b14 ac worries

14lover

b14 ac worries

Postby 14lover » October 1st, 2012, 7:40 pm

when i put on the ac for the first time for the day, it works ok, then gradually its gets warmer as time goes by when driving, and when i accelerate, the breeze gets cooler and when car stops it gets warmer(changed two compressors already and same thing :( ) the ac lines are ice cold and everything seems to work good under the hood, however the temperature of breeze through the vents are a different story..what u tuners think is going on with my b14? :?

Re: b14 ac worries

Postby wagonrunner » October 1st, 2012, 7:43 pm

Evaporator possibly needs cleaning.

14lover

Postby 14lover » October 1st, 2012, 7:55 pm

^^ok that is a start, thanks...
other men say power wash the condenser
the tint i have have does attract plenty heat
to disconnect the heater
car idling too slow....

ddog

Postby ddog » October 2nd, 2012, 6:50 am

Sounds like your evaporator is "freezing up". Is you compressor tripping on and off? If it is the expansion valve on the evaporator could probably be the problem.

You also said the car is idling too slow, does it idle up when you turn on your AC? If not, you could have a problem with the IACV.

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » October 2nd, 2012, 10:32 am

Have a professional a/c shop check it for you but it does sound like a freezing evaporator. We can supply you with any parts you need for the fix. We are an a/c parts shop. call us 353-5523 or 223-8674

14lover

Postby 14lover » October 2nd, 2012, 12:40 pm

ok guys thanks for the help and PARTS2go i will give u a call soon..btw do you guys (PARTS2go) do installs to?

14lover

Postby 14lover » October 2nd, 2012, 1:38 pm

ddog wrote:Sounds like your evaporator is "freezing up". Is you compressor tripping on and off? If it is the expansion valve on the evaporator could probably be the problem.

You also said the car is idling too slow, does it idle up when you turn on your AC? If not, you could have a problem with the IACV.

ddog what is the 'IACV'?

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 1:42 pm

idle air control valve

14lover

Postby 14lover » October 2nd, 2012, 1:56 pm

thanks^

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 2:09 pm

when changing that, clean out your throttle body before.

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 6th, 2012, 9:46 am

wagonrunner wrote:Evaporator possibly needs cleaning.

How would one go about cleaning an evaporator?

ddog

Postby ddog » October 6th, 2012, 10:03 am

Take it out and wash it under a pipe. If u pressure wash it, u will damage it.

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » October 6th, 2012, 12:21 pm

Pressure washing is what you need. With regular pipe pressure you will not wash properly.

Postby wagonrunner » October 6th, 2012, 1:26 pm

NR8 wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:Evaporator possibly needs cleaning.

How would one go about cleaning an evaporator?

I go to an A/C service. they remove it from behind the dashboard, clean it, and regas system.

konartis

Postby konartis » October 6th, 2012, 1:56 pm

had this same issue with my b13 and it good now....go by good AC tech an clean the condenser ,filter(under the dash), re gas everything properly, condenser has nothing to do with it....that will help, other than that, doh beat up...is a b14 :-)

Postby wagonrunner » October 6th, 2012, 2:32 pm

konartis wrote:had this same issue with my b13 and it good now....go by good AC tech an clean the condenser ,filter(under the dash), re gas everything properly, condenser has nothing to do with it....that will help, other than that, doh beat up...is a b14 :-)
:?:

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » October 7th, 2012, 12:47 am

Vacuum it real good!

14lover

Postby 14lover » October 8th, 2012, 7:31 am

^thanks guys, im going by the shop this week...