how does Insurance work in a 3 car accident?

morphin

how does Insurance work in a 3 car accident?

Postby morphin » August 18th, 2012, 8:14 am

i was involved in a 3 car accident where a car stopped suddenly while going down hill, my car then hit that car and then another car hit mine from the back. My car was in the middle. Anyone knows how or who's insurance has to pay?

Re: how does Insurance work in a 3 car accident?

Postby nemisis » August 18th, 2012, 8:23 am

yours pays for the person you hit and the person who hit you pays for your damage. The only person who have nothing to worry about is the person you hit.

Postby Sky » August 18th, 2012, 10:18 am

^^^ Yup, the one who stopped suddenly

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » August 18th, 2012, 10:25 am

i was in a four car accident ........ i was the 2nd car , the 4th car slammed into the 3 rd car pushing me on to another car , in accidents like that the last car is always wrong ..got my cheq for the damage 4 weeks later ....

Postby sharkman121 » August 18th, 2012, 10:26 am

well thats shiddy :|

Postby Stephon. » August 18th, 2012, 10:37 am

Sky wrote:^^^ Yup, the one who stopped suddenly

Not necessarily, I once got in a similar accident, a van in front of me stopped IN THE RAIN suddenly for TWO GUNTAS to cross UNDER A WALKOVER jadbnfjasd fjseafakasdnfsdngsd][ofgbsdifogvsn /rage

Anyways. I was able to stop in time, (obviously, refer to sig) the 4 cars behind me weren't so lucky. Maybe if the car that OP hit didn't stop sudden, he would have ran into something in front of him?

Postby nemisis » August 18th, 2012, 10:44 am

The reasoning used is that you should be driving in a manner that grants you the ability to stop in time. Ie if you wasn't tail gating and left enough distance to come to a complete stop then there wouldn't be an accident. So it's usually once you hit from behind you wrong. In a case where you were at a complete stop and someone hit you into and push your vehicle into a car in front then that's a different story.

Shio

Postby Shio » August 18th, 2012, 1:55 pm

nemisis wrote:The reasoning used is that you should be driving in a manner that grants you the ability to stop in time. Ie if you wasn't tail gating and left enough distance to come to a complete stop then there wouldn't be an accident. So it's usually once you hit from behind you wrong. In a case where you were at a complete stop and someone hit you into and push your vehicle into a car in front then that's a different story.

that right there is what the op should have said ....
why would u tell the insurance differently

Postby Sky » August 18th, 2012, 2:27 pm

nemisis wrote:The reasoning used is that you should be driving in a manner that grants you the ability to stop in time. Ie if you wasn't tail gating and left enough distance to come to a complete stop then there wouldn't be an accident. So it's usually once you hit from behind you wrong. In a case where you were at a complete stop and someone hit you into and push your vehicle into a car in front then that's a different story.

So turns out Stephan didn't stop in time because of his sig, but he was a good driver then :P

mikey_v

Postby mikey_v » August 18th, 2012, 3:02 pm

In a 3 car collision its almost inevitable that no insurance co will take full responsibility and as such all 3 cars will be partly liable, its a common practice in insurance law. even the car that stooped will be saddled with some responsibility for either stopping suddenly, wailing to indicate its intention to stop or creating an emergency situation by stopping. It ultimately depends on the factual matrix of the accident to determine which vehicle will be apportioned which degree of liability.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 18th, 2012, 10:07 pm

morphin wrote:i was involved in a 3 car accident where a car stopped suddenly while going down hill, my car then hit that car and then another car hit mine from the back. My car was in the middle. Anyone knows how or who's insurance has to pay?

u was not paying attention,talk dun....or yuh prolly was up in the man arse....

Postby nervewrecker » August 18th, 2012, 10:10 pm

That part ok with me but what if a mofo pulls in front you?

People use that law as a loophole to bad drive others who 'drive too slow' with a 'hit meh nah' mentality.

I find the law a little silly.

Postby nemisis » August 18th, 2012, 11:47 pm

I agree it silly and you do get that hit meh nah abuse because of it but think of it the other way too them blasted tail gaters hafi cover your repairs Dan!

douglaking

Postby douglaking » August 19th, 2012, 12:39 am

Happened to me in April I was the front vehicle though. I think I have the pics somewhere. The guy last car has to pay for everyone......collected my cheque in 2 weeks

Postby skylinechild » August 19th, 2012, 10:11 am

so in a case of my dads accident the person in front stops suddenly and we hit her- ON the highway. we were both on the left lane- the reason why she stop is to let someone on the shoulder onto the left lane.... :x :x :x
who is wrong here.??

there's a sign that states - in emergency use shoulder. in other words no STOPPING.
there's another sign supposed to be at every entrance ramp on the highway. it reads
NO cycling
No animals
no mopeds
no pedestrians.

so those ppl who does be crossing on the highway when they get runover they deserve it.

Postby nemisis » August 19th, 2012, 10:21 am

^^^ personally especially during traffic anyone who lest a shoulder driver cut in deserves to get hit. When road clear alluh up in meh arse when traffic heavy letting tom dick and Harry pull the illegal drive and cut in Steups I happy your dad hit the person they look for it, hard luck if he had to. Pay though

Postby skylinechild » August 19th, 2012, 10:38 am

^^ this was around 6:30 AM no traffic what so ever......i was in the car...my head hit the dashboard :lol: i should probably service that belt tensioner btw :lol:
just see the idiot driving and stop on the left lane....just for a car to come from the shoulder onto the left lane....she almost get cuss out. she was driving a b14.....and yea we had to pay- we was not expecting someone to STOP ON the left lane....

he could have pulled onto the right lane but a truck was coming down fast.....could have pulled on the extreme left and put the car into a ditch-didnt slow down enough to do that-
he pulled all he could to the left - (if had slowed down some more he would have been able to avoid that accident) and hit the b14 in front- the right side of the car got the worst- left side like nothing happened....

this happened a few yrs ago- i tellin the old man time to install some rear wheel disc brakes- drum is crap....:lol: