T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby 16 cycles » October 2nd, 2012, 9:58 am

agent007 wrote:HERE IS A LIST OF NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO 2012
These prices are taken from the respective dealerships.

Image AUDI

A1 P
$275,000.00 1.4TFSI

A4 P
$340,000.00 1.8T Attraction
$390,000.00 1.8T Ambiente
$425,000.00 1.8T Ambiente Plus
$441,566.55 1.8T Ambiente Avant

A5 P
$727,391.00 3.2 V6 FSI
$758,075.30 3.2 V6 FSI Quattro

A7 P
$853,000.00

A6 P
$575,000.00 2.0T

A8 L P
$1,160,000 3.0T Quattro
$1,424,000 4.2 Quattro

Q3 P
$426,000.00 2.0T FSI Quattro

Q5 P
$483,000.00 2.0 TFSI Quattro (Comfort)
$552,000.00 2.0 TFSI Quattro (Luxury)

Q7 D
$701,641.35 3.0 V6 TDI Package 1
$741,074.85 3.0 V6 TDI Package 2
$800,810.45 3.0 V6 TDI Package 3

TT P
$510,880.50 2.0T FSI S-Tronic

Image BMW

1-Series P
$251,084.00 116i Package 1
$260,623.00 116i Package 2

3-Series P
$354,000.00 320i Package 1
$390,048.00 320i Package 2
$431,603.00 320i Package 2 Plus
$425.409.00 320i Coupe

5-Series P
$477,473.00 520i Package 2
$536,777.00 523i Special
$655,000.00 525i

6-series P
$775,000.00 630i

7-Series P
$1,099,333.00 740Li

Z4 P
$509,076.00 2.5i

X1
$395,000.00 gas P
$465,000.00 xDrive 20d D

X3
$524,882.00 2.0d Package 1 D
$700,000.00 xDrive28i (2.0T)

X5
$790,000.00 3.0d D

X6
$840,000.00 3.0d D

Image CHEVROLET

Cruze
$169,000.00 1.6 LS
$185,000.00 1.8 LS
$215,000.00 1.8 LT sunroof, leather

Captiva
$365,750.00 2.2 CRDi Turbo Diesel LTZ fully loaded 7-seaterD

Image DAIHATSU

Sirion
$126,000.00 1.3
$135,000.00 1.5

Terios
$162,000.00 1.5 basic
$172,000.00 1.5 mid-spec
$182,000.00 1.5 fully loaded

Image FIAT

Punto
$128,000.00 1.4

Bravo
$180,000.00 1.4T

Doblo
$110,000.00 glass
$105,000.00 van

Image FORD

Focus
$180,000.00 Trend sedan
$179,000.00 1.6 Trend station wagon
$184,000.00 Ghia sedan
$184,000.00 Ghia hatchback

Mondeo
$299,000.00 2.3

Fiesta
$149,950.00 1.4

Ranger
$149,000.00 2.5 turbo 4x2 basic
$165,000.00 2.5 turbo 4x2 fully powered
$189,000.00 2.5 turbo 4x4 manual fully powered
$225,000.00 2.5 turbo 4x2 auto fully powered
$249,000.00 2.5 turbo 4x4 auto fully powered

Ranger (New Model)
$265,000.00 2.2 turbo 4x2 auto D
$325,000.00 3.2 turbo 4x4 Limited D

Everest
$345,000.00 2.5 TDCi D
$425,000.00 3.0 TDCi D

FOTON

Rex Forland
$98,000.00 2 ton s/c
$103,000.00 2 ton d/c

GREAT WALL

Wingle
$135,000.00 4x2 luxury
$150,000.00 4x2 super luxury
$154,000.00 4x4 luxury
$164,000.00 4x4 super luxury

Image HONDA

Fit
$155,000.00

City
$169,000.00 1.5

Civic
$219,995.00 1.6

Accord
$299,829.00 2.0 basic
$365,000.00 2.0 mid-spec
$450,000.00 3.5 fully loaded

Legend
$645,000.00 3.5 V6 AWD

CR-V
$389,000.00 2.0 basic

Image HYUNDAI

Accent
$150,000.00 1.4 basic
$160,000.00 1.4 fully loaded
$180,000.00 CRDi D

i30
$165,000.00 1.6 Wagon
$165,000.00 1.6 hatchback
$172,000.00 1.6 hatchback fully loaded

