PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Les Bain » October 1st, 2012, 12:15 pm

What's going on with this generation of handheld consoles? Just realized that category hardly ever receives coverage from the game review channels I'm subscribed to on youtube.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 1st, 2012, 12:46 pm

Les Bain wrote:What's going on with this generation of handheld consoles? Just realized that category hardly ever receives coverage from the game review channels I'm subscribed to on youtube.

Well right now it's just the vita and the 3ds, dats it really...tablet devices tryin to step up d game, but i don't think you can compare a device that is built for the general public with a device that's built for gaming, and tablets and ipads and stuff still are not categorized as handheld consoles. So i don't think there's much to talk about besides the vita and the 3ds, unless neogeo or microsoft announce someting and i eh know :lol:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 1st, 2012, 5:41 pm

Scout II Review :D

Cooler master Eisberg

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 1st, 2012, 11:01 pm

I'm going build myself back a rig yes. Can't handle the laptop again, budget set plain and simple. Look at a 27 inch anyone have any suggestions ? One single super fast GPU that will work great with a X3960 and 64 GB of ram.

stretch

L.F. Led monitor over 24"

Postby stretch » October 1st, 2012, 11:46 pm

as subject says, looking for led 1080p monitor over 24". if any one could point me in right direction, much appreciated. south area preferably.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 2nd, 2012, 12:20 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:
Cooler master Eisberg

Ah yes, finally a decent all in one solution over dem darn corsairs. :D

The price hadda be competitive though, other wise it would make more sense to get a XSPC rasa kit instead.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 2nd, 2012, 3:31 am

Will wait on this to make my final decisions on my new CPU cooler.
The price should be around 180US for the 240mm version but the 120mm rad should be about 140ish...somewhere around there.
Not bad considering that the H100 was pretty expensive when it first came out.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 2nd, 2012, 10:50 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:x2
The price should be around 180US for the 240mm version but the 120mm rad should be about 140ish...somewhere around there.

Price nuh competitive nah.

Then again the biggest pro is that the pump/res integrated into the cpu block.

Saves space i guess.

Wanna see some figures on the pump though, hope is nuh sum weak ting like what the corsair/asetek have in dem. :|

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 2nd, 2012, 11:33 am

^ I hear the guy say it releasing April that's next year wah..

3ne_kratos

Postby 3ne_kratos » October 2nd, 2012, 1:58 pm

Oculus Rift : Step Into the Game

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 2nd, 2012, 5:45 pm

HCCA wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:x2

Price nuh competitive nah.

Then again the biggest pro is that the pump/res integrated into the cpu block.

Saves space i guess.

Wanna see some figures on the pump though, hope is nuh sum weak ting like what the corsair/asetek have in dem. :|

It better be good since they offer it sold separately. Would like to see how it compares to an Apogee :D

This CPU cooler would probably be the last Corsair product I would ever buy except for RAM.
Their Coolers are garbage imo, they SSDs are overrated and their cases are over priced imo :|

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 2nd, 2012, 6:19 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:
It better be good since they offer it sold separately. Would like to see how it compares to an Apogee :D

This CPU cooler would probably be the last Corsair product I would ever buy except for RAM.
Their Coolers are garbage imo, they SSDs are overrated and their cases are over priced imo :|

What cooler? The H100?

To me the only liquid cooler they ever made that was bess was the Nautilus 500 external.

I have one ah those and it truly worth the money (long discontinued doh).

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 2nd, 2012, 6:26 pm

The H100 when it first came out considering the price range it was in.....it was weak sauce. It costed More than a NH-D14 and probably a little less than a RASA kit and performed worst than both of them.

Nautilus 500 looks pretty good....it kinda reminds me of an external version of a Bigwater plus

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 2nd, 2012, 6:38 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:The H100 when it first came out considering the price range it was in.....it was weak sauce. It costed More than a NH-D14 and probably a little less than a RASA kit and performed worst than both of them.

Lol wut? The performance compared to the d14 was about the same, the H100 does a lil better with upgraded fans....speaking from experience of course.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 2nd, 2012, 9:58 pm

hate the h100
damn!

the rasa kit is epic win!

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 2nd, 2012, 10:31 pm

HCCA and ichiniisama99 did you get a DVI cable included with the monitor?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 2nd, 2012, 11:49 pm

fouljuice wrote:HCCA and ichiniisama99 did you get a DVI cable included with the monitor?

Nah.

I got a dvi cable from a fren and i had hdmi cables long time arready.

Does use the dvi connection more though.

On a side note, the built in speakers are crap. Sometimes i forget they even there. :lol:

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 3rd, 2012, 6:03 am

HCCA wrote:
fouljuice wrote:HCCA and ichiniisama99 did you get a DVI cable included with the monitor?

Nah.

I got a dvi cable from a fren and i had hdmi cables long time arready.

Does use the dvi connection more though.

On a side note, the built in speakers are crap. Sometimes i forget they even there. :lol:

:shock: speakers? oh yeah, i forget da :lol: didn even think of usin it.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 3rd, 2012, 6:14 am

Whatever....All I know is that I won't be buying an H series cooler again.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 3rd, 2012, 6:17 am

Oh yeah I only used the speakers once to see if it worked. I use my headphones right through. If they had a similar model with no hdmi+speakers for cheaper I would have gotten that instead.

