Rainman wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:been done as "portacamps" for years in the Energy industry..dont see why not.... have a friend that looking into it using Chinese labourers on some land in Las Lomas.... keep me in the loop
My friend is looking to start off with one of these
http://homeinabox.blogspot.com/2011/06/ ... house.html
she has 7,000 sq feet of land to play with (undulating..even better)...and wants to convert the space to some EcoBlahblahblah place....
Where in the energy industry are shipping containers used as portacamps?
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:This has been done and approvals arent necessary seeing that they arent "permanent" structures in many parts of the country.
Logistics are simple.
Easy Maintenance.
Cut holes as required for HAVC, Plumbing, etc.
Stack front - back, up- down.
Biggest cost is aesthetics and thats optional.
Space planning is what need the thought to make it ergonomically habitable.
Travis wrote:Rainman wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:been done as "portacamps" for years in the Energy industry..dont see why not.... have a friend that looking into it using Chinese labourers on some land in Las Lomas.... keep me in the loop
she has 7,000 sq feet of land to play with (undulating..even better)...and wants to convert the space to some EcoBlahblahblah place....
offshore on the south west coast... lots of platforms with shipping containers as accommodation for workers
Rainman wrote:Travis wrote:Rainman wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:been done as "portacamps" for years in the Energy industry..dont see why not.... have a friend that looking into it using Chinese labourers on some land in Las Lomas.... keep me in the loop
offshore on the south west coast... lots of platforms with shipping containers as accommodation for workers
Oh really, that's strange. Offshore living accommodations are supposed to be blast and fire rated; a retrofitted shipping container is neither.
speed demon wrote:hmmmn interesting actually doing mih Msc thesis on this application, basically all things are handled as per normal yuh major trade in the first instance will be a welder/fabricator.
if seeking to do it through financing u will have issues etc as if u are financed by a bank their issue is u can pick up d investment and basically disappear, which wont be good for them. there are some aspects that need examining in a deeper way depending on intended use, locale etc
and it can be cheaper than conventional construction and is practical in many ways but can also be impractical. pros and cons as with any thing.
there are standards they should be done to both for town and country and international guidelines etc
anybody seeking to explore further and more seriously for development purposes i can provide this service and needed consultancy.
JoeBama wrote:picture this..... u have ur container looking like it had a hard life of the seas and had been in more ports than a whole setta seamen.......(Catch de joke right there ha haa??) You go to the beach and back up ur truck on the sand...everybody looking at you like u a mad man... then you see kim with kanye... she watches you like she feels sorry for u a mild manned trucker guy who came to the beach to bathe and sleep.. then you wink at her.. with a smug smile of course... unveiling the sweetness inside... she gonna say fcuk u kanye...this dude is like the ulitmate muther truckin james bond.... that realistic ent..
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Rainman wrote:Travis wrote:Rainman wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:been done as "portacamps" for years in the Energy industry..dont see why not.... have a friend that looking into it using Chinese labourers on some land in Las Lomas.... keep me in the loop
Oh really, that's strange. Offshore living accommodations are supposed to be blast and fire rated; a retrofitted shipping container is neither.
not sure of the offshore rigs...though they used a container type (similar to the refrigeration types) but defn on shore at Beachfield, Central Block and as far inland as Sando (lol)....Kenson was at the time the main contractor that supplied them.
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:This has been done and approvals arent necessary seeing that they arent "permanent" structures in many parts of the country.
Logistics are simple.
Easy Maintenance.
Town and Country Approvals Sleeper? even if a concrete base is used as a foundation?
Any ideas about the waste water? how is that handled...."soakaway" or another method?
dougla_boy wrote:Mark! wrote:there is container apartments on Bedessie Street in St Agustine if i not mistaken
but ent dat man get shut down? the containers are/were just stacked there........
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:This has been done and approvals arent necessary seeing that they arent "permanent" structures in many parts of the country.
Logistics are simple.
Easy Maintenance.
Town and Country Approvals Sleeper? even if a concrete base is used as a foundation?
Any ideas about the waste water? how is that handled...."soakaway" or another method?
Concrete bases/platforms in one's private property are not required to be passed by the T&CPD.
their main concern regarding the "erection of a structure" is that it conforms to the stipulated (archaic) rules which mainly determine the conformity to safety issues and ground and encroachment issues to adjacent buildings.
Ive been thru this in depth with them on more than 1 occasion and the simple fact remains.
A container will not be considered a permanent structure and therefore does not need to be prepared for approvals by the T&CPD.
Based on your other concern, a common ceptic tank and soak-away system will be the way to go in terms of sewerage.
xtech wrote:Modular prefab buildings based on ISO containers are the best.... But they are more costly
I have 3 of those That i use for my biz.
xtech wrote:Narcissus wrote:yea...why dey usin a mac instead of a pc?
PC does crash easy...............
nos_specialist wrote:So fellow tuners, what do you think on this topic.
i have been thinking about constructing a complete home with a couple used shipping containers, which of course would be carefully selected for use. (condition,and what is was used to transport)
However in our beloved country...is it:
Safe?, Legal?, cost effective....?
list your pros and cons ...
SNIPER 3000 wrote:Looking for a 40ft or maybe a 20, for storage.
Plain not out fitted, what would be the cost?
If anyone has to sell please pm me.
Thanks.