Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Strauss

Re: Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Postby Strauss » August 25th, 2012, 8:35 pm

Patents eventually expire.

See: cars, light bulb, condoms, microwaves, a/c units and everything around you. For the time being new patents are to protect business interests.

Cuz if you don't protect you business's R&D expenditure, anyone can copy and sell for less, and dominate you in the market you carved out.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 25th, 2012, 8:50 pm

^ safety standards are a far different case from innovative features in a rapidly growing and changing industry though.

The automotive industry is hardly as rapidly changing and reinventing its core products the way the mobile market is.

There are shared standards too.
All phone makers use safe battery and power technology - because it is safe for consumers.

Hardly to be compared with shape, size and pinch to zoom etc.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 25th, 2012, 10:50 pm

^^ But at one time, this was the same with the auto industry and even electricity (Tesla vs Edison), but those sectors have matured into common features, and accepted and official standards.

The smart phone market for a revolutionary kick when RIM showed us a new way of doing things. The next revolution was with Apple's iPhone. No revolution since. There's nothing really 'new' Android brings that is anything but just evolutionary.

One day the smart phone market will become just as mature as other industries where patents become standards.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 25th, 2012, 11:41 pm

how does it affect google shares?..

it drop...???

BUY BUY BUY....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 25th, 2012, 11:52 pm

^ IMO it shouldn't affect Google shares much

Cid

Postby Cid » August 26th, 2012, 7:32 am

With regards to the consumer android really caused apple to step up their game... My only problem with apple was their slow roll out of technology and their disregard of their own users....you pay premium price for a product that is great but lacking various components that has been available for years and is available everywhere else... You just need to wait then buy another iphone to get bluetooth etc...Since android came along and started packing their phones with features apple couldn't squeeze their fans dry anymore, they had to step up their game... Faster processor, higher mp camera, everything that should have been in a premium product is there now..... Android basically freed the original concept of the iphone and allowed users to have their cake and eat it......
now its time to pay for that 1+ billion dollar cake....
:sad:

secret_service

Postby secret_service » August 26th, 2012, 7:51 am

Where the next iPhone killer..... The iPhone killer is the iPhone under another brand name lol

Postby Stephon. » August 26th, 2012, 8:59 am

The struggle.

Postby noshownogo » August 26th, 2012, 9:54 am

interesting read here, I share some of their sentiments:

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2012/08/ ... ung-means/

Postby bushwakka » August 26th, 2012, 10:06 am

lawd....i find Apple becoming like Umbrella corporatin yunno......we shd be scared

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » August 26th, 2012, 10:35 am

Apple probably laughin an tellin Samsung now IF YUH DONT HAVE AN IPHONE YUH JUS DONT HAVE AN IPHONE ! :D lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2012, 11:19 am

I am a huge Samsung fan. Their HDTVs are some of the best. Samsung, Panasonic and only since Sharp took over the ELITE line - those three are the top HDTV brands right now.

Samsung was quick to issue a comment to that effect. “Today’s verdict should not be viewed as a win for Apple, but as a loss for the American consumer,” Samsung said in an official statement. “It will lead to fewer choices, less innovation, and potentially higher prices.”
but Samsung lost because they were not innovating, they were copying!!! Unless they feel that they should be allowed to copy so they could charge consumers for clones.

As far as total consumer spending, Apple has had 5 phone models since 2007. One model upgrade a year.

Samsung has had 36 Galaxy models since 2009!!! - how much would you have to spend to keep up with that?