Arite, I thought I had seen on a site that vga dvi and hdmi cables were included. I using the hdmi cable that came with the gpu.

Problem is (not really a problem, but more of a hassle) every time I want to use the tv, I have to disconnect the hdmi from the monitor and connect to the tv, whereas if they included the dvi, I could have both connected same time.

What is the price of a good dvi cable (about 3-6feet long) locally? and what kind will I need, single link-to-single link?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 3rd, 2012, 6:41 am

Depends on your monitor.
If it's a 60Hz monitor....you wont need a Dual Link DVI....I single would be good enough
If it's a 120Hz monitor....you should get the Dual Link

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 3rd, 2012, 12:44 pm

Is 80 degrees celsius too much for my gpu? My machine runs Crysis 2 at full resolution and advanced system spec,but i play it for about 25 mins or until the gpu temp reaches 80,an turn it off...bear in mind this happens with the gpu fan at 100%,quite a lot of air flow/fans in the case,and my ac on 26/27 :?

So i only play for a limited time,at a time until i upgrade the cooler,unless im desperate,cloak up and drop the ac below 20 :D ...other than that,the game runs pretty awesome

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 3rd, 2012, 2:39 pm

5forward wrote:Is 80 degrees celsius too much for my gpu? My machine runs Crysis 2 at full resolution and advanced system spec,but i play it for about 25 mins or until the gpu temp reaches 80,an turn it off...bear in mind this happens with the gpu fan at 100%,quite a lot of air flow/fans in the case,and my ac on 26/27 :?

So i only play for a limited time,at a time until i upgrade the cooler,unless im desperate,cloak up and drop the ac below 20 :D ...other than that,the game runs pretty awesome

What card you running? i don't have a/c in my room and crysis 2 on hardcore @ 1080 gets mine up to 68c, 80 is high but it wont damage your card, if it reaches the 90's then you could start worrying...it may be good to have the side fan by the GPU pulling air into the case, and some extraction fans to the top, if your case supports that, as hot air rises, so it'll escape faster. My case is configured somewhat like that. But i guess it depends on what card you're using.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 3rd, 2012, 3:07 pm

80 degrees is high if the card isn't under load.
If your case can support a 200mm fan on the side panel you might want to consider getting a Megaflow.

Storm Forces would have been great but they're discontinued and they we're only made for the Sniper. They're CFM rating is 142 :D
Megaflow's is 110.
My 560's fan is always at 100% with the Storm force as intake on the side panel and never reaches 70 under load @ stock

I had it oc'd for a few days with the core @ 971 and the Memory at 2223mhz on the memory @1V and I never hit the 90s under load :D

I remember reading that a GPU can withstand up to 120 Degrees before the cores stop melting.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 3rd, 2012, 3:48 pm

What good 27 inch it having these days ?

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 3rd, 2012, 6:04 pm

Its a Evga gtx 260 core 216.I know 80 wont damage it right away,but reaching up there continuously would shorten its lifespan.I also dont want to play past that point to see where it would top out :?
Thanks for the side panel fan idea but i seriously dont like fans there.Case has a pretty big clear side and i like the clean look.
Ill think ill just get this "http://www.amazon.com/Arctic-Cooling-Accelero-Xtreme-nVidina/dp/B002PINFFW/ref=sr_1_fkmr1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349281271&sr=8-1-fkmr1&keywords=gtx+260+core+216+cooler"

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 3rd, 2012, 6:48 pm

5forward wrote:Its a Evga gtx 260 core 216.I know 80 wont damage it right away,but reaching up there continuously would shorten its lifespan.I also dont want to play past that point to see where it would top out :?
Thanks for the side panel fan idea but i seriously dont like fans there.Case has a pretty big clear side and i like the clean look.
Ill think ill just get this "http://www.amazon.com/Arctic-Cooling-Accelero-Xtreme-nVidina/dp/B002PINFFW/ref=sr_1_fkmr1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349281271&sr=8-1-fkmr1&keywords=gtx+260+core+216+cooler"

I say sell dat card and get something newer.

Unless u got d card free or real cheap then it'll make sense to buy something that expensive to cool it.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:01 pm

HCCA wrote:
5forward wrote:Its a Evga gtx 260 core 216.I know 80 wont damage it right away,but reaching up there continuously would shorten its lifespan.I also dont want to play past that point to see where it would top out :?

I say sell dat card and get something newer.

Unless u got d card free or real cheap then it'll make sense to buy something that expensive to cool it.

My thoughts exactly.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:41 pm

Yea meng
260 is Pretty old and it's based on the 65nm architecture....it won't efficient and it's gonna produce unnecessary heat :|

A GTX560ti would be a nice upgrade and would out perform the 260

btw
GTX660(non ti version) is $230US which is pretty darn good :shock: :shock:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 3rd, 2012, 9:54 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Yea meng
260 is Pretty old and it's based on the 65nm architecture....it won't efficient and it's gonna produce unnecessary heat :|

A GTX560ti would be a nice upgrade and would out perform the 260

btw
GTX660(non ti version) is $230US which is pretty darn good :shock: :shock:

Yeah the 660 is my pick for an upgrade as well.

I once had a gtx 280 that overheated so much all the thermal pads for the ram disintegrated into dust and blew away :shock: