Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 21st, 2012, 5:49 pm

I lol @ the people who boast about beats being the best in the world :rofl:
Just a bunch of bandwagonists
Can't see myself paying money for those crappy headphones :|

casper

Re: Gaming Headsets & Audiophile Headphones Thread

Postby casper » August 21st, 2012, 7:03 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Got the Logitech G930 today 8)

Pics and reviewwww!!!! :D

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 21st, 2012, 7:22 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ if it is you are after a PC headset for games with a mic then its a good buy for the Price of $51 doubt you would get cheaper.

It is however a no go for high end music.

When you say high end music what you mean exactly?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 21st, 2012, 7:49 pm

Didn't get chance to take pics but I still did the review :P

Logitech G930

A run down of the features:

Gaming-grade wireless performance
Just plug the USB adapter into your computer for a powerful lag-free connection—even from 40 feet away.*
Uncompressed 48 kHz audio stream delivers detailed full-spectrum sound

Immersive 7.1 surround sound
Second-generation Dolby technology gives you the advantage of positional audio—you can hear enemies sneaking up behind you and even pinpoint where their shots are coming from.

Three programmable G-keys
Customize the on-ear keys for one-touch command over chat clients, music, voice morphing and more.

Noise-cancelling rotating mic
Reduces distracting background noise
Auto mutes when you rotate it out of the way
Red mute light lets you know when your mic is off

Full-speed USB recharging base
Recharges the headset and powers the wireless adapter with a single USB connection
Lets you recharge while you're playing

Memory foam headband for combat comfort
Ergonomic design for a snug, tailored fit that also reduces pressure on the head
Plush ear pads give you cushioned comfort and seal out ambient noise

Key features
• Gaming-grade wireless with up to 40 ft. range*

• Dolby 7.1 surround sound

• Customizable on-ear sound controls

• Comfortable memory foam headband

• Sound-isolating cushioned ear pads

• Noise canceling boom mic with auto mute

• Full-speed USB recharging base

After I received my G510 Keyboard getting another G series product from logitech was really exciting. They are both great quality products.

Appearance
The headset looks great. Completely black with a hint of red for the three programmable G keys, mike mute button and volume logo. It's quite large actually as well but it doesn't take away from the great looks of this headset.

Build Quality
Just great. Plastic doesn't feel cheap and you can feel the bit of tension when it's over your ears. The microphone also bends but it feels strong as well. Doesn't feel like it's going to break or anything. You can bend it towards or away from your mouth. The cable for the USB hub is nice and coated, doesn't bend too much and doesn't feel like it's going to burst in anyway. The ear cups also rotate as well incase you have to rest it anywhere or just leave it hanging around your neck.

Sound Quality
All I can say is Amazing! Best i've ever experienced in any headset. You have the option of full 7.1 dolby digital virtual surround sound or stereo mode. The Surround Sound is great! Just got back from testing it in CODBO and i'm very impressed. This is definitely a gaming headset. Although it's a gaming headset, music quality is great. Just switch it to stereo mode and you're good to go. Bass,mids,heights etc all sound great! Beats take a seat!

Comfort
Very comfortable. The ear cups are padded and it full covers your ears for complete silence. The over head piece is also padded and very comfortable!

Battery Life
So far so good. Battery Life is 10hrs on a full charge. It can also be connected to the charger as you use it so you don't have to worry about the battery dying.

A video showing the battery replacement

What the battery looks like:

The battery can be purchased at Ebay or Amazon

Software
It's called the Logitech Gaming Software. I've had experience with this with my G510 keyboard and it's exceptionally great. Very user friendly and gets the job done.

Some screenshots:

Here you have the option of setting up your macros

Here you have the option of adjusting your bass,treble, mike etc.

