Draughting and AutoCAD

Postby dougla_boy » September 4th, 2012, 11:29 am

thinking about doing one or both.....

should i do both or just one?

would it be redundant to do both seeing that level 1 autocad has draughting in the syllabus?

whats the pay grade like if i do either one or both?

my work normally includes the use of drawings and creating a few, but its stagnant at the moment with no sight of improvement. any advice would be appreciated.

was gonna msg Rahtid, but he eh come on 2nr for a while boy......... :(

Re: Draughting and AutoCAD

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2012, 11:31 am

plant peas

Postby Mark! » September 4th, 2012, 11:34 am

ent draughting is what dem old ppl does call checkers

Postby dougla_boy » September 4th, 2012, 11:34 am

MG Man wrote:plant peas

was thinking about that eh, but too fat and lazy :cry: :cry:

Postby crazybalhead » September 4th, 2012, 11:39 am

dougla_boy wrote:thinking about doing one or both.....

should i do both or just one?

would it be redundant to do both seeing that level 1 autocad has draughting in the syllabus?

whats the pay grade like if i do either one or both?

my work normally includes the use of drawings and creating a few, but its stagnant at the moment with no sight of improvement. any advice would be appreciated.

was gonna msg Rahtid, but he eh come on 2nr for a while boy......... :(

I wonder why? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2012, 11:41 am

dougla_boy wrote:

peas cultivation is a lot easier than you might think. You can set your seedlings in a simple nursery using regular Styrofoam cups. From there, transplanting is simple. You can get away with very little soil prep, just keep the grass short while your seedlings grow......

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2012, 11:45 am

useful tips

Peas sown in situ find it very difficult to germinate, so try first sowing a row of peas in a length of guttering, filled with soil or potting compost. Keep in a cool greenhouse or sheltered spot outside and wait for the seeds to become established, then gently slide the soil and seedlings into a similar-size trench in the ground. Pea seeds are fairly large so should be pushed 2.5-4cm deep and spaced between 5-7.5cm apart (depending on the final height of your cultivar). The further you plant your seeds apart, the greater your crop, so always read the seed packet.

Cultivation

Peas are very awkward to weed once planted, so make sure they go into weed-free ground in the first place. Mulch heavily once established to keep the weeds back. Only water in early stages, unless the weather is particularly dry. Too much water will encourage leaves, not pods. Once growth reaches 8cm, place pea sticks or supports into the ground.

Don't pull the plant after harvest, as the roots are full of nitrogen-fixing bacteria. Cut off the stems at ground level, allowing the roots to rot down and release nitrogen back into the soil for the next crop to use.

http://nysipm.cornell.edu/organic_guide/pea.pdf

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » September 4th, 2012, 11:57 am

MG Man wrote: just keep the grass short while your seedlings grow......

This advice can also be useful in other situations.

Postby RBphoto » September 4th, 2012, 12:08 pm

Do both. Autocad course teaches you how to use the program, and draughting teaches you the drawing essentials, standards and techniques.

Is like asking if to do a photoshop or a photogrphy course... they are independant but go well together.... hope that helps.

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2012, 12:10 pm

dougla_boy wrote:

peas cultivation is a lot easier than you might think. You can set your seedlings in a simple nursery using regular Styrofoam cups. From there, transplanting is simple. You can get away with very little soil prep, just keep the grass short while your seedlings grow......

we talking bout peas here? :fadein:

Postby stev » September 4th, 2012, 12:34 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Do both. Autocad course teaches you how to use the program, and draughting teaches you the drawing essentials, standards and techniques.

Is like asking if to do a photoshop or a photogrphy course... they are independant but go well together.... hope that helps.

this is very good advice....u should do draughting first....then AutoCAD will become a breeze. jumping directly into AutoCAD can be frustrating for newbies.

Postby dougla_boy » September 4th, 2012, 1:05 pm

stev wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Do both. Autocad course teaches you how to use the program, and draughting teaches you the drawing essentials, standards and techniques.

this is very good advice....u should do draughting first....then AutoCAD will become a breeze. jumping directly into AutoCAD can be frustrating for newbies.

i was actually now going to ask this........thanks for the advice, MG Man, u too, mite never know when i hadda plant peas.............

one more thing, was the salary and working hours like?

Postby crazybalhead » September 4th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Salary for planting peas? Depends on the demand for pelau...

Postby dougla_boy » September 4th, 2012, 1:24 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Salary for planting peas? Depends on the demand for pelau...

salary for both peas and if i did both draughting and autoCAD?

Postby RBphoto » September 4th, 2012, 1:37 pm

Since Santana.... D price holding dan :|

I started my career as a cad monkey. Did not know a lot of draughting so was a challenge. As a Junior cad tech, expect between 4500-7K/mo (depending on company and if you have to be on site etc). 12 hours a day is par for the course for busy times... ... but overtime for that band of employee is usually pro-rated so level niceness. On the downside... you can be sent home temporarily if work gets scarce. You will spend a lot of time optomizing your interface and drawing sandards, as small changes that save seconds really add up in efficiency in the long run. Most Designers I know also take PJ's to supliment their income.

