casper

Re: gaming / audiophile headset thread

Postby casper » July 20th, 2012, 7:57 am

gastly369 wrote:Image

i doh need to hear no man bawlin "ohhgouddouii" in HQ .. diz doing de job :|

*really wants the Tritton Primer wireless* :oops:

^^^i almost go to buy that wireless mic for my xbox a few mths ago...but i fine that mic and even the ps3 wireless mic rel expensive for what it is...cuz all u hearing from that is chat and u paying $400 + for it....no game audio or anything..u cud pay a lil $100 more and get a turtle beack X-12 or something even though its not the best...it way better than a stand alone mic for the price..

Turtle Beach X12 to me is the best bang for buck u can get these days...more durable than the PX21...X12's are made for PC and XBOX but u can buy a USB sound card for u to use it with your PS3 as well...a good quality sound card costs $120 TT at most if u buying over amazon....the PX21's are made for PS3, XBOX, and PC but the mic breaks very easily and also the wire is very fragile and shorts after a while...the wire isnt replaceable btw so it means u'd have to buy a whole new headset...
Last edited by casper on July 20th, 2012, 8:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 20th, 2012, 8:04 am

^would you believe i ordered on of those Turtle Beach P11's a couple days ago? Would let you know how it goes once i get it in my hands,it's for my kid bro.

casper

Postby casper » July 20th, 2012, 8:39 am

^^^give us a lil review when u get the P11's nah...those btw are more durable than the PX21's from what i've heard from users that i know...it will be sufficient for any young person now gettin into gaming and headsets....i doubt they'd be able to differentiate the sound reproduced by this headset with how things sposed to naturally sound compared to extreme high end sets...well at least i dont think so...

this P11 sposed to have a 50mm driver if i remember correctly whereas the X12 and PX21 has 40mm so i believe u'll get more bass and the speaker should be a lil more durable as well considereing it has a bigger cone area and will be able to reproduce louder sound than a 40mm driver at same volume so u wont have to stress it out too much...

just make sure and let him not move around / swivel the mic uneccesarrily too too much cuz i know some Turtle Beaches mic breaks like this or the swivel becomes very slack and doesnt stay in place anymore...once he takes care of it it should last long...i'd choose those P11s over PX21's anyday to be honest

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2012, 9:07 am

for gaming i prefer my mic audio separate from gaming audio. exp in headphones style.. i can make out what they saying much better and communication (team work games) easier

downside.. if you forget to charge and you in middle of a game .. well you get de idea :\

casper

Postby casper » July 20th, 2012, 9:37 am

gastly369 wrote:for gaming i prefer my mic audio separate from gaming audio. exp in headphones style.. i can make out what they saying much better and communication (team work games) easier

downside.. if you forget to charge and you in middle of a game .. well you get de idea :\

a high end headPHONES with an external mic is always better than a high end headSET...i would've done this too but the problem with that arises with people who dont play on desks...i assume ur set up involves a pc desk or something of that sort with a monitor or tv 26" or under where u sitting 2-3ft away from ur screen and have a solid flat surface to rest ur mic....

in my case i using a 40" in my bedroom and have no pc desk so i sit on my bed about 8-9 ft away...i have no flat surfaces to rest a mic nearby and i dont like the quality on clip on mics honestly...they sound harsh to the people u communicating with and sometimes give alot of feedback if ur phone rings etc...

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2012, 10:00 am

no not a stand alone mic.. same xbox360 wireless HS shown what i was talking about is just not gaming audio and incoming mic audio coming thru same speakers i was talking about

my setup is panasonic surround sound HT system for gaming audio and a 40" also.. last time i tried a headset by my cuz (before i had a 360) the game audio and the mic audio was coming from same headset speakers .. couldn't understand the other players at all :\

casper

Postby casper » July 20th, 2012, 10:17 am

oh ok kool...well yea d only way that i can think of a person using a headphones and a mic seperately is by using a clip on mic or one like the one u posted and doing the same thing that u did...otherwise a stand alone mic will need a desktop set up...i think...unless there are portable standalone mics that can somehow balance on ur bed with u sitting on it plus pick up your voice from that distance...

