The Official Car Care Thread

Karim Khan

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby Karim Khan » August 28th, 2012, 8:47 pm

The new AutoGlym Formulation is really great. It last longer, deeper shine and has superior bead than the old version.
When i was at the AutoGym Training facility at Lectchworth England i go a chance to try it out. The product did stand up to the claims and i was impressed with the results.

Here is a pic of me apply the the new formulation

For the guys who are interested in how they make the product this is machine where they place all the raw ingredients to make the Super Resin Polish

Here is the power of the new formulation on a Silver vehicle. Silver is a very difficult color to get a gloss, but here is the final results

For the guys who what to take a little read up on the new product, this is a news letter that i got from AutoGLym

Here are the findings that support the new formulation claims.

The pic in the upper right hand corner is what the AutoGLlym Lab actually looks like. The guy to the left is the head of research and development and the other guy to the back of the pic is the person how developed the highly acclaim AutoGlym Aqua-Wax another very good product.

My final thoughts of the new formulation, its a very easy to use, great depth of shine, last longer than the old version and has very good beading ability. Its a superior product to the old version and many of its competitors. The product is made in England where they have great control of the manufacturing of the products for quality, unlike other brands . The new Super Resin is truly a "A Master Redefined".

Postby DVSTT » August 28th, 2012, 10:24 pm

Karim Khan wrote:The new AutoGlym Formulation is really great. It last longer, deeper shine and has superior bead than the old version.
When i was at the AutoGym Training facility at Lectchworth England i go a chance to try it out. The product did stand up to the claims and i was impressed with the results.

Here is a pic of me apply the the new formulation

For the guys who are interested in how they make the product this is machine where they place all the raw ingredients to make the Super Resin Polish

Here is the power of the new formulation on a Silver vehicle. Silver is a very difficult color to get a gloss, but here is the final results

For the guys who what to take a little read up on the new product, this is a news letter that i got from AutoGLym

Here are the findings that support the new formulation claims.

The pic in the upper right hand corner is what the AutoGLlym Lab actually looks like. The guy to the left is the head of research and development and the other guy to the back of the pic is the person how developed the highly acclaim AutoGlym Aqua-Wax another very good product.

My final thoughts of the new formulation, its a very easy to use, great depth of shine, last longer than the old version and has very good beading ability. Its a superior product to the old version and many of its competitors. The product is made in England where they have great control of the manufacturing of the products for quality, unlike other brands . The new Super Resin is truly a "A Master Redefined".

Usually use Ice products. How does autoglym compare in terms of shine and price wise?

Postby Stephon. » August 28th, 2012, 11:32 pm

Stephon. wrote:Anyone know how to get the sticky thing from the poppy off from the double stick tape after you remove the poppy from the dashboard

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 29th, 2012, 3:16 am

DVSTT : The AG stuff is easier to use and better on correction by hand. Shine is pretty good. Never really seen the Ice and AG on the same vehicle to tell the diff though.

Stephon : What on earth is the sticky thing from poppy or whatever you call it.

Postby Stephon. » August 29th, 2012, 4:02 am

The sticky thing you get left behind from he double stick tape son

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » August 29th, 2012, 4:26 am

^^ I would say nail polish remover, but might damage the dash. Maybe try a non-acetone formula? Smells like vinegar though.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 29th, 2012, 7:10 am

Try a cloth with some WD-40 on it. You may need a little "elbow grease". Then use some rubbing alcohol to clean off the WD-40 the residue and Armorall/Mothers/Meguiars/Turtle Wax vinyl protectant.

Come to think of it, the rubbing alcohol on a cloth may work on its own to remove the residue.

I am sure someone can suggest something simpler though.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 29th, 2012, 8:41 am

Come to think of it, the rubbing alcohol on a cloth may work on its own to remove the residue.

Bingo.

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2012, 10:00 am

Stephon. wrote:The sticky thing you get left behind from he double stick tape son

It's called mounting tape. Most likely 3M.
Ent ah tell yu doh use them ph taxi air freshener :lol:

Postby Stephon. » August 29th, 2012, 10:11 am

S_2NR wrote:
Stephon. wrote:The sticky thing you get left behind from he double stick tape son

I told you somebody give me it so I wanted to use it out, you gotta show people you appreciate what they give you instead of completely not using it

Just stfu!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 29th, 2012, 7:29 pm

Stephen,
The key to removing the mounting tape is controlled heat. The heat will soften the adhesive and it will assist with removing it. I would not recommend you use any petroleum based products on your dash as it may have an adverse reaction.

Contact me if you would like me to give you a quotation to remove it.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 29th, 2012, 7:37 pm

nemesis wrote:DVSTT : The AG stuff is easier to use and better on correction by hand. Shine is pretty good. Never really seen the Ice and AG on the same vehicle to tell the diff though.

I agree with Nemesis.

Once i have ever used an ICE product, but i was not happy with the result. Its was probably just me not using it correctly or otherwise.

DVSTT why not try the two products and let us know what works for you and why !!! I would be glad to hear your review of the two products.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 29th, 2012, 8:27 pm

^^I've used Turtle Wax ICE products. Rubbish as far as I'm concerned. Their "polish" is not a polish at all, but more like a sealant. And that "sealant" lasts only a couple of washes before beading goes to naught.

The only good thing about it is that it's easy on-easy off, and the "polish" can be used to shine trim pieces, since it doesn't stain them.

