TriniGT's Project R32 GTR - Fuel Setup On The Way!!!

TriniGT

Re: TriniGT's Project R32 GTR - We Have Paint!!!

Postby TriniGT » September 12th, 2012, 8:16 am

Thx Bez, finding the candidate proves to be the hardest part, if you get a beat up one then extra needs to be spent elsewhere before you can have a workable base to move forward but finding a proper base is the real problem. I had to spend a little extra to get it to a decent spot but now I can move on and do my upgrades knowing that I have a proper starting point. Glad I went with the R32, I am finding parts much cheaper and locally as well :D.

moti

Postby moti » September 12th, 2012, 11:13 am

bez, there is a 3rd gen in chaguanas that has a SR20DET in it, please buy it and save it from the owner.

car is located at max tyre shop opp. the street that will take you to chaguanas secondary school in montrose.
it's just after ACE paint shop on the same side if you're heading north.

sorry jason, i just had to.
btw the R32 for me is the best model ever; like EVER

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 12th, 2012, 11:38 am

Haha thx man, hope I do the R32 some justice with my planned work. Bez, will keep my eyes and ears peeled for your search.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 13th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Picked up my windscreen trim yesterday, along with the front glass molding and the door upper rubbers. Radiator, passenger indicator, rubber grommets and nismo slave cylinder are on their way and should be in my possession by next weekend. Pickeup some Duplicolor flat black spray to spray my floor carpet and maybe the roof lining, we'll see how that goes, darken the entire interior. Need to order some Nismo floor mats and the rest of my engine stuff, that'll be next month, should give me enough time to get everything else sorted.

moti

Postby moti » September 14th, 2012, 8:46 am

TriniGT wrote: Pickeup some Duplicolor flat black spray to spray my floor carpet and maybe the roof lining

never heard of this........let me know how it turns out

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 14th, 2012, 8:54 am

will get some pics, Driveline Retailers has it in both Gloss and flat black and it supposedly works on many surfaces as it says on the tin, weekend I will know the outcome ;).
Last edited by TriniGT on September 14th, 2012, 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » September 14th, 2012, 9:16 am

moti wrote:
TriniGT wrote: Pickeup some Duplicolor flat black spray to spray my floor carpet and maybe the roof lining

never heard of this........let me know how it turns out

the duplicolor fabric paint is GREAT it dries soft to the touch
initially it stayed a bit hard and scared me tho :lol: :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 14th, 2012, 9:44 am

This is what it looks like,

moti

Postby moti » September 14th, 2012, 10:34 am

oh, i see.

boy i tell yuh..everyday you learn something new yes

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 15th, 2012, 10:44 pm

Didn't do much today, had lots of running around, but tried mocking up the Defi DIN panel as I didn't like how they were positioned before, actually they were just resting in there along with the A/C panel so that needs to be sorted as well along with the stereo. So after some thinking I decided to yank the OEM gauge setup from the replacement dashboard center console setup and somehow get the defis in there. Here is the result after some shaving and tweaking,
Old Gauge setup,
Fitted Defi setup, love the way the R32 console is entirely made for the driver, slanted properly,
Here is the way they were mounted behind using some old stereo brackets,
And with the center shifter and stereo trim fitted,
And lastly my windscreen trim, I spent an hour trying to fit the rear trim and now have decided I need to order new rear windscreen glass molding and remove the rear windscreen and refit it with all the molding attached in one shot.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 16th, 2012, 2:04 pm

nice R32 project man!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 16th, 2012, 10:44 pm

Thanks, started to unwrap the dash to fusebox harnesses and also the dash to engine harnesses and looking at the condition of them I decided to get replacement ones as these were not in the best condition, lots of cuts and and spliced stuff. I went today and was allowed to scrap a front half, got most of what was needed. Still have some stuff that is missing, like P/S cooler, A/C lines, well HICAS not needed, may replace the speedometer cable, and some finishers to complete the engine bay along with the wiper motor. Need to address some rust to the underneath of the car so will wirebrush the areas and treat and then apply 3M rubberized undercoat to finish it off. Will begin degreasing the replacement engine harnesses and then prep them to be fitted to the engine bay.
Last edited by TriniGT on September 19th, 2012, 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 19th, 2012, 7:33 pm

Okay picked up some items today, some pics.
Packages,
Rubber Grommets,
Passenger Indicator,
Nismo Slave Cylinder :D,
And Lastly a Greddy Aluminum Radiator :D,

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 19th, 2012, 8:33 pm

That Greddy rad is a pretty penny. Money well spent though, very very envious.
Jay I'm looking for and also an idea about a din-delete and panel to hold the units. I'm thinking just use a piece of ABS and dremel out what I need and plastifoam the back for support?

