Skanky

Re: HIT AND RUN ACCIDENT ON THE BUS ROUTE IN AROUCA

Postby Skanky » September 15th, 2012, 9:39 am

mimi007 wrote:this happened right infront the police station. Image
taken from facebook
Post via Mr. Rowen Bedeau:
Joel Gibbs (insert) was killed when a white Mitsubishi Lancer CK ran a red light by the intersection of Railway Road and the Priority Bus Route Arouca at 7:50 p.m. Three people were standing there awaiting transportation to Arima when the car broke the light heading east and ran into them injuring Maria Bedeau and killing Joel Gibbs. The car then swerved to the right and then to the left and never stopped. Joel Gibbs left to mourn a wife and two daughters.
Any information please respond to this post or call 350-8603.

This picture is not in front the police station...this is exactly the lights I am referring to.Like I said, countless accidents happen there always.Authorities should look into doing something to prevent future accidents.
Something definitely has to be wrong if every few months sometimes weeks you pass and see brand new traffic lights or even the just days old, brand new ones damaged.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 15th, 2012, 10:08 am

That looks like the bon air intersection....

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 15th, 2012, 12:00 pm

Understand the driver and car have been located.

This is just so unfortunate but still too prevalent.
WE have to somehow change the thinking and culture of so many drivers on our roads today!

Postby Bizzare » September 15th, 2012, 12:08 pm

what makes that intersection so dangerous?

Postby nemisis » September 15th, 2012, 12:09 pm

AutoSport wrote:Understand the driver and car have been located.

This is just so unfortunate but still too prevalent.
WE have to somehow change the thinking and culture of so many drivers on our roads today!

I ain't blame the driver he just extend the beetham to include the entire east west corridor

Postby Bizzare » September 15th, 2012, 12:14 pm

what?

Postby Morpheus » September 15th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Skanky wrote:
mimi007 wrote:this happened right infront the police station. Image
taken from facebook
Post via Mr. Rowen Bedeau:
Joel Gibbs (insert) was killed when a white Mitsubishi Lancer CK ran a red light by the intersection of Railway Road and the Priority Bus Route Arouca at 7:50 p.m. Three people were standing there awaiting transportation to Arima when the car broke the light heading east and ran into them injuring Maria Bedeau and killing Joel Gibbs. The car then swerved to the right and then to the left and never stopped. Joel Gibbs left to mourn a wife and two daughters.

This picture is not in front the police station...this is exactly the lights I am referring to.Like I said, countless accidents happen there always.Authorities should look into doing something to prevent future accidents.
Something definitely has to be wrong if every few months sometimes weeks you pass and see brand new traffic lights or even the just days old, brand new ones damaged.

FACK! I pass there every day :|

Idiots does play with that light.

About 3 months ago I came out of the side street on the north side of the bus route. By the time I looked up the light was on amber. I didn't know how long it was on amber so I decided to stop. Apparently Mr. Civic man who came out of the side street behind me wasn't too pleased. He started to blow horn.
By that time the light on red eh.You know Mr.Man pass around, pretend he heading east across the bus route, then went across normel, normel. :roll:
That intersection requires extreme caution. Allyuh be careful. It is so easy to get lick up there :|

R.I.P. to the deceased. And I hope they catch the driver and give him what he deserves.
Last edited by Morpheus on September 15th, 2012, 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 15th, 2012, 2:14 pm

^^^ what JOSTICE? pay ah lil 10 grand and walk scott free...

Postby Bizzare » September 15th, 2012, 2:59 pm

still not seeing what makes this intersection any more dangerous than the others on the Bus Route. Same thing.

Postby Morpheus » September 15th, 2012, 3:21 pm

Bizzare wrote:what makes that intersection so dangerous?

To the east there is a curve in the road. Cannot see what's coming from the east at speed (well, referring to cars going north-south).

From Five Rivers junc to these lights is something of an unofficial "drag strip". Most times drivers can't stop in time.

Maxis especially love to blast through amber/red.(Where doesn't that happen).

Coming out of the side street on the north side(Atherton St), seeing green and just going with it can be dangerous if there's an emergency vehicle coming from the east.

Basically it's just a lot of human error and ignorance. :| *shrugs

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 15th, 2012, 8:09 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
Yodins wrote:
pioneer wrote:Well people do cross there like idiots

I agree they do. BUT :
1) they had the right away as the lights facing them were on green
2) they were standing at the side of the road and when the guy swerved from us he hit them instead
3) the guy broke the lights, speeding on the bus route, thats 3 pffences right thur

That which I highlighted, please clear that up. They were crossing the PBR from north--->south, or south--->north. The light facing them was green??

they were going from north to south and the lights facing them were green. hope this clears things up.