btw, with most headsets, game audio and chat audio come through the main primary speakers as default unless u set up ur sound settings options for them to output otherwise

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2012, 10:23 am

yep separated it

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » July 22nd, 2012, 10:59 am

Anyone own any of the Monster Turbine series Ear buds? If so what are your thoughts on them?

casper

Postby casper » July 26th, 2012, 12:29 pm

got my new headset today...so when i reach home i'd post a few pics of the build quality etc compared to ones i previously had and try to give a short lil review

had the official PS3 stereo wireless headset then the tritton ax720 then now the astro a40 so i'd try my best to compare them all WRT build, sound, function and form

casper

Where sells headphone stands?

Postby casper » July 27th, 2012, 8:49 pm

Lookin for a good one

Re: Where sells headphone stands?

Postby S_2NR » July 27th, 2012, 9:27 pm

yu have money to burn?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 27th, 2012, 9:41 pm

casper

Postby casper » July 27th, 2012, 10:57 pm

Where to buy a banana stand? And na S 2NR I just literally have no room at all to store my headset safely....just want somn cheap to hang it on away from everything so I won't drop it by mistake tryiyo access something else

TK!

Postby TK! » July 28th, 2012, 7:34 am

casper wrote:
TK! wrote:i have a seinheiser. not the real expensive one. cost US100.

which model exactly TK???

HD 428 - US$ 77.99

http://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD428- ... rds=hd+428

They're pretty comfy.

casper

Postby casper » July 31st, 2012, 8:33 am

TRITTON AX720

In the package, Tritton includes the ax720 headset, the decoder for this particular headset, a detacheable mic, a 3.5mm - 2.5mm jack for Xbox Live chat, optical cable and the inline control unit to adjust game and chat volume... the packaging used is pretty much similar to how other gaming accessories come...eg. controllers, chat headsets, wires, etc basicallly a molded plastic housing.

First knob on the left is the power button for the decoder...this is the only physical button on this unit...very bright electric blue LEDs light up depending on which mode you're currently using...on the far right of the box is the female jack for the headset's inline jack that's used to power up the headset...this is the newer version AX720's though...the older version uses a port that resembles an S-video jack to power up the headset.....this decoder is powered up via USB whereas the older version powers up via it's own power supply that u need to plug into a wall socket direct...one more thing to note is that the newer version simulates 7.1 whereas the older one does 5.1

another pleasing new feature they added on the newer version AX720's are that you can now flip the ear cups for more secure and stable storage or even if you'd like to take a quick break from gaming you can flip dem like this and have them resting on your shoulders while the headband hangs on your neck...

BUILD QUALITY

honestly wasnt too impressed with the build quality in these as they felt like they might break easily if you dont handle with enough care...ESPECIALLY the mic. the majority of the headset is white hollow plastic and the headband itself is very stiff with very little flex at all...beware when opening these too widely as possibility exist that you may snap them.

FORM FACTOR

The Tritton ax720 is also a very heavy headset and becomes a chore to wear for too long in my opinion. i dont personally like the rectangular ear cups as your ears aren't shaped like a rectangle...people with bigger ears may have an uncomfortable fit and you may need to fold in your ear into the realm of tyhe cups in order to get the true "over ear experience" these were designed for.

SOUND QUALITY

Enough with the cons...now onto the pros....and sound reproduction is where this headset shines the most...i personally own a pair of astro a40's as well and very little difference can be heard between these and the astros....while playing FPS you can literally hear enermies reload their guns and pull the pin in a frag grenade from a very far distance away....

Only thing i havent really mastered with these or any other headset i've used so far is determing foot step location and distance...you can definately hear foot steps but a bit more difficult to pin point exactly where they're coming from though...it could be just me...racing games on the other hand is a pleasure with this headset as it reproduces those high revving and tire screeching frequencies pretty well..voice chat is crystal clear. you do occassionally get the popping noise when turning the headset on / off though which can get really annoying...

