Ranger cooling ideas needed

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
JD......

Ranger cooling ideas needed

Postby JD...... » September 18th, 2012, 9:13 am

Aim: Increase cooling efficiency of Intercooler, radiator and A/C condenser
Vehicle: Ford Ranger PK 2.5 WLT

Basically i am looking to force more air over my:
- A/C condenser to increase cooling efficiency when parked in midday sun
- Radiator to aid in engine cooling
- Intercooler to get more dense air into the engine.

The issue
i have an ironman front bumper which reverts some of the air away from the front and reduces the room to play with.

The plan
Change the intercooler for a mishimoto Z line one and smoothen out the piping to reduce lag and turbo response. location??????????
Remove the clutch fan firstly, then, place 2 slim line fans either in the front of the A/C condenser pushing or behind the rad pulling air. i want to avoid changing the rad.

Location of the intercooler is the issue
Top mount with bonnet intake?
remove front grill and place intercooler up front?

all ideas welcomed
Untitled.jpg

lighthammer

Re: Ranger cooling ideas needed

Postby lighthammer » September 18th, 2012, 10:09 am

found ur problem..

The issue
i have an ironman front bumper which reverts some of the air away from the front and reduces the room to play with.

lol jk, but the best place to put the IC is in front... less headache wrt to piping and less potential loss in boost pressure.

JD......

Postby JD...... » September 18th, 2012, 5:15 pm

welll.....trying not to change the front bumper

Anyone have experience with slim fans used for cars on trucks?? im guessing water crossings might be a problem
A top mount intercooler may lead to heat soak when not running or going through mud.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 19th, 2012, 1:09 am

? im guessing water crossings might be a problem
A top mount intercooler may lead to heat soak when not running or going through mud.

Yup. correct on both counts.

That's one of the problems about these steel bumpers - a lot of the cooling gets blocked off.
Not much else you can do there dude.... definitely move the IC a lil higher though, should have space for it.

bt50

Postby bt50 » September 19th, 2012, 9:40 am

A/C
I installed a 12 inch flat fan on my condensor to aid with the cooling when the ac is on. Electrician wired to compressor with relay etc so when compressor trips so does the fan. works well when in traffic and idling.

Radiator- change out to metal 3 core. The stock plastic does not aid cooling at all. Im sure its one of the culprits to many a WL head cracking

Intercooler - Did cross my mind to install a 6 inch flat fan on the intercooler to help when in traffic etc with but didnt get along to it. Maybe you can try that prior to relocating intercooler.

Postby wagon r » September 19th, 2012, 12:00 pm

best bet is to drop a fan on the IC as BT said.....one of the reasons i don't like those type of bumpers.

Postby wagonrunner » September 19th, 2012, 12:59 pm

not impossible to add spaces for cooling in those bumpers though.

JD......

Postby JD...... » September 19th, 2012, 7:31 pm

Thanks for the idea fellas, keep them comming.

Intercooler:
When i do get home i have to try and find an intercooler that would fit inbetween the front lights and ill try and push it as much forward as possible. I think the Mishimoto to too long.
http://www.mishimoto.com/mishimoto-univ ... black.html

Rad:
BT, where can i get a 3 core one bamboo?? will any mods have to be done to the brackets?
I will be looking at removing the clutch fan as on alot of the forums they mentions that they are unreliable.

Fans
Depending on intercooler fitment, ill most probably fit it behind the rad pulling.

Bumper needs to stay for protection, i love that thing, been very handy deflecting bush, branches, keeping the front well protected.

Any one know the effects of running with out a thermostat in diesel engine??
in gas engines they are: Longer to heat up, consume more fuel............

JD......

Postby JD...... » September 20th, 2012, 12:48 am

what are your experiences with coolant?? Ford recommends Glycoshell, any one try Red line water wetter and purified water..i know for cars this works really well

bt50

Postby bt50 » September 20th, 2012, 8:17 am

I got someone to build the 3core radiator for me in south....its built the same design wrt brackets as the stock- just its a bigger radiator. If you want I can put you on to the guys who build them...avg price about $3500 and they complete wtihin a day.

Thermostat- you will hear all kind of comments here regarding thermostat..so im telling you what i did...i removed my thermostat at 65,000kms, installed the 3 core and never looked back....sold my van at 137,000 kms, had the same fuel consumption and van heated up to normal temp within 5 mins- that just goes to show you how hot diesel engines get and how quickly....

Clutch fan

I strongly recommend that you keep the original clutch fan...just inspect every 5000kms for free spin...they usually trouble free for the first 150,000kms. The extra fan on the condensor and 3 core is enough....

JD......

Postby JD...... » September 20th, 2012, 8:49 am

great, please send the guys contact, all add that to my list, truck only has 45***km and is barely used so im not worried, just want to mod correctly.

JD......

Postby JD...... » September 20th, 2012, 9:13 am

great, please send the guys contact, all add that to my list, truck only has 45***km and is barely used so im not worried, just want to mod correctly.

bt50

Postby bt50 » September 26th, 2012, 12:55 pm

Its rodney's radiator service in St. Madeline. I lost the number but will get it and PM you b4 the end of today.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » September 27th, 2012, 8:25 am

Janio I got a guy in POS to Build me a 3 core in Cascade.(the stock one cracked after 4 years) Cannot remember his name nor number for the life of me but it fits like stock on my BT-50 and ended up costing under $2500. Just as an option to save allyuh town boys the drive down the highway.

I still have the thermostat installed but no issues 130 XXX since 2007.

I also installed a Sportero Intercooler (slightly bigger than the stock BT-50) and it's noticeably better during the day but night... definite difference!

Peter

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”