Elantra 1.6
$169,900.00 GLS
$189,900.00 GLS Value Pack
$209,000.00 GLS fully loaded

Sonata
$260,000.00 2.0 basic
$310,000.00 2.0 fully loaded
$365,000.00 2.4 fully loaded

Veloster
$229,000.00 1.6

Tucson
$234,200.00 4x2 GL 2.0
$251,000.00 4x4 GL 2.0
$273,700.00 4x2 GLS 2.0
$279,900.00 4x4 GL Diesel 2.0 D
$287,650.00 4x4 GLS 2.0
$309,200.00 4x4 GLS 2.0 Executive Pack

Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi
$305,000.00 5-seater, fabric
$349,900.00 7-seater, fabric
$379,700.00 7-seater, leather

H-1
$189,000.00 Panel Van
$225,000.00 Semi-Panel Van
$282,000.00 12-seater

H100
$108,000.00 2.6 diesel s/c manual D

HD65 4.1T
$198,300.00 Cab & Chassis

HD72 4.8T
$216,700.00 Cab & Chassis
$229,000.00 Dump Truck

Image ISUZU

D-Max D
$117,000.00 2.5 TD 4x2 s/c
$134,043.00 2.5 TD 4x2 c/c
$150,000.00 2.5 TD 4x2 c/c LS
$187,015.00 2.5 TD 4x4 c/c MT LS
$217,000.00 3.0 TD 4x4 c/c AT LS

N-Series
$163,531.93 NKR 55E 4x2 s/c
$214,708.21 NPR 66L 4x2 s/c
$224,523.46 NKR 66L 4x2 c/c
$234,457.16 NKR 66P 4x2 s/c
$260,965.81 NPR 66G 4x2 single dump

F-Series
$337,906.05 FSR 33L s/c
$391,690.40 FTR 33M s/c
$421,045.30 FVR 33M s/c
$426.727.45 FTR 33F single dump

Jeep

Grand Cherokee D
$665,000.00 Limited 3.0 V6 CRD
$750,000.00 Overland 3.0 V6 CRD

Wrangler
$650,000.00 4DR 2.8 CRD

JAC

$139,750.00 2 ton
$159,750.00 3 ton
$169,600.00 4 ton
$187,250.00 5 ton
$234,900.00 6 ton
$368,750.00 8 ton

$197,950.00 4 ton dump
$398,965.00 8 ton dump

$124,900.00 1 ton single cabin
$129,900.00 1 ton double cabin

Image JAGUAR

XF
$695,000.00

S-Type
$499,000.00

Image KIA

Soul
$172,000.00 1.6

Rio
$155,000.00 1.4 (sedan and hatchback)

Cerato
$180,000.00 1.6 sedan
$190,000.00 1.6 Koup

Optima
$280,000.00 2.0 loaded
$298,000.00 2.0 fully loaded

Sportage
$230,000.00 2.0 gas FWD
$265,000.00 2.0 CRDi FWD D
$270,000.00 2.0 gas FWD executive
$275,000.00 2.0 CRDi AWD D

Sorento
$371,000.00 2.4 AWD
$398,000.00 2.4 AWD 7-seater

K2700
$131,000.00 2.7 dieselD

Image LAND ROVER

Defender
$285,000.00

Freelander 2
$450,000.00

Discovery 3
$510,000.00

Range Rover Sport
$849,000.00

Image LEXUS

RX350
$700,000.00 3.5 V6

Image MAZDA

Mazda2 P
$172,000.00

Mazda3 P
$207,000.00 1.6 Grade V
$211,000.00 1.6 Grade V fully equipped

Mazda6 P
$290,000.00 2.0

CX-5 Skyactiv-G P
$377,000.00 2.0 FWD
$428,000.00 2.0 AWD

CX-7 P
$395,955.00 2.3 turbo, gas

CX-9 P
$620,000.00 3.7 V6 7-seater

BT-50 D
$143,467.00 2.5 4x2 s/c
$158,607.00 2.5 4x2 d/c
$162,880.00 2.5 4x4 d/c
$185,171.00 2.5 4x4 d/c SDX
$195,889.00 2.5 4x4 d/c fully loaded
$240,735.00 2.5 4x4 d/c fully loaded automatic

