Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Strauss

Re: Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Postby Strauss » August 28th, 2012, 1:33 pm

stev wrote:looks like a good wake up call in the end IMO. im sure samsung probably re-doing some designs they had scheduled to release later this year. :lol:

They could go back to copying Sony?
(BTW I'm a big Sony fan)

I think they made the best phone designs ever.

Postby stev » August 28th, 2012, 1:40 pm

Xperia phones always had a sleek look to it. honestly, i dont see how much different they can make a new phone compared to the models they were sued for....:lol: its all gonna be more or less rectangle with smooth / rounded edges....maybe the back plate may have a bulge? lol and of course they gonna have to change the chargers / cables....those were clearly the same as apple IMO. add a few more buttons maybe?

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2012, 1:44 pm

If it's one thing. Sony makes some sexy phones :oops:

Ok so any banter that reaches into the apple/android ched gonna be sent here eh. So ollur could keep ollur banter in here about who thief who or who touch who in d dark or whatever.

Postby 16 cycles » August 28th, 2012, 2:04 pm

Apple looks for US ban on eight Samsung phones – and could snare Galaxy S3

iPhone maker's legal move following court ruling could hit rival's flagship phone, as analysts warn of effect on Android

Charles Arthur and agenies
guardian.co.uk, Tuesday 28 August 2012 04.55 EDT

Galaxy S3
Samsung reckoned worldwide shipments of the new Galaxy S3 will top 10m in July – but Apple may seek a US sales ban through legal means. Photograph: Lee Jae-Won/Reuters

Apple is seeking speedy bans on the sale of eight Samsung smartphones in the US, as it seeks to turn its $1bn court victory last Friday into a tangible business benefit over a key rival.

It faces a four-part test to persuade Judge Lucy Koh to implement the bans in September, against some of Samsung's Galaxy S phones – but might subsequently be able to snare this year's flagship Galaxy S3 model in a ban too without a full trial.

To achieve a ban, Apple's case before the judge must pass a four-part test: it must show "irreparable injury" from the devices' previous sale; that monetary damages are inadequate as compensation; that another remedy is warranted; and that a ban on sale is not against the public interest. Previously Apple has managed to persuade Koh to implement bans on Samsung's Galaxy Nexus phone and its Galaxy Tab 10.1 tablet.

The phones at issue are the Galaxy S 4G, Droid Charge, Galaxy Prevail, and five versions of the Galaxy S2 – Samsung's flagship phone of 2011.

Though the jury found that 28 different Samsung devices had wilfully copied elements of the iPhone's functional patents, and that some also resembled it closely enough to confuse consumers, Apple is seeking bans on a far smaller list, because many of those named in the trial are no longer widely available in the US.

But if it succeeds in getting a ban on the eight named phones, it could add the Galaxy S3 to the list through a more rapid "contempt proceeding" before the judge, according to legal experts.

Many on Wall Street believe Apple now has momentum behind it in the wake of its near-complete triumph over the South Korean company on Friday.

"The evidence and weight of the case are heavily in Apple's favor," said Jefferies & Co analyst Peter Misek. "We expect there's a two-thirds chance of an injunction against Samsung products."

An injunction hearing has been set for 20 September. If Koh grants sales bans, Samsung will likely seek to put them on hold pending the outcome of its appeal.

Samsung said it will take all necessary measures to ensure the availability of its products in the US market. A source familiar with the situation said Samsung has already started working with US carriers about modifying infringing features to keep products on the market should injunctions be granted.

Apple's win on Friday strengthens its position ahead of the expected launch on 12 September of the next iPhone, dubbed the "iPhone 5" by observers, and could cement its market dominance in the US as companies using Google Android operating system – which powers two-thirds of the smartphones shipped globally, though less in the US – may be forced to consider software changes, analysts say.

Apple was awarded $1.05bn in damages after a US jury found Samsung had copied critical features of the iPhone and iPad. The verdict could lead to an outright ban on sales of key Samsung products.

Apple's stock scored another record high on Monday rising 1.9% to add $12bn in value – while Samsung's fell by about 7.5% on the South Korean market on Monday, knocking the same amount off its total value. However Samsung's stock recovered 1.8% on Tuesday.

While the victory does not cover new Samsung products including the Galaxy S3, Apple will push its case on these products in the near-term, Evercore Partners analyst Mark McKechnie said.

"While a ban would likely increase Apple's leading smartphone share in the US market, we believe this verdict could lead to Samsung also delaying near-term product launches as it attempts to design around Apple's patents," Canaccord Genuity analysts said in a note.

"The ruling marks an important victory for Apple against Android. Competitors may now think twice about how they compete in smart mobility devices with the industry's clear innovator," Barclays analyst Ben Reitzes wrote on Monday. "If Apple forces competitors to innovate more, it could take longer for competitive products to come to market, and make it more expensive to develop them."

