The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

casper

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby casper » September 6th, 2012, 8:12 am

ZeroOne wrote:If they PM other users like me wouldn't be able to see it, plus the discussion is related to android.

exactly :roll:

casper

Postby casper » September 6th, 2012, 8:19 am

on another note...if the new iphone is what it seems to be on the many different leaks online then i'm truly not impressed...looks like the same user interface AGAIN....just a slightly bigger screen...still have the same design basically...nice move on the headphone jack being on the bottom part of the phone though...but if iOS 6 is no major change then expect alot more android buyers within the next year..

i agree with achillies...android is the platform everyone is really gunning after...not so much iOS...and its easy to understand why...ppl want the option to customize and dig deep into their devices OS and tweak it to suit...that kind of freedom is what ppl buy androids for...

i like iOS alot for it's easy use, and some other things...but i have to admit, i have more dislikes than likes towards that OS on a handheld device...for tablets i can tolerate it for some reason though

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 6th, 2012, 9:00 am

Hey casper, you missed my point.

Android users are looking to buy Android phones. Therefore Apple is no longer a competitor in that regard. Consumers have to pick among all the Android handheld makers, and all of them are fierce competitors.

Motorola should not be telling Android users how much better the phone is compared to the iPhone. They need to convince use why we would consider a Motorola over a Samsung ! Compare to other Android phones.

casper

Postby casper » September 6th, 2012, 9:20 am

strauss my post that i made wasnt directed to ures..i'm just talkin in general...sorry if u think i missed your point but i wasnt directing that post i made to anything you wrote

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 6th, 2012, 9:23 am

casper wrote:strauss my post that i made wasnt directed to ures..i'm just talkin in general...sorry if u think i missed your point but i wasnt directing that post i made to anything you wrote

Doh worry. You know all ah we here cool like dat. Despite difference in opinions.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 6th, 2012, 4:36 pm

the new Kindle Fire HD is here

Amazon

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2012, 5:08 pm

that entire line up from amazon was superb! I waiting to see how that 8.9" Fire HD performs though but for $299 it sure is greatly priced. Even the 7" is nice! those stereo speakers 1lick

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 6th, 2012, 5:29 pm

^^^ X2
Those prices are ultra competitive. Even the 4G models come with a one year 4G data package for US$50. Really hitting at Apple on the price front.

Hopefully they've improved on the UI and the laggy touch screen of the 1st Kindle fire.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 6th, 2012, 5:49 pm

Strauss wrote:Hey casper, you missed my point.

Android users are looking to buy Android phones. Therefore Apple is no longer a competitor in that regard. Consumers have to pick among all the Android handheld makers, and all of them are fierce competitors.

Motorola should not be telling Android users how much better the phone is compared to the iPhone. They need to convince use why we would consider a Motorola over a Samsung ! Compare to other Android phones.

I don't understand your point though.

What is the sense of Googarola trying to wrestle Android users away from Samsung's Android users when it does nothing to increase Android's overall marketshare, an in house fight is unnecessary at this point as there is iOS and WP8 and RIM and Symbian users to compete for.

What you are proposing is that Android which already has 52% of the Cake to start an in house fight as to how the 52% is distributed, when in truth and in fact there is 48% out there that we don't have, and can compete for, lets fight for as much as the 48% that we can get, don't you think?

There are a lot of users that are bored with the iPhone, they would be looking at what WP8 offers, and what Android offers, and what RIM is offering, those are the users they want, new users, more marketshare, we have not reached the point of crabs in a barrel just yet

achillies

Postby achillies » September 6th, 2012, 5:54 pm

dredman1 wrote:^^^ X2
Those prices are ultra competitive. Even the 4G models come with a one year 4G data package for US$50. Really hitting at Apple on the price front.

Hopefully they've improved on the UI and the laggy touch screen of the 1st Kindle fire.

