iM@st@1

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby iM@st@1 » August 1st, 2012, 3:37 pm

mickey17 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:
mickey17 wrote:
fouljuice wrote:damn. I don't like the sound of that :|
How long you had the monitor for before you it started getting noticeable?

And also too is it just happening for BF3? I know some games have input lag due to the game itself, or can be fixed through the game settings.

i have the monitor like more than a year. Since 4 months now i have noticed input lag in my games. I only play FPS really. In some racing games like NFS hot pursuit and shift 2 i have seen ghosting. BF3 has alot of ghosting now. I am currently looking for a new monitor as well. I have my eyes on a dell U2312hm. Excellet monitor.

Do some research on 'Yamakasi Catleap Monitors'. They're Korean made monitors with a high refresh rates of 120Hz which makes for ultra smooth fps.

They are not 120hz they can be OC to it. You have to pay extra for those monitors that are not really being made again. The most you will be able to get is 65hz or if yuh lucky 75hz. Only 14 days warranty on the monitor as well and alot of ppl have gotten problems with them already. I was checking it out myself.

Yea I should've mentioned the OC part, but thas y I said 'research'. I just find the price is pretty attractive for 27", if you buy it on ebay I believe you cud get squaretrade warranty on it. But is a lil bit of a gamble.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 1st, 2012, 3:44 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:i came to the point i need a new pc.
mines dont even have a hdmi out :S

anyone can give me a estimate on how much to build a tower now?

im looking for hdmi out for vids ( to connect to a tv)
and for basically online use,music and i dont play games.
my pc already works well but its very outdated wrt to boards ect.

i was thinking about going with a new motherboard,ram (8gb or more),processor, and a case
anyone can gimme a rough pricing to work around? ill use back my harddrive and cd/dvd drives

what you need all that for? you a gamer too?

I have 2 or 4 gb ram, 3. something ghz processor and a normal board, does all I need it to an more. 8 gb or ram man :lol:

i doh play games :|

but i need to connect my pc to my tv
rather than change my board and stuff to work with hdmi
i could get a adaptor from vga to rca? :oops:

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » August 1st, 2012, 3:55 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
ichiniisama99 wrote:Didn't have $ for a good CPU cooler at the time.

Invest in a Antec Kuhler 620, very inexpensive & works great.

Nice mobo, jus bought that same model.

Thanks man, its a nice mobo, building another rig with that one again.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 1st, 2012, 4:04 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
mickey17 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:
mickey17 wrote:
fouljuice wrote:damn. I don't like the sound of that :|
How long you had the monitor for before you it started getting noticeable?

And also too is it just happening for BF3? I know some games have input lag due to the game itself, or can be fixed through the game settings.

i have the monitor like more than a year. Since 4 months now i have noticed input lag in my games. I only play FPS really. In some racing games like NFS hot pursuit and shift 2 i have seen ghosting. BF3 has alot of ghosting now. I am currently looking for a new monitor as well. I have my eyes on a dell U2312hm. Excellet monitor.

Do some research on 'Yamakasi Catleap Monitors'. They're Korean made monitors with a high refresh rates of 120Hz which makes for ultra smooth fps.

They are not 120hz they can be OC to it. You have to pay extra for those monitors that are not really being made again. The most you will be able to get is 65hz or if yuh lucky 75hz. Only 14 days warranty on the monitor as well and alot of ppl have gotten problems with them already. I was checking it out myself.

Yea I should've mentioned the OC part, but thas y I said 'research'. I just find the price is pretty attractive for 27", if you buy it on ebay I believe you cud get squaretrade warranty on it. But is a lil bit of a gamble.

for me its too much of a gamble. If i had plenty money i would a take a chance with 1.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 1st, 2012, 4:05 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:but i need to connect my pc to my tv
rather than change my board and stuff to work with hdmi
i could get a adaptor from vga to rca? :oops:

You'll need something like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Component-video-Y ... +converter

or this one if is svideo and composite (yellow rca jack) you want:

http://www.amazon.com/Videosecu-Convert ... +converter

The cables that have ah vga plug and ah setta rca plugs on the other end don't work for normal video cards, only certain cards that have vga out puts wired to make use of converter like those.