I editin a pic of what happened now

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 15th, 2012, 8:25 pm

mimi007 wrote:Joel Gibbs (insert) was killed when a white Mitsubishi Lancer CK ran a red light by the intersection of Railway Road and the Priority Bus Route Arouca at 7:50 p.m. Three people were standing there awaiting transportation to Arima when the car broke the light heading east and ran into them injuring Maria Bedeau and killing Joel Gibbs. The car then swerved to the right and then to the left and never stopped. Joel Gibbs left to mourn a wife and two daughters.

whose number is that? yours? you issa police?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » September 15th, 2012, 9:17 pm

Yodins wrote:
maj. tom wrote:so you didn't make a police report and give a statement as a witness and thing? Or you printing out this Trinituner thread and going tomorrow morning.

nahee. grandpa didn't want to be in that as tomorrow we still have to go market and sell and that go tie we up bad for time. tomorrow I might call the police station anyways though - just to clear my konshens.

Really? I suppose the value of human life was found :|

Postby BrotherHood » September 15th, 2012, 10:57 pm

Yodins wrote:Image

Thanks Yodins. This cleared up things. Count your blessings and RIP to the deceased.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 15th, 2012, 11:14 pm

I really hope if I get called forth as a witness nobody try to jumbie me or my family/friends after. Dat fella will get f*q up bad. If only he did stop we woulda beat him to death one time. I hope vigilante justice is served in this case. Because of this I seriously feelin a lil more spiritual. Something make dat man miss me and gramps and hit that poor man and lady. From the way that man was breathing alone I knew he most likely wasn't gonna make it :-\ . I hope the lady makes it through, I heard she in critical condition in hospital.

Postby maj. tom » September 15th, 2012, 11:28 pm

Father killed in hit-and-run
By Gyasi Gonzales gyasi.gonzales@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 15, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT

THE driver of a Mitsubishi Lancer car which broke a red light while heading east along the Priority Bus Route in Arouca slammed into a 47-year-old father of two killing him instantly on Friday night.

The motorist, 27, initially drove away after the accident but was later held by Arima police at the Malabar garage of his straightener and painter.

He was being questioned up to last night.

Police said the car slammed into the victim, Elton Gibbs, with so much force that his left leg was torn off as a result of the impact.

Arouca police said around 7.45 p.m. last Friday, Gibbs and two of his friends, Marie Beddoe and her husband Barry Beddoe, were standing on the north side shoulder of the Priority Bus Route near Railway Road, Arouca, when a white Lancer was seen heading towards them.

Barry Beddoe managed to dive out of the way of the car as it skidded towards them.

Gibbs and Marie Beddoe were both hit by the car.

Gibbs died on the spot.

Marie Beddoe was attended to by her husband who also contacted the Emergency Health Services.

The Sunday Express visited Gibbs's family at their Tedd Street, Arima Old Road, home yesterday.

His wife, Sherry Ann Gibbs, said, "Elton loved life. He loved the beach and every Sunday evening he would sit outside the house with his two daughters. Although I would sell in the market, Elton was the main breadwinner in the family."

Gibbs said she would not know what to say if she met the individual responsible for the death of her husband.

"I really don't know what I would tell the driver because I am angry. Only God could judge that type of person."

She added, "(Friday night) when I was praying I prayed for the person that did this. ... I prayed for them. I mean, I last spoke to my husband on Friday night when he called and asked if there was dinner and I told him I had burgers and fries and he said he was coming home now. Five minutes after I get a call that he was dead."

His daughter, Kerry Ann Gibbs, said, "Knowing my father is dead is unbelievable and since Friday morning I got a bad feeling."

She said when she heard what happened she got dressed and went down to where her father's body was and found a strap of a bag that he had been faithfully using for years.

"I picked it up and immediately I felt like I was being consoled by him," she said.

Arouca police are continuing investigations.

One hundred and twenty-eight people have died on the country's roads for the year so far.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Father_killed_in_hit-and-run-169926356.html

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 15th, 2012, 11:49 pm

I really hope if I get called forth as a witness nobody try to jumbie me or my family/friends after. Dat fella will get f*q up bad. If only he did stop we woulda beat him to death one time. I hope vigilante justice is served in this case. Because of this I seriously feelin a lil more spiritual. Something make dat man miss me and gramps and hit that poor man and lady. From the way that man was breathing alone I knew he most likely wasn't gonna make it :-\ . I hope the lady makes it through, I heard she in critical condition in hospital.