The victory for Apple – which upended the smartphone industry in 2007 with the iPhone – is a big blow to Google, whose Android software powers the Samsung products found to have infringed on patents. Google and its hardware partners, including the company's own Motorola unit, could now face legal hurdles in their effort to compete with the Apple juggernaut.

Google shares closed 1.4% lower at $669.22. Microsoft, a potential beneficiary if smartphone makers begin to seek out Android alternatives, ended up 0.4%. Nokia, which has staked its future on Windows phones, gained 7.7%.

Even BlackBerry maker Research in Motion – which has haemorrhaged market share to Apple and Google – climbed more than 5%, before ending 2% higher.

"The mobile industry is moving fast and all players, including newcomers, are building upon ideas that have been around for decades," Google responded in a Sunday statement. "We work with our partners to give consumers innovative and affordable products, and we don't want anything to limit that."

The verdict came as competition in the device industry is intensifying, with Google jumping into hardware for the first time with the Nexus 7 and Microsoft's touchscreen-friendly Windows 8 coming in October, led by its "Surface" tablet.

Samsung, which sold an estimated 50m phones between April and June – almost twice the number of iPhones – will have to pay damages equivalent to just 1.5% of the annual revenue from its telecoms business.

"The verdict does not come as a surprise," wrote William Blair & Co analysts. "From Apple's perspective, Samsung's market position and its leadership in the handset world was something the company could no longer overlook, and viewing this as another 'imitation is a form of flattery' was not possible."

"Companies such as Samsung, who we categorize as fast followers, have been viewed by the industry for their ability to quickly adopt the latest handset trends ... rather than their ability to introduce fundamental innovation."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/20 ... sfeed=true

Postby stev » August 28th, 2012, 2:10 pm

oh oh....now this is quite messy.

edit: u all think that is over doing it now?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 28th, 2012, 2:26 pm

stev wrote:Xperia phones always had a sleek look to it. honestly, i dont see how much different they can make a new phone compared to the models they were sued for....:lol: its all gonna be more or less rectangle with smooth / rounded edges....maybe the back plate may have a bulge? lol and of course they gonna have to change the chargers / cables....those were clearly the same as apple IMO. add a few more buttons maybe?

Ah but look at the Sony!

Sure it looks rectangular but check CLASS DESIGN. Sony is a borse. It's simple yet sophisticated. THAT is what R&D is about. You can never look at most of Sony's phones and say they look like an iPhone.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » August 28th, 2012, 3:45 pm

stev wrote:oh oh....now this is quite messy.

I think the US Patent office needs to take a check on what they're granting patents for. The fact is that a patent has to be granted for a novel, inventive step. In alot of cases the things that were granted patents for were actually developments of old technology. What Apple is really doing is exploiting the current system as is very well to their advantage.

Postby Stephon. » August 28th, 2012, 4:02 pm

The excuses

achillies

Postby achillies » August 28th, 2012, 4:09 pm

stev wrote:oh oh....now this is quite messy.

I said earlier in this thread that this is just the beginning, the victory is not about trade dress and what not, in the end the ultimate goal of Apple to eliminate their stiffest competition, this is why many believe that Apple no longer innovates, except for in the courtroom, take a look back at the past couple years, what has Apple done lately?

Look who has innovated and grown, meanwhile, lets list what Apple has done, launch the 4S with better internals and the same body, where was the R+D there? Was it in continuing along with the same shape or in researching whether or not people would make a smart choice in not buying a device with no physical changes and improved internal, so what did they do, Siri can only run on a Dual Core Processor, sold millions.

Increase the size of the phone screen, wait, where have I seen that before??? :idea:

Follow Samsung and more so Asus/Google in launching a 7 inch tablet, another original idea :roll:

Where would the market be if Samsung or Asus/Google was the type of company that decided to patent anything with a screen above 3.5 inches, a tablet device with a 7inch screen etc.
Was a 5.3 inch Galaxy Note an obvious idea, who took that risk, who did that R+D? the copycats did :|

Q: Is it true that Apple spends more on marketing than it spends on research and development?

The top 10 companies and the amount they spend on R&D (in billions) in the past 12 months were, according to S&P Capital IQ:

• Microsoft (MSFT): $9.4
• Pfizer (PFE): $8.4
• Intel (INTC): $8.4
• Merck (MRK): $8.3
• Johnson & Johnson (JNJ): $7.5
• International Business Machines (IBM): $6.3
• Cisco Systems (CSCO): $5.6
• Google (GOOG): $5.2
• Eli Lilly (LLY): $5.0
• Oracle (ORCL): $4.4

To answer the above question, who is missing???