All I know is that this is a great time for a techy, wow

But not so good if you're a Trini though

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2012, 6:06 pm

achillies wrote:But not so good if you're a Trini though

why not?

achillies

Postby achillies » September 6th, 2012, 6:12 pm

M_2NR wrote:

why not?

Too much hoops to get all the available content there is, especially those Amazon tablets

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2012, 6:48 pm

achillies wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

why not?

Too much hoops to get all the available content there is, especially those Amazon tablets

ohhoo :lol:
the devices are great for putting cyanogen, etc. too

casper

Postby casper » September 6th, 2012, 9:02 pm

achillies wrote:
There are a lot of users that are bored with the iPhone, they would be looking at what WP8 offers, and what Android offers, and what RIM is offering, those are the users they want, new users, more marketshare, we have not reached the point of crabs in a barrel just yet

Funny u said this....cuz I actually comin from an iPhone 4 to an S3...and loving what android has to offer over iOS so far...couldn't be happier

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » September 7th, 2012, 9:03 am

Nova 3, Modern Combat 3 and Gangstar Rio are 1.00 each for a week on play store.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 7th, 2012, 9:25 am

casper wrote:
achillies wrote:

Funny u said this....cuz I actually comin from an iPhone 4 to an S3...and loving what android has to offer over iOS so far...couldn't be happier

See my point?
Everyone knows if you want the best, you get an S3, cash permitting.

(In reply to achillies)

And what is this nonesense about "in fighting" ? Samsung and Motorola are not one company. Neither is HTC, Asus, Sony, Amazon. They directly compete with each other. You really think that if HTC loses sales to Samsung and Sony everyone will be like "We be cool bro. It's all good. We're all using Android after all".

Android is akin to Windows desktop OS of the mobile world. Google, like MS, provide the OS for every manufacturer to use. DELL, HP, Sony, Acer are not best of buddies. Neither are the phone manufacturers.

What I'm asking is : What makes me buy a Droid Razr instead of an S3 or Note 2?

casper

Postby casper » September 7th, 2012, 9:56 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Nova 3, Modern Combat 3 and Gangstar Rio are 1.00 each for a week on play store.

i'm seeing gangstar rio and nova 3 but not seein modern combat 3 though :(

thats the one i really want...already downloaded gangstar rio though...thnx

achillies

Postby achillies » September 7th, 2012, 10:21 am

Strauss wrote:
casper wrote:
achillies wrote:

See my point?
Everyone knows if you want the best, you get an S3, cash permitting.

(In reply to achillies)

And what is this nonesense about "in fighting" ? Samsung and Motorola are not one company. Neither is HTC, Asus, Sony, Amazon. They directly compete with each other. You really think that if HTC loses sales to Samsung and Sony everyone will be like "We be cool bro. It's all good. We're all using Android after all".

Android is akin to Windows desktop OS of the mobile world. Google, like MS, provide the OS for every manufacturer to use. DELL, HP, Sony, Acer are not best of buddies. Neither are the phone manufacturers.

What I'm asking is : What makes me buy a Droid Razr instead of an S3 or Note 2?

Well of the three you called there

Network, Screen Size, price and your want hardware-wise, both internal and external and a few other things that may be, idiosyncratic.

Make no mistake, the Razr series has sold a lot, articles all over the net reported that the Razr Maxx was the top selling phone on Verizon, which unfortunately is the only network it is sold on, don't mistake worldwide sales of the S2/S3 for Verizon sales of the Razr series, hence my reason for the earlier statement "I am a bit uncomfortable with how close Motorola is to Verizon though"

achillies

Postby achillies » September 7th, 2012, 10:23 am

M_2NR wrote:
achillies wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

why not?

ohhoo :lol:
the devices are great for putting cyanogen, etc. too

Well, there is always that also

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 7th, 2012, 10:31 am

achillies wrote: "I am a bit uncomfortable with how close Motorola is to Verizon though"

How so?