Postby dougla_boy » September 4th, 2012, 1:52 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Since Santana.... D price holding dan :|

I started my career as a cad monkey. Did not know a lot of draughting so was a challenge. As a Junior cad tech, expect between 4500-7K/mo (depending on company and if you have to be on site etc). 12 hours a day is par for the course for busy times... ... but overtime for that band of employee is usually pro-rated so level niceness. On the downside... you can be sent home temporarily if work gets scarce. You will spend a lot of time optomizing your interface and drawing sandards, as small changes that save seconds really add up in efficiency in the long run. Most Designers I know also take PJ's to supliment their income.

is it a challenging thing? where u can be somewhat creative and have input or is just straight, " eh big man i wah dis drawn like dis, not dat" kinda ting?

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2012, 2:17 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Salary for planting peas? Depends on the demand for pelau...

limited thinking like that is what has this country's agricultural sector the way it is
while peas is seasonal, it is a perennial high-demand food........not just for pelau...........you have the foodservice / catering industry, canners etc
Just need some vision

Postby RBphoto » September 4th, 2012, 2:30 pm

dougla_boy wrote:

is it a challenging thing? where u can be somewhat creative and have input or is just straight, " eh big man i wah dis drawn like dis, not dat" kinda ting?

Dphouq you think you is? Michael Anjello? You just draw what the fack they ask you to draw, how they want you to draw it closk yuh hours to make ah morney and GTFO by 5:00pm. If you want to be in "ART", pick up watercolors.

Postby dougla_boy » September 4th, 2012, 2:35 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

Dphouq you think you is? Michael Anjello? You just draw what the fack they ask you to draw, how they want you to draw it closk yuh hours to make ah morney and GTFO by 5:00pm. If you want to be in "ART", pick up watercolors.

oh goar, yuh does hadda be so harsh dan? cuda pm me all dat insult......... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

but thanks anyways tho.....

Postby rfari » September 4th, 2012, 2:45 pm

Do both dougla_boy. In the meantime play around in the software, learn from online tutorials and get an idea of what you will need to know so that you wouldn't be lost in class. IMO, acad is fairly simple. In about 3 days I was able to prepare for an interview exam while having no prior experience.

Postby DVSTT » September 4th, 2012, 4:29 pm

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » September 5th, 2012, 8:49 am

Doing Auto cad alone makes no sense, you'll be able to Draw using the program but you wont have any drawing skills or knowledge in design and proper drawing practices, to know how to draw is one thing but to know what your drawing is completely another thing..
my co-worker did Auto cad alone all 3 levels and yet his drawings are very poor....i have to show him almost every thing on how to properly layout a drawing..
i did draughting & designs plus Auto cad, 3 levels, and suggest you do the same if your getting into this field its more than just leaning to use a computer program,

Postby dougla_boy » September 5th, 2012, 8:58 am

COROLLA KID wrote:Doing Auto cad alone makes no sense, you'll be able to Draw using the program but you wont have any drawing skills or knowledge in design and proper drawing practices, to know how to draw is one thing but to know what your drawing is completely another thing..
my co-worker did Auto cad alone all 3 levels and yet his drawings are very poor....i have to show him almost every thing on how to properly layout a drawing..
i did draughting & designs plus Auto cad, 3 levels, and suggest you do the same if your getting into this field its more than just leaning to use a computer program,

pm me the info on where u did it please and what ever u did to get into into this field

much appreciated for the advice from all.....even MG Man's suggestion to plant peas........

Postby Trini Hookah » September 5th, 2012, 9:23 am

Solidworks ftw

Wut :|

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » September 5th, 2012, 9:31 am

Speaking from experience here DO NOT do AUTO CAD alone, you'll end up very limited and unimaginative when the time comes for you to create and form ideas and apply them. I did it from form one until I left school and did a diploma course (Auto CAD levels 1-3, draughting and surveying).
Even the geometry you learn at the early school level DOES help.
Honestly, if you cant draw on paper it doesn't make sense doing it on any CAD software.

Postby dougla_boy » September 5th, 2012, 10:17 am

so where is the better place to do the draughting? hear of a few places, but i also got some bad reviews on them......

so far 2 places i am interested in, but if there are others, i dont mind checking it out.........

1) Automation Technology College
2) Trinizuela

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » September 5th, 2012, 6:10 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Solidworks ftw

|

on a side note do they offer this course in trini?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 7th, 2012, 9:53 am

AYE_SOLDIER wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Solidworks ftw

|

on a side note do they offer this course in trini?

Solidworks and CAD are used for completely different fields, Solidworks is more for FEA and CFD analysis and modelling, whereas CAD more along the lines of architecture etc.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 7th, 2012, 10:22 am