Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Reefplanet

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Reefplanet » August 8th, 2012, 11:49 am

It's not crayfish nor ghost shrimp cause they can sometimes be a pest...its doesnt have to be the same color..once it is small, eat algae..and used in planted aquariums.them blue shrimp u see in the pet sho with pvc for them as caves are crayfish...once they tiny like a few cm as adults that is wut i looking for.What/where is chias?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2012, 5:29 pm

Fishman wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
rmtuner wrote:chais have the azoo version to that.

HondaB20B wrote:Anyone see this in any petshop around recently?

http://www.amazon.com/Silent-Series-Bat ... p+air+pump

Nah the azoo pump is different. The pump i'm looking for has a relay in it that remains open (off mode) when its plugged in and current is flowing to the circuit. When power goes, the relay closes (on mode) and the air pump runs until power is restored. The azoo constantly stays on and when power goes it just keeps on running off battery power. Dont want an airpump thats costantly running...............................thats not good for saltwater tanks.

Last time that I was in Pantins, which is a long time ago, he had a few for sale. Give them a call to see if they still have.

Will check them when i get in...................thanks

dgobo

Postby dgobo » August 8th, 2012, 6:35 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
dgobo wrote:Guys I'm in the process of setting up a new tank 72x18x36. It was supposed to be a fresh water for my son ( he's only five months and likes to look at the fishes already) so I was thinking I'll just make it a long term project and create a salt instead. I know the first answer I'm going to get is use google and believe me I have. I've more or less got all the major components I will be ordering. Basically im mimicking a couple setups from reefcentral in terms of equipment. What I was wondering is there anyone locally who can really guide/ help me setup and maintain so that I can avoid wasting unnecessary moony and time ?

some major info that anyone may ask that will help you along the way.

1) Have you ever kept any kind of fish (freshwater) on the whole.
Reason i ask is if you have kept freshwater fish before then its easier to maintain a saltwater tank because of your knowledge. Yes i have for many years, although i havent had any in recent time.

2) What are you interested in, a FOWLR (Fish Only With Live Rock) or Reef. FOWLR

3) If you going reef, what type of reef,
a) SPS
b) LPS
c) Mixed

4) 72"X18"X36".......... is the 18" the width or the height.72-length x 18 wide x 36 high

5) What lighting system were you looking at, MH, LED's, T5's, combo's would like to go led's but i fine the price is to high, so i guess i'll stick to T5's

6) Filtration........... does the tank have an overflow system/drain, are you going to use HOB filter or cannister the tank will have an overflow, it either going to two on the back corners or one large one on the end of the tank.

7) Whats all the major parts were you ordering
Pumps - both for circulation (powerheads) and for return (if required)PanWorld 250PS External Water Pump
Skimmer-Octopus 200 NW
Chiller (if required)- Yes, havent research this one yet
others - reactors, ATO, timers meters, test kits, RO/DI unit, etc- Two Little Fishes Phosban, Biopellet
Calcium reactor with ph controller
Nitrate Reactor
Tunze Osmolator 3155
75 GPD RO/DI 5 Stage *PLUS* System

thats about the major items so far, do you think im on the right track.

Just some of the info needed so far...........................

Postby UML » August 8th, 2012, 7:54 pm

RIP

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2012, 8:14 pm

UML wrote:Image

RIP

What happen

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2012, 8:32 pm

dgobo wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
dgobo wrote:Guys I'm in the process of setting up a new tank 72x18x36. It was supposed to be a fresh water for my son ( he's only five months and likes to look at the fishes already) so I was thinking I'll just make it a long term project and create a salt instead. I know the first answer I'm going to get is use google and believe me I have. I've more or less got all the major components I will be ordering. Basically im mimicking a couple setups from reefcentral in terms of equipment. What I was wondering is there anyone locally who can really guide/ help me setup and maintain so that I can avoid wasting unnecessary moony and time ?