Image MERCEDES BENZ

ML-Class
$673,000.00 ML280 CDI 4MATIC D
$688,000.00 ML350 4MATIC

S-Class
$1,200,000.00 S350

E-Class
$575,000.00 E250

C-Class
$440,000.00 C180 AMG Sports Package
$405,000.00 C180 CGI

B-Class
$285,000.00

Mini

Cooper
$250,000.00 ONE
$300,000.00 S Manual
$315,000.00 S Automatic
$325,000.00 Countryman
$395,000.00 Countryman S
$420,000.00 Countryman S ALL4

Image MITSUBISHI

Lancer (CY)
$174,774.00 1.6 GLX basic
$190,000.00 1.6 GLS mid-spec
$210,660.00 1.6 GLS fully loaded
$255,000.00 2.0 GT manual
$267,000.00 2.0 GT automatic

Lancer (CS3)
$150,000.00 1.6 basic (On special)
$180,000.00 1.6 GLX fully loaded

ASX
$289,000.00 2.0 Fabric
$310,000.00 2.0 Leather, panoramic sunroof

Outlander
$329,950.00 2.4

Pajero
$581,000.00

L200
$135,000.00 2.5 4x2 s/c
$179,000.00 2.5 4x4 d/c
$239,520.00 2.5 fully loaded

Image NISSAN

March
$133,000.00 1.2

Tiida P
$153,000.00 1.6 hatchback basic
$163,000.00 1.6 hatchback fully loaded

Versa
$149,000.00 1.5

Juke
$215,000.00 1.6 Basic
$229,000.00 1.6 Fully Loaded
$239,000.00 1.6T manual

Wingroad
$166,000.00 1.5 RS
$176,000.00 1.5 RX

Bluebird Sylphy
$180,000.00 1.5

Teana
$302,000.00 200JK
$400,000.00 250XV
$500,000.00 350XV

Navara
$262,000.00 4x4 LE, d/c, auto, leather
$248,000.00 4x4 LE, d/c, auto, fabric
$235,000.00 4x2 LE, d/c, auto, fabric
$224,000.00 4x4 LE, d/c, manual, leather
$214,000.00 4x4 LE, d/c, manual, fabric
$190,000.00 4x2 LE, d/c, manual, fabric
$178,000.00 4x2 SE, d/c, manual, fabric
$156,500.00 4x2 SE, s/c, manual, fabric

Frontier
$125,000.00 4x2 bench seats
$132,000.00 4x2 bucket seats
$138,000.00 4x2 d/c

X-trail Classic
$245,000.00 2.0

X-Trail
$360,000.00 2.5L P

Qashqai
$236,000.00 2.0 4x2 basic
$246,000.00 2.0 4x2 mid-spec
$261,000.00 2.0 4x4 fully loaded

Murano
$520,000.00 V6

Pathfinder
$495,000.00 2.5 4WD LE

Image PORSCHE

Cayenne
$1,075,000.00 diesel D
$1,350,000.00 V6
$1,450,000.00 S Hybrid
$1,600,000.00 S
$2,000,000.00 Turbo
$2,200,000.00 Turbo S

Panamera
$1,350,000.00 Diesel D
$1,450,000.00 V6
$1,600,000.00 S
$2,200,000.00 Turbo
$2,500,000.00 Turbo S

918 Sypder
$10,000,000.00

$1,500,000.00 to $5,000,000.00 depending on option

Boxster
TBA

Cayman
TBA

Image SKODA

Fabia Combi
$160,000.00 1.6

Roomster Scout
$185,000.00 1.6

Octavia
$180,000.00 1.6
$184,000.00 1.6 sunroof

SSANG YONG

Actyon Sports
$223,000.00 2.0 turbo diesel, 4x4, d/c, 6-speed automatic, fully loaded D

Image SUBARU

Tribeca
$660,000.00 3.6 V6 7-seater

Forester
$385,000.00+ 2.5 Turbo AWD
$345,000.00 2.0 AWD

Legacy
$360,000.00 2.0
$500,000.00 2.5 GT

Subaru XV (Crosstrek)
$315,000.00 AWD

Impreza
$265,000.00 1.6 AWD
$340,000.00 2.0 AWD
$362,000.00 2.0 AWD Sport
$575,000.00 WRX STi