CONCLUSION

if you looking for a step up from turtle beach and getting your feet wet in the higher end headset market then these TRITTONS are an excellent start....for $130 US on amazon they are more than worth the price for what you get...mad catz bought over Tritton but they dont make their headsets though....so you need not worry bout the quality of the product too much...its Trittons at the end of the day and you're getting a solid product overall despite what are my personal views on the cheap plastic...i guess it wouldnt have felt so cheap if they didnt have that glossy white look...they should've used a matte white instead

pyromaniax

Re: Gaming Headsets & Audiophile Headphones Thread

Postby pyromaniax » July 31st, 2012, 8:42 am

that sht looks sexy!

casper

Postby casper » July 31st, 2012, 8:45 am

pyromaniax wrote:that sht looks sexy!

it's alright....but wait till you see my review on the Astro A40s....if you find these trittons look sexy then you'd want to have sex with the astros :lol:

casper

Postby casper » August 3rd, 2012, 8:38 am

ASTRO A40 AUDIO SYSTEM

to make a long story short...the packaging on these headsets are very similar to what you'd see from an apple product...

on sliding the outer paper layer off you're greeted with a hard paper foldable box that has magnets on the lids in order to keep them closed...the packaging for this is pretty amazing by itself...

when you unfold the box there is a hard plastic housing to keep the headset and all it's contents secure

Headset's mic, wiring and extra batteries are exposed when you move on to unfolding the next side of the box

CUSTOMIZATION

These are the only gaming headsets, that i know of, has replaceable ear cup covers (astro calls them speaker tags) where you can go on their site http://www.astrogaming.com and customize / create your very own tag and get them shipped to you for an additional cost of $25 US...i personally dont care to customize my tags but i can see teams that participates in gaming tournaments wanting to do so though...probably put their team logo or their XBL gamertag or PSN ID on their ear cups for a unique look...

the speaker tags are held in place to the headset's ear cups by the use of 4 very tiny neo magnets at each corner of the square speaker tags....when they lign up correctly they simply snap on tightly and wont come off unless you want them to...the magnets are so strong you have to apply some effort to pull them off so they are quite secure...which is good!!!

one speaker tag has a hole in it to insert the detachable mic the A40s come with and the next tag comes solid for the other side that obviously wont have a mic...both ear cups on the headset itself though comes with inserts for the mic allowing you to use your mic on the left or the right earcup to your liking...

to add a bit more to the customization aspect...This headset's connections, unlike the Trittons, is a standard 3.5mm headphones jack whereas the AX720 from Tritton uses their own type of jack resembling that of an S-Video which makes the uses of these A40s almost unlimited due to the fact that almost every portable media device comes readily equipped to host 3.5mm headphone jacks.to add a bit more to the customization aspect...

BUILD QUALITY and APPEARANCE

I love how these headsets look...they are aesthetically pleasing to the eye...At the top has a the astro logo uplifted in what seems to be some kind of cloth material. there is alose an MLG logo on the left side of the band and on the other side is a simple astro logo...the black band at the top countors to you head's shape and thea material the headband itself is made of is an extremely flexable hard plastic. it can flex and bend without snapping.

These headsets are pretty tough as the materials used are very flexable and very unlikely to break...This company is definately one that pays close attention to detail and you'd see that as soon as you pick one of these up and hold it in your hand...at first i must admit they felt a bit flimsy only till i realised that the headband was designed to have lots of flex for durability purposes...so i absolutly didnt mind...

FORM FACTOR

just like the Tritton AX720s....the astro A40s can flip the cups to the side so that you can rest the headset around your neck more comfortably while taking breaks...the "over ear" material is very soft and seems to be a type of memory foam as it takes the form of your ears and not just push against them...

perfect for people that wear glasses and have the fear of their headset becoming uncomfortable after long hours of use...the ear cups adjuster is made of aluminum and is painted in black...raising the level of the cups up or down is easily done by a simple slide. The ear cups are also oval shaped and positioned the same way your ears are...so they are extremely comfortable on your head and ears

SOUND QUALITY

The A40 headsets themselves are nothing extraordinary BUT with the astro mixamp they really show you what their made of...everything comes to life as you power these from your mixamp and audio reproduction is very full and mostly tonally accurate...it lacks solid, heavy, mind shaking bass but to be fair, these werent design to be audiophile headsets...they were designed to be ultimate gaming headsets and thats what they are.