There's also an equalizer you can tune to your liking

The surround sound mixer

There's also a voice morpher :lol:

Conclusion
Overall this is a great headset especially if you're a gamer or someone into listening to music or watching movies. It was totally worth the money and it's something I would recommend to anyone who's looking for a new headset.
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on August 22nd, 2012, 1:03 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 22nd, 2012, 12:43 am

^ nice review man

BTW how it getting current wireless? it has its own rechargeable battery or you can put in external rechargeable? And like say you have to replace the batteries in like a couple years down the road can you get them to buy?

btw people who interested in the denon D2000

http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AHD2000-Per ... enon+d2000

8% discount now on Denons.

Doh worry keep checking it everyday it does go down to all kinda $190 and thing if you real lucky. You would have to check it everyday for a entire year and for that 13 hours it will be at $200 or less.

Here is my Invoice for when I bought mines some years ago. Was my best Christmas ever I kid you not. Well ok New Years since it ship late LOL but didn't matter cause was equal joy of receiving it as it was of clicking buy for $199 LOL

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 22nd, 2012, 1:04 am

^Updated the review with the battery info :D

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 22nd, 2012, 2:18 am

^ aah nice to see the battery won't be a problem if ever needs to be replaced for whatever reason in the coming years.

casper

Postby casper » August 22nd, 2012, 9:15 am

Ronaldo great review man... :D

jus 2 questions i have for u....can that headset be used on an ipod etc...does it have a 3.5mm jack?

and also...what do u mean by voice morphing??? is it what i think it is??? :shock: ....if so...that relll kool :o

casper

Postby casper » August 22nd, 2012, 3:29 pm

aye Effectic...do some research on this grado for me nah...SR325is....not the normal "i" eh....cuz from what i read so far the SR325i is a bit harsh on the upper frequencies of the sound spectrum and is fatiguing because of that...i wanna know bout the "is"

this ting sexy too bad...i feel i gonna bite d bullet and get it sometime soon...do prices of high end headphones go down during black friday sale btw???

main reason i choosing this over the SR225i which is a whole $100 US cheaper and gettin some awsome reviews is cuz of durability in which the SR225i seems to lack in....this SR325is headband alone is far more better and the ear cups are superior as well compared to the plastic ones on the 225i's

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 22nd, 2012, 5:09 pm

@casper

It's a USB headset. It's PC only.
About the voice morpher...... :P

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2012, 6:01 pm

Casper the Grado's a very good cans, however take note that they are open cans and they don't do the kind of bass you might be accustomed to. These are great for acoutic music and are known to be very flat. We tend to be accustomed to that V shaped sound with plenty treble (heights), little mids, and plenty bass. Kinda like what you'd set your EQ to. Beats from Dr. Dre are know to be deep V.

The Grado's are NOT like that at all. They are flat, kinda like if you set all your EQ bands to 0 (zero).

I was all ready to jump at a set of Grado 325is, but I didnt cause I felt that ultimately I wouldnt like the extra flat sound (audiophile flamesuit on).

Also be aware than any headphones that is over 100 ohms will require a headphone amplifier as your usual iPod, laptop or MP3 player will not be able to drive it properly.

honestly I'm looking at the BeyerDynamic DT990 250 ohm or the AKG Q701

from the reviews, I'm leaning towards the BeyerDynamic which Amazon has for US$195, almost $100 less than the AKG. The DT990 has slightly more bass too, but less sound staging compared to the Q701.

I think the only thing is that I find the Q701 MUCH better looking than the DT990!!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 22nd, 2012, 6:12 pm

^ the AKG has the biggest soundstage out of all. DT990 is still the best sub $600 US headphones. Possibly best sub $1000 US but they don't look as nice as the Denons.

Denon D5000 is a great buy. Don't get better than that, pretty much the limit of human hearing from there on. Everything else would be how old and good your hearing is.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 22nd, 2012, 7:49 pm

Thinking of getting a set of cans myself for late night listening,i also am leaning towards the Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro due to the amount of good reviews and bang for buck basically.If i do though,i'll be getting a headphone amp and a DAC,i dont wanna be messing with my stereo setup.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 22nd, 2012, 8:47 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Thinking of getting a set of cans myself for late night listening,i also am leaning towards the Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro due to the amount of good reviews and bang for buck basically.If i do though,i'll be getting a headphone amp and a DAC,i dont wanna be messing with my stereo setup.