Image SUZUKI

SPECIAL PRICE$ - MARCH 2012 (On special with FREE Tint & Reverse Sensors)

GRAND VITARA
$175,650.00 1.6L 4WD Fabric
$244,000.00 2.0L 2WD Fabric JLS
$255,650.00 2.0L 4WD Fabric JLX
$280,650.00 2.0L 4WD Leather w/Sunroof JLX-AH
$325,650.00 2.4L 4WD Leather w/Sunroof JLX-EL (Now: Special Order)

APV
$190,650.00 Mini Bus 7-Seater

Jimny
$139,650.00 1.3 JLX Manual
$154,650.00 1.3 JLX Auto

Swift
$158,100.00 1.4 GLX Auto
$179,650.00 1.6 Sport Manual
$192,650.00 1.6 Sport Auto

SX4
$163,100.00 1.6 hatchback
$164,650.00 1.6 Sedan Sport
$154,650.00 1.6 Sedan GLX

Image TOYOTA

Yaris
$149,900.00 basic
$169,000.00 fully loaded

Corolla
$173,000.00 XLi
$190,000.00 GLi
$206,000.00 LX
$215,000.00 LX-S
$262,000.00 1.8

Camry
$480,000.00 2.5

FT-86
$379,000.00 2.0

RAV-4
$283,000.00 2.4 2WD, basic alloy
$302,000.00 2.4 2WD, mid-spec
$310,000.00 2.4 4WD, basic alloy
$313,500.00 2.4 2WD, high-spec, fabric
$344,000.00 2.4 2WD, fully loaded, leather
$359,000.00 2.4 4WD, fully loaded, leather, sunroof

Fortuner
$468,000.00 3.0 TD D

FJ Cruiser
$558,000.00 4.0 V6

Land Cruiser Prado VX
$712,000.00 3.0 TD

Land Cruiser
$1,000,000.00 5.7 V8

Hilux
$168,000.00 d/c 4x2
$172,000.00 d/c 4x2 airbags, abs
$190,000.00 s/c 4x4
$185,000.00 d/c 4x4
$195,000.00 d/c 4x4 airbags, abs, side steps
$230,000.00 d/c 4x4 manual, diesel
$249,000.00 d/c 4x4 auto, 3.0 turbo diesel, fabric
$325,000.00 d/c 4x4 auto, 3.0 turbo diesel, leather

Image VOLKSWAGEN

Polo
$165,000.00 1.4

Golf Variant
$227,000.00 1.4 TSI S/P

Jetta
$230,000.00 1.4 TSI S/P
$240,000.00 1.4 TSI sunroof S/P

Passat
$300,000.00 1.8 TFSI Comfortline S/P
$333,000.00 1.8 TFSI Highline S/P
$373,500.00 2.0 TFSI Highline P
$368,146.00 2.0 TDI D
$438,410.00 CC 2.0 TFSI P
$448,680.00 CC 2.0 TFSI sunroof P

Tiguan P
$327,000.00 Trend & Fun
$341,000.00 Track & Field
$402,000.00 Sport & Style
$410,400.00 Sport & Style with panoramic sunroof

Touareg
$701,109.00 3.0 TDI V6 D
$710,309.00 3.0 TDI V6 sunroof D

Image VOLVO

C30
$360,000.00

S60
$365,000.00 1.6T
$455,000.00 2.0T

S80
$439,000.00
$580,000.00 2.5T

XC60
$630,000.00 3.0
$660,000.00 3.0 with sunroof

XC90
$608,000.00 2.4 Turbo Diesel D

ZHEJIANG

Gonow Troy!
$75,000.00 4x2
$110,000.00 4x2
$115,000.00 4x2
$128,000.00 4x4

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BRAND NEW PICKUPS AVAILABLE BUT NOT FROM THE AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP:

Toyota Hilux Vigo Champ 4x2
$289,000.00

Nissan Frontier Navara LE
$290,000.00
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last edited by 16 cycles on October 4th, 2012, 8:30 am, edited 5 times in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 11:07 am

not bad 16 cycles...under Volkswagen every vehicle with TSI/TFSI in the list as well as the Tiguans use premium. I'm not sure about the Polo.

