Ronaldo95163 wrote:while pick-combing her afro
Bizzare wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Trinis need to stop congratulating mediocrity.
If an athlete did his/her BEST (this includes training), then I would continue to congratulate him/her despite the results !!! We are not congratulating them for the results, it's for making their best attempt at representing Trini.
AbstractPoetic wrote:Trinis need to stop congratulating mediocrity.
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Last time I saw pics of AP she was a fat.....
pioneer wrote:Sorry but USA gonna dominate that W 200m...at least 2 medals...jamaica may get one.
AbstractPoetic wrote:Bizzare wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Trinis need to stop congratulating mediocrity.
If an athlete did his/her BEST (this includes training), then I would continue to congratulate him/her despite the results !!! We are not congratulating them for the results, it's for making their best attempt at representing Trini.
Semoy did NOT perform at her personal best in the Finals. She should have at least tried to maintain it (better yet succeed it), but she fell short, coming out a dead last 8th.
And what do I hear Trinis say or do?
"GREAT JOB!!"
"YOU DID GREAT SEMOY! CONGRATULATIONS!"
"WE ARE PROUD OF YOU!"
...by congratulating "good enough", you will seldom get athletes to perform their best. As I was telling sharkman, take a look at the Chinese who always dominate the Olympics and tell me, would they have accepted such a performance? Would their country have responded in like manner?
...mediocrity is not to be congratulated.
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Last time I saw pics of AP she was a fatty
So me eh knw how she tun Joel Villafana and feel she is some big sports expert
pioneer wrote:I fully agree with you
However you have to think about the audience on tuner, most of them absorb themselves with mediocrity so you just have to lol@ them
AbstractPoetic wrote:Do you know what the problem is?
The mentality. Trinboganians and Trinbagonian athletes do not go into these games EXPECTING to win. This plantation mentality needs to change. The Chinese, the Americans, the Japanese go into games expecting to place and win a medal. But Trinis?
"Well, at least he show up at the Olympics...that is ting to be proud of and celebrate!"
"Well, them Chinese and Americans have more resources nah...yuh cyar expect we to compete at dey level"
"...Oh gosh, the man make the Finals. We have so much to be thankful fuh. He put us on the map!"
COMPLETE AND UTTER DOHTISHNESS.
I believe in the law of attraction which is part of the competitiveness of the athletes who dominate and win. They go into these games knowing that they will win and they do.
Change the mentality and you just might start MEDALING at the Olympics. Athletes are not there to play dolly house...they are there to win.
AbstractPoetic wrote:Semoy did NOT perform at her personal best in the Finals. She should have at least tried to maintain it (better yet succeed it), but she fell short, coming out a dead last 8th.
And what do I hear Trinis say or do?
"GREAT JOB!!"
"YOU DID GREAT SEMOY! CONGRATULATIONS!"
"WE ARE PROUD OF YOU!"
...by congratulating "good enough", you will seldom get athletes to perform their best. As I was telling sharkman, take a look at the Chinese who always dominate the Olympics and tell me, would they have accepted such a performance? Would their country have responded in like manner?
...mediocrity is not to be congratulated.
Bizzare wrote:i haz seen da pic. someone got banned for posting it. that one?
pioneer wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Do you know what the problem is?
The mentality. Trinboganians and Trinbagonian athletes do not go into these games EXPECTING to win. This plantation mentality needs to change. The Chinese, the Americans, the Japanese go into games expecting to place and win a medal. But Trinis?
"Well, at least he show up at the Olympics...that is ting to be proud of and celebrate!"
"Well, them Chinese and Americans have more resources nah...yuh cyar expect we to compete at dey level"
"...Oh gosh, the man make the Finals. We have so much to be thankful fuh. He put us on the map!"
COMPLETE AND UTTER DOHTISHNESS.
I believe in the law of attraction which is part of the competitiveness of the athletes who dominate and win. They go into these games knowing that they will win and they do.
Change the mentality and you just might start MEDALING at the Olympics. Athletes are not there to play dolly house...they are there to win.
What makes it worse is that tax payers' money gonna be used to "reward" these people for winning, nothing.
Fine we got a bronze from someone who doesn't even live, study or work in T&T, so what he gets a house now?
Give him an award when the national sports awards come around, I don't see why we need to spend millions to award mediocrity.
sharkman121 wrote:Their facilities, coached, funding, programes are miles ahead of ours
Bizzare wrote:sharkman121 wrote:Their facilities, coached, funding, programes are miles ahead of ours
This. U cannot put all the blame on local athletes.
The government is simply rewarding what they themselves produce.
