plant question

ado15mk3

plant question

Postby ado15mk3 » August 22nd, 2012, 8:49 pm

can anyone tell me what is the name of the 'creeper' plant that grows on vertical concrete walls and where i can get it?
looks something like this:

Re: plant question

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2012, 10:04 pm

check Undercover,more than likely you should get it there.hard to say type of plant though,sorry.

d spike

Postby d spike » August 22nd, 2012, 10:22 pm

Some call it "ivy", but it isn't an ivy.
It does grow easily by pieces, so don't bother to buy plants, just either collect some trimmings when it is pruned (which it needs regularly)...
...or just nip over to a wall when no one is looking and tear of a piece of stem - it grows thickly, so your nick won't be noticed - just don't be greedy.
Then stick your piece of stem in the dirt at the base of your wall.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » August 22nd, 2012, 10:27 pm

this plant cool, wanted this on the wall home but wifey say it go cause to much Bugs

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2012, 10:28 pm

make sure you have a well built wall as well as this plant tends to leach cement

Mayaroman

Postby Mayaroman » August 23rd, 2012, 1:26 am

^^ i dont know about the leaching cement part. i do know that it will rip the paint of your wall if you pull it off. Its known locally as "climbing ivy, running ivy or wall ivy. It would only look pleasant once regularly pruned. It is also a bit invasive so control it and maintain it well.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 23rd, 2012, 9:58 am

did a little research and found out that the scientific name is ficus pumila. there are many varieties.
it is also known as 'creeping fig' :)

as you guys said it needs alot of maintenance and getting it to grow should not be a problem.

i like the idea of spike.
here are the plans:
1/ keep passing by the ppl i know with the plant and wait till they prune and just jump out of the car, pick up a branch, back into car and then peel out.
or
2/ if i get tired of waiting for them to prune, do a drive by, wife jumps out and rips piece (meanwhile car still rolling), she jumps back in and then peel out.

i will see how it goes...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 23rd, 2012, 10:02 am

ado15mk3 wrote:did a little research and found out that the scientific name is ficus pumila. there are many varieties.

as you guys said it needs alot of maintenance and getting it to grow should not be a problem.

here are the plans:
1/ keep passing by the ppl i know with the plant and wait till they prune and just jump out of the car, pick up a branch, back into car and then peel out.
or
2/ if i get tired of waiting for them to prune, do a drive by, wife jumps out and rips piece (meanwhile car still rolling), she jumps back in and then peel out.

what about the plant shop in Aranguez? if you're planning on doing what you said up there,it have a few houses in Trinicity with the plant :D :D

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 23rd, 2012, 10:09 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
ado15mk3 wrote:did a little research and found out that the scientific name is ficus pumila. there are many varieties.

here are the plans:
or

what about the plant shop in Aranguez? if you're planning on doing what you said up there,it have a few houses in Trinicity with the plant :D :D

trincity a little too far for me to stalk walls everyday. :wink:
it have a few in my area, will start there first.
my wife works with someone whose aunt has it so will try to ask her first. if that fails (dont see why it would) then the stalking would commence.

Postby Hook » August 23rd, 2012, 10:14 am

here are the plans:
or

:lol: as I read this, I saw this play off in my head like that scene in "Fun with Dick and Jane" and their lawn adventure

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 23rd, 2012, 10:21 am

^ that movie was hilarious.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 23rd, 2012, 10:23 am

my wife too 'civilised' to agree to that anyways.
i sure she want to go la vega and buy it. no adventure...

Postby timelapse » August 23rd, 2012, 2:51 pm

The top of Eleanour street in Chaguanas has a wall covered in this, all you need is a little piece to get it started,then every surface it can come into contact with will be covered in no time at all.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 23rd, 2012, 8:12 pm

thats opposite mid center ent? i think i remember seeing it there. never thought about that.
good looking out there boss.