sentraman

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby sentraman » September 11th, 2012, 8:23 am

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2012, 10:19 am

achillies wrote:They may have a few tricks up their sleeve with regards to gestures, swiping up on home screen, two finger swiping up on home screen, improvements to Siri, I don't want to believe there is not going to be something that we haven't seen before.....on iOS

I honestly doubt.

The original iPhone was a revolution. You can only evolve now by making the consistent experience better.

And it's also up to the consumers' readiness to use technology. e.g FaceTime. A dream come true that you only saw in scifi shows and books. But this generation is all about texting. They hardly make phone calls, much less for video calls. As great as Google's and Apple's efforts are for voice assistants, people don't even want to talk — just touch and text :\

Mankind going backwards.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 11th, 2012, 10:43 am

I just wanted to say ah accidentally poured ah bottle of Total engine oil on meh EVO 4G and it survived! So iPhone users HYMC!

Droid FTW!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2012, 10:46 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:I just wanted to say ah accidentally poured ah bottle of Total engine oil on meh EVO 4G and it survived! So iPhone users HYMC!

Droid FTW!

Dood this is the Official GOOGLE | Android thread.

There are Apple Mac, AppleTV, Apple iPhone users here to use Gmail, Google search, Google docs, Google maps/Earth, YouTube etc on a daily basis. No need to treat your brothers like that :)

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 11th, 2012, 10:52 am

^ in the effort of sarcasm & humor, I failed to search of the Apple thread... I was still excited after seeing the oil bottle flash ad (very cool btw) :lol:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2012, 10:57 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:^ in the effort of sarcasm & humor, I failed to search of the Apple thread... I was still excited after seeing the oil bottle flash ad (very cool btw) :lol:

At first I wanted to cuss cuz I thought it some malware. Then I was like "oh cool". Then it started to get annoying :)

casper

Postby casper » September 11th, 2012, 11:04 am

Strauss wrote:
achillies wrote:They may have a few tricks up their sleeve with regards to gestures, swiping up on home screen, two finger swiping up on home screen, improvements to Siri, I don't want to believe there is not going to be something that we haven't seen before.....on iOS

I honestly doubt.

The original iPhone was a revolution. You can only evolve now by making the consistent experience better.

And it's also up to the consumers' readiness to use technology. e.g FaceTime. A dream come true that you only saw in scifi shows and books. But this generation is all about texting. They hardly make phone calls, much less for video calls. As great as Google's and Apple's efforts are for voice assistants, people don't even want to talk — just touch and text :\

Mankind going backwards.

dude u serious??? u doin as though apple was the first to implement this technology via facetime....u ever heard about skype or oovoo?? :?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » September 11th, 2012, 11:17 am

casper wrote:
Strauss wrote:

I honestly doubt.

Mankind going backwards.

dude u serious??? u doin as though apple was the first to implement this technology via facetime....u ever heard about skype or oovoo?? :?

or samsung talk

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2012, 11:51 am

casper wrote:
Strauss wrote:

I honestly doubt.

Mankind going backwards.

Yea but after reading Dick Tracy comics and watching StarTrek TOS, I been waiting for a popular device I could hold in my hand that brought the desktop experience. Remember iChat back in the day? It was Mac-only but far superior to everything else.

*remembers many late nights in the 1990s on certain websites using Netscape Navigator with Quicktime plugin*

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 13th, 2012, 8:39 am

seems like S3 users couldnt be bothered

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Apple-iP ... on_id34377

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 13th, 2012, 9:22 am

I'm the only person out of everyone who's had an android device namely the S3 who's had the way ICS/test builds of JB handle multitasking. Apps NEVER stay open in the background for me.. And it's starting to make me wanna to back iOS. Does anyone have a similar problem /solution? I've tried countless stock based roms, I wouldn't really like going to a AOSP/AOKP rom to lose all the Sammy features.

Postby maj. tom » September 13th, 2012, 9:25 am

^yes I understand what you mean. You should give away your S3 and get the iphone 5.
Give the S3 to me :)

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 13th, 2012, 9:28 am

maj. tom wrote:^yes I understand what you mean. You should give away your S3 and get the iphone 5.
Give the S3 to me :)

Give? :D

viewtopic.php?p=6510759#p6510759

Phone is absolutely flawless and under warranty if anyone is interested. Not a single scratch on it.

Postby maj. tom » September 13th, 2012, 9:33 am

^ put the link as your signature.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 13th, 2012, 11:12 am

I may have to re-evaluate my stance that no one goes into best buy to buy an iPad and comes out with a Galaxy Tab

Look at these people SMDH

achillies

Postby achillies » September 13th, 2012, 11:14 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:I'm the only person out of everyone who's had an android device namely the S3 who's had the way ICS/test builds of JB handle multitasking. Apps NEVER stay open in the background for me.. And it's starting to make me wanna to back iOS. Does anyone have a similar problem /solution? I've tried countless stock based roms, I wouldn't really like going to a AOSP/AOKP rom to lose all the Sammy features.

Didn't you have this problem with the One X also???

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 13th, 2012, 11:18 am

achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:I'm the only person out of everyone who's had an android device namely the S3 who's had the way ICS/test builds of JB handle multitasking. Apps NEVER stay open in the background for me.. And it's starting to make me wanna to back iOS. Does anyone have a similar problem /solution? I've tried countless stock based roms, I wouldn't really like going to a AOSP/AOKP rom to lose all the Sammy features.

