$289.6M to fight crime

shaneelal

$289.6M to fight crime

Postby shaneelal » August 16th, 2012, 6:02 pm

Might be cheaper to pay criminals not to commit crimes..but really hope this somehow helps reduce the crime problem.

$289.6M to fight crime
Thursday 16th August, 2012

Cabinet has approved $289.6 million to curtail crime and criminal activity in Trinidad and Tobago.

National Security Minister Jack Warner made the announcement at Thursday's Post Cabinet Media Briefing and gave a listing of new initiatives as well as a breakdown of the figure.

The new initiatives include utilising 5,000 Special Reserve Police (SRPs), the establishment of Police Community Support Groups in all nine Divisions, the acquisition of Information Technology solutions and 300 vehicles for the Police Service.

The breakdown is as follows:
$60 million: SRP establishment
$5.1 million: Police Community Support Groups
164.5 million: IT solutions
$60 million: 300 police vehicles

Minister Warner noted that in the last few days there were commercials to recruit SRPs and members of the Defence Force.

"The hope is to accelerate this programme so as to have these people trained and to hit the road well in advance of the Christmas season."

He said 3,000 of the new SRPS will be placed in the Police Community Support Groups and receive training to work in "non-confrontational areas."

"The aim is to address anti-social behaviour and disorder."

Minister Warner also confirmed that Cabinet has approved a Vehicle Maintenance Policy for new police vehicles.

He added that the proposed anti-crime plan will be revealed in time.

"All attempts have been made to jumbie me, so to speak, and to have me announce this prematurely. I will not be rushed into that. I said before and I will say again, that the plan will be first given to the Prime Minister, then to the National Security Council and then such elements that should be given to the public, shall be given. Let me advise once again that you shall feel the effects of the plan. When the plan is implemented it shall be swift, it shall be surgical, it shall be clinical, and this country shall begin a new era of safety and security."

http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=45014

Re: $289.6M to fight crime

Postby S_2NR » August 16th, 2012, 6:04 pm

Steups. A month after launch everybody will forget about this.

Postby De Dragon » August 16th, 2012, 6:05 pm

Man say people out to jumbie him yes!

Postby bluesteel29 » August 16th, 2012, 6:07 pm

0_o ....hadda link ah lil IT work with uncle jack oui

Postby Sky » August 16th, 2012, 6:09 pm

If crime is our biggest problem then fighting crime should be the biggest expenditure for the country. If anything, that might not be enough. Good going PP.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 16th, 2012, 6:33 pm

Why don't they pay officers properly first.......

Postby Sky » August 16th, 2012, 6:38 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Why don't they pay officers properly first.......

No, admit proper candidates and train them properly first. Let them pay trained professionals properly.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 16th, 2012, 6:47 pm

Sky wrote:

No, admit proper candidates and train them properly first. Let them pay trained professionals properly.

Well that's all part of it, but a salary should not just be attractive to the 5 o levels crew, ppl with higher education who are capable should be able to enter the force with a better starting salary, they should also be seeking to hire ppl who took time to pursue degrees in law, psychology, criminal justice etc to enhance quality of the service.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 16th, 2012, 8:28 pm

who getting that IT contract?

Postby brams112 » August 16th, 2012, 8:33 pm

On top of that thay getting gun to go home with to misplace or murder their spouse,rent out an so on,plus they might car to run racket and burn gas.Dont know how much cars they will get to destroy nah.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 16th, 2012, 8:53 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Sky wrote:

Well that's all part of it, but a salary should not just be attractive to the 5 o levels crew, ppl with higher education who are capable should be able to enter the force with a better starting salary, they should also be seeking to hire ppl who took time to pursue degrees in law, psychology, criminal justice etc to enhance quality of the service.

bro why are you speaking sense...

when you enter any service with 5 O's the ones who enter the service with the help from their fadda,aunties, etc, harp on you for having an education.

I can tell you their are lots of soldiers who use thumbprint as their signature!...i kid you not!

Postby brams112 » August 16th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Those are the ones we need out of the service^^.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2012, 8:59 pm

check a certain miami company affiliated with past fifa it contracts
also possible a dj amp rental company, lol

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:who getting that IT contract?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 17th, 2012, 7:15 am

Somebody eatin ah food with that IT contract

Postby turbosingh » August 17th, 2012, 8:08 am

$289.6M to fight crime,an still it will have crime :?

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » August 17th, 2012, 10:32 am

Well if memory serves me right, Jack is the kinda man like under d table transactions..... Dem contracts go make alot of ppl rich

Postby crazybalhead » August 17th, 2012, 10:35 am

I'm sure it's one of three:

Illuminat
Digidata
Infotech.

`psycho

Postby `psycho » August 17th, 2012, 10:39 am

crazybalhead wrote:

Illuminat
Digidata
Infotech.

and TSL

Postby DVSTT » August 17th, 2012, 11:25 am

I hope they put gps in the police cars, that is long over due.

Postby pioneer » August 17th, 2012, 11:38 am

Just look at the TTPS fb page and you'll see the idiots that trying to join the service.

Can't even type proper english, much less speak and write it.

brb they want to be taken seriously

Postby Sky » August 17th, 2012, 11:46 am

`psycho wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

Illuminat
Digidata
Infotech.

and TSL

It would be nice to create their own IT sector with all those jobless IT grads they churn out of Costaatt and UTT every year. Getting some 100 pound IT contractor doesn't guarantee. Right now I wanna lash some people from companies on that list.

Postby Habit7 » August 17th, 2012, 12:41 pm

These extra cars for police to take home is very fearful for me. Just this week alone, I had a fall-out with a man who refused to move his car for me to pass and he tried to justify his stance by flashing me what appeared to be TTPS ID.

Expect level - personal runs in police vehicles, outside woman in police vehicles, school drop offs, robbery get-away cars and siphoning of fuel tanks.

Postby stev » August 17th, 2012, 1:05 pm

crazybalhead wrote:

Illuminat
Digidata
Infotech.

:lol: not so easy to get dat nah.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 17th, 2012, 1:06 pm

pioneer wrote:Just look at the TTPS fb page and you'll see the idiots that trying to join the service.

Can't even type proper english, much less speak and write it.

brb they want to be taken seriously

And they always beating up when you correct their spelling.

I wonder how much of them can read, big picture stating 3 o's for entry and some dunce always asking what are d requirements. The worst is the ones who always begging for results