Reason i ask is if you have kept freshwater fish before then its easier to maintain a saltwater tank because of your knowledge. Yes i have for many years, although i havent had any in recent time. cool

2) What are you interested in, a FOWLR (Fish Only With Live Rock) or Reef. FOWLRok

a) SPS
b) LPS
c) Mixed
N/A
4) 72"X18"X36".......... is the 18" the width or the height.72-length x 18 wide x 36 high that tank real deep,but then again you not doing corals so you good for now

5) What lighting system were you looking at, MH, LED's, T5's, combo's would like to go led's but i fine the price is to high, so i guess i'll stick to T5's ok, just to let you know that a T5 bulb is $150 and since you not going corals you only need about 4-6 bulbs. but you need to change them every 9-12 mts. I have to change mine every 6-9mths

6) Filtration........... does the tank have an overflow system/drain, are you going to use HOB filter or cannister the tank will have an overflow, it either going to two on the back corners or one large one on the end of the tank. thats your choice, i have one on mine with no issues

Pumps - both for circulation (powerheads) and for return (if required)PanWorld 250PS External Water Pump I went with the MagDrive1800 because i have the support when it comes to parts. If your pump goes, i really dont think you want to wait a week or more for the parts to reach with your skybox........ by that time all your fish under stress and/or dead
Skimmer-Octopus 200 NWthat could work
Chiller (if required)- Yes, havent research this one yetok
others - reactors, ATO, timers meters, test kits, RO/DI unit, etc- Two Little Fishes Phosban, Biopellet [color=#BF0000]the bio-pellets is still a maybe
Calcium reactor with ph controlleryou dont need a calcium reactor cause you not having corals. Why ou want a PH controller now? Waste of money. I bought the digital pen and check ever so often and over the last 11 1/2mths the tank running, its always stayed 8.1-8.3
Nitrate Reactor why?
Tunze Osmolator 3155 WHY?
75 GPD RO/DI 5 Stage *PLUS* System ok

[/color]

Last edited by HondaB20B on August 8th, 2012, 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » August 8th, 2012, 8:39 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:Image

RIP

What happen

i doh know cud be many things:

i doh know if my temp too high (cause my old thermometer was saying 79 degrees the new one saying 84 degrees so me eh know which one wrong......but the coral was living all the time before i change thermometers)

or

i doh know if it died when i put it in my sump for my peppermint shrimp to eat an aiptasia i see that was growing under it and the temp change or temp in the sump was too hot

or

i doh know if the vodka dosing kill it

i real bummed..steups

i really liked that coral

:cry: :cry: :cry:

i know wah u going to say...."buy a chiller"

:cry: :cry: :cry:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2012, 8:41 pm

how long it stay in the sump for

Postby UML » August 8th, 2012, 8:45 pm

12 hrs+

i remember putting it in the afternoon and moving it back the next morning

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2012, 8:46 pm

no fish down there of strong light

Postby UML » August 8th, 2012, 8:50 pm

nope :( only peppermint shrimp and sea urchins

cud also be the vodka cause i doh know wah the firetruck i was thinking and dosed the vodka in the sump that day :(

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2012, 8:56 pm

either that or the sea urchin

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2012, 8:58 pm

i had an urchin that ate zoas and other corals in my other tank. Last i saw, it was doing about 20mph out the window

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » August 9th, 2012, 1:41 am

Still undecided about lighting on my 48x18x18 freshwater, semi planted tank... I really like the shimmering effect that the led's give. But they pretty expensive... Anybody tried 50w-100w halogen bulbs? What about compact fluorescent? Any DIY lighting folks out there?

LucaG

Postby LucaG » August 9th, 2012, 9:17 am

Saltwater Aquarium for sale with live rock, sand, fish, lighting, skimmer, phosban reactor, power head, hang on/internal overflow box.