Yeah and that's the MAIN reason I went to the s3. And now it's back again :| so I'm thinking it's Android itself... It really bugs me. I love the openness of Android, and the customisation options. But I also would love to have the smoothness of iOS. Android just never feels as smooth and with a quad core processor its frankly very disappointing. It's a bit better than the One X, but still very much present. My 4S handled multitasking better. I'm thinking my only option is to try a fully stripped out CM9/10 based rom. It doesn't seem to bother most people but it bothers me.

I'm thinking /hoping the final Jelly Bean would sort out a lot of issues though.

Postby Stephon. » September 13th, 2012, 11:28 am

streetlifestyle wrote:seems like S3 users couldnt be bothered

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Apple-iP ... on_id34377

According to that link. It looks like the iPhone 5 is now playing catch up. And ouch at the dual core processor, but one thing apple have mastered is the ability to have their fans say things like. "We doh needs no quad core on a phone" smh.

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2012, 11:56 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:

Yeah and that's the MAIN reason I went to the s3. And now it's back again :| so I'm thinking it's Android itself... It really bugs me. I love the openness of Android, and the customisation options. But I also would love to have the smoothness of iOS. Android just never feels as smooth and with a quad core processor its frankly very disappointing. It's a bit better than the One X, but still very much present. My 4S handled multitasking better. I'm thinking my only option is to try a fully stripped out CM9/10 based rom. It doesn't seem to bother most people but it bothers me.

I'm thinking /hoping the final Jelly Bean would sort out a lot of issues though.

wait for jelly bean....it may change ur stance on things...from what i heard jelly bean runs extremely smooth...and ICS is known to be a little buggy...jelly bean looks almost the same as ICS however they fixed up the lag and bugs and crashes etc...so it runs alot more smoother

achillies

Postby achillies » September 13th, 2012, 12:52 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:

Yeh, but which apps are these you are talking about, you're not really providing any info, at least let someone else try to reproduce the issue, have you seen others report the issue? one issue over two different devices that I have not seen reported anywhere else is kind of weird, don't you think?

Postby Stephon. » September 13th, 2012, 12:56 pm

We getting (I c y you ios fanboys are)jelly bean on the s2???

achillies

Postby achillies » September 13th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Stephon. wrote:We getting (I c y you ios fanboys are)jelly bean on the s2???

Rumor mill says JB on the S2 in November, I eh figure out the brackets yet, so later for that

Shannon

Postby Shannon » September 13th, 2012, 2:30 pm

Shannon

Postby Shannon » September 13th, 2012, 2:32 pm

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 13th, 2012, 4:54 pm

achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:

Yeh, but which apps are these you are talking about, you're not really providing any info, at least let someone else try to reproduce the issue, have you seen others report the issue? one issue over two different devices that I have not seen reported anywhere else is kind of weird, don't you think?

Ok well simple thing is let's say I leave one webpage open and switch to send a text or a whatsapp message.. And then check my Facebook and go back to the Page, it requires a reload of the browser. (any browser, stock, chrome, dolphin.. Basically everything except opera because opera seems to store all the pages in a cache.

Opera itself reloads but keeps the pages open.) Or if I were sending a whatsapp message and needed to copy and paste info from about 2 or 3 webpages, I go to the webpages and switch back to Whatsapp and it would return to the same conversation but the text I had previously written is most of the time lost (since jellbean test builds the text isn't lost anymore though)

Or if I was on Facebook, check a whatsapp message, and return to Facebook, the app would reload and I'd lose where on my homepage I was.

While switching between apps also, let's say twitter Tapatalk and Whatsapp.. If I leave Tapatalk and go to twitter refresh my feeds check a few Whatsapp messages and then go back to Tapatalk, the forum or post I was on reloads and then if I were to again switch back to Whatsapp there would be a ~1 second loading time where there's a black screen until the previous conversation reopens. It isn't smooth and instantaneous.

I based these examples on the most common apps I switch between, but it's generally like this for all apps). If I minimize a game like temple run for let's say 5 mins and go back to it, the entire app needs to be reloaded.

With 1gb of ram I don't think that should be necessary. The iPhone 4 keeps an app in memory till it runs out of memory, then that app is killed and the others are held but this doesn't actually seem to hold anything in memory for too long. I know iOS uses saved states as well and Android has 'true' multitasking but it doesn't feel too true anymore. Gingerbread devices feel to have better multitasking (from what I recall from my s2, idk if memory serves me wrong).

It doesn't seem like a fault with the phone in the least, but just horrible memory management and I dunno why this bothers no one except me. Sorry for the long post but I just wanted to demonstrate my examples clearly.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 13th, 2012, 5:17 pm

Oh also aside from that, I need some help. I have a x10 mini pro and the earpiece stopped working. Ordered a new one off ebay and after changing it the screen won't come on :| I did not interfere with the strip of anything. I took out the screen and it turns out the back of the screen is lighting at intervals but nothing shows up on the actual screen. Any ideas guys? Thanks in advance

casper

Postby casper » September 14th, 2012, 9:24 am

i downloaded soundhound last night for my S3 (AMAZING APP!!!!!) :shock:

and also the N64 emulator...got mario 64, mario kart 64 and zelda ocarina of time so far....games running smoooooooooooth.... :D

Postby Stephon. » September 14th, 2012, 9:42 am

casper wrote:i downloaded soundhound last night for my S3 (AMAZING APP!!!!!) :shock:

and also the N64 emulator...got mario 64, mario kart 64 and zelda ocarina of time so far....games running smoooooooooooth.... :D

Wtf? I never even knew you could do that. I need to try this when I get home, I'm jealous!