***what musical instrument you play thread***

Re: ***what musical instrument you play thread***

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2012, 8:50 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so this might be ah stretch then :lol: :lol:

Remo skins? Please! Nothing could beat the rich sound of a goat skin tuned over a fireside.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 8:52 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so this might be ah stretch then :lol: :lol:

Remo skins? Please! Nothing could beat the rich sound of a goat skin tuned over a fireside.

well yeah goat skin is d realist....dat sheit does buss ears....once heated good and ah man could roll,well yuh noe d ress.

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 8th, 2012, 9:00 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
trini_champ wrote:. . . .I respect all instruments but some more than others. . . .

I want to become proficient in playing the box bass. Would I be respected in the musical community when, not if, I become the "Geddy Lee" equivalent in playing the box bass?

Sorry, I give equal respect to all musical instruments.

Of course u would be respected. I'm not downplaying the box base or those who play it. I, myself have played the box base and enjoyed it thoroughly but I would not put it in the same class as an instrument that can do so much more and produce a much greater variety of sound.

Therefore, I respect some instruments more than others.

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 9:04 am

trini_champ wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
trini_champ wrote:. . . .I respect all instruments but some more than others. . . .

I want to become proficient in playing the box bass. Would I be respected in the musical community when, not if, I become the "Geddy Lee" equivalent in playing the box bass?

Sorry, I give equal respect to all musical instruments.

Of course u would be respected. I'm not downplaying the box base or those who play it. I, myself have played the box base and enjoyed it thoroughly but I would not put it in the same class as an instrument that can do so much more and produce a much greater variety of sound.

Therefore, I respect some instruments more than others.

u can't even spell bass properly.........no respect for you

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 8th, 2012, 9:05 am

Ok sorry, thought this was a discussion on music.

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 9:06 am

getting a lil hot under the collar there chet?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2012, 9:07 am

trini_champ wrote:Ok sorry, thought this was a discussion on music.

You are digging yourself into an even deeper hole. . . .even less than "no respect" for you.

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 8th, 2012, 9:08 am

I thought I was being quite polite. Let's say u win. I'd rather not digress from the true purpose of the thread.

Postby Les Bain » August 8th, 2012, 9:10 am

Guitar for me. Learned through Ultimate-Guitar tabs and the rockongoodpeople youtube channel, plus many similar Youtube channels.

Would like to learn to play everything else in a standard band setup (bass & drums) as well as a prog band setup (keyboards, Moog synthesizer, cowbell).

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 9:11 am

nuff respect for le recorder

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 8th, 2012, 9:21 am

Yes, the recorder in that song sounds lovely. I'm still humming it as i type but this same song can be played by a ten year old. Props to u if u respect that as much as a Slash guitar solo or a Chopin masterpiece.

By the way, I couldn't care less about respect from you. That's not what this discussion is about.

Postby shogun » August 8th, 2012, 9:27 am

MG Man wrote:nuff respect for le recorder

^Still a McCartney melody though eh! Anything would sound good playing along to that. Kinda like the Beach Boys made the theremin sound relevant. lol.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2012, 9:31 am

trini_champ wrote:. . . .By the way, I couldn't care less about respect from you. That's not what this discussion is about.

If you can comprehend sheet music, then you should be able to comprehend the english language.

It was you who raised issue with the recorder not being a real instrument. The discussion is not about what is a real instrument or not, it is about what musical instrument you play. The recorder is a musical instrument and therefore has every right to be mentioned in this thread.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 8th, 2012, 10:13 am

Started playing Drums over 30 years ago sold my kit about 15 years ago then switched to percussion and played in a J'ouvert bands Rhythm section for 8 years running played Iron, Conga, or whatever .

Recently have been thinking about starting back Drumming and was looking for a kit but Injured my left wrist I havent played since to see if its affecting my playing though .

And I know what you say about Toby I went by him just to talk as I was thinking about going for lessons by him and he blew me away actually made me scared to play again that was when I just started .

Postby Dizzy28 » August 8th, 2012, 10:14 am

Dhantal and majeera count?

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 10:15 am

nothin fancy...........still trying to find the skills to match :(

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2012, 10:24 am

I know some chicks that can blow pipe real good when they done u sure to sing in C sharp

Postby Mark! » August 8th, 2012, 10:28 am

i could play yuh mammy

..... :|

zorced

Postby zorced » August 8th, 2012, 10:36 am

i play over 100 different instruments........... on my keyboard :P

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2012, 10:36 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Dhantal and majeera count?

The Dhantal is not classed as East Indian Instrument because it never came from Indian. Some say it came from Trinidad or Guyana, some east Indians in Fiji use it but there is no history of the Dhantal in India.

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 10:44 am

he asked if it counted in this ched, not where it came from

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » August 8th, 2012, 10:51 am

Drums for me, currently building feet strength and coordination
Last edited by bassotronics on August 8th, 2012, 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2012, 10:53 am

MG Man wrote:he asked if it counted in this ched, not where it came from

Well if we knew where it came from then it can be counted as one. It does not come from India becuase no one knows of it or uses it, so how do u class it as an instrument

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 10:54 am

lolwhut?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 8th, 2012, 11:23 am

I have a Dhantal it's freaking hard to play

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 11:28 am

cool to watch the pros play one tho

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 8th, 2012, 11:38 am

Pretty good with a bottle and spoon myself.

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 11:47 am

half wid wahtah?

Postby meccalli » August 8th, 2012, 5:05 pm

trini_champ wrote:Sorry fellas but the recorder is not a real instrument lol. Especially not that nonsense that you could buy in RIK. I started playing the piano at age 6. By age 12 I was in grade 5 and came 3rd on 12 and under. I went all the way up to grade 8 but playing the piano takes a lot of time and practice so I don't really play much anymore. I just make sure I do enough every now and then so that I don't lose the skill.

I also play the guitar which I learned to play in about 3 months, 2 years ago. I had a real good teacher who was the guitarist in Skid Nvely at the time. Once u have a good base, u can learn any instrument.

Shane or Shallun?, i know Shallun gives bass and guitar lessons.
This was a video when i was getting now getting the hang of the instrument, was over at a friend's who convinced me to put up summn that i could reflect on in the future.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 8th, 2012, 5:07 pm

Piano/Keyboard