Thinking about this but a din version since I'm keeping the audio and AC.
Last edited by .:PROZAC:.. on September 20th, 2012, 6:16 pm, edited 5 times in total.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 19th, 2012, 8:39 pm

Well all items are from auctions so works out decent enough for me.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 20th, 2012, 8:06 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:That Greddy rad is a pretty penny. Money well spent though, very very envious.
Jay I'm looking for and also an idea about a din-delete and panel to hold the units. I'm thinking just use a piece of ABS and dremel out what I need and plastifoam the back for support?

Some cars come with the DIN delete that actually screws into the back like a normal stereo does not just the clip in plate to the front, I think some subarus are like that. I have an HKS DIN setup in the forester that I want to install a boost controller and turbo timer and a wideband at some point. Very similar to the Blitz one,
Here is the setup in my GTT at one point,

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 20th, 2012, 5:49 pm

^ you can get em to buy at almost any audio shop...pm sr to fen

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 22nd, 2012, 1:52 pm

ok I mocked up something, just going to 3m dinoc it for the faux CF look. Thx man. I cut up a piece of PVC sheet. Not too bad for free,could be neater but the wrap will conceal all that.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 22nd, 2012, 9:02 pm

Good Stuff Zac!!! Picked up my turbo intake pipe finally and saw a bonnet I love for the car, just need the guy to sell it to me. Also picked up a distribution block as well to help with gauges and vacuum stuff and possibly clean up underneath the intake manifold.
Perfect!!!
Distribution Vacuum block,

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 24th, 2012, 5:35 pm

Yesterday I got around to stripping a lot of the interior, dash bar removed, A/C all removed, interior and carpet and roof lining all removed. Need to vacuum and clean the interior and dye carpet and roof lining and see if my S15 black replacements can work in place of the grey R32 ones or else I will have to paint them or something. A couple of snaps but if anyone knows I need rear upper interior as mine are shot to hell, they broke almost immediately when pulled, seems to have been glued back and refitted.
Gutted interior, main bar of the roll cage was also removed,

snypaz

Postby snypaz » September 24th, 2012, 6:24 pm

Love how this is coming along.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 24th, 2012, 8:51 pm

Jay what's rear upper interior, the c pillar plastic covers or the head liner?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 24th, 2012, 9:23 pm

C pillar plastic covers, that houses the rear seat belts. :(.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 25th, 2012, 7:07 am

Hopefully I get some replacements locally and I also need to have two spots welded in the car on both the driver and passenger side sill area. More of an inner sill repair where the main harness runs to the back of the car and the same spot on the passenger side. I want to do this as soon as possible so that I can refit the interior. I just don't want to leave it as it is and hide it away knowing that it is there and can easily spread. Other than that everything else so far seems to be in decent condition.

moti

Postby moti » September 25th, 2012, 11:28 am

ahhh so she is doing it in pairs eh

i remember when scraping Olivia once you found rust on one side, you can bet your life there is the same thing going on with the other side.

but yes; fix it before it spreads...........damn i hate rust.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 25th, 2012, 11:40 am

Yep was hoping it wasn't the case but indeed it was. initially it didn't look that way but when I removed the harness it blocked the rust, it has a hole on the driver side. Seems like water was somehow getting in and settling, maybe the windscreen has a leak somewhere, in any event the windscreen will be coming out and be replaced with new moldings and trim same time. Need to get someone to now cut out the rust and replace with proper metal to be treated and painted.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 25th, 2012, 11:47 am

Who you're thinking about for the job?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 25th, 2012, 11:49 am

Not sure yet, will remove all the fuel line and HICAS lines first before I get anyone cause heat transfers easily through the body and I don't want any madness occuring.

BrandonSingh

Postby BrandonSingh » September 25th, 2012, 6:49 pm

Sexy color mayne..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 25th, 2012, 6:58 pm

ok I'll check in and see if you got them or not. I'm booked for december and these are light enough.Pretty fragile though. I'll be in touch.