Yeah best bang for the buck definitely the DT 990 but if you can get the Denon D2000 for the same price then go for it instead would be a better buy. When you see it and hold it in person you would understand. The pics can't do it justice.

You would need to have patience though. It rarely goes down to $200. Usually stays at $350 unless you willing to buy it for that price.

There is just something called sound signature in headphone brands. Denon and Sennheiser perfected them so well. DT 990 may sound slightly better but won't be as enjoyable to listen to music as the denons.

Them beyers are more for studio use if you ask me. Personally I stay very far from Studio Monitors, had one and was totally boring I had to sell it immediately cause the sound was waaay to netural. Its then and there I understood what audiophile meant, went straight back to my Denon D2000 even though my Audio Technica M50 was such a great monitor.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 22nd, 2012, 8:51 pm

Put it this way.

Studio Monitors are like Hot Coca Cola with the gas escaped. Sure it still has the same sugar and same content but its not the same its to FLAT. Audiophile Headphones are Coca Cola but now cracked open loaded with the gas and nice cold ice.

Believe it or not thats exactly how the experience is. You won't know this unless you heard both. If you are new then get a studio monitor shure or something. Reason being you won't care cause you won't know what audiophile sounds like. Same way hot coke is acceptable if you never tasted cold one.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 22nd, 2012, 9:04 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Them beyers are more for studio use if you ask me. Personally I stay very far from Studio Monitors, had one and was totally boring I had to sell it immediately cause the sound was waaay to netural. Its then and there I understood what audiophile meant, went straight back to my Denon D2000 even though my Audio Technica M50 was such a great monitor.

lol wut?

thats the point of audiophile grade equipment,to actually be flat sounding,so that the you can hear what the producer actually wanted you to hear,and i've already grown to love flat sounding audio,no enhancements whatsoever,cause my PSB Image B6'ers do that :wink:

despite the little bass hump as duane mentioned earlier,i think i can live with that on the DT990's.I run everything in direct mode from my cd player anyways.

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 22nd, 2012, 10:53 pm

@Ronaldo95163

The g930 epic for gaming,got mines a few months now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 23rd, 2012, 2:24 pm

ru$$ell wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

lol wut?

thats the point of audiophile grade equipment,to actually be flat sounding,so that the you can hear what the producer actually wanted you to hear,and i've already grown to love flat sounding audio,no enhancements whatsoever,cause my PSB Image B6'ers do that :wink:

despite the little bass hump as duane mentioned earlier,i think i can live with that on the DT990's.I run everything in direct mode from my cd player anyways.

LOL what I meant was you know the EAR technology in Sennheisers. Right so audiophile will do as neutral as possible but at the same time giving it a different listening experience.

I probably phrase it wrong. Like even the S-Logic technology in those Ultrasone makes it sound better than a studiomonitor. The sound signature that call it i think. Well atleast for me for my ears.

I suppose it depends on the person. I didn't like the total flat sound of monitors but perhaps others will. Best bet is always listen to something before you buy it. Thats difficult to do in Trinidad.

casper

Postby casper » August 24th, 2012, 1:35 pm

next question...what are some top brands for in ear earphones??? I reading up on higher end shure's and reviews say they sound amazing BUT, they seem to short out after a while and many cases of the left bud completely stop functioning have been reported....despite the great customer service and support they seem to be offering with their warranty, thats kinda scary for a $300 + set of in ear earphones :shock:

casper

Postby casper » August 24th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Casper the Grado's a very good cans, however take note that they are open cans and they don't do the kind of bass you might be accustomed to. These are great for acoutic music and are known to be very flat. We tend to be accustomed to that V shaped sound with plenty treble (heights), little mids, and plenty bass. Kinda like what you'd set your EQ to. Beats from Dr. Dre are know to be deep V.