Postby BrotherHood » September 16th, 2012, 12:09 am

Yodins, yuh post the same exact thing twice, 35 minutes apart :|

Postby eliteauto » September 16th, 2012, 2:25 am

R.I.P. to the deceased, seems the PBR is the place for overgeeing the fyaz, just came home and there are presently 2 accidents on the PBR, first was at the Lopinot intersection ( one corner away from where the OP's fatal accident occurred) involving an Audi Q7 and a B15 both vehicles were pretty badly smashed, then further east at the La Resource intersection there was an Almera and a B15 that looked like they collided head on, Fire Services and Police were on the scene. Even late at nigh ppl need to exercise caution when approaching intersections especially as it has many buttocks out there who drive with parklight or fog lights only

Postby Morpheus » September 16th, 2012, 6:28 am

^^Simply obeying the lights would cut these types of accidents down a lot. I am 80% sure that in both those accidents you witnessed, if they obeyed the lights, no accident to talk about.

I see many people just slowing down at red lights and then "bussin through" on the CRH after 1am, normel normel.

Lights change to green 5-10 seconds after they do that BS. Yuh couldna wait 10s??? SMH

Postby Bizzare » September 16th, 2012, 7:37 am

I find the amber goes to red pretty quickly on some lights. Sometimes on the bus route yuh looking to cross the intersection on green. Then when you a few feet away from crossing the intersection, amber hits and while at the intersection, which is 1-2 secs later, red !! Too little time to make a safe stop. Then as soon as the other drivers get green, they looking to cross without checking for oncoming cars cuz their mentality is once you get green, everybody else has stopped and all you gotta worry about is going.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 16th, 2012, 2:04 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Yodins, yuh post the same exact thing twice, 35 minutes apart :|

i dunno what happen there nah BH :|

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 17th, 2012, 12:10 pm

Simple observation over time tells me two things.

The drivers do not respect the red light in this area , police killed a woman last year , coast guards men kill them selves this year . Civilians I see running red lights easily . Last year a friend had her Mazda 3 totaled by an official buss route user who broke the light .

Just yesterday just at the beginning of the old rd EMR intersection with the PBR: Light is red ,a B14 and a silver super charged Peugeot fly across the PBR . The light was red.

The speed of drivers on the PBR or EMR and the small intersections ,some with blind corners does not allow for much reaction time when someone is in breach .

Postby Greypatch » September 17th, 2012, 1:41 pm

Has he been charged ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 17th, 2012, 1:54 pm

cornfused wrote:The drivers do not respect the red light in this area. . . .

Hardly any drivers respect the amber light which means to stop once it is safe to do so, for example, you would not end up in the middle of the intersection.

Just yesterday while proceeding on the eastbound lane of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway approaching Demerara Road in Arima, the traffic light turned amber as I was approaching. I was a fair distance away, so I applied brakes to stop at the intersection. As soon as I applied brakes, I began to hear the car behind me blowing his horn for me to go through the intersection. The man was totally ignorant to the traffic light and many accidents have occurred at that intersection.

Postby dougla_boy » September 17th, 2012, 2:24 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
cornfused wrote:The drivers do not respect the red light in this area. . . .

Hardly any drivers respect the amber light which means to stop once it is safe to do so, for example, you would not end up in the middle of the intersection.

Just yesterday while proceeding on the eastbound lane of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway approaching Demerara Road in Arima, the traffic light turned amber as I was approaching. I was a fair distance away, so I applied brakes to stop at the intersection. As soon as I applied brakes, I began to hear the car behind me blowing his horn for me to go through the intersection. The man was totally ignorant to the traffic light and many accidents have occurred at that intersection.

agreed......they do this sheit alot.......i hate it when people dont respect the amber lights

i always wait 3 seconds after the light has turned green to proceed......i tired see big trucks with trailers, pelting thru red lights.......R.I.P. to the deceased......

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » September 17th, 2012, 2:51 pm

should've tried to get d liscense plate!

Postby BrotherHood » September 17th, 2012, 3:44 pm

slickrick777 wrote:should've tried to get d liscense plate!

license bai

Postby K74T » September 17th, 2012, 3:46 pm

R.I.P.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 17th, 2012, 4:01 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
slickrick777 wrote:should've tried to get d liscense plate!

license bai

:| "licence" bai.