Postby Habit7 » October 2nd, 2012, 1:05 pm

All gas powered Skoda, Mazda, Fiat must use premium afaik

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 2nd, 2012, 1:24 pm

It's funny how the government talk about only luxury cars using premium.

The number of luxury SUVs that don't use premium are actually a lot.

Audi Q7, most are 3.0TDI
BMW X5, most of the new ones are 3.0D
BMW X3, most are 2.0D
LandRover Discovery LR3
LandRover Freelander LR2
Range Rover Sport HSE, 3.0D
Mercedes Benz, ML280 CDI
Volkswagen Touareg, all 3.0TDI
Porsche Cayenne, a lot are now diesels
Jeep Grand Cherokee, all 3.0D
Volvo XC90, 2.4TDI
Toyota Prado, 3.0D

Many of these cars do have petrol variants, I'm just showing the luxury diesels

I suspect the dealers are going to start bringing in more diesel variants for their whole line up rather than just their SUVs.

I'm dreading going to the gas station to fill the Tiguan and Forester. My guess is going to be around $330 each. No more using Sport mode :P

Postby Habit7 » October 2nd, 2012, 1:32 pm

yup, today if I crossed 80kph it was surely by mistake. This will surely cut down on my "spirited" driving.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 2nd, 2012, 2:12 pm

It really helps if your vehicle has a real time fuel economy gauge thingy too! Not sure of the proper name.
But once u keep your revs lower than 3000rpm, yuh pocket would be happier and heavier.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 2:27 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:It really helps if your vehicle has a real time fuel economy gauge thingy too! Not sure of the proper name.
But once u keep your revs lower than 3000rpm, yuh pocket would be happier and heavier.

It's fun to see how driving style affects economy. I have the realtime fuel consumption on my vehicle as well. AC is a killer. Coasting makes a big difference as well. Windows up and sunroof closed at high speeds also makes a big difference.

Postby 16 cycles » October 2nd, 2012, 2:43 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:not bad 16 cycles...under Volkswagen every vehicle with TSI/TFSI in the list as well as the Tiguans use premium. I'm not sure about the Polo.

no probs....edited above to reflect same...what i'm not sure about, i'll leave blank..

if others chime in based on user manual / input from visits to showroom, i'll keep editing....

Postby Stephon. » October 2nd, 2012, 8:01 pm

All mazda vehicles apart from the bt 50s use premium.

The tiida uses premium. The corolla is supposed to use premium too. I THINK the elantra and cerato uses super. I could be wrong on those last two though. Good job on the list.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 2nd, 2012, 9:20 pm

Stephon. wrote:All mazda vehicles apart from the bt 50s use premium.

The tiida uses premium. The corolla is supposed to use premium too. I THINK the elantra and cerato uses super. I could be wrong on those last two though. Good job on the list.

I know the new Mazda engines use gasoline direct injection and have an high compression ratio, creating the Premium fuel recommendation.

I'm very surprised about the Tiida and Corolla. I wonder if that applies to the whole Nissan and Toyota line up.

PS. An ad for you car is on TV as I write this. Talking Mazda SkyActive Technology lol :P

aidan

Postby aidan » October 2nd, 2012, 9:31 pm

The corolla could use super. My aunt has one for 3 years now running on super with no problem! How you drive does affect your consumption plenty, I does barely cross 100 and keep revs under 3000 and I use AC 90% of the time. And my onboard computer tells me I'm getting 14.1 km/L or 33.2 MPG in a Suzuki SX4 running on super, which isn't bad.

Postby Stephon. » October 2nd, 2012, 11:10 pm

4Motion wrote:
Stephon. wrote:All mazda vehicles apart from the bt 50s use premium.

I know the new Mazda engines use gasoline direct injection and have an high compression ratio, creating the Premium fuel recommendation.

I'm very surprised about the Tiida and Corolla. I wonder if that applies to the whole Nissan and Toyota line up.

PS. An ad for you car is on TV as I write this. Talking Mazda SkyActive Technology lol :P

Southern sales bringing in that model late next year 0X

They not getting rid of the current model though cuz they need a cheaper vehicle to sell still lol.

Aiden my computer tells me that I am getting 11km/l :lol:
And yeah I'm definitely sure about the tiida needing premium, the corolla booklet uses premium but people use super in their corollas.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2012, 11:57 pm

Can you envisage yourself buying a brand new vehicle...that uses cng?

Postby Stephon. » October 3rd, 2012, 1:08 am

No because the first time I've ever heard about CNG was during the budget, then after the price hike was released, I have been hearin about it a lot and I just ain't gonna get something that ain't as common as the gas I can get in any station right now.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 3rd, 2012, 6:51 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Can you envisage yourself buying a brand new vehicle...that uses cng?

Yes. I can also envisage converting my car to also run on CNG depending on what the Government does with the "Super" price.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 3rd, 2012, 8:16 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Can you envisage yourself buying a brand new vehicle...that uses cng?

Yes. I can also envisage converting my car to also run on CNG depending on what the Government does with the "Super" price.

My initial hesitation is based on CNG vehicles I have been in from 15 years ago. The performance was worse than a non turbo diesel.

I started looking for newer CNG vehicles last night. The market worldwide is small compared to gas/diesel based vehicles but many manufacturers have CNG variants for certain markets. I was quite surprised to see some makers have vehicles that run on gas or cng without the loss in trunk space and decent acceleration figures regardless of what fuel was used. Not bad at all and it should only get better in the future.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 3rd, 2012, 11:24 am

Just found out the Nissan X-trail 2.5 requires premium.

Nikki

Postby Nikki » October 3rd, 2012, 3:09 pm

most of those prices are incorrect as of 03/10/12

Postby Stephon. » October 3rd, 2012, 3:36 pm

Nikki wrote:most of those prices are incorrect as of 03/10/12

What are the updates prices for the vehicles you're talking about, whenever OP is in this thread he always update the prices in the first page..

By the way I accidentally happened overhear, while eavesdropping :lol: at a conversation that premium toating vehicles would see a price increase over at SSS.

Actually their bills include a full tank of gas in the figure, and the increase in gas would reflect this, along with the usual "new shipment new price" formula. The last batch of their current model BT-50 would currently be sold at the current prices, which they will then introduce the newer model either closer to Christmas time or early January, then we would see the obvious "new model price hike"

Can confirm that Southern Sales have the 2013 BT-50 in now, just not in the showroom or ready to sell, and it doesn't have a price yet. Also only the base model is in the country as well, dunno how to explain that one. I think you need heavy T to drive it btw

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 4th, 2012, 7:34 am

Nikki well post the new prices nah!!

Stephon....so the 2.0 skyactiv 3 is coming next year? If so then at what price? 260k?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2012, 7:58 am

just to clarify: Jetta 1.4 TSI AND Passat with 1.8 TSI use 95 for optimum power output. VW states that the minimum RON they can use is 91 BUT they will run with reduced power output due to changes in timing via the ECU. Wooohooo. I no longer need to walk on silk.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 4th, 2012, 9:30 am

How about using Super with octane booster? Will that work for those of us looking to move away from Premium?

In most cases engines can use a range of gasoline, usually 91-95 RON. The engine will compensate if it detects knocking and retard ignition timing. Of course this will reduce engine output. My owners manual recommends 95RON for the B16A but says you can use 91 if 95 is not available. The problem is it does not say use 91 instead of 95. This leads me to believe that you can use 91 occasionally if 95 is not available in an area where you need to refuel .... applicable if you live in big countries and fuel products vary from location to location.

That being said any1 running Super in their B16A for extended durations? Any issues?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2012, 10:33 am

I think if it was an issue with extended use they would put that note in the manual as well. They would state that "91 can be used but shouldn't be used for extended periods" or something to that effect in plain english to cover their behind. The reason they say use 95 is because you will get the performance specs they claim on the brochure basically. If it can run on 91 minimum then super exceeds this and you should be fine.

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2012, 11:15 am

acesinghit wrote:Nikki well post the new prices nah!!

Stephon....so the 2.0 skyactiv 3 is coming next year? If so then at what price? 260k?

