the manual for the Tiguan and its says use 95 RON for all the TSI engines but, lower octane gases can be used when premium is unavailable only for the short term.

So I find it strange you are having these problems.

Hope nothing major is wrong

It will detune within certain limits and if it is still detecting knock after this it will throw a check light and still attempt to tune suitably. It is not advisable to run this way though as it will keep trying to get back to what it considers normal operation and hence have periods of knock. At least that's what I've found out about mine. Not sure about the VWs but I assume most stock cars will do the same.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 8th, 2012, 8:15 am

I don't have a scan tool to reset the ECU so I disconnected the battery and connected it back but the light came back on. The tank is 3/4 empty so we filled it with premium and octane booster with the battery disconnected. I re-connected the battery and started the vehicle and the light remains on so we eventually got a guy who claims he fixed bora's and octavia's before and he reset the ECU. The light came off but as I parking up here by the office....this stupid light returns...our software programmer is saying its a sensor problem. Do I trust this young just graduated freak show or what?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 8th, 2012, 9:26 am

acesinghit wrote:I don't have a scan tool to reset the ECU so I disconnected the battery and connected it back but the light came back on. The tank is 3/4 empty so we filled it with premium and octane booster with the battery disconnected. I re-connected the battery and started the vehicle and the light remains on so we eventually got a guy who claims he fixed bora's and octavia's before and he reset the ECU. The light came off but as I parking up here by the office....this stupid light returns...our software programmer is saying its a sensor problem. Do I trust this young just graduated freak show or what?

Personally I would have gone to the firm in an event like this and bite the bullet of supposed higher cost for service. I'm no saying your guy maynot know what he is doing but chances are he maynot.

I wouldn't trust anyone to work on my euro if I have to second guess his ability.

Postby Stephon. » October 8th, 2012, 9:52 am

I agree with going back to the company to chck on your vehicle but that's just me.

I sorry I went in that pick up thread, a bunch of people complaining about a van they ain't see yet, they ain't test drive, and worst of all somebody bigging up the 5 year old navara like its a better vehicle Smh. As if power windows makes or breaks a vehicle.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 8th, 2012, 10:21 am

^^^ People like to justify their purchases basically. For instance Jetta>Mazda 3

plus you know most trinis like to bad talk something they have never used, seen, touched etc

acesinghit did you see what the guy used to reset your ecu? Did he have a dedicated scan tool or was it a laptop hooked up via a cable?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 8th, 2012, 1:03 pm

acesinghit, get the dealer to check it for you. Or LJ Williams, they're still registered for VW I believe.
I personally wouldn't be driving around with the light on for random people to be checking it.
If you call LJ Williams they could send someone to your home to check it for you actually.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 8th, 2012, 1:08 pm

That new Bt 50 rel oogly. The 2013 Isuzu D-max looking good, wonder when it getting here.

Postby cinco » October 8th, 2012, 1:55 pm

JEEBUS SS really raking ppl over the coals yes
231 and manual windows in a vehicle in 2012??? dem cyah be serious

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 8th, 2012, 7:54 pm

yea thought it was me alone. Bt50 fugly and that price is for a brand that depreciates like a rock too.
And the last bt50 hasn't stood up that great to other competition either.

The new dmax is at least better looking than the outgoing model.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 8th, 2012, 9:41 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I think if it was an issue with extended use they would put that note in the manual as well. They would state that "91 can be used but shouldn't be used for extended periods" or something to that effect in plain english to cover their behind. The reason they say use 95 is because you will get the performance specs they claim on the brochure basically. If it can run on 91 minimum then super exceeds this and you should be fine.

Well now you bring up a related question ... what exactly is the octane rating of Super? It says 91 on the pump

Super is 92 RON

Premium is 95 RON

http://www.np.co.tt/np-article.php?c=21&sc=528&a=139

good update ....my car requires 85 RON

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » October 9th, 2012, 10:32 am

Just a question.. Did you use any octane boosters or just straight super ?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 9th, 2012, 12:16 pm

what kind of vehicle you have

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 9th, 2012, 4:05 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
good update ....my car requires 85 RON

what kinda car u driving?! :shock:

hope you werent using premium before :lol:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 9th, 2012, 7:56 pm

fred1266 wrote:

what kind of vehicle you have

De man signature is his vehicle model.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » October 13th, 2012, 7:10 pm

If the gov't trying to reduce the fuel subsidy shouldnt they look at incentives for hybrid vehicles rather than CNG conversions?

Hybrid should be more environmentally friendly than CNG anyways?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 13th, 2012, 7:39 pm

What makes a hybrid more environmentally friendly than a cng vehicle? What hydrocarbons do hybrids use?

AFFORDABLE AUTO ADS

Postby AFFORDABLE AUTO ADS » October 14th, 2012, 10:11 am

NorStar2K wrote:Tucson Oct. 2012 pricing (Updated on main listing)
$237,000.00 4x2 GL 2.0L
$253,000.00 4x4 GL 2.0L

What year model is this

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 14th, 2012, 11:00 am

Kronik_Pain wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:Tucson Oct. 2012 pricing (Updated on main listing)
$237,000.00 4x2 GL 2.0L
$253,000.00 4x4 GL 2.0L

What year model is this