Source: USA Today

The only hope is that the Appeals process can right what IMO was wrong in this trial, the glaring inconsistencies in the entire verdict

Postby stev » August 28th, 2012, 4:21 pm

hmmm...excellent points there. even if they get the phones banned including the S3. its gonna take a lot more to eliminate samsung from the competition...

samsung will still have their sales, im sure there is a very large number of people in the world who have little knowledge of the entire case here. most of them probably think its just "samsung copied apple" and its might end up a fanboy war after the dust settles.

i always wondered though...next thing the iphone 5 had a few design features similar to the S3 or other and it would have looked as if apple copied samsung if they released it. :lol: ......not saying apple would ave intentionally copied samsung though.

edit: u all think things would have been different if Steve Jobs was still on the apple throne?

achillies

Postby achillies » August 28th, 2012, 5:16 pm

stev wrote:hmmm...excellent points there. even if they get the phones banned including the S3. its gonna take a lot more to eliminate samsung from the competition...

samsung will still have their sales, im sure there is a very large number of people in the world who have little knowledge of the entire case here. most of them probably think its just "samsung copied apple" and its might end up a fanboy war after the dust settles.

i always wondered though...next thing the iphone 5 had a few design features similar to the S3 or other and it would have looked as if apple copied samsung if they released it. :lol: ......not saying apple would ave intentionally copied samsung though.

edit: u all think things would have been different if Steve Jobs was still on the apple throne?

Worse, the iPhone is his baby, and boy did he patent the hell out of it

Firemanboyzie

Postby Firemanboyzie » August 28th, 2012, 8:40 pm

stev wrote:that amount of money would pinch Samsung but i doh think that would cripple them....might make even more in profit...yuh never know.

when iPhone 5 scheduled to release btw?

I personally think that the bigger issue is the fear of prosecution instilled in the competition. It would cripple the designs made by other companies. The more u read up on the trial the more you realize how one sided it was. And how Haphazardly the damages were awarded. It's unfortunate. Apple products are great, I've got an ipad and i love it. Unfortunately Apple itself have become a legal bully. Their weapons?, Ridiculous US patents that shouldn't have been awarded by the US patent office in the first place .

Postby DVSTT » August 28th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Postby honda hoe » August 28th, 2012, 11:41 pm

Postby Stephon. » August 28th, 2012, 11:46 pm

Can we all slap the delusion out of some people here please?
We all know that no matter how much like apple the Samsung phones are, apple wouldn't have sued if Samsung phones weren't (simply put) better. How many phones are obvious copies of apples designs, and imitates their software that never got sued because they all failed so bad? It's only when real competition came around apple started crying to their lawyers.

The real issue here is that Apple simply want to give less and get more. There are 3 iPads out and roughly 6 iPhones out. How far along is the iPhone 3GS as compared to the iPhone 4S, not much of a progress if you asked me. How much of a difference is the iPad 2 as compared to the iPad 3? Compare that to the difference between the Galaxy Tab 2 and the Note 10.1.

Yeah it's pretty safe to say that Apple basically reopened the tablet market and brought about a whole new meaning to smart when it comes to smart phones with the iPhone, but truth be told, they're minging now, and need to stop grasping at a rectangle with 50x50 px icons on the screen as a reason to attempt to stop their number 1 competitor.

Not saying that Apple didn't have a case tho (so keep yo panties on) and we all know that business is business, but like I said, it's still pretty embarrassing for apple to pull this beyotch move lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2012, 12:12 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:LEt the APP wars BEGIN.

lets start with No MORE UTUBE app on the ipad, and then all handheld apple devices will have no access to Google, GOOGLE maps will also be removed on apple devices.

Lets see who really ends up losing this battle

google is in the business of selling advertising and collecting information and search data - they are not going to give up the HUGE chunk of the mobile market that uses iOS just be because Samsung devices use Android.

The maps change is to allow better integration to SIRI and the OS rather than relying on someone else's maps. The no YouTube app is no biggy, cause safari and chrome for iOS will still play YouTube videos and after all YouTube is a website. In fact alot of iOS users use m.youtube.com rather than the YouTube app and have for a long long time now

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » August 29th, 2012, 11:13 am

Samsung Pays Apple $1 Billion Sending 30 Trucks Full of 5 Cents Coins
Posted on the 28 August 2012 by Jesusmsanchezl
This morning more than 30 trucks filled with 5-cent coins arrived at Apple’s headquarters in California. Initially, the security company that protects the facility said the trucks were in the wrong place, but minutes later, Tim Cook (Apple CEO) received a call from Samsung CEO explaining that they will pay $1 billion dollars for the fine recently ruled against the South Korean company in this way.

the funny part is that the signed document does not specify a single payment method, so Samsung is entitled to send the creators of the iPhone their billion dollars in the way they deem best.

This dirty but genius geek troll play is a new headache to Apple executives as they will need to put in long hours counting all that money, to check if it is all there and to try to deposit it crossing fingers to hope a bank will accept all the coins.