Date Model
Jun-09 i7500
Nov-09 i5700
Jun-10 Samsung Galaxy S (GT-I9000)
Jul-10 Samsung Galaxy 3 (i5800)
Aug-10 Samsung Galaxy 5 (i5500)
Aug-10 Samsung Galaxy U
Oct-10 Samsung Galaxy 551
Oct-10 Samsung Galaxy K
Feb-11 Samsung Galaxy Ace (GT-S5830)
Feb-11 Samsung Galaxy Fit (S5670)
Feb-11 Samsung Galaxy SL (GT-I9003)
Mar-11 Samsung Galaxy Gio (GT-S5660)
Mar-11 Samsung Galaxy Mini (GT-S5570)
Apr-11 Samsung Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820)
Apr-11 Samsung Galaxy Pro
Apr-11 Samsung Galaxy Neo
May-11 Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100)
Jun-11 Samsung Exhibit 4G
Jun-11 Samsung Galaxy Z
Aug-11 Samsung Galaxy S Plus (GT-i9001)
Aug-11 Samsung Galaxy R (I9103)
Aug-11 Samsung Galaxy W (I8150)
Aug-11 Samsung Galaxy M 
Aug-11 Samsung Galaxy Y (GT-S5360)
Aug-11 Samsung Galaxy Precedent
Aug-11 Samsung Galaxy XCover (S5690)
Oct-11 Samsung Stratosphere
Nov-11 Samsung Galaxy Nexus (i9250)
Jan-12 Samsung Galaxy Y Pro Duos
Jan-12 Samsung Galaxy Ace Plus
Feb-12 Samsung Galaxy Ace 2
Feb-12 Samsung Galaxy Mini 2
Feb-12 Samsung Galaxy Beam (i8520)
Mar-12 Samsung Galaxy Pocket
Apr-12 Samsung Galaxy S Advance
May-12 Samsung Galaxy S III (GT-i9300)

^ and that list doesnt include the Galaxy Note.

Apple has 3 versions of the iPad since 2010 while Samsung has had 7 tablet versions since 2010; 8 if you include the Galaxy Note.

So who there is really pushing consumer spending?? Apple or Samsung?

On another note
At $621 Billion, Apple is Most Valuable Company Ever
4:10 PM - August 21, 2012 by Wolfgang Gruener - source: ABC News

As Apple's stock crossed the $660 mark and continued to climb driven by iPhone 5 rumors, the company became the world's most valuable company that is not owned by a government entity.

Apple closed Monday trading at $665.15, up $17.04 or 2.63 percent from Friday. The market cap landed at $623.53 billion. The previous record holder was Microsoft, which peaked on December 30, 1999 at $660 billion. Microsoft is valued at $257.1 billion today.
You don't get there by copying others.

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2012, 11:26 am

nope, you get there by great marketing.

Postby nemisis » August 26th, 2012, 11:38 am

S_2NR wrote:nope, you get there by great marketing.

best marketing in the world won't sustain that kind of growth if the product is sheit, just saying.

Postby sharkman121 » August 26th, 2012, 11:43 am

I got a cease and desist letter from Apple last week when someone photographed me rounding the corners of my lawn when I was mowing it

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » August 26th, 2012, 11:46 am

I think it is appropriate for certain strong companies to step up to the line, or over the line, rather, to challenge patents that are simply nonsense. All too often in manufacturing, patents are granted on a first come first served basis to any and every frivolous application that is submitted, even in cases where it can be easily proven prior examples exist. As we know countless far east manufacturers copy and outright forge popular branded products, Samsung is seen as doing this with the IP3/S1, but its really an improvement on the product, they stuff every possible piece of current technology and convenience into the phone, where apple exercises restraint and leaves out certain obvious 'must have' features. Samsung has since left them in the dust, in my humble opinion.
For apple to try and cripple competition progress by bringing a case including grounds on absolutely frivolous patents such as 'rounded square icons', 'rounded edge rectangle', and 'bounceback scrolling' (which should never have been granted), is a low blow to bring down a better opponent. It is a battle perpetuated by uncreative lawyers and shareholders who are entitled to a massive chunk of the settlement, the real geeks involved in the innovations know damn well these silly patents have nothing to do with the spirit of technological creativity and competition that drives both companies forward. The fact that this was won in a California courtroom, Apples 'hometown', is a simple "US vs. Them" bias on the part of the judge and jury. I hope apple gets the shaft in every other case pending around the world. It was correct for Samsung to see these patents as frivolous and to go ahead and utilize whatever styling they felt was desirable to the market, knowing they have the resources to challenge disputes in court, they are to be commended for the risk and effort.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2012, 1:09 pm

^ valid points - I agree patents are granted for vague, broad and often presently unattainable concepts.

but what was the reason for copying 'rounded square icons', 'rounded edge rectangle', and 'bounceback scrolling'??? Flattery?

Those are seemingly smaller issues to a larger inherent problem. Why copy at that level?

