Faulty Brainbox?

Re: Faulty Brainbox?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 20th, 2012, 9:19 pm

^^^yeah the brain may be the final way to go....if that fail well then go park it up roystonia and do a merry jig as you look at it disappear into the distance.....

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 21st, 2012, 12:23 am

i got ECU $600 ,coil pack $150 you can't go wrong

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 21st, 2012, 3:35 am

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:i got ECU $600 ,coil pack $150 you can't go wrong

I will tell him that.....he'll call you....gonna text him now, 'cause he sleepin.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 21st, 2012, 5:21 am

ok where the like button? tell him i need the number on the ecu

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » September 21st, 2012, 10:05 am

mudderskunt Vega texting me 3:38am and have me dreaming that I call Anil_Sooknanan and gone to get the ECU.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » September 21st, 2012, 10:12 am

What I've done so far in trying to determine the problem:
Changed Valve timing control solenoid
Changed all coil packs back to original
Serviced all ground wires
Serviced injectors on the machine
Changed Crankshaft position sensor
Took out Injector rack and serviced injector tips.No carbon build up or faulty injectors
Also I should note that radiator is not losing water which would eliminate any slightly cracked head/blown gasket.

Vega, I miss out anything?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 21st, 2012, 10:57 pm

spark plugs are OEM and correct spec....^^^you'll post the plug number....

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » September 24th, 2012, 8:08 am

Plug number is LZKAR6AP-11. Massey recommended that I try a colder plug (heat range 7) but the 6 is the manufacturer recommended plug. I'm sure I'm not the only one running heat range 6.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 5th, 2012, 2:26 pm

Just an update...i spoke to some service technicians at Massey, they insist that the brain is not at fault. If the brain was faulty I would be hard starting and also the coil packs would be affected instead of the plug. Also I would be getting the engine check light coming on too. A used brain is $2500.00 (Singapore model) so I don't think I'm going to buy one just to try it out.

Someone also mentioned there is a big ground wire from the transmission to the chassis that I should check but if this is faulty, shouldn't my problem happen more often?

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 5th, 2012, 2:30 pm

I should also mention that by now I've spoken to numerous mechanics/technicians/electricians and they are all stumped as to what could be causing my problem.

Postby wagonrunner » October 5th, 2012, 2:51 pm

OP, I still don't understand what exactly is your problem.
your original post of "blown" SP have been shown to good after.

What is the problem yuh facing again?

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 5th, 2012, 4:21 pm

^^^plugs are not "good after".
Bottom line- plug blowing every month (usually cylinder 2). No check light; scan is done which reveals cylinder misfire. Plug is changed and car work well until plug blows again. Scans show everything is in perfect working order.

What I've done so far in trying to determine the problem:
Changed Valve timing control solenoid
Changed all coil packs back to original
Serviced all ground wires
Serviced injectors on the machine
Changed Crankshaft position sensor
Took out Injector rack and serviced injector tips.No carbon build up or faulty injectors
Radiator is not losing water which would eliminate any slightly cracked head/blown gasket.

Postby wagonrunner » October 5th, 2012, 4:36 pm

Tarantula wrote:Also tested three of the blown plugs that I had, two were good and one wasn't, which makes it even more hard to understand. The two 'good' ones were changed in May when I got misfire for cylinders 1 & 2. Both plugs were changed and car worked back to normal.
The start of my confusion.
wagonrunner wrote:which is why i wanted to see your "blown" plugs.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 5th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Plugs that i took out when i had cylinder misfires were tested. i dunno which plug was from where but when they were tested, 2 were firing and 1 was not. I don't know if the good ones were taken out when I had misfires on multiple cylinders hence my confusion as well.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 5th, 2012, 4:48 pm

compression test done?
Cylinder 2 could have lower compression.

Postby wagonrunner » October 5th, 2012, 4:56 pm

Tarantula wrote:Radiator is not losing water which would eliminate any slightly cracked head/blown gasket.
could leak the other way. oil level constant? no sludge under radiator cap?

Postby cinco » October 6th, 2012, 10:08 pm

OP how about adding a grounding kit to the car and see if it helps?

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 8th, 2012, 11:20 am

I'm going to check on that grounding cable that I was told about.

wagonrunner oil level is constant but there is like a rusty sludge under the radiator cover. I thought that might be because the radiator needs to be flushed out (radiator is only about 5 months old though).

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 13th, 2012, 12:48 pm

decided to change engine.....

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 13th, 2012, 9:46 pm

How much does a f.u. HR15DE go for locally?

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 15th, 2012, 11:17 am

^^not too sure of the price. All I need is a head & block.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 17th, 2012, 3:47 pm

NR8 wrote::shock:
How much does a f.u. HR15DE go for locally?

$8,500.00 complete
$4,000.00 for head & block only.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 19th, 2012, 7:46 pm

car back tonight with changed head and block.....spider will update accordingly.....but he stated that it felt alright during the 600 metre journey from mechanic to home...

Postby wagonrunner » October 20th, 2012, 12:56 am

`spider's' info thus far has been vague. :| sorry :oops:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 20th, 2012, 2:41 am

^^^the latest I could tell you prior to head and block change was that the radiator water had a chocolate like appearance, the engine oil looked watery and dripped like water. The water in the overflow bottle kept boiling out and radiator water needed topping off...car also seemed sluggish.

Some of the better electricians have gone through entire electrical system and could not come up with electrical faults.....Steve from Williamsville was also stumped and stated that the problem is of a mechanical nature and suggested that the cyl head gasket could be blown.... I decided to look out for some of the common indicators of such a condition.....and my previous paragraph outlined what I observed which seemed to corroborate the condition....I tell spider to change the fkn thing instead of looking to repair gasket....

local mech was able to source, go for it and install....

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 22nd, 2012, 11:51 am

wagonrunner wrote:`spider's' info thus far has been vague. :| sorry :oops:

??? weren't you reading from pg 1? or was it because I didn't post a pic of the blown plug? WTMC!

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 22nd, 2012, 11:56 am

anyhow car is running very different now. I suspect this problem of cracked head existed when I bought the car RO/RO but only seriously escalated within the last year. Anyhow car is working really great and I doh want it to get thief anymore.

Postby wagonrunner » October 22nd, 2012, 12:08 pm

Tarantula wrote:

??? weren't you reading from pg 1? or was it because I didn't post a pic of the blown plug? WTMC!

so cracked head / busted head gasket = blowing & blown plugs?
It's not that you didn't post a pic of the plug. It's what you were typing here just wasn't adding up. Thankfully you finally solved it.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 22nd, 2012, 12:40 pm

^^for real!!! The thing is that initially there were no signs of cracked head/blown gasket except about a few days before I decided to change the head & block (watery oil & muddy radiator water). Hopefully things should be good now.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 24th, 2012, 12:12 am

Tarantula wrote:

so cracked head / busted head gasket = blowing & blown plugs?
It's not that you didn't post a pic of the plug. It's what you were typing here just wasn't adding up. Thankfully you finally solved it.

man wagon, the way how this car was behaving it was extremely difficult to come to a definitive conclusion.....it really was very confusing.....for the life of me I still trying to figure out how coil packs would have anything to do with a blown head gasket....I could understand the plugs going bad because of inconsistent compression but the coil packs? Maybe they were never bad in the first place....but then why would the scan tool indicate such?....weird.
Anyway, as spider said, it was only very recently that the changes in oil viscosity and coolant colour presented themselves, thereby confirming what the various mechs were postulating....

BUT...I will wait a bit before jumping for joy and stating the problem has been definitively solved....will be giving it the month....