Postby M_2NR » August 1st, 2012, 4:34 pm

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 1st, 2012, 8:01 pm

ok
seems good

but i`ll stick with my usual brand of coffee thanks

Postby DVSTT » August 1st, 2012, 8:22 pm

Any of you guys have a Logitech Z5500 for sale or know anyone who does?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 1st, 2012, 8:48 pm

i have a 5300e :| dah guh work?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2012, 8:49 pm

Z5500 Scarce/Price just way to high since the Z906 come out :| :|

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 1st, 2012, 9:03 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Z5500 Scarce/Price just way to high since the Z906 come out :| :|

High is joke:

http://www.amazon.com/Z-5500-Digital-TH ... ords=z5500

Seems the z906 is the way to go.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 1st, 2012, 9:59 pm

yamakasi catleap has better ratings.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2012, 10:01 pm

HCCA wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Z5500 Scarce/Price just way to high since the Z906 come out :| :|

High is joke:

psssht! I building my own. :mrgreen:

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 2nd, 2012, 1:21 am

Wanna buy some parts.. It'll be my first build.. Buying online is a kinda pain since I don't have much access to a credit card, anywhere I can get things locally? Reasonably too? Processor is gonna be 3570k and GPU EVGA GTX 570...mobo, case and PSU still undecided.. But have some ideas.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 2nd, 2012, 6:30 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:Wanna buy some parts.. It'll be my first build.. Buying online is a kinda pain since I don't have much access to a credit card, anywhere I can get things locally? Reasonably too? Processor is gonna be 3570k and GPU EVGA GTX 570...mobo, case and PSU still undecided.. But have some ideas.

The only parts you can get reasonable locally are monitors, keyboard/mice, dvdrw drives, ddr3 ram, case (depends on what kind/brand).

My advice is to wait a few months till the new gtx 650 and 660ti comes out from nvidia, they replacing some of the gtx 5xx series cards.

If a real credit card is a pain to get then visit republic bank and get a VTM to use instead. You'll be able to purchase from amazon and other sites as well using paypal.

http://www.republictt.com/1asp/personal ... bs_tmoney2

You can get the cpu, board, video card and hard drive off amazon with the card.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » August 2nd, 2012, 8:55 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:Wanna buy some parts.. It'll be my first build.. Buying online is a kinda pain since I don't have much access to a credit card, anywhere I can get things locally? Reasonably too? Processor is gonna be 3570k and GPU EVGA GTX 570...mobo, case and PSU still undecided.. But have some ideas.

You can check cariszone, they have a nice selection of parts

http://www.cariszone.com/categories/com ... uters.html

Postby DVSTT » August 2nd, 2012, 9:03 am

HCCA wrote:

High is joke:

Yea, well getting a 2 year old one,but I'm not sure if to buy it because I'm afraid something goes wrong with it and it dies soon after. How long do these things last?

Postby DVSTT » August 2nd, 2012, 9:12 am

What should I look for when testing it? Also how does the z906 compare?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 2nd, 2012, 9:16 am

DVSTT wrote:
HCCA wrote:

High is joke:

Yea, well getting a 2 year old one,but I'm not sure if to buy it because I'm afraid something goes wrong with it and it dies soon after. How long do these things last?

All electronics are hit or miss but from my experience i have a z5300e over 4 years now and a z2300 2.1 about 3 years. The only problem with the z5300 is that the surround for the satellite speakers dry rot so they have to be replaced.

Had a couple of z5500s already but i never kept them more than 6 months.

Once u don't play the system at max volume all the time it should last a few more years.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » August 2nd, 2012, 11:08 am

DVSTT wrote:

I personally wouldn't buy any electronics 2 yrs old, unless is real small $. Even so I prefer new/slightly used. Isa hit & miss as HCCA cause you don't know how much beat out those speakers took..

The z906 only has a smaller sub I think but if ya check reviews is more or less the same performance.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 2nd, 2012, 11:22 am

DVSTT wrote:
HCCA wrote:

High is joke:

I've had mine.. Close to 3 years now I think. When I just got it I used to play some really bass heavy music, not even that loud cuz I wanted to take care of it.. And the sub blew within a month. Warranty fixed it the first time. Blew again the next month. Got fedup and bought a Pioneer sub.. Can't remember the model but same 10", dual coil 4ohm and wired it in series to get back the 8ohms and has been working fine since. I have my computer tone down the volume a bit so I don't feel too tempted to play it that loud.. But I play it loud enough to shake the windows several times a week.
But personally I wouldn't buy used electronics that old because I mean.. You dunno the way it was treated. All in all its a very reliable system though.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 2nd, 2012, 11:25 am

have 2 z5500s..

one both over 4 yrs going extremely strong....