CONCLUSION

they put a deep deep hole in your pocket but aside from that, what you get is durability, crystal clear chat, excellent game audio and supper efficient customer service as you get full 1 year warranty with astro a40 headsets which you can also extend an additional year for the price of $28 US i believe

in the unfortunate event that u happen to break these headsets you can order the parts you need from astro gaming and fix them yourself as almost everything in this headset is unscrew and replace...the headband, earcups with the speakers, mic, speakertags...heck even the wiring...it's very re-assuring to know that these are made in such a way you can just order the parts and replace them for yourself...i like that alot

Postby tr1ad » August 3rd, 2012, 10:54 am

works best for me

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » August 3rd, 2012, 12:01 pm

G930 works great for me, extremely comfortable, jus paired with a Sound Blaster recon 3d sound card, positional audio is on point & most imp is wireless. Battery life is also pretty good, about a 10hrs or so per charge. But is PC only, I switched from console anyw.

Haven't used the mic yet tbh so can't comment on the chat functionality.

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 3rd, 2012, 2:23 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:G930 works great for me, extremely comfortable, jus paired with a Sound Blaster recon 3d sound card, positional audio is on point & most imp is wireless. Battery life is also pretty good, about a 10hrs or so per charge. But is PC only, I switched from console anyw.

The G930 is a USB headset,a soundcard will not do anything.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » August 3rd, 2012, 2:37 pm

I have the Triton Ax Pros

you definately get the surround feeling. After all it has all the drivers necessary for 5.1
I used them because I couldnt raise the volume on my tv very much. Stopped using them when I was able to play my games at a reasonable volume.
They didnt make me play better...because ...well lets be serious.... you cant improve on perfect.

Postby tr1ad » August 3rd, 2012, 2:52 pm

rodfarva wrote: you cant improve on perfect.

yes you can

tr1ad_guy_3ne2nr

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » August 3rd, 2012, 2:55 pm

todd61 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:G930 works great for me, extremely comfortable, jus paired with a Sound Blaster recon 3d sound card, positional audio is on point & most imp is wireless. Battery life is also pretty good, about a 10hrs or so per charge. But is PC only, I switched from console anyw.

The G930 is a USB headset,a soundcard will not do anything.

Ahh i see, thanks for clearing that up.

casper

Postby casper » August 3rd, 2012, 8:02 pm

rodfarva wrote:I have the Triton Ax Pros

you definately get the surround feeling. After all it has all the drivers necessary for 5.1
I used them because I couldnt raise the volume on my tv very much. Stopped using them when I was able to play my games at a reasonable volume.
They didnt make me play better...because ...well lets be serious.... you cant improve on perfect.

Lolz... :lol:

By the way...I kinda curious to know how the lil control on this headset works as its completely different to the controls on the ax720 that I had before....I kinda confused by it and haven't really seen one in real to see it in action....ur headset is basically just like the sharkoon that triad has though...but I not sure if the sharkoons have the adjustment controls like what the ax pros have though

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2012, 8:31 pm

casper wrote:ASTRO A40 AUDIO SYSTEM

to make a long story short...the packaging on these headsets are very similar to what you'd see from an apple product...

on sliding the outer paper layer off you're greeted with a hard paper foldable box that has magnets on the lids in order to keep them closed...the packaging for this is pretty amazing by itself...

when you unfold the box there is a hard plastic housing to keep the headset and all it's contents secure

Headset's mic, wiring and extra batteries are exposed when you move on to unfolding the next side of the box

CUSTOMIZATION

These are the only gaming headsets, that i know of, has replaceable ear cup covers (astro calls them speaker tags) where you can go on their site http://www.astrogaming.com and customize / create your very own tag and get them shipped to you for an additional cost of $25 US...i personally dont care to customize my tags but i can see teams that participates in gaming tournaments wanting to do so though...probably put their team logo or their XBL gamertag or PSN ID on their ear cups for a unique look...