The Grado's are NOT like that at all. They are flat, kinda like if you set all your EQ bands to 0 (zero).

I was all ready to jump at a set of Grado 325is, but I didnt cause I felt that ultimately I wouldnt like the extra flat sound (audiophile flamesuit on).

Also be aware than any headphones that is over 100 ohms will require a headphone amplifier as your usual iPod, laptop or MP3 player will not be able to drive it properly.

honestly I'm looking at the BeyerDynamic DT990 250 ohm or the AKG Q701

from the reviews, I'm leaning towards the BeyerDynamic which Amazon has for US$195, almost $100 less than the AKG. The DT990 has slightly more bass too, but less sound staging compared to the Q701.

I think the only thing is that I find the Q701 MUCH better looking than the DT990!!!

Duane, i've been doing alot of research on the Grados to see which model in particular is fit for me and the SR325is seems to be the best option...these are said to give the Grado signature fast attack and brightness but their response isnt as flat as say the SR225i or the SR80i....also another reason i lookin at these in particular is because of the build quality which is way better than the models below it as it has a genuine leather cushioned headband whereas the lower models have a a wire strip covered in a thin piece of pleather with no cushioning and also plastic cup housings instead of the aluminum ones on the 325's

the 325is seem to have a more prominent bass and extra higher frequency reproduction...So it tends to lean a bit towards that V shape your talkin about.either way, i've learnt to appreciate a flat response system as my alpine 9835's EQ is set on 0 for every band with my focal k2p 6.5's...

I agree with you...the Q701s ur looking at is alot more appealing than the DT990s...i really dont like the look of the beyers...

regarding the amp...i currently have an astro wireless mixamp that came with my A40 gaming headset which i've heard is an excellent headphone amp as well despite being from a gaming brand...i can try that out and if i absolutely need to get a headphone amp i'm looking at the Fiio e6...it's only $28 US on amazon...

if i happen to get the SR325is before you order your DT or Q i can probably meet up with you for u to audition them on your own personal music so u can see if you like them or not...its not a problem

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2012, 2:54 pm

^ 701 has massive sound stage. Sounds like is loud speaker and not headphones you got on.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » September 2nd, 2012, 12:09 pm

On Amazon Now hoping to see some deals for tomorrow...

Postby ismithx » September 2nd, 2012, 1:23 pm

so guys, why is it the bass preset on any random phone I choose sounds so much better than me tweaking the bass on my computer??? It's really annoying for a song to sound wonderful on my phone and then disappointing on my computer.... what equalizer tweaks do you guys use to get good all-round bass without distortion?

stickman

Postby stickman » September 4th, 2012, 12:02 am

ismithx wrote:so guys, why is it the bass preset on any random phone I choose sounds so much better than me tweaking the bass on my computer??? It's really annoying for a song to sound wonderful on my phone and then disappointing on my computer.... what equalizer tweaks do you guys use to get good all-round bass without distortion?

Try lowering the midrange and treble on the computer rather than increasing the bass. You might be experiencing clipping.

Also too much audiophile crap in this thread, I feel like I'm in the Religious Discussion Thread.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2012, 12:29 am

^ ignorance is bliss?

casper wrote:if i happen to get the SR325is before you order your DT or Q i can probably meet up with you for u to audition them on your own personal music so u can see if you like them or not...its not a problem
I will definitely take you up on that offer! thanks!

Postby ismithx » September 4th, 2012, 4:46 pm

ignorance is not bliss.... when my padna bought a pair of b***s in-ears, he said it makes normal headphones sound like crap. when you see what you've been missing you will hate yourself....

@stickman thanks for the suggestion, i will definitely try it!

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » September 19th, 2012, 8:08 am

casper

Postby casper » September 19th, 2012, 8:27 am

^^^u got it????

AGENT RORO