Lee Kun-hee, Chairman of Samsung Electronics, told the media that his company is not going to be intimidated by a group of “geeks with style” and that if they want to play dirty, they also know how to do it.

You can use your coins to buy refreshments at the little machine for life or melt the coins to make computers, that’s not my problem, I already paid them and fulfilled the law.

A total of 20 billion coins, delivery hope to finish this week.

Let’s see how Apple will respond to this.

You didn’t think this could be real right? but hey! you loved it

http://en.paperblog.com/samsung-pays-ap ... ns-294795/

Postby stev » August 29th, 2012, 11:15 am

there is a rumour going around the internet that Samsung paid Apple in 5c coins (30 truck loads) :lol:

edit: yup its a hoax....damn funny if it was true :lol:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/bl ... sfeed=true
Last edited by stev on August 29th, 2012, 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 16 cycles » August 29th, 2012, 11:22 am

made up story.....funny but made up....

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » August 29th, 2012, 11:23 am

hard luck stev yuh move a little slow there..look up

Postby teems1 » August 29th, 2012, 11:30 am

it's a satire article.

besides, 20 billion coins will weigh over 100m kilos

can you imagine how many truckloads would be required, it'll cost another billion to haul it to them!

Postby Stephon. » August 29th, 2012, 11:40 am

It would be funny though if was true and I'd love Samsung even more lol

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 29th, 2012, 3:50 pm

Stephon. wrote:Not saying that Apple didn't have a case tho (so keep yo panties on) and we all know that business is business, but like I said, it's still pretty embarrassing for apple to pull this beyotch move lol

Think it's more embarrassing Samsung wilfully copied Apple for their phones to start taking sales away from Apple.

Even more shameful of Samsung to flat out refuse to pay Apple for use of patented tech, despite every meeting the two companies had.

If Samsung had paid the few dollars per phone, there would not have been a court case.

Really can't trust those korean companies. Cheap bastards with no class.

Postby stev » August 29th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Strauss wrote:
stev wrote:looks like a good wake up call in the end IMO. im sure samsung probably re-doing some designs they had scheduled to release later this year. :lol:

They could go back to copying Sony?
(BTW I'm a big Sony fan)

I think they made the best phone designs ever.

[img} xperia-p-silver-486x489.png[/img]

When is the court case btw? for the ban thing? sorry if it was mentioned earlier and i missed it.
Last edited by stev on August 29th, 2012, 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » August 29th, 2012, 4:04 pm

Strauss wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Not saying that Apple didn't have a case tho (so keep yo panties on) and we all know that business is business, but like I said, it's still pretty embarrassing for apple to pull this beyotch move lol

Think it's more embarrassing Samsung wilfully copied Apple for their phones to start taking sales away from Apple.

Even more shameful of Samsung to flat out refuse to pay Apple for use of patented tech, despite every meeting the two companies had.

If Samsung had paid the few dollars per phone, there would not have been a court case.

Really can't trust those korean companies. Cheap bastards with no class.

Didn't I tell you to keep your panties on?

Postby Sky » August 29th, 2012, 4:14 pm

achillies

Postby achillies » August 29th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Strauss wrote:Think it's more embarrassing Samsung wilfully copied Apple for their phones to start taking sales away from Apple.

Like Apple never wilfully copied anything, Strauss, it is the industry, don't make it out like Samsung did something here that is unheard of, keep the emotional factor out of it

Strauss wrote:Even more shameful of Samsung to flat out refuse to pay Apple for use of patented tech, despite every meeting the two companies had.

You weren't privy to those meetings, but I read that Apple was asking Samsung for way more than than the normal asking price for each phone, Frand patents are usually licensed at 2.25% or less, rumour is Apple was asking for double that, per patent (don't know how true), also keep in mind that the were asking for two and a half billion, we all know what they got, I am thinking that it is less than what Apple "thinks" their patents are worth

Strauss wrote:If Samsung had paid the few dollars per phone, there would not have been a court case.

Unless you know how much those few dollars actually were, the above statement is invalid

Strauss wrote:Really can't trust those korean companies. Cheap bastards with no class.

I thought this was just Apple versus Samsung :|

This statement has all sorts of tones attached to it, it's not funny, I won't attack Koreans and their culture (which no one here can claim to fully understand) because they copied your precious iPhone, it's not remotely that important.

And more importantly it shows if you can think that way, we have to ask, what was really the mentality of those on the jury, your very statement shows why this case had no right being in front of a Jury

Postby redmanjp » August 29th, 2012, 9:06 pm

dis ruling affecting any local Samsung phones?

achillies

Postby achillies » August 29th, 2012, 9:06 pm

Sky wrote:Image

Nice 8-)

achillies

Postby achillies » August 29th, 2012, 10:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:dis ruling affecting any local Samsung phones?

Only in America