MG Man wrote:AdamB wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Kasey wrote: Re-incarnation is the in thing now, just remember when yuh dead and come back in the next life, KASEY TELL YUH SO!!!Now you can put in more of ur ur quotations in here now. Justify ur way of life with documentation of ur way of life.AdamB wrote:#YOLO
EH?? AdamB wrote no such thing! LOL
WRT Reincarnation...supposedly many or all humans who exist now have been reincarnated. Does anyone recall having lived a previous life?
ignorance is not bliss nuh, is fuel for misinformation
rather than condemn, why not ask how reincarnation works?
The same way you invite us to understand your religion, rather than criticize
AdamB wrote:d spike wrote:A honey-bee lives for about 6 weeks. In that short space of time, that bee has to assist in raising young, defending the hive, finding food...
...does it REALLY make sense for bees to waste time arguing about the amount of arms/legs that the beekeeper has? DOES IT MATTER????
While I enjoy a theological discussion, this thread has ceased being such a long time ago...
We are here for a time.
Some of us believe (and such a term implies that we have NO proof of such a thing) that there is a divine being that holds us in existence.
This belief has helped form our society and its values.
(Now, the visual focus of our society has moved away from such values, becoming materialistic... but that is another story.)
Why does it matter to some that their version of this belief system is right AND ALL OTHERS ARE WRONG?
After all, what you believe is yours to believe...For me to tell you your religious conviction is wrong is like me telling you that fishcherry ice-cream should be your favourite ice-cream flavour (because it tastes so good! it's my favourite! and you're a fool for not even attempting to try it... and if you have tasted it before and didn't like it, well, it's not my fault you don't have an educated palate... perhaps you should read some literature on it telling you how good it is for you - written by the guy who sells the stuff...)
Why does it matter to some that their version of this belief system is right AND ALL OTHERS ARE WRONG?
A sense of insecurity?
If all others are wrong, that PROVES that yours is the right one? (No, it doesn't.)
...and, as has been said numerous times before, quoting from religious writings that were written by a believer in the same religion, to support your religious point of view DOES NOT MAKE SENSE!!!!!
Good grief.
That's why I said "TO YOU BE YOUR RELIGION AND TO ME MINE".
bluefete wrote:d spike wrote:Some of us believe (and such a term implies that we have NO proof of such a thing) that there is a divine being that holds us in existence.
Hey Spikey: Let's just say, for arguments sake, that the lotto is $10 million. You go to sleep and while sleeping you dream a "being with wings" comes to you and gives you the numbers for the lotto. You play them and win! What does it prove other than the fact that you won the lotto?
Does it prove that these beings exist? Or was it your sub-conscious that gave you the numbers?
maj. tom wrote:^^
One is just not linked to the other, yet humans perceive that link. Lotto numbers are totally random probabilities....
MG Man wrote:*still waiting on my fishcherry ice cream*
not only that, "a being with wings" is something that you are conditioned to see helping you and bringing good news in your dream.d spike wrote:bluefete wrote:d spike wrote:Some of us believe (and such a term implies that we have NO proof of such a thing) that there is a divine being that holds us in existence.
Hey Spikey: Let's just say, for arguments sake, that the lotto is $10 million. You go to sleep and while sleeping you dream a "being with wings" comes to you and gives you the numbers for the lotto. You play them and win! What does it prove other than the fact that you won the lotto?
Does it prove that these beings exist? Or was it your sub-conscious that gave you the numbers?maj. tom wrote:^^
One is just not linked to the other, yet humans perceive that link. Lotto numbers are totally random probabilities....
Very good point, maj. tom... but I see where bluefete is coming from.
Bluefete, just because you have an intangible ("subconscious"?) experience, that is not "proof". "Proof" is evidence that can be shown or displayed for others to peruse/recognize/identify. A decision made as a result of an experience is NOT proof of the experience itself, neither is an occurrence that is foretold in an experience proof of the experience.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ fastest growing is not largest - a religion growing from 1 follower to 2 is 100% growth!
In 1990, 935 million people were Muslims and this figure had risen to around 1.2 billion by the year 2000, meaning that around this time one in five people were followers of Islam. The number has risen to 1.6 billion in 2010. the Guinness Book of Records states that Islam is the fastest growing religion in the world in 2005.
2.2 billion people in the world are Christian
Evangelical Christianity is the fastest growing religion in Brazil and France.
In Vietnam, Protestants in Vietnam may have grown 600% over the last decade.
1 billion people are Hindu
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Major_religious_groups
A broad figure estimates the number of atheists and agnostics on Earth at 1.1 billion.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atheism#Demographics
Proportion of atheists and agnostics around the world.
Atheists make up 85% of the population in Sweden, 80% in Denmark, 72% in Norway, and 60% in Finland. Between 64% and 65% of Japanese are atheists, agnostics, or do not believe in a god. 34% of the population of New Zealand claim they follow no religion. 21% in Australia.
maj. tom wrote:^^
AdamB will be along to answer that with a made up story created by a man who was so high that he thought he was on a flying unicorn. But the real tragedy is the people who believe it...
AdamB wrote:maj. tom wrote:^^
AdamB will be along to answer that with a made up story created by a man who was so high that he thought he was on a flying unicorn. But the real tragedy is the people who believe it...
For some ONLY SEEING IS BELIEVING but there are others who BELIEVE IN THE UNSEEN.
So you can't scientifically prove something (test hypothesis / observe recordable data / blah blah blah) and to you because of that it doesn't exist.
Can you prove that you love your wife or your kid/s? Can you prove (or has it been proven) with scientific experiments that mercy / compassion, patience, forbearance, kindness, benevolence exists?
Stev, do you believe in the existence of GOD or a supernatural being?
megadoc1 wrote:stev, try google!
stev wrote:megadoc1 wrote:stev, try google!
i did and came across some puzzling info.
i wanna hear it from the people in here....now i wonder if the preachers in here can actually answer my question. lol
AdamB wrote:So if you are looking for answers from religions, then you should look for sources that have the answer from GOD, sources that would be credible in terms of reporting what GOD said.
what makes such a source credible?AdamB wrote: then you should look for sources that have the answer from GOD, sources that would be credible in terms of reporting what GOD said.
AdamB wrote:maj. tom wrote:^^
For some ONLY SEEING IS BELIEVING but there are others who BELIEVE IN THE UNSEEN. What was the point of this statement? Don't we already know this?
So you can't scientifically prove something (test hypothesis / observe recordable data / blah blah blah) and to you because of that it doesn't exist.
Can you prove that you love your wife or your kid/s? yes, if they die, I will cry Can you prove (or has it been proven) with scientific experiments that mercy / compassion, patience, forbearance, kindness, benevolence exists?yes, through Psycology, and Psychaitry
Stev, do you believe in the existence of GOD or a supernatural being?what was the point of this response again?