::OFFICIAL Rastafari Ched::

Postby rfari » April 21st, 2012, 3:21 am

metalgear2095 wrote:ignorance is bliss. guess you are one of those who reads God's word in their hearts. :lol:

Bruh, u wanna have bible study on 2nr and have a blue note collection or something? Smoke some herb or get a gyal or something nah dude.

Postby rfari » April 21st, 2012, 3:23 am

Anyways, grounation day today. Lvl nyabinghi sessions

metalgear2095

Re: ::OFFICIAL Rastafari Ched::

Postby metalgear2095 » April 21st, 2012, 7:43 am

rfari wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:ignorance is bliss. guess you are one of those who reads God's word in their hearts. :lol:

Bruh, u wanna have bible study on 2nr and have a blue note collection or something? Smoke some herb or get a gyal or something nah dude.

weed is illegal here. thats a stupid thing to do

Postby rfari » April 21st, 2012, 10:27 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
rfari wrote:

That's ok

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 21st, 2012, 1:00 pm

Why smoke weed? It doesn't make sense..
Why do Rastafarians adore something that could soon kill them? I just don't understand that

Postby rfari » April 21st, 2012, 2:06 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Why smoke weed? It doesn't make sense..
Why do Rastafarians adore something that could soon kill them? I just don't understand that

Everything kills eventually. U seem scared to die gracie.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 21st, 2012, 2:18 pm

I'm not trying to be disrespectful in any way BTW

but isn't smoking weed against the law?

Postby rfari » April 21st, 2012, 2:29 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:I'm not trying to be disrespectful in any way BTW

but isn't smoking weed against the law?

Nope

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 21st, 2012, 2:31 pm

i'm now just learning about this so rastas pray to someone that died in 1975?
what's the reason for the dreads and weed and general earthly attitude?
i find this interesting had never encountered the this belief until moving to trinidad but always wandered what it's all about.

Postby shogun » April 21st, 2012, 6:45 pm

tolerance levels on tuner seemed to have dropped.

Postby rfari » April 22nd, 2012, 12:00 am

shogun wrote:tolerance levels on tuner seemed to have dropped.

Hard one there jed.
People hate what they don't understand. Its a fact of life. *shrugs*
@jm3, the dreadlocks comes from a passage in the bible that no man should put a to the hair on his head or to his beard. And king solomon was a very wise man back in the day and he smoked lvl herb so it's alright.
Rastafarianism is more a way of life than a religion. There are no structured rules and regulations but being in harmony with nature and all that is in it is extremely important.

Postby De Dragon » April 22nd, 2012, 1:01 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
rfari wrote:

Either of two things here, you are genuinely, literally beating us over the head with your opposition/dislike to/of Rasta, or you're trying to get a rise out of someone. Both are equally unbecoming BTW............

TriP

Postby TriP » April 22nd, 2012, 11:54 am

http://www.tntmirror.com/2012/04/08/rastafarians
(yea.. it abit long..but readable)

From Our Files: February 7th 1973

New cult springing up near the banks of the East Dry River

RAS RALPH never ran a comb through his hair for seven or eight years now.

Ras Victor McQueen is likewise.

He has not touched a comb in four years.

Who are they?
They are part of a group that is attracting the most comment in Trinidad, because of their weird look.

They are Ras Tafarians.

The Ras Tafarians are members of a new cult springing up in shadows of the East Dry River, on Observatory Street, Port of Spain.

But what are they after, these Ras tafarians?

If they are after public comment and ridicule they already have it.

For, they’re being looked upon by certain sectors of this community, as a bunch of filthy, unkempt black power terrorists who are only out to make trouble.

But, is this true of the Ras Tafarians?

Are they out to scare people with their matted hair, and grisly beards?

Are they troublemakers?

To find, out we went into the headquarters of the cult on Observatory Street.

The Ras Tafari way of life would cause certain people in this community to take greater offence.

For, they do not believe in church marriages.

They believe the best way, is to get together with a “virgin” and live as man and wife.

The Ras Tafarian way of life appears to be a protest against the present-day established order of society.

For they do not follow today’s fashion trends.

Their hair is grown long, kinky, and unkempt, and as a result turns a bright rust colour after a few years.

They prefer simple blue duck pants, jerseys, merinos and lumber jackets.

Their shoes are soled with discarded motor car tyres.

They are not against weed smoking, since they believe that marijuana is pure and holy.

However, they are not for violence, but peace. They even have a peace prayer.

Ras Ralph said: “We believe in a peaceful life.

“And we have a peace prayer to guide us.”

He recited it: “I give thanks and praise to thy most Holy God, Jah Ras Tafari.

“Even though I fall, let the wicked beware for I shall rise again.
“Flip the pagan heart, O Lord, and smite the wicked in thy name, Jah Ras Tafari.”

Although their protest is against the present-day order of society, need to survive causes them to seek out the capitalists for work.

However, they prefer certain jobs.

Said Ras Ralph: “Most of us work with the Port of Spain City Council and on road projects.

