***Official 2012 olympics thread***

Re: ***Official 2012 olympics thread***

Postby sharkman121 » August 2nd, 2012, 7:25 am

congrats Bovell, hoping to catch his semis later.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » August 2nd, 2012, 7:26 am

once he is consistent trinidad could be getting its first medal tmr.

Postby shogun » August 2nd, 2012, 7:33 am

^Yup. Best of luck to him.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2012, 8:17 am

all the best to George

triniangie

Postby triniangie » August 2nd, 2012, 8:40 am

LONDON (Reuters) - Trinidad and Tobago's George Bovell turned on the afterburners to win the opening round of the men's 50 metres freestyle at the London Olympics on Thursday.

The 29-year-old powered his way down the pool in 21.77 seconds to win his morning heat and advance to the semi-finals as the fastest of the 16 qualifiers.

Cesar Cielo of Brazil, the defending champion and world record holder, was second fastest, touching the wall in 21.80 seconds to safely move through to the next phase.

"It was enough to get through," he said. "I wasn't thinking of the podium, I was concentrated on qualifying."

Brazil's Bruno Fratus was third quickest while Anthony Ervin of the United States was fourth in his comeback to the Olympics.

Ervin won the gold medal at the 2000 Sydney Olympics but quit the sport three years later, saying he was fed up and wanted to find more meaning in his life. He only decided to make a comeback last year.

Australia's James Magnussen, who was beaten by 0.01 seconds in Wednesday's 100 final, was back in the pool for the single-lap splash and dash, qualifying 10th.

"If I'm being totally honest the last thing I wanted to do this morning was get up and swim again," he said.

"I think once I got over that mental hurdle the swimming felt alright.

"I just want to relax and enjoy this one for what it is. It's an Olympics and I want to have some fond memories of it."

(Reporting by Julian Linden; Editing by Greg Stutchbury)

http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/1676 ... h-and-dash

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 2nd, 2012, 8:48 am

Allyuh if we get Gold this will be our second Gold medal. I wonder what Anuty Kamla will do? . Currently the B. Lara project crossing 2 Billion and it looks like a 2020 project .

kevcam

Postby kevcam » August 2nd, 2012, 10:59 am

Hoping George could get the gold.

Today also The Michael Phelps-Ryan Lochte rivalry continues with the men's 200m individual medley at 3:19 p.m.

Earlier in the day—at 2:48 p.m.—Lochte will compete in the men's 200m backstroke final.

I like google layout of the schedules

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=olympics+swimming+schedule

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=olympics+athletics+%20schedule

Can't wait for athletics to start tomorrow.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 2nd, 2012, 11:34 am

when is the 100m athletics....I saw someone post up on facebook that t&t won gold in the 4x100 relays and that thompson got silver in the 100m final.....but someone i dont think these races happen yet.....

looking for the schedule........now,......

kevcam

Postby kevcam » August 2nd, 2012, 1:55 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:when is the 100m athletics....I saw someone post up on facebook that t&t won gold in the 4x100 relays and that thompson got silver in the 100m final.....but someone i dont think these races happen yet.....

looking for the schedule........now,......

Check my post above for the athletics schedule.

I glanced an article in today's express. Not sure if the person got confused by that.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/T ... 93666.html

Postby sharkman121 » August 2nd, 2012, 2:34 pm

George semis now!!!!

searchingone

Postby searchingone » August 2nd, 2012, 2:34 pm

anybody have a stream? tv6 steam offline

Postby rfari » August 2nd, 2012, 2:36 pm

Results???

Postby sharkman121 » August 2nd, 2012, 2:39 pm

BOOOMMM.... 2nds place.... good enough for the finals tomorrow!!!!!!!!!