Postby bushwakka » August 26th, 2012, 3:02 pm

Funny, RIm also has bounce back scrolling on bbm

Postby brams112 » August 26th, 2012, 3:08 pm

Next thing apple get ban in some countries

achillies

Postby achillies » August 26th, 2012, 5:47 pm

I would like to see how this verdict holds up under scrutiny

Samsung clearly copied, and they should be "punished" but I personally I think this verdict doesn't make sense, but that is just my opinion, I won't discuss whether or not apple should have some of the patents they have, that's for a different thread on a different day, but lets look at the verdict itself handed down on Friday, and put fanboyism aside and be objective, if you know you can't be, best stay out of the discussion

I have been busy but in some of my spare time, I have been looking at the actual judgement in it's detail and I am seeing a lot of inconsistencies, I am going to put them here and maybe someone with more expertise or another opinion can enlighten me

Firstly, lets look at the Design patents

This is a link to pictures of the "invention" :http://www.google.com/patents/USD618677?printsec=drawing#v=onepage&q&f=false

Guilty

above is a device with 4 inch screen and Capacitive buttons

Not guilty

What I am looking it is the consistency of the judgement

The above doesn't seem consistent, because the device that most infringes IMO is deemed to be NOT GUILTY

Then there is the Tabs or the D'889 patent which everyone believed (myself included) that Samsung would surely lose there, and this was also the subject of the emails from Google, not only the phones, the Tablets, well guess what, not guilty there also, that is interesting to me given the fact that the Jury foreman admitting the the emails were most damning
Quote from arstechnica: Despite the fact that the verdict came just two and a half days after closing arguments, Hogan insisted the jurors were thorough and methodical in their deliberations. "We didn't whiz through this," he said. "We took it very seriously."
Then he goes on to say: "I was thinking about the patents, and thought, 'If this were my patent, could I defend it?'" Hogan recalled. "Once I answered that question as yes, it changed how I looked at things."

Now these cases have been going on for some time now, and Apple has been winning a few, and losing a few all over the globe, but this guy who obviously had great influence over the jury figures it out in two and a half days.

The words that do stand out to me even more though:"Hogan said he had a revelation on first night of deliberations while watching television. "I was thinking about the patents, and thought, 'If this were my patent, could I defend it?'" Hogan recalled. "Once I answered that question as yes, it changed how I looked at things."

Mr. Hogan had a revalation, and this led to the validation of patents that other patent judges had invalidated in other parts of the world

Waiting on the appeals process to see if it will be determined whether or not these types of things should be left up to those with the expertise, and not up to those who have revelations

The D'305 patent or the Apple iPhone Home screen, now we all know what an iPhone home screen looks like, and Apple presented pictures of Samsung's Android phones, not on their home screen, but with the App draw open, that is a fact, is it not?

Link to it here:
http://www.google.com/patents/USD604305?
printsec=drawing&dq=D%27305&ei=Kp86UNb5OIn48wSCwIDABw#v=onepage&q=D'305&f=false

In your opinion, should the home screen of one be not compared of the home screen of another if this is the point of a patent case, maybe I am wrong, actually. according to the present judgement, I was wrong.

Then on to damages, just over 1 billion dollars, huge amount. Apple is gonna want this to increase, because at the end of the day, 1 billion is not much for these companies who themselves have multi billion dollar contracts between them, I think I read somewhere that the sales from all the products in this case raked in just over 8 billion for Samsung, having to pay Apple 1/8th of that can be looked at in many ways, some see it as a slap on the wrist, given Samsung's position in the Market, some see it as as Justice for Apple, I think that figure is likely to change though, I just don't know if it's going to be more or less

I could go on but and get into other aspects of this trial, but I just don't think this is the end of this, instead I see this as the beginning, this is a landmark case with a landmark decision that can very well change things for consumers and manufacturers in ways that are IMPOSSIBLE to see at this current time, and some would be positive and some would be negative

Then there is the Brand fallout, lets be real, this case is going to confuse many, if you believe that people walked into best buy to get iPads and walked out with Galaxy Tabs (which somehow didn't have an effect on the jury judgement) then you have to believe that this case is both good and bad PR for both companies, e.g this post by Enrique Gutierrez on Google+ https://plus.google.com/114476892281222 ... qg6G?hl=en

This post has been shared 6,222 and it has been plus oned 8,376 at the time of this writing, have a look at the Ripples

So at the end of the day, is a billion dollars going to be worth it, if you answer yes or no, then you have not really given it much objective thought, I can't answer that question, this is one question where the answer can only be discovered in time

Then there is this article: Max Huijgen Google+

These guys can be wrong, but we must also accept that they can also be right, again, time will tell
Last edited by achillies on August 26th, 2012, 7:13 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 26th, 2012, 6:46 pm

@ Duane 3NE 2NR

You could pretty much scratch off all of them phones from the list if you own a Galaxy S2. Infact Samsung isn't pushing consumer spending at all. They just provide every phone at every possible price point so you see which one suites you best.