“We do not work on offices, because we feel employers would be prejudiced against us.
“So, we don’t bother to seek employment there.”

Ras Victor McQueen, another Rasta, said:
“I would like to get a job in an office behind a typewriter. I believe that society would not give me the chance.

Why did Ras McQueen become a Rasta?

He said: “Life for me was one big economic struggle. I had not other choice but to create my own world.

“There are lots of people who would like to become Rastas, but they do not, because of their jobs.
“Rasta is now a way of life on this block.
“People in Trinidad think we are dropouts from society, but we feel proud to be ourselves.
“Ras Tafarians means self-consciousness, and that’s what we are about.
“We prefer to do for ourselves and live our own life.
“If you follow society you achieve nothing.”

While there are imitation Rastas roaming the streets of Port of Spain there are only about 25 real hard-core Rastas in Trinidad.

They are not anxious to go back to Africa like their Jamaican counterparts, but to remain here and “develop the place where they were born”.

However Ras McQueen pointed out they were following the philosophies of Marcus Garvey and other black revolutionaries.

He said they were trying to establish links with their Jamaican “Ras” brothers who live in secluded areas.

“There are thousands of them,” McQueen pointed out.

He said Rastas in Trinidad were not yet organised into any kind of group as such, but this will be done soon.

McQueen, who was the most talkative of the lot, added: “There is talk that the Jamaicans hate Trinidadians.

This is not true.

“If our Government is trying to establish closer links with Jamaica, why then, we can’t do it at this grassroot level.”

The Ras Tafarians concept in Jamaica is a different thing to Trinidad.

“The Jamaican cult, claims Haile Selassie as its God, and has grown to an estimated 60,000 in 30 years.

They disclaim allegiance to the laws of Jamaica.

To the Ras Tafari in Jamaica, all white men are English, just as all black men are Ethiopian.

They do not believe in the “white man’s Christianity.”

They say it’s a hoax perpetrated on the black race by the white.

Also, the Jamaican Ras Tafarians believe that all black men are all reincarnation of God’s chosen people, the Israelites.

The Jamaicans too, believe that blacks were exiled to the West Indies as slaves because of their transgressions against God, and blacks are superior to white in every way.

They believe that God is not a spirit, and Haile Selassie is God by reincarnation.

Ethiopia, Selassie’s country they say is Heaven, and Jamaica is a hopeless hell.

The Jamaicans believe that soon Selassie will arrange for them to return to Ethiopia.

They say that all the lands in Jamaica is theirs by right, and that Jamaica is for black men only, and that taxation is illegal and that the throne of England is subservient to that of Ethiopia.

As a result, the Jamaican cultists squatted on lands as they saw fit, and allowed their hair to grow uncut and seldom washed.

Slowly but surely, their habits put them outside normal living with fellow Jamaicans, who set up barriers against them, and refused to employ them.

Is this going to be the future of the Ras Tafari in Trinidad, now that it has started her? Only time will tell

Postby rfari » April 22nd, 2012, 4:01 pm

Interesting read. I disagree with it being referred to as a cult tho. And rastafarianism isn't new to trinidad. But its great that the article doesn't portray us as troublemakers

Postby shogun » April 22nd, 2012, 7:34 pm

lol @ how differently they wrote back then. Good read though.

Postby rfari » April 22nd, 2012, 7:44 pm

Damn! I now seeing the date on the article.

Postby bluesteel29 » April 22nd, 2012, 10:04 pm

so ur saying they will die from smoking/digesting marijuana?....you sir r a jack@$$

Click
Last edited by bluesteel29 on April 22nd, 2012, 11:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 22nd, 2012, 10:40 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:

so ur saying they will die from smoking/digesting marijuana?....you sir r a jack@$$

How dare you question the all noble gracist, with knowledge on every topic?

Off with your head!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 23rd, 2012, 12:09 am

Once taken in the right proportions they can be used as a medicinal drug. If overused it can be harmful to the body @bluesteel

All that excuse just to smoke weed :/

And vramps why you always on me so? What did I ever do to you????

Postby De Dragon » April 23rd, 2012, 12:40 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Once taken in the right proportions they can be used as a medicinal drug. If overused it can be harmful to the body @bluesteel

All that excuse just to smoke weed :/

And vramps why you always on me so? What did I ever do to you????

Yuh dareth to offendeth the weed.

Postby bluesteel29 » April 23rd, 2012, 1:57 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Once taken in the right proportions they can be used as a medicinal drug. If overused it can be harmful to the body

so u sayin all rasta does overuse marijuana?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 23rd, 2012, 8:43 am

bluesteel29 wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Once taken in the right proportions they can be used as a medicinal drug. If overused it can be harmful to the body

so u sayin all rasta does overuse marijuana?

All rastas don't need it for sure.

Postby rfari » April 23rd, 2012, 10:49 am

Gracie issa hata jed

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 23rd, 2012, 6:29 pm

Na I aint no hater