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Stephon. wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

I told you somebody give me it so I wanted to use it out, you gotta show people you appreciate what they give you instead of completely not using it

Just stfu!

i hope they givin u money to pay karim too :P

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 29th, 2012, 9:41 pm

Ok so it's an air freshener. Thanks everyone except stephon who decided to explain to me what tape was. :)

Glad to know I'm not the only one who thinks that Ice stuff sux.

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2012, 10:02 am

Not sure if I'm on topic but... those air fresheners or whatever, yay or nay?
I always hear some people say its no scene to use them while others say it wreaks havoc on your cabin filter and you'll be left with a worse scent went that smell goes rancid and sticks to that filter... Ulyuh views?
I personally don't use them.

Postby S_2NR » August 30th, 2012, 10:12 am

M_2NR wrote:Not sure if I'm on topic but... those air fresheners or whatever, yay or nay?
I always hear some people say its no scene to use them while others say it wreaks havoc on your cabin filter and you'll be left with a worse scent went that smell goes rancid and sticks to that filter... Ulyuh views?
I personally don't use them.

Renuzit pearl scents brah
Eliminate odors, doesn't jus cover them up. Sells in most groceries.

I like the 'after the rain' one the most.

Postby DVSTT » August 30th, 2012, 3:00 pm

Cooking oil, use a Q-tip and try and soak around d edges of the tape to get it between the dash and the tape. Then just gradually lift it off and wipe up the area after. Worked in our car.

Postby DVSTT » August 30th, 2012, 3:08 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
nemesis wrote:DVSTT : The AG stuff is easier to use and better on correction by hand. Shine is pretty good. Never really seen the Ice and AG on the same vehicle to tell the diff though.

I agree with Nemesis.

Once i have ever used an ICE product, but i was not happy with the result. Its was probably just me not using it correctly or otherwise.

DVSTT why not try the two products and let us know what works for you and why !!! I would be glad to hear your review of the two products.

Yea, figured when the Ice Polish finishes I'd look for Autoglym and try it. The Ice Shampoo I find works really well but the Ice Leather Cleaner not so good, much rather the meguiar's you recommended. Where in south has auto supplies? I usually buy the Ice at Bel-Air but the polish is expensive, think it was $150.00 a bottle. It lasts long however. It's about 2 and a half years and its only now close to finishing and I polish a car almost every weekend.

It only makes the Black van really shiny, don't notice the shine it with the silver or green car. And yes, It doesn't help the beading for very long. But it is VERY easy on and easy off and convenient since I can use it on all the chrome, rubber and plastic parts of the car without the white residue.

I'll try the Autoglym next.

http://theignitionpoint.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/turtle_wax_ice_liquid_polish2.jpg

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 30th, 2012, 5:11 pm

DVSTT wrote:Where in south has auto supplies?

I know Car Plus in south has a wide range of products. The other places to try if you are in the central area is either Wheel Wizard or Glenns Super Shop. Either of these places you will get a range of detailing products.

Postby DVSTT » August 30th, 2012, 5:34 pm

Karim Khan wrote:

I know Car Plus in south has a wide range of products. The other places to try if you are in the central area is either Wheel Wizard or Glenns Super Shop. Either of these places you will get a range of detailing products.

Sorry, Autoglym*.

Where in south had Autoglym?

Postby pioneer » August 31st, 2012, 1:24 am

Pardon my unawareness, where sells the Autoglym HD wax locally, price and location please?

Postby DVSTT » August 31st, 2012, 8:35 am

pioneer wrote:Pardon my unawareness, where sells the Autoglym HD wax locally, price and location please?

Postby noshownogo » August 31st, 2012, 8:43 am

Elsocorro Auto Supplies has a variety of Autoglym products, can give them a call.

Postby shogun » August 31st, 2012, 8:49 am

Anyone knows where i can get plasti-dip?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 31st, 2012, 1:31 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:

Sorry, Autoglym*.

DVSTT wrote:
pioneer wrote:Pardon my unawareness, where sells the Autoglym HD wax locally, price and location please?

Carplus on Cipero St and Bhola's Motorworks. Bhola a little cheaper last I checked. But just more out of the way for many people.
Carplus has the HDwax for $600 I believe. Or close. Was around the same at Bhola's.

Tested a new AIO and wax today. Will post later with pics.

Postby DVSTT » September 1st, 2012, 7:03 pm

nemesis wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:

Sorry, Autoglym*.

DVSTT wrote:

Carplus on Cipero St and Bhola's Motorworks. Bhola a little cheaper last I checked. But just more out of the way for many people.
Carplus has the HDwax for $600 I believe. Or close. Was around the same at Bhola's.

Tested a new AIO and wax today. Will post later with pics.

noshownogo wrote:Elsocorro Auto Supplies has a variety of Autoglym products, can give them a call.

Thanks guys!
But I'm looking for the super resin polish Karim posted at the beginning of this page
http://www.amazon.com/Autoglym-SRP500US ... sin+polish

Is it $600.00 for that? That's way above my budget plus I usually wax with a orbital so I need liquid wax. :?

Postby noshownogo » September 1st, 2012, 8:49 pm

what's the safest way to remove recently acquired tar/bitumen on the doors of my car?

Postby DVSTT » September 1st, 2012, 10:47 pm

noshownogo wrote:what's the safest way to remove recently acquired tar/bitumen on the doors of my car?

Turtlewax has a spray in a green bottle for bugs and tar. It works well, you could try it. Got it at Bel-air, wasn't too expensive

Postby Rainman » September 2nd, 2012, 7:21 am

Stoner's Tarminator....got it at Carplus on Cipero Street.