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » August 2nd, 2012, 2:42 pm

Nice>>>>> But needs to be a little bit faster in the finals

kevcam

Postby kevcam » August 2nd, 2012, 2:43 pm

George come out like Grim Reaper. Fifth fastest time overall in d semis. He has some work to do to medal. He did not stay underwater long at all compared to all the other swimmers.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 2nd, 2012, 2:47 pm

200m Backstroke and 200m IM coming up soon. Phelps vs Lochte

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2012, 2:47 pm

he in le finals,good swim there,but this Cielo guy fast though,21.54...dammmm

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 2nd, 2012, 2:56 pm

Places have nothing to do with it , its the times recorded , Bovell did a 21.77 again and was second in semi final 2 , the other top 3 swimmers in semi final 1 swam 21.54 tie and 21.62, the winner of semi 2 did a 21.63

Based in these times he would finish 5th , he needs to improve that time to medal , even if he improves his reaction time which is 4th out of the top five he still may not medal.

1. Cielo - Braz- 21.54 react -.66
2. Jones - US - 21.54 react - .64
3. Ervin - US - 21.62 react - .72
4. Fratus - Braz - 21.63 react - .63
5. Bovell - TnT - 21.77 react - .69

ALL the BEST BOVELL , give it your best shot
Last edited by cornfused on August 2nd, 2012, 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » August 2nd, 2012, 3:01 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:200m Backstroke and 200m IM coming up soon. Phelps vs Lochte

Lochte collect some licks and get bronze in the Backstroke after he was leading going into the final turn. Like he getting tired. Interesting to see if that will affect him mentally for the match up with Phelps just now.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2012, 3:01 pm

cornfused wrote:Places have nothing to do with it , its the times recorded , Bovell did a 21.77 again and was second in semi final 2 , the other top 3 swimmers in semi final 1 swam 21.52 tie and 21.62, the winner of semi 2 did a 21.63

Based in these times he would finish 5th , he needs to improve that time to medal

if he actually wins a medal Id be real glad for him,but atm from those times eet aint looking so....he hadda eat less roti tonight.

Postby redmanjp » August 2nd, 2012, 3:08 pm

^when is the final?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » August 2nd, 2012, 3:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:^when is the final?

Fri, Aug 3 3:09 PM

kevcam

Postby kevcam » August 2nd, 2012, 3:30 pm

Phelps take it. From the time Lochte came out his head was down and you could see the earlier race got to him.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » August 2nd, 2012, 3:33 pm

untitled.JPG
Last edited by triniangie on August 2nd, 2012, 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » August 2nd, 2012, 3:36 pm

kevcam wrote:Phelps take it. From the time Lochte came out his head was down and you could see the earlier race got to him.

^Yup. Freal.

How many medals does he need?? lol.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » August 2nd, 2012, 5:41 pm

16th gold 20th overall with potential for 2 more. im sure he would medal in the 100m butterfly tmr.
he handed it to lotche in their last ever duel today.Tmr he races leclos and cavic.
phelps is one bad mother f%cker!

Postby BrotherHood » August 2nd, 2012, 6:36 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
cornfused wrote:Places have nothing to do with it , its the times recorded , Bovell did a 21.77 again and was second in semi final 2 , the other top 3 swimmers in semi final 1 swam 21.52 tie and 21.62, the winner of semi 2 did a 21.63

Based in these times he would finish 5th , he needs to improve that time to medal

if he actually wins a medal Id be real glad for him,but atm from those times eet aint looking so....he hadda eat less roti tonight.

I would still pip Bovell to win the final. If he can swim anywhere close toor even recored a personal best time, none of the other swimmers stands a chance.

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » August 2nd, 2012, 6:40 pm

BrotherHood wrote:

I would still pip Bovell to win the final. If he can swim anywhere close toor even recored a personal best time, none of the other swimmers stands a chance.

Yeah but if Cielo Cesar swims his best then what ??
And he has the world record and the olympic record >>

Postby Habit7 » August 2nd, 2012, 7:29 pm

Postby BrotherHood » August 2nd, 2012, 7:41 pm

<=xjemler=> wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:

Yeah but if Cielo Cesar swims his best then what ??
And he has the world record and the olympic record >>

That's the only guy in the final tomorrow to have ever gone faster than Bovell but nobody has swam even close to that WR time since probably about 2009. Bovell is a consistent performer and is the 8th fastest of all time at the 50m freestyle so IMO, he has a very good chance.