The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby pioneer » September 25th, 2012, 1:49 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:not sure why Casper suggesting that only a jailbroken device can "do cool stuff"

Pioneer, get an Apple iTunes Account and start looking through the AppStore!

I suggest that you sign up for a US iTunes account. You can use your skybox address and use Apple Gift Cards (a number of powersellers sell them) to make purchases. There is also ALOT of free apps for your iPod. http://www.148apps.com/top-apps/top-free-iphone-apps/ most will also work on the iPod Touch 4G

You can also upgrade to iOS 6
http://www.apple.com/ios/whats-new/

Kool thanks would look into this

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 25th, 2012, 2:32 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:not sure why Casper suggesting that only a jailbroken device can "do cool stuff"

Pioneer, get an Apple iTunes Account and start looking through the AppStore!

I suggest that you sign up for a US iTunes account. You can use your skybox address and use Apple Gift Cards (a number of powersellers sell them) to make purchases. There is also ALOT of free apps for your iPod. http://www.148apps.com/top-apps/top-free-iphone-apps/ most will also work on the iPod Touch 4G

You can also upgrade to iOS 6
http://www.apple.com/ios/whats-new/

Kool thanks would look into this
Assuming you're new to the App Store, the apps listed on the site Duane gave (as well as most other "Top xxx apps" sites) are some the more popular and general purpose apps. There are more "specialised" apps which would be of more interest to different people.

For instance, it lists TuneIn and iHeart Radios which are cool, but there are also these which target specific genres:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/armada-m ... 54954?mt=8
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/digitall ... 42617?mt=8

You won't find these on most "Top 10" or "Top 50" app sites, but I'm sure they could very well be among your personal list of top apps (given your posts in the Mega Trance thread). There are lots of other special interest apps, and many of them free without jailbreaking - you just have do so some searching in the app store and on the interwebz, and be willing to put up with some small banner ads. Alternatively you could pay for them and get rid of the ads.

Another example which has unexpectedly come in very handy for me once already which might interest you:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ihandy-l ... 52753?mt=8

Not a big thing for most people, but very useful for me personally. Too many small interesting apps to list, but they're out there, some you never even knew you had use for.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » September 25th, 2012, 5:46 pm

Fellas I asked this question already but I couldn't find it so I need a little help, I bought an iPhone 4S for my friend, he switched from a blackberry so he has the edge, he cut his sim and put it in the iPhone and he is not getting data.
What does he need to put in the APN so he can get data on the iPhone?

It is factory unlocked from apple as well.

Postby M_2NR » September 25th, 2012, 6:12 pm

bolo23 wrote:Fellas I asked this question already but I couldn't find it so I need a little help, I bought an iPhone 4S for my friend, he switched from a blackberry so he has the edge, he cut his sim and put it in the iPhone and he is not getting data.
What does he need to put in the APN so he can get data on the iPhone?

It is factory unlocked from apple as well.

which carrier? Bmobile?
APN is internet

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » September 25th, 2012, 6:20 pm

Yes sorry he is on bmobile and he already put "Internet" in APN and still nothing?

Postby M_2NR » September 25th, 2012, 6:34 pm

Common letters.
Ent he is on unlimited blackberry data? Have him call them and they'll switch d plan over to a regular unlimited data.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » September 25th, 2012, 6:52 pm

Ok cool thanks m_2nr for your help I told him to go into bmobile in westmall to sought it out so he will go tom I guess. I thought that also could be the problem as well so I told him that

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 25th, 2012, 6:58 pm

most likely it's the blackberry internet plan that's giving the problem, he will have to go into a front office to change it to the $150 unlimited data since bmobile is unable to do something as simple as an internet plan change over the phone.

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 25th, 2012, 7:04 pm

i just made an official waze thread for those interested :)

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » September 25th, 2012, 10:39 pm

It's just "Internet" under APN that you put it right, nothing else?

Postby M_2NR » September 25th, 2012, 11:30 pm

internet all common. Strange it didn't set automatically though. Did he get prompted to install a carrier update?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 26th, 2012, 11:03 am

So, who has a unlocked iPhone 5 in trini??