Fish:
Purple Tang
Royal gramma
3 x Chromis
2 x Black Clownfish
Bubble tip anemone
Two frags of Pulsing Xeina

Equipment:
Aquarium - 25" Wide x 25" Deep x 25" High - Its a square tank. - $4000
Sump Tank - 20" Wide x 12" Deep x 15" High - $125
Coralife T5 Quad Lamp Fixture with Lunar Aqualight Led 30" T 5 - $2500
Aqua Lifter Pump with hang on bracket - $185
Phosban Aquarium Phosphate Reactor 150 with Top Quality Phosban (1 lb) - $700
Seaclone 150 Protein Skimmer - $300
Koralia Evolution Water Pump 1050gph - $350
E.S.V. B-Ionic 2 Part Calcium Buffer (2 x 1 Gallon Bottles) - $ 400

Coming with built in stand and cabinet

Price of Equipment (fish not included in price) -$8560 TTD

Contact Nicholas @ 472-8645

Postby UML » August 9th, 2012, 2:20 pm

HondaB20B wrote:either that or the sea urchin

oh shiit i forget about them...das the reason they in the sump

steups

feeling real fawked up :(

HondaB20B wrote:i had an urchin that ate zoas and other corals in my other tank. Last i saw, it was doing about 20mph out the window

i cudnt do that put them in the sump....now i thinking i shuda do dat too oui!! :(

d@v3

Postby d@v3 » August 9th, 2012, 10:37 pm

HondaB20B wrote:JUST AH LIL MORE OF THE TANK..........................I'LL LEAVE EVERYONE WANTING MORE :D :D

Wife took these just now................. not putting a full shot of the tank yet............ENJOY :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

what is the name of that octopus looking thing in the last tank.. caught a couple sometime just wanna know what is the name of it ???

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 10th, 2012, 6:38 am

d@v3 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:JUST AH LIL MORE OF THE TANK..........................I'LL LEAVE EVERYONE WANTING MORE :D :D

Wife took these just now................. not putting a full shot of the tank yet............ENJOY :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

what is the name of that octopus looking thing in the last tank.. caught a couple sometime just wanna know what is the name of it ???

its a serpent sea star. This one has grown allot since i got it about 5 mths now. The disk is about
1 1/4" & each leg is about 4" long.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2012, 12:13 am

HondaB20B wrote:
dgobo wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

Reason i ask is if you have kept freshwater fish before then its easier to maintain a saltwater tank because of your knowledge. Yes i have for many years, although i havent had any in recent time. cool

2) What are you interested in, a FOWLR (Fish Only With Live Rock) or Reef. FOWLRok

a) SPS
b) LPS
c) Mixed
N/A
4) 72"X18"X36".......... is the 18" the width or the height.72-length x 18 wide x 36 high that tank real deep,but then again you not doing corals so you good for now

5) What lighting system were you looking at, MH, LED's, T5's, combo's would like to go led's but i fine the price is to high, so i guess i'll stick to T5's ok, just to let you know that a T5 bulb is $150 and since you not going corals you only need about 4-6 bulbs. but you need to change them every 9-12 mts. I have to change mine every 6-9mths

6) Filtration........... does the tank have an overflow system/drain, are you going to use HOB filter or cannister the tank will have an overflow, it either going to two on the back corners or one large one on the end of the tank. thats your choice, i have one on mine with no issues

Pumps - both for circulation (powerheads) and for return (if required)PanWorld 250PS External Water Pump I went with the MagDrive1800 because i have the support when it comes to parts. If your pump goes, i really dont think you want to wait a week or more for the parts to reach with your skybox........ by that time all your fish under stress and/or dead
others - reactors, ATO, timers meters, test kits, RO/DI unit, etc- Two Little Fishes Phosban, Biopellet [color=#BF0000]the bio-pellets is still a maybe
Calcium reactor with ph controlleryou dont need a calcium reactor cause you not having corals. Why ou want a PH controller now? Waste of money. I bought the digital pen and check ever so often and over the last 11 1/2mths the tank running, its always stayed 8.1-8.3
Nitrate Reactor why?