the speaker tags are held in place to the headset's ear cups by the use of 4 very tiny neo magnets at each corner of the square speaker tags....when they lign up correctly they simply snap on tightly and wont come off unless you want them to...the magnets are so strong you have to apply some effort to pull them off so they are quite secure...which is good!!!

one speaker tag has a hole in it to insert the detachable mic the A40s come with and the next tag comes solid for the other side that obviously wont have a mic...both ear cups on the headset itself though comes with inserts for the mic allowing you to use your mic on the left or the right earcup to your liking...

to add a bit more to the customization aspect...This headset's connections, unlike the Trittons, is a standard 3.5mm headphones jack whereas the AX720 from Tritton uses their own type of jack resembling that of an S-Video which makes the uses of these A40s almost unlimited due to the fact that almost every portable media device comes readily equipped to host 3.5mm headphone jacks.to add a bit more to the customization aspect...

BUILD QUALITY and APPEARANCE

I love how these headsets look...they are aesthetically pleasing to the eye...At the top has a the astro logo uplifted in what seems to be some kind of cloth material. there is alose an MLG logo on the left side of the band and on the other side is a simple astro logo...the black band at the top countors to you head's shape and thea material the headband itself is made of is an extremely flexable hard plastic. it can flex and bend without snapping.

These headsets are pretty tough as the materials used are very flexable and very unlikely to break...This company is definately one that pays close attention to detail and you'd see that as soon as you pick one of these up and hold it in your hand...at first i must admit they felt a bit flimsy only till i realised that the headband was designed to have lots of flex for durability purposes...so i absolutly didnt mind...

FORM FACTOR

just like the Tritton AX720s....the astro A40s can flip the cups to the side so that you can rest the headset around your neck more comfortably while taking breaks...the "over ear" material is very soft and seems to be a type of memory foam as it takes the form of your ears and not just push against them...

perfect for people that wear glasses and have the fear of their headset becoming uncomfortable after long hours of use...the ear cups adjuster is made of aluminum and is painted in black...raising the level of the cups up or down is easily done by a simple slide. The ear cups are also oval shaped and positioned the same way your ears are...so they are extremely comfortable on your head and ears

SOUND QUALITY

The A40 headsets themselves are nothing extraordinary BUT with the astro mixamp they really show you what their made of...everything comes to life as you power these from your mixamp and audio reproduction is very full and mostly tonally accurate...it lacks solid, heavy, mind shaking bass but to be fair, these werent design to be audiophile headsets...they were designed to be ultimate gaming headsets and thats what they are.

CONCLUSION

they put a deep deep hole in your pocket but aside from that, what you get is durability, crystal clear chat, excellent game audio and supper efficient customer service as you get full 1 year warranty with astro a40 headsets which you can also extend an additional year for the price of $28 US i believe

in the unfortunate event that u happen to break these headsets you can order the parts you need from astro gaming and fix them yourself as almost everything in this headset is unscrew and replace...the headband, earcups with the speakers, mic, speakertags...heck even the wiring...it's very re-assuring to know that these are made in such a way you can just order the parts and replace them for yourself...i like that alot

This thing looks sweet!!!!!!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 3rd, 2012, 11:04 pm

casper wrote:it lacks solid, heavy, mind shaking bass but to be fair, these werent design to be audiophile headsets...they were designed to be ultimate gaming headsets and thats what they are.
actually audiophile headsets are tonally very flat and completely lack alot of bass.

Infact audiophiles usually give bad reviews to headphones such as Beats by Dre and Skull Candy because they have so much bass. (audiophiles don't listen to rap music)

Postby pioneer » August 3rd, 2012, 11:12 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 3rd, 2012, 11:22 pm

Grado PS1000

http://www.amazon.com/Grado-PS1000-On-e ... B002SKKQZO

Apogee Duet 2 DAC

http://www.amazon.com/Apogee-Digital-Du ... pogee+Duet