Re: ::OFFICIAL Rastafari Ched::

Postby Trini Hookah » April 23rd, 2012, 7:56 pm

Wha kinda ghey smiley is dat dan??

Postby rfari » April 23rd, 2012, 8:02 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Wha kinda ghey smiley is dat dan??

:lol: :lol: :lol: . that screen gonna get munch'd for later use

Postby shogun » April 23rd, 2012, 10:26 pm

:lol: :lol: @ ramps

yuh man-handle Ramps in that sweat yesterday, or what fari?...how he cutting grass low in your thread so?

Postby rfari » April 24th, 2012, 10:46 am

shogun wrote::lol: :lol: @ ramps

yuh man-handle Ramps in that sweat yesterday, or what fari?...how he cutting grass low in your thread so?

that self! :lol: :lol:

Postby Greypatch » May 23rd, 2012, 10:22 am

HOLD DAT....

mpower

Postby mpower » May 23rd, 2012, 10:44 am

hold dat

mpower

Postby mpower » May 23rd, 2012, 10:57 am

what does rasta man say when he open fridge and see everthing spoil?????

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2012, 3:46 pm

Apparently CAL not concious?

CAL moves dread over ‘locks’?
Saturday, June 23 2012

THE EDITOR: If you have “locks”, forget about being a flight attendant with Caribbean Airlines.

I am an “Afro-Trinidadian” and I have chosen to wear my hair in well maintained “locks” for the last seven years. In February of this year I decided to explore a career opportunity as a flight attendant with Caribbean Airlines. I met the necessary criteria but sadly this never became a reality because “locks do not comply with the grooming standards and image the company wishes to portray.” You possibly will not find this statement in a manual or any written document, only on the discriminatory lips of the perpetrators of this belief system within this organisation.

At my first interview I was advised that the length of my hair, not the hairstyle, would be a potential safety issue. I was satisfied with the explanation given and after doing my own research I was prepared to make the necessary length adjustments. The panelists on my second interview asked if I was willing to cut my hair off and at this point I started to suspect that the hairstyle was not favourable. I asked plainly if this was the case and more safety reasons were fed to me. None of which warranted the removal of all my hair and I was told that the choice was mine. They did not insist that I cut my hair and I did not commit to do so either.

After the second interview I advanced to the Training Level which commenced in May; however, on day two, management approached me with a deadline to get rid of my locks, implying that this was a determining factor in my progress from this stage. At this time, inches of my hair were cut off and meticulously styled in accordance with the guidelines given and the grooming standards in their manual. I challenged them on the issue and it boiled down to being that I did not meet their skewed, incomplete image of the Caribbean that the brand supposedly represents.

My time and money amongst other resources were invested in this endeavour but I write this letter not for any recompense or pity but to shed light on Caribbean Airlines, a company that claims equal opportunity while fostering policies that are discriminatory by their very nature. It is my sincere hope that these blatant practices of injustice would discontinue. I did not want this job enough to sell out on the pride of my identity, hence I resigned, but it has come to my attention that many others in my position usually do.

R Johnson

via e-mail

http://newsday.co.tt/letters/0,162240.html

Postby shogun » June 25th, 2012, 6:54 pm

I ALMOST went "dread", when i was growing my hair. My parents eventually convinced me not to, sighting that same kinda prejudice, when it comes to job opportunities, etc. Besides, people treat you different when yuh fair skinned and have dreads....like you're faking it or something. *shrugs"

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2012, 10:19 pm

Once you can your qualifications dread or no dread they will hire you. And even if it is service job, once you have the swag and keep yourself neat, nobody can fault you for looking unpresentable.

Postby shogun » June 25th, 2012, 11:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:Once you can your qualifications dread or no dread they will hire you. And even if it is service job, once you have the swag and keep yourself neat, nobody can fault you for looking unpresentable.

there are some brothers with neat dreads though eh. And my hair is still long, but they don't seem to have the same prob with it once in a ponytail.

Postby rfari » June 25th, 2012, 11:48 pm

true. once you have the qualifications and the skills, you don't encounter as many problems.

cool story. when i was in uwi, i applied for a vacation internship at a company i can't recall. anyways, i had short dread and i asked the person that called me to come to an interview if other employees had dreadlocks and explained my situation to him. he said no and well later that day, i cut my hair. day after went to the interview and the interview panel knew that i had dreadlocks and asked why i cut it. i explained why and the lady on the panel reminded me about a sprite or 7up advert with a similar scenario just that the interviewer was a dreadlock. so anyways, i didnt get the job and i was broke for tht whole vacation. after that i told myself i'm not cutting unless i want to.

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2012, 9:22 am

A lot of companies would want somebody with dreads to show diversity. One would think CAL wouldn't mind showing off the Caribbean stereotype people already have before they even come here. I guess a CAL job is the new bank job.

TriP

Postby TriP » June 26th, 2012, 4:52 pm

sweet
Ethiopian beauty.jpg

::OFFICIAL Rastafari Ched::

Postby rfari » June 26th, 2012, 4:56 pm

Tuts full. Me likes

TriP

Postby TriP » July 3rd, 2012, 10:02 pm

Artist : Tony Pavone
529647_446965968667939_1433775006_n.jpg

Postby rfari » August 9th, 2012, 2:43 pm

that type of afternoon. rock back and take een some cool breeze

Postby Ted_v2 » August 9th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Why smoke weed? It doesn't make sense..
Why do Rastafarians adore something that could soon kill them? I just don't understand that

i was watching a movie on bob marley last week
what i saw was that rastafarians smoke weed to get into a trance like state, almost as to clear negative vybz. 8-) thats why bob smoked before after and during the writing of his songs.

Postby rfari » August 9th, 2012, 3:08 pm

sb, gracie is babylon system horn chile. doh study he

Postby shogun » August 9th, 2012, 3:17 pm

Postby rfari » August 9th, 2012, 3:28 pm

nice vibes from that band there shogun

Postby shogun » August 9th, 2012, 4:17 pm

^Yeah dred, TC not easy.

Trying to find a song. Can't remember if it was more a dancehall song or Dub, or what exactly (i know almost nothing about either genre.) Part of the lyrics went, "i man don't run down the world, cause the world it round." haha! Yeah, that's all i remember.

Was either late 90,s or early 00's. Sure a tuner would know.

Postby rfari » August 9th, 2012, 4:26 pm

shogun wrote:^Yeah dred, TC not easy.

Trying to find a song. Can't remember if it was more a dancehall song or Dub, or what exactly (i know almost nothing about either genre.) Part of the lyrics went, "i man don't run down the world, cause the world it round." haha! Yeah, that's all i remember.

Was either late 90,s or early 00's. Sure a tuner would know.

you prolly talking about this. reminds me of secondary school :mrgreen:

Postby shogun » August 9th, 2012, 4:30 pm

Dred! 8-)

If you only know how long i want to ask on tuner about that song. Thanks.

TriP

Postby TriP » August 12th, 2012, 10:32 am

Art and Culture in Beauty Form. Made in Cote D' Ivoire (Ivory Coast-West Africa)
0.jpg

Postby shogun » September 29th, 2012, 11:55 am

^Remix. For the more Dancehall crew.

Postby BrotherHood » September 29th, 2012, 12:03 pm

*yawns*.... now wake up in d Beetham. Outside smelling stink as usual.

*chanting loudly*
JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Postby rfari » September 29th, 2012, 12:26 pm

....rastafari

Postby rspann » September 29th, 2012, 1:00 pm

Rastas have cars with reverse gear ?i thought they say forward ever backward never.