When the Galaxy S2 was $5000 I could not afford it so I bought a Galaxy Ace for $2000. It served me well because thats all the money I had. With Apple either you go big or you go home. If you poor then there is nothing for you get lost.

I was happy I could then later sell my Galaxy Ace thanks to trinituner. MAde a $400 loss but smallthing. Then bought a Galaxy S2 at a reasonable price since it had dropped.

No one buys Samsung products just to say they have all the Galaxy Products. But people buy everything Apple just so they can say they own everything Apple.

Look how much money it costs Samsung to make a Super AMOLED screen for their high end galaxy lines and look how much they sell it for. Don't forget the more expensive GPU and CPU chips put into their high end Galaxy over the iphones. There is a reason Apple is richer than intel now. They sell inferior hardware and get people to buy it. If you buy pitch pine wood for $100 and sell it for $5000 you will make more money than buying Green Heart wood for $4500 and selling it for $5000. In this case samsung is selling Gorilla Glass and Super OLED screen instead of Green Heart Wood.

ask majority of the world they would tell you they buy Apple for the brandname. Apple has it made with brand name and you got to give them credit for that.

Only 10% of apple owners actually buy iphone and ipad for the apps. Which is actually the best thing about apple. I could not believe brand name buying would move onto the electronic world. I used to think it was reserved for Clothing and Sun Glasses.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » August 26th, 2012, 7:13 pm

I was considering getting an Iphone5 when it came out but have now chosen not to give Apple any of my money again.

Postby brams112 » August 26th, 2012, 7:21 pm

Well at least there are people who in here knows apple is just a fad.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2012, 7:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:@ Duane 3NE 2NR

You could pretty much scratch off all of them phones from the list if you own a Galaxy S2. Infact Samsung isn't pushing consumer spending at all. They just provide every phone at every possible price point so you see which one suites you best.

When the Galaxy S2 was $5000 I could not afford it so I bought a Galaxy Ace for $2000. It served me well because thats all the money I had. With Apple either you go big or you go home. If you poor then there is nothing for you get lost.

I was happy I could then later sell my Galaxy Ace thanks to trinituner. MAde a $400 loss but smallthing. Then bought a Galaxy S2 at a reasonable price since it had dropped.

No one buys Samsung products just to say they have all the Galaxy Products. But people buy everything Apple just so they can say they own everything Apple.

Look how much money it costs Samsung to make a Super AMOLED screen for their high end galaxy lines and look how much they sell it for. Don't forget the more expensive GPU and CPU chips put into their high end Galaxy over the iphones. There is a reason Apple is richer than intel now. They sell inferior hardware and get people to buy it. If you buy pitch pine wood for $100 and sell it for $5000 you will make more money than buying Green Heart wood for $4500 and selling it for $5000. In this case samsung is selling Gorilla Glass and Super OLED screen instead of Green Heart Wood.

ask majority of the world they would tell you they buy Apple for the brandname. Apple has it made with brand name and you got to give them credit for that.

Only 10% of apple owners actually buy iphone and ipad for the apps. Which is actually the best thing about apple. I could not believe brand name buying would move onto the electronic world. I used to think it was reserved for Clothing and Sun Glasses.
NO!

iPhone prices by Apple were always meant to be ~$199, $299 and $399 because Apple's consumer model for the iPhone always included a carrier plan package. Infact Apple didnt start selling unlocked devices until MUCH later in the game.

What you were paying $5000 for is an unlocked device that Apple actually resisted from selling without a contract - which is why the iPhone unlocking market was such a HUGE thing.

And where did you get statistics stating that only 10% of iPad and iPhone owners buy because of the apps? That is absolutely not true
Please state your source.

Databyte_Solutions

Postby Databyte_Solutions » August 26th, 2012, 7:46 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:@ Duane 3NE 2NR

NO!

iPhone prices by Apple were always meant to be ~$199, $299 and $399 because Apple's consumer model for the iPhone always included a carrier plan package. Infact Apple didnt start selling unlocked devices until MUCH later in the game.