It should be if they want to compete with Mistubishi and their 2.0 Lancer but knowing the people we dealing with here, don't be surprised at a 270 - 275 price bracket, also the new Mazda 6 is going to cost around 225 - 235

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 4th, 2012, 11:49 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I think if it was an issue with extended use they would put that note in the manual as well. They would state that "91 can be used but shouldn't be used for extended periods" or something to that effect in plain english to cover their behind. The reason they say use 95 is because you will get the performance specs they claim on the brochure basically. If it can run on 91 minimum then super exceeds this and you should be fine.

Well now you bring up a related question ... what exactly is the octane rating of Super? It says 91 on the pump

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 4th, 2012, 12:13 pm

Stephon. wrote:

It should be if they want to compete with Mistubishi and their 2.0 Lancer but knowing the people we dealing with here, don't be surprised at a 270 - 275 price bracket, also the new Mazda 6 is going to cost around 225 - 235

New Mazda 6 is 225-235?? Think u made a mistake there bro :lol:

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2012, 12:18 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

New Mazda 6 is 225-235?? Think u made a mistake there bro :lol:

Yikes! 325 - 335

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 4th, 2012, 1:04 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:just to clarify: Jetta 1.4 TSI AND Passat with 1.8 TSI use 95 for optimum power output. VW states that the minimum RON they can use is 91 BUT they will run with reduced power output due to changes in timing via the ECU. Wooohooo. I no longer need to walk on silk.

That's from the manual? Same for A4's then I guess? You should test that during the day. Last time a manual on a Euro said that it worked at night, but not so well during the day.

ek4ever wrote:How about using Super with octane booster? Will that work for those of us looking to move away from Premium?

In most cases engines can use a range of gasoline, usually 91-95 RON. The engine will compensate if it detects knocking and retard ignition timing. Of course this will reduce engine output. My owners manual recommends 95RON for the B16A but says you can use 91 if 95 is not available. The problem is it does not say use 91 instead of 95. This leads me to believe that you can use 91 occasionally if 95 is not available in an area where you need to refuel .... applicable if you live in big countries and fuel products vary from location to location.

That being said any1 running Super in their B16A for extended durations? Any issues?

Yes some Octane boosters do help. Most will not make up for starting with 95 though. And I don't see how you can use 91 sometimes but not consistently? If it worked at certain times that would more likely be due to driving style/external conditions. If you can get it to work in extreme heat while driving hard, then it should be able to work all the time no?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2012, 1:38 pm

ek4ever wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I think if it was an issue with extended use they would put that note in the manual as well. They would state that "91 can be used but shouldn't be used for extended periods" or something to that effect in plain english to cover their behind. The reason they say use 95 is because you will get the performance specs they claim on the brochure basically. If it can run on 91 minimum then super exceeds this and you should be fine.

Well now you bring up a related question ... what exactly is the octane rating of Super? It says 91 on the pump

Super is 92 RON

Premium is 95 RON

http://www.np.co.tt/np-article.php?c=21&sc=528&a=139

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2012, 1:49 pm

nemesis wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:just to clarify: Jetta 1.4 TSI AND Passat with 1.8 TSI use 95 for optimum power output. VW states that the minimum RON they can use is 91 BUT they will run with reduced power output due to changes in timing via the ECU. Wooohooo. I no longer need to walk on silk.

That's from the manual? Same for A4's then I guess? You should test that during the day. Last time a manual on a Euro said that it worked at night, but not so well during the day.

ek4ever wrote:How about using Super with octane booster? Will that work for those of us looking to move away from Premium?

Yes some Octane boosters do help. Most will not make up for starting with 95 though. And I don't see how you can use 91 sometimes but not consistently? If it worked at certain times that would more likely be due to driving style/external conditions. If you can get it to work in extreme heat while driving hard, then it should be able to work all the time no?

I have access to ERWIN which is VAG's database for all things VW, AUDI, SKODA, Seat. I checked my engine code and checked the specs in ERWIN. I also checked for the Passat. I believe Audi A4 1.8T is shared with VW so it should be the same. I can double check for you when I get home. If you can tell me what model Audi and from what year it would make it easier to search. The database I have is for vehicles up to March 2012 go back. This database is used by the dealer by the way. It instructs them on known issues for each vehicle as well as how to repair them and what they require to run optimally.
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on October 4th, 2012, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.