PUBLIC HOLIDAY - Monday 13th AUGUST 2012

Re: PUBLIC HOLIDAY - Monday 13th AUGUST 2012

Postby BrotherHood » August 13th, 2012, 11:09 pm

rfari wrote:sleep on the plane and jink rum when u touch down

tork nah, oar!

Postby rfari » August 13th, 2012, 11:16 pm

dem fellas eh know how to conduct it ah tal nah

Postby Stephon. » August 13th, 2012, 11:26 pm

eliteauto wrote:ah feeeling sorry for de man , musbe real tired dey dan, ge him ah cuppa tea dey

ohmygod!!! :rofl:

Postby BrotherHood » August 13th, 2012, 11:28 pm

dem lame.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 13th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Today turned out well.....Got to stay home...spent whole day with the family and took the kid out....

thanks for the holiday!!

Postby Habit7 » August 13th, 2012, 11:32 pm

eliteauto wrote:Image

this needs to be explained :idea:

Postby BrotherHood » August 13th, 2012, 11:35 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Today turned out well.....Got to stay home...spent whole day with the family and took the kid out....

thanks for the holiday!!

dun know, got alot done.

IB someone bawl theif/rob etc.

Postby rfari » August 13th, 2012, 11:43 pm

Kpb reminds me of aunt jemima dey

Postby gt4tified » August 14th, 2012, 12:36 am

rfari wrote:Kpb reminds me of aunt jemima dey

Oh yeah that too.....I was thinking the Turban Curry logo.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 14th, 2012, 1:13 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
zcarz wrote:I hear they rename Toco to Keshorn Walcott

the light house...

that too.. and central bank

geodude

Postby geodude » August 14th, 2012, 8:16 am

woi woi!!!!!!!! Kamala cup,
i want i want,
where it sharing ?

Postby stev » August 14th, 2012, 10:26 am

so which one ah allyuh mofos not wukkin today? its tuesday

Postby RBphoto » August 14th, 2012, 10:36 am

Man hadda wuk..

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2012, 10:44 am

hadda eat ah food dan...... wedding coming up soon

Postby RBphoto » August 14th, 2012, 10:50 am

^^Condolences breddaman :(

Postby stev » August 14th, 2012, 11:57 am

Kraken and Medusa in ting?

Postby BrotherHood » August 14th, 2012, 12:09 pm

stev wrote:so which one ah allyuh mofos not wukkin today? its tuesday

man hadda wuk

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 14th, 2012, 12:16 pm

YESTERDAY'S public holiday, announced as a "gift' by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to the nation to celebrate the success of the London 2012 Olympians, means this country would have 15 State-sanctioned days off this year.

And according to the website http://www.tourism-review.com Trinidad and Tobago is among the top ten countries in the world for the number of public holidays.

The website, which does not list Trinidad and Tobago, ranks Malaysia with 14 holidays as number seven. China and Egypt top the list with 16 holidays a year.

India, Indonesia,Thailand and Morocco follow with 15 holidays. South Korea, Chile and Turkey are on the list with 13 public holidays.

This month, there are four public holidays—Emancipation Day on August 1, yesterday's holiday, Eid-ul-Fitr to be celebrated on August 20, and Independence Day on August 31.

The other public holidays are New Year's Day, Spiritual Baptist Liberation Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Indian Arrival Day, Corpus Christi, Labour Day, Republic Day, Divali, Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

Trinidad Express

------

The Government has come under heavy criticism from the north Trinidad based business community for its decision to declare yesterday a public holiday.

The announcement of the public holiday was made by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar in a national address on Sunday at around 7.30 p.m. The holiday was declared to mark Keshorn Walcott's gold medal feat in javelin at the Olympics and his return home from the London games.

Businessmen however yesterday complained to the Express that the holiday was ill-timed and the late hour announcement left them scrambling to make alternative arrangements for the Monday morning start of the work week.

In a matter of hours, businesses saw their wage bill increase as certain companies had to pay workers triple time for yesterday's duties.

One businessman also pointed out that his daily-paid workers would have a salary cut this week.
Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (DOMA) president Gregory Aboud said Walcott's was an "overwhelming accomplishment but we should not be so overwhelmed so as to lose our minds and participate in less than meaningful jubilation".

"No one can fail to understand that a last-minute Monday shutdown announced on a Sunday night will cause tremendous dislocation in all the productive sectors of the society including the banks, port operations, the administration of justice, factory productivity, courier flights—Fed Ex and DHL—the list is endless and the damage is hard to measure," he told the Express.

"It is even more difficult to understand when we contemplate that this rush to celebrate cannot deliver the type of meaningful national togetherness that could have been realised by a well-planned event involving all our athletes in a national pride parade," he added.