What you were paying $5000 for is an unlocked device that Apple actually resisted from selling without a contract - which is why the iPhone unlocking market was such a HUGE thing.

And where did you get statistics stating that only 10% of iPad and iPhone owners buy because of the apps? That is absolutely not true
Please state your source.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 26th, 2012, 10:56 pm

Its an estimate based on random people I talk to. the usual response is "I doh see nobody running down no samsung. When you watch movies is iphone the big stars does be rocking dan. So me go buy ah iphone aight"

Your experience with iphone users may be a bit different than mine though.

There is a high possibility that my estimate could be off especially since it was done when my previous employer realized that it was cheaper to hire Vagrants and disguise them as my co workers.

Please accept my apology as I was clearly out of place for posting a survey I did at that time. this clearly does not represent the majority of the community.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 27th, 2012, 12:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 27th, 2012, 12:31 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Its an estimate based on random people I talk to. the usual response is "I doh see nobody running down no samsung. When you watch movies is iphone the big stars does be rocking dan. So me go buy ah iphone aight"

Your experience with iphone users may be a bit different than mine though.

There is a high possibility that my estimate could be off especially since it was done when my previous employer realized that it was cheaper to hire Vagrants and disguise them as my co workers.

Please accept my apology as I was clearly out of place for posting a survey I did at that time. this clearly does not represent the majority of the community.
I sense much deeper psychological issues here.

anyway, unlocking was a HUGE thing because people wanted the device for it's functionality badly enough that they would pay alot for it AND still have to jump through hoops in a cat and mouse unlocking game - that speaks volumes for the design and functionality of a device

if it was all flams then tech gurus around the world would not have gravitated to the phone to creat that large unlocking and hacking community.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 27th, 2012, 12:57 am

InDeForest wrote:I think it is appropriate for certain strong companies to step up to the line, or over the line, rather, to challenge patents that are simply nonsense. All too often in manufacturing, patents are granted on a first come first served basis to any and every frivolous application that is submitted, even in cases where it can be easily proven prior examples exist. As we know countless far east manufacturers copy and outright forge popular branded products, Samsung is seen as doing this with the IP3/S1, but its really an improvement on the product, they stuff every possible piece of current technology and convenience into the phone, where apple exercises restraint and leaves out certain obvious 'must have' features. Samsung has since left them in the dust, in my humble opinion.
For apple to try and cripple competition progress by bringing a case including grounds on absolutely frivolous patents such as 'rounded square icons', 'rounded edge rectangle', and 'bounceback scrolling' (which should never have been granted), is a low blow to bring down a better opponent. It is a battle perpetuated by uncreative lawyers and shareholders who are entitled to a massive chunk of the settlement, the real geeks involved in the innovations know damn well these silly patents have nothing to do with the spirit of technological creativity and competition that drives both companies forward. The fact that this was won in a California courtroom, Apples 'hometown', is a simple "US vs. Them" bias on the part of the judge and jury. I hope apple gets the shaft in every other case pending around the world. It was correct for Samsung to see these patents as frivolous and to go ahead and utilize whatever styling they felt was desirable to the market, knowing they have the resources to challenge disputes in court, they are to be commended for the risk and effort.

Deja Vu, or copy-pasted from another thread?

We need to get out of that mentality of just taking designs from another artist like if it's our right.

If Samsung has to spend their R&D $$$ to come up with their own original designs for EVERYTHING (icons, colors, packaging, ads, screen, scrolling, touch etc etc), their phones won'e be as cheap and they would not be able to stuff all those features into a phone.

It's easy to boast about Koreans selling cheap products with plenty features when they don't have an R&D overhead.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 27th, 2012, 1:01 am

brams112 wrote:Well at least there are people who in here knows apple is just a fad.

A fad since 1976, yes.

Know your tech history. Be educated.

You don't realise how much you have to thank Apple for in the tech industry - color management, fonts, desktop and moble UI, serial ports, CD-ROM, the world wide web (the very one you're using), laser printers, videos (mov, mp4, h.264 etc)

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » August 27th, 2012, 1:51 am

Strauss, what copy paste from what thread? I speaking my mind yuh hear. Anyways to paraphrase an old saying I can't remember verbatim, "what the chef takes hours to cook, the apprentice swallows in short time". It is inevitable that the R&D costs drop off once a feature is adopted into a new item, and who is to say Samsung hasn't spent a ton on R&D on followup models?