[/color]

did the info help you out so far?

some other things you should note, If you going to use the Octopus 200 NW skimmer, buy it first and then build your sump cause the footprint is big. Also make sure you have the room under the stand as in hieght. Its 15.6" x 10.25" x 23.75" HIGH so you will have to go allot bigger to fit it.
The PanWorld 250PS External Water Pump is double the cost of the Magdrive 1800 on Amazon.
Your lighting, you going to buy or make a hood?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2012, 8:28 am

Postby UML » August 11th, 2012, 9:58 am

4. Then, double the daily dosage to 0.2 ml per 25 gallons (100 L) for days 4 to 7.

5. On week two, add an additional 0.5ml to the daily dosage, regardless of the aquarium volume.

hondab20b, just to confirm, I adding 0.5ml to the already 0.2ml to a total of 0.7ml right???

doh want to do more shiit than i already doing :(

thanks

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2012, 10:39 am

keep on dosing the same amount for another week or 2 (dont increase) and see if your nitrates drop. Didnt you say you figure maybe thats why your coral died? Remember every tank is different. So what you see online is what worked for them. But yes, they did say an additional 0.02 ml. For example, allot of people using Bio-pellets in the US with poor results (nitrates still high, cloudy water, heavy algae bloom, corals receeding within a wk, corals stop growing) some have real good results....... i am one of them. There is a couple people that i met by Raj that take their bio-pellets offline cause of problems. Some of my corals i supposed to be target feeding, i have never done it. My corals grow very fast because i have watched my lighting and moved around corals to suit their need and not placement due to how it looks in the tank. This hobby is really a trial and error thing, just do it in small increments.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » August 11th, 2012, 10:45 am

HondaB20B wrote:
dgobo wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

a) SPS
b) LPS
c) Mixed
N/A

Nitrate Reactor why?

[/color]

did the info help you out so far?

some other things you should note, If you going to use the Octopus 200 NW skimmer, buy it first and then build your sump cause the footprint is big. Also make sure you have the room under the stand as in hieght. Its 15.6" x 10.25" x 23.75" HIGH so you will have to go allot bigger to fit it.
The PanWorld 250PS External Water Pump is double the cost of the Magdrive 1800 on Amazon.
Your lighting, you going to buy or make a hood?

Im using tapatalk and I believe I'm not seeing all the posts.

As for the sump, it's not going to be under the tank. Im running the plumbing through my wall and all the sumps, skimmer, reactors, chiller, etc is going to the outside of the house. So I should have a little more room to work with.
I will definitely look at the pump you suggested and I'm making a custom hood/ cabinet kind of thingy.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2012, 10:46 am

Whats your figures on your nitrates and nitrites at the moment compared to before

Postby UML » August 11th, 2012, 10:57 am

HondaB20B wrote:keep on dosing the same amount for another week or 2 (dont increase) and see if your nitrates drop. Didnt you say you figure maybe thats why your coral died? Remember every tank is different. So what you see online is what worked for them. But yes, they did say an additional 0.02 ml. For example, allot of people using Bio-pellets in the US with poor results (nitrates still high, cloudy water, heavy algae bloom, corals receeding within a wk, corals stop growing) some have real good results....... i am one of them. There is a couple people that i met by Raj that take their bio-pellets offline cause of problems. Some of my corals i supposed to be target feeding, i have never done it. My corals grow very fast because i have watched my lighting and moved around corals to suit their need and not placement due to how it looks in the tank. This hobby is really a trial and error thing, just do it in small increments.

i starting week 2 today...i already increased from the 0.1ml to the 0.2ml

not sure if i seeing any change in the readings :? :oops:

very minimal improvement if any at all.

today i supposed to add the 0.5ml to the current 0.2ml

but i will stick with the 0.2ml for another week and see if i get any improvement.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2012, 11:21 am

things take time.....................

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 11th, 2012, 12:34 pm

Vodka dosing or any carbon dosing needs to be done slowly. It took me months to get my nitrate down. It does not happen over night. Also the problems seen with bio pellets are most of the the time due to beginning with too much. A small amount should be started with and the slowly ramped up. Using too much bio pellets or any carbon source at the start will cause a bacteria bloom/cloudy water that will drop oxygen levels and cause problems.

Unfortunately nothing good happens quickly in this hobby.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2012, 12:51 pm

fishman, you pass by raj yet? i now going to leave south to go by him
Last edited by HondaB20B on August 11th, 2012, 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 11th, 2012, 12:53 pm

Yeah. I went there this week. He has some nice looking LPS. Got a couple SPS frags. A pink birdsnest and a millepora.
Last edited by Fishman on August 11th, 2012, 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2012, 12:55 pm

you saw the Red scollies, now going to pick up 2 from by him