Aboud explained that while the business community was proud of the wonderful representation by the Olympic athletes, "we simply feel that a more structured and balanced approach to national affairs would have led us to a better organised tribute without the disruption caused today."

Already, T&T has three holidays in August—Emancipation Day which was celebrated on August 1, the upcoming Eid holiday on August 20 and Independence Day on August 31.

"It could have been scheduled better," said Dominic Hadeed, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers Association (TTMA).

Hadeed, whose organisation represents some 250 businesses ranging from construction to food industries, said the announcement was a "now for now" thing.

"We are very proud of our athletes and their achievements in the Olympics and we think they are deserving of reward and celebration but we were taken aback at the short notice for the holiday.

"It was easily a case of not enough planning," he told the Express from his Blue Waters offices yesterday.
Hadeed pointed out that when Grenada's Kirani James copped a gold medal for his Olympic race, the government announced that they would have a public holiday, thereby putting businesses on notice in advance.

He said it would have been courteous and common good practice for the Government to have factored in circumstances such as business people who had meetings scheduled for yesterday in Port of Spain, people who had business to conduct in banks and people who had set up other private appointments.

He noted that two of his bread manufacturers—Kiss Baking and Linda's—had to throw away their batches of mixed flour as people did not show up for work, drivers did not turn up for delivery and places earmarked for delivery were closed.

"The challenge we faced is that the Prime Minister said holiday and no one came up to work. Manufacturers did not have the opportunity to think about offering triple time to their workers.

"The notice was too short. Some of them couldn't even access their workers at that late hour," Hadeed stated.
"This is not about the bottom line. A public holiday can have no impact on the bottom line if you have time to prepare," he added.

Hadeed even questioned the wisdom of the Government's decision to declare a holiday.
"The United States won 46 gold medals and 104 overall, you don't see them declaring a holiday. I have tremendous confidence in the people of Trinidad and Tobago and I think we can do great things. If we wanted, we can do something great everyday, do we declare a holiday for that? It's like we can't believe we're successful," he said.

He suggested that the Government could have tagged an extra day to the Independence day holiday to add to the auspiciousness of the Jubilee celebration.

While the majority of Port of Spain businesses remained closed yesterday, some still opened—restaurants and theatres at MovieTowne were opened, pharmacies had regular working hours, select groceries were opened for half-day and DVD vendors continued to ply their trade along the Brian Lara Promenade.

MovieTowne owner Derek Chin said the notice was short but in this instance, the Olympians were worthy of tribute.

Chin, who is in Santo Domingo now, said he wanted to keep the mood upbeat as the athletes had made the country proud.

Food outlets such as Pollo Tropical, Sweet Lime, Subway and KFC had branches opened as well as select restaurants on the Avenue. The country's embassies also remained open for scheduled visa business yesterday.

Trinidad Express

Postby turbosingh » August 14th, 2012, 12:33 pm

Ah fella from work ready an gone to work only realising the place closed yesterday! :lol:

Postby RBphoto » August 14th, 2012, 1:39 pm

I say fleck DOMA. Syrian eh sell enough cloth? Is once in 30 years we get ompic gold... gotta live it up yo!!!!!!

TriP

Postby TriP » August 14th, 2012, 3:41 pm

heh heh!!
221152_394434110611890_1459444100_o.jpg

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2012, 5:26 pm

^
that wasn't the argument. Did you even read the article man? They could have given notice and put the Holiday on Friday with a National Rally and whatever else plans. You think Fedex and banks and appointments want to reschedule the world because of a less-than-5 hours-prior announcement of a holiday?

geodude

Postby geodude » August 14th, 2012, 5:53 pm

i agree with the articles it was poor execution, they should have announced that a holiday will be given so as to allow ppl to plan better for it, not sure why they saw the need to rush it so, i guess they were a bit over excited it seems.

Postby AllTrac » August 14th, 2012, 6:16 pm

i want to know why whole day yesterday tantie kams calling de boy Keeshan :S

Postby Bizzare » August 14th, 2012, 6:33 pm

keeshan iz injun fuh keshorn

Postby AllTrac » August 14th, 2012, 6:36 pm

well he didnt win ah ODI, de fcuk wrong with she? she eh see is yam and oil dong running tru he veins?

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2012, 6:40 pm

She wants it to be keeshan

Postby Bizzare » August 14th, 2012, 6:41 pm

she prefers keeshan. her culture is strong

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 14th, 2012, 6:43 pm

I find this should of been to celebrate everyone who medal .

Postby Stephon. » August 14th, 2012, 7:13 pm

firstchoicett wrote:I find this should of been to celebrate everyone who medal .

I think you just accidentally your post, you have 2 more tries, please use your next two attempts wisely