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 2nd, 2012, 11:36 am

HCCA wrote:

The only parts you can get reasonable locally are monitors, keyboard/mice, dvdrw drives, ddr3 ram, case (depends on what kind/brand).

My advice is to wait a few months till the new gtx 650 and 660ti comes out from nvidia, they replacing some of the gtx 5xx series cards.

If a real credit card is a pain to get then visit republic bank and get a VTM to use instead. You'll be able to purchase from amazon and other sites as well using paypal.

http://www.republictt.com/1asp/personal ... bs_tmoney2

You can get the cpu, board, video card and hard drive off amazon with the card.

Thanks a lot for that. I went to Republic Bank this morning, might get one sometime this week. So ill purchase my stuff off there. Will need to find a quick reliable sky box too. I was thinking about those GPU's too but the prices are gonna be sky high lol.. Idk if I'd be able to afford that

ShIvAm wrote:

You can check cariszone, they have a nice selection of parts

http://www.cariszone.com/categories/com ... uters.html

They have the 2500K a bit overpriced for a sandy bridge processor, I planned on going for the 3570k as I'm gonna be gaming with it mainly. Photoshop is now and then and video editing, I'd probably just try learning how to :/
BUT I saw the AMD FX 8120 for $1300 and it's going for $160 US on Newegg, so that price is really good. I'm wondering if to go that way instead now.. As I said, primarily use is gaming.. Reading some reviews now but anyone care to share any thoughts /opinions?

I'm on an overall budge of about 7-8k and I have to buy a monitor with that too..

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 2nd, 2012, 12:00 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
Thanks a lot for that. I went to Republic Bank this morning, might get one sometime this week. So ill purchase my stuff off there. Will need to find a quick reliable sky box too. I was thinking about those GPU's too but the prices are gonna be sky high lol.. Idk if I'd be able to afford that

They have the 2500K a bit overpriced for a sandy bridge processor, I planned on going for the 3570k as I'm gonna be gaming with it mainly. Photoshop is now and then and video editing, I'd probably just try learning how to :/
BUT I saw the AMD FX 8120 for $1300 and it's going for $160 US on Newegg, so that price is really good. I'm wondering if to go that way instead now.. As I said, primarily use is gaming.. Reading some reviews now but anyone care to share any thoughts /opinions?

I'm on an overall budge of about 7-8k and I have to buy a monitor with that too..

The sandy bridge and Ivy bridge processors outperform the bulldozer amd cpus by a fair bit even when the amd overclocked. Plus the fx 8120 and 8150 cpus pull a lot of power (140w i believe).

If is just for gaming the intel Ivy bridge would be the best bet. Dunno what the bulldozer series good for really.

As for the skybox you can try Aeropost, they charge by weight only:

http://www.aeropost.com/web/frontend/pr ... ountry=pos

And the new gtx 650/660ti gonna be around $150-$300 priced, so not that expensive. u still hadda wait till dey officially release and reviews out though.

The 3570k is a good mid range cpu doh, when overclocked it crushes amd and fares quite well over sandy bridge.

U should buy the monitor local though, the prices very reasonable and warranty good. Import only if u can't find what u want down here.

Cariszone have good power supply and memory prices, the other stuff a bit high.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » August 2nd, 2012, 12:29 pm

@ Jonathan_337

I've had a great experience with these Asus monitors, no ghosting, lag or tearing. Crisp pic quality. Currently have 24" but thinkin of upgrading to 27". If you interested in buying one of mine PM meh.

Postby DVSTT » August 2nd, 2012, 3:19 pm

Thanks for the advice guys. Don't think I'll go for it then. Probably just save up and go for the z906. Wish it had the same size woofer as the z5500 though

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 2nd, 2012, 5:11 pm

Allyuh men destructive oui :lol:
Z5500s Durable imho

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 2nd, 2012, 5:25 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Allyuh men destructive oui :lol:
Z5500s Durable imho

Yes it is but why buy something like dat in d first place if u not gonna beat the crap outta it? :lol:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 2nd, 2012, 5:31 pm

Barely use mine unless it's to listen to music and I really don't play them loudly. Mostly use the X540s on the PC and tv. x540s kick serious butt 8)

Postby DVSTT » August 2nd, 2012, 5:46 pm

What would be a good price for 2yr old z5500?