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » September 26th, 2012, 10:38 pm

I just came back from FL with 2 bezman, I have a 32gb black and a 64gb white both factory unlocked,keeping the 64 for myself and MIGHT consider selling the 32gb if price is right.

M_2nr he got thru with the data bro, he had to go into bmobile and change his plan so it should be up and working tomorrow.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » September 26th, 2012, 10:39 pm

Are the vapor pro cases good anyone?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 26th, 2012, 11:01 pm

bolo23 wrote:I just came back from FL with 2 bezman, I have a 32gb black and a 64gb white both factory unlocked,keeping the 64 for myself and MIGHTconsider selling the 32gb if price is right.

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » September 26th, 2012, 11:24 pm

pimptacular wrote:
bolo23 wrote:I just came back from FL with 2 bezman, I have a 32gb black and a 64gb white both factory unlocked,keeping the 64 for myself and MIGHTconsider selling the 32gb if price is right.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 27th, 2012, 10:59 am

Prototype-Tuner wrote:
pimptacular wrote:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » September 27th, 2012, 11:05 am

got a iPhone 5 factory unlocked, up & running, just had to do some serious cutting of my sim card
pis of the sim that was cut, the iphone 5 & the iphone 5 next to my 4s
image2.jpg
IMG-20120926-00353.jpg
IMG-20120926-00348.jpg

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 27th, 2012, 11:19 am

Dion76 wrote:got a iPhone 5 factory unlocked, up & running, just had to do some serious cutting of my sim card
Nice. Saw a couple reports online saying that the thickness of the sim card may have to be sanded down to nano sim specs, and then others saying it wasn't necessary.

Could you confirm if it's true that the card doesn't need to be sanded down?

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » September 27th, 2012, 11:53 am

The card doesn't need to be sanded down
Cut but not sanded

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 27th, 2012, 11:55 am

so when are people gonna start selling them in tnt? im hoping there like 4-4.5k for the 16g then i may get myself a nice xmas gift (forever alone)

casper

Postby casper » September 27th, 2012, 12:22 pm

^^^lolz...not even...they gonna sell for between $5k - $5.5k maybe even more

Postby M_2NR » September 27th, 2012, 12:28 pm

jm3 wrote:so when are people gonna start selling them in tnt? im hoping there like 4-4.5k for the 16g then i may get myself a nice xmas gift (forever alone)

I'd say more like 6000$ :lol:

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 27th, 2012, 12:30 pm

:S ill get one from the states myself then lol

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » September 27th, 2012, 12:48 pm

dredman1 wrote:
Dion76 wrote:got a iPhone 5 factory unlocked, up & running, just had to do some serious cutting of my sim card
Nice. Saw a couple reports online saying that the thickness of the sim card may have to be sanded down to nano sim specs, and then others saying it wasn't necessary.

Could you confirm if it's true that the card doesn't need to be sanded down?

nah it doesnt need to be sanded, jus needs to be cut to d correct size

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 27th, 2012, 1:03 pm

jm3 wrote:so when are people gonna start selling them in tnt? im hoping there like 4-4.5k for the 16g then i may get myself a nice xmas gift (forever alone)

Ha ha ha!

Postby S_2NR » September 27th, 2012, 1:27 pm

jm3 wrote::S ill get one from the states myself then lol

yea do that. i buy everything abroad except food. here is rel rip off.

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 27th, 2012, 2:00 pm

S_2NR wrote:

wonder how much it would cost to get some on my own and charge like $100 extra for profit bet they'd sell like hotcakes.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 27th, 2012, 2:18 pm

jm3 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

wonder how much it would cost to get some on my own and charge like $100 extra for profit bet they'd sell like hotcakes.

Best thing to do is buy them from an actual retail store, no tax. Put them in your suitcase and sell them here.

Another idea is to offer a service to cut sims down to microsim size. Not everyone will feel comfortable or equipped to do that so you can make some spare change that way.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 27th, 2012, 3:14 pm

mojosodope wrote:
jm3 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Best thing to do is buy them from an actual retail store, no tax. Put them in your suitcase and sell them here.

Another idea is to offer a service to cut sims down to microsim size. Not everyone will feel comfortable or equipped to do that so you can make some spare change that way.

I offer free micro sim cutting to all tuners