I just think it's the usual everyone needs an exclusive partner before expanding. Plus better subsidies.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » September 7th, 2012, 11:21 am

casper wrote:
achillies wrote:

I'm so studying if to keep my iphone 4s or to sell and get a S3. Sometimes IOS restrictions annoy the hell out of me.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 7th, 2012, 12:05 pm

Strauss wrote:
achillies wrote: "I am a bit uncomfortable with how close Motorola is to Verizon though"

How so?

I just think it's the usual everyone needs an exclusive partner before expanding. Plus better subsidies.

No GSM at device launch means No to Rest of the world, when the GSM version comes, if it does come, there is something else there

casper

Postby casper » September 7th, 2012, 12:11 pm

blacklight wrote:
casper wrote:
achillies wrote:

I'm so studying if to keep my iphone 4s or to sell and get a S3. Sometimes IOS restrictions annoy the hell out of me.

yea i was too...best thing i think for u to do is wait till next week tuesday and see what the iphone 5 is about and if for some reason you dont like it then grab an S3...u wont be disappointed and i'm sure the vast change WRT the OS will be very welcoming...

my perfect phone will be an android device with apple's physical build quality as i fine android devices dont feel as solid and expensive as an iphone....most of the android companies make plasticy phones that feel inferior to an iphone...but otherwise...my S3 that i have now is the best and mmost enjoyable and exciting experience i ever had with any phone i've ever owned

blacklight

Postby blacklight » September 7th, 2012, 12:58 pm

^^ If apple has anything innovating, im sure it wont be anything software related. Prob a higher resolution screen.

But although they dont always use the latest hardware, i must agree they have the best build quality alongside the older htc phones!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 7th, 2012, 1:20 pm

casper wrote:my perfect phone will be an android device with apple's physical build quality

Sony Ericsson.

Talk done.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » September 7th, 2012, 1:40 pm

casper wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:Nova 3, Modern Combat 3 and Gangstar Rio are 1.00 each for a week on play store.

i'm seeing gangstar rio and nova 3 but not seein modern combat 3 though :(

thats the one i really want...already downloaded gangstar rio though...thnx

I downloaded all!

Postby stev » September 7th, 2012, 1:42 pm

...............and on a side note...check out the interactive Star Trek Google doodle today. :lol:

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2012, 1:45 pm

casper wrote:
blacklight wrote:
casper wrote:
achillies wrote:

yea i was too...best thing i think for u to do is wait till next week tuesday and see what the iphone 5 is about and if for some reason you dont like it then grab an S3...u wont be disappointed and i'm sure the vast change WRT the OS will be very welcoming...

my perfect phone will be an android device with apple's physical build quality as i fine android devices dont feel as solid and expensive as an iphone....most of the android companies make plasticy phones that feel inferior to an iphone...but otherwise...my S3 that i have now is the best and mmost enjoyable and exciting experience i ever had with any phone i've ever owned

I agree and disagree. I agree that waiting to check out the competition is a smart move to make but when it comes to he iPhones and looking for something without restrictions, I don't think he would be looking in the right place. All apple products have unnecessary restrictions and the only difference you're going to see with the new apple phone is what you get every year from apple

Higher resolution screen
Decreased battery life
More ram
Better processor
Higher resolution camera

Nothing amazing or innovative and different.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 7th, 2012, 4:59 pm

They may have a few tricks up their sleeve with regards to gestures, swiping up on home screen, two finger swiping up on home screen, improvements to Siri, I don't want to believe there is not going to be something that we haven't seen before.....on iOS

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2012, 5:08 pm

achillies wrote:They may have a few tricks up their sleeve with regards to gestures, swiping up on home screen, two finger swiping up on home screen, improvements to Siri, I don't want to believe there is not going to be something that we haven't seen before.....on iOS

A few new gestures on the iPhone 5 compared to an all new mobile experience on the s3. Zzzzzzzzzzz