An athlete can only go so far. Our athletes have to beg to get anything done.
sharkman121 wrote:The chinese are much diffferent from Trinidad and Tobago a country one thousandth of their size. They have a dedicated rigourous training programmed targeting athletes from birth and devotes their LIFE to it. Their facilities, coached, funding, programes are miles ahead of ours yet you compare them to us?
pioneer wrote:What makes it worse is that tax payers' money gonna be used to "reward" these people for winning, nothing.
Fine we got a bronze from someone who doesn't even live, study or work in T&T, so what he gets a house now?
Give him an award when the national sports awards come around, I don't see why we need to spend millions to award mediocrity.
Olympic rowing: Niger rower Hamadou
Issaka captures hearts
Niger rower Hamadou Djibo Issaka received a
rapturous reception from the Eton Dorney crowd
despite finishing last in the men's singles sculls.
The 35-year-old, who has been nicknamed "Issaka
the Otter," finished the 2,000m stretch in just
under nine minutes in a race to settle the bottom
three places.
Issaka only took up rowing three months ago and
trained for his Olympic debut in an old fishing
boat.
He now plans to compete at the 2016 Games in
Brazil.
Issaka's time was nearly two minutes slower than
the winning mark set later on Friday by New
Zealand's gold medallist Mahe Drysdale.
“
I have no technique; I only rely on power
”
Hamadou Djibo Issaka But put into perspective that is still some feat for
the 35-year-old from the landlocked, arid nation
of Niger , which nestles on the edge of the
Sahara desert.
Issaka is a wildcard entry at the London Olympics
and before the Games he worked as a gardener
and swimming pool attendant in the capital of
Niamey.
He was then sent by the Niger Swimming
Federation to Egypt and then Tunisia for an
intensive course in rowing.
"I have no technique," Issaka said. "I only rely on
power. I compete with courage, but there also
people cheering me there, they applaud me and
urge me to help me finish my race and I will do
it."
Issaka's Olympic adventure may be over but
there are already murmurs that his rowing
exploits have started a craze in Niger.
"There are lots of people who are waiting for me
to get back," he said. "Lots of people who want to
start rowing and I have to teach them."
AbstractPoetic wrote:sharkman121 wrote:The chinese are much diffferent from Trinidad and Tobago a country one thousandth of their size. They have a dedicated rigourous training programmed targeting athletes from birth and devotes their LIFE to it. Their facilities, coached, funding, programes are miles ahead of ours yet you compare them to us?
Then the question remains why aren't facilities, coaching, funding, programmes, etc at the level it needs to be to prepare athletes to compete with the best??
And even still, why not support local talent by sending them to those countries with such facilities? Kirani James did so with the support of the Grenadian government. In return, he represented his island and won them a gold medal. What is Trinidad's problem? And don't tell me you all do not have the money. If the government can pay parliamentarians $10M a pop, they sure can spend a few millions on athletic talent.
Excuses and more excuses....Trinidad is the land of excuses.
rfari wrote:Olympic rowing: Niger rower Hamadou
Issaka captures hearts
Niger rower Hamadou Djibo Issaka received a
rapturous reception from the Eton Dorney crowd
despite finishing last in the men's singles sculls.
The 35-year-old, who has been nicknamed "Issaka
the Otter," finished the 2,000m stretch in just
under nine minutes in a race to settle the bottom
three places.
Issaka only took up rowing three months ago and
trained for his Olympic debut in an old fishing
boat.
He now plans to compete at the 2016 Games in
Brazil.
Issaka's time was nearly two minutes slower than
the winning mark set later on Friday by New
Zealand's gold medallist Mahe Drysdale.
“
I have no technique; I only rely on power
”
Hamadou Djibo Issaka But put into perspective that is still some feat for
the 35-year-old from the landlocked, arid nation
of Niger , which nestles on the edge of the
Sahara desert.
Issaka is a wildcard entry at the London Olympics
and before the Games he worked as a gardener
and swimming pool attendant in the capital of
Niamey.
He was then sent by the Niger Swimming
Federation to Egypt and then Tunisia for an
intensive course in rowing.
"I have no technique," Issaka said. "I only rely on
power. I compete with courage, but there also
people cheering me there, they applaud me and
urge me to help me finish my race and I will do
it."
Issaka's Olympic adventure may be over but
there are already murmurs that his rowing
exploits have started a craze in Niger.
"There are lots of people who are waiting for me
to get back," he said. "Lots of people who want to
start rowing and I have to teach them."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rowing/19112057
Olympics is not only about winning, its about having national pride